La Mirada, CA 
La Mirada Regional Park - Front 18 Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #1
3 / 305ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Regular Tee



Reviews: 60
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Overall good golf

1    7/10/2011   7/13/2011
Review By: clipnfly
Played: 60  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 5.3 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: this was a truly nice experience. Good tee signs, Lovely clean park. Friendly locals. Good tee pads (or a path to throw from). Big park with other things to do but no issues with overlap from other park users. Played 9 alone and then hooked up w a pair of guys for the second nine. Nice folk.
Cons: I will pop back to this review if I can ever come up with one. Just a minor thing but fairways kind of overlap on 14 and 15. pair of 6 ppl parties on the course in front of us but happily encouraged us to play through.
Other Thoughts: Elevation of some kind on every hole, how common is that? Good mix of hole length... No crazy 800 footers (a waste when I see them) and no 150' footers to fill an unused space as we sometimes see. No real big signature hole stands out here, but all holes were worthy of the course. #1 is a nice downhill hyzer. #2 offered a double rolling hill profile that was unique. #3 was slight uphill and good fun. #4 was a annie mando and a basket in a tree area that was a choice to play your 2nd shot. Good stuff here. maybe my fave hole of the course. #5 is uphill to a big tree behind the basket. #6 was blind up and over the hill backed to the street but not an overthrow hazard really. #7no formal tee pad and basically shoots up the path, annie around the trees. #8 requires a low shot under the tree overhang. #9 is a beauty downhill sweeper. Really nice to float a disc all the way! #10 is a tough up hill bit not as uphill as 11 which is blind and up and over for a monster upshot. #12 is Looooooong, downhill and blind. Longer than you think it is. #13 is the double tree mando and once you are through the trees (easy to say that) t is a downhill slope to the basket. #14 is up to the basket on the slopw. Watch for a missed putt to roll way off (same for 16). #15 crosses 14 a bit but was not a big issue to basket below. 16 is a longer hole with the basket on the side slope. #17 shoots for the path to the basket. closest hole t any water risk and not much of a real risk here, really. #18 puts you back to the start, uphill, blind and to the big tree. All a good time and if typical of DG in Southern CA.... I need ot be back soon. Thank you!

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Great Evening Round

1    5/13/2011   5/17/2011
Review By: PDXDisc
Played: 21  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 5.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very fun course with lots of varienty. Very cool locals and relaxed atmosphere. It's FREE (most of the other courses in the area charge).
Cons: Can be crowded with non-disc folks since it winds around a couple playgrounds and bike paths.
Other Thoughts: I was really surprised. I flew in for the weekend and was in La Mirada to see a show and just showed up to play a quick round. I did not realize what a treat I was in for. The locals that play the course every day were really good about pointing out the trouble spots and keeping me on track. That and a 25 cent map from the pro shop made for a quick round on a great course.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 I like it

1    4/29/2011   4/30/2011
Review By: arcechris21
Played: 10  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.6 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Great to play after the back once your arms warmed up.
-Cool and Shady!
-Nice use of the terrain and placement of tees and holes.
Cons: -Too close to the street.
-Water hazard by hole 13(friend lost his putter because of head wind).
-Way too many families there (can't blame them nice place for a family BBQ).
-Waiting way to much.
Other Thoughts: I like the course a lot because of the course. However the amount of people there on a Friday around 1pm is kinda annoying always yelling "FORE" every time you throw as compared to the back. All in all i still want to go back to play but more for the back.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 One of the Best!!!

5+    11/26/2010   11/29/2010
Review By: DookieHyzer
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.4 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This is a beautiful course that offers many challenges. There are several choices to be made in approach angles to each hole. Holes range from short to long, uphill to downhill, and open field to blind placements.Trees are both new growth placements and old well established trees with wide overhangs; really well done.
Cons: This course was real challenge on my younger kids that don't have the length on their drives yet.
Other Thoughts: I am so fortunate to live within a couple of miles of one of Californias premiere courses.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Course

2-4    9/23/2010   9/23/2010
Review By: puckdevil8
Played: 12  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.2 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: The course is immaculate. It's such a nice and peaceful place to play with your friends or by yourself. Some of the pin placements make you say...what was the guy thinking, but overall...this is the best course I've played this year.
Cons: On the weekends, it's so crazy crowded...I get worried about hitting one of the people there and ruining their day. Then I see a beautiful girl walk by and nail my driver and all is better.
Other Thoughts: Some of the pins don't play to the distance they are listed on the placards. Overall though, a wonderful disc golfing experience. This place has made my new love of the game even that much better.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 La Mirada Front

1    8/26/2010   9/2/2010
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 193  Reviewed: 153  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 9/7/2010
14 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - La Mirada's Front 18 plays over rolling grassy hills dotted with large mature trees. Pines, various deciduous species, and palm trees constitute the main obstacles. Elevation also provides some challenging situations. Sapphire blue water comes into play on a couple of holes, punishing errant shots. Immaculately groomed and maintained.
- Mandatories galore force certain tunnel shots or eliminate the ability to simply take a massive hyzer route around all the obstacles. Mandos are well-marked, usually with large red arrows taped to tree trunks.
- Good mix of longer bomb 'em style holes and shorter, accuracy-needed ones.
- Decent signage shows all possible pin positions but not the current location.
- Disc shop on site. Bathrooms, trashcans, etc. located throughout.
Cons: - Inconsistent tees, although not as bad as the back 18's. Concrete stubs at the front of some pads provide awkward protection against foot-faults, at the risk of tripping. Some tees are not level in the least. As with the back 18, slick sidewalks are recruited as tee pads in several places; however, the front 18's tees are generally in better shape and easier to deal with.
- Plays close to roadways and parking lots.
Other Thoughts: - La Mirada has a very suburban feel. It is impossible to play a round without bumping into other park goers, although it doesn't create any real problems.
- Make sure you hit all of the many mandatories. This course punishes errant drives.

14 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing Course

1    7/11/2010   7/23/2010
Review By: EricArii
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.6 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: This is by far the nicest course I've played yet. The park has great signage with fun holes that are challenging yet playable. The grass and landscape is very well maintained, and the course is free to play.
Cons: Many visiting the park aren't there for the disc golf, and can get in the way. You have to be careful with bystanders.
Other Thoughts: I had a great time playing this course.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Classic old-school style course

1    5/11/2010   5/14/2010
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 188  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 6.9 Years
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Beautiful park setting with lush green grass and scenic trees. Boatloads of elevation in play on this course along with a variety of lefty vs. righty holes. Big concrete tee pads. Up to six pin positions on some holes which are actually routinely rotated by the local club provide a constantly changing course. Fantastic tee signs with tape indicating the current pin position. Awesome locals: I was playing solo and every group I came up to let me play through without me even asking. Restrooms, drinking fountain, and a minimalistic pro-shop on site. Practice basket by the pro-shop.
Cons:
Sadly, almost all of the holes I laser measured were pretty far off of the posted distances. I'm not sure if that's because pin sleeves have been moved through the years and signs not updated, but it was disappointing for such a storied course. When I played at least one (#10) basket was in a pin position for another hole (#11A)... really guys? With six positions on a hole you still have to go put a basket somewhere else?? That doesn't help first timers trying to figure out the course. Beware non-disc golfers relaxing in the park close to some fairways.
Other Thoughts:
I was thinking that the water would come into play but it never really does; that's probably a good thing considering the number of non-disc golfers hanging out around the lake.

I'm not sure if this is a pro or a con, so it's going into "other": this course didn't seem hard enough. What I mean is I carded a lot of 3's. If you had a bad tee shot you could almost always make up the difference on the upshot. The only 4's I took were because of my poor putting. Seems like the challenge of this course is to make tee shots that put you in birdie putt position. That's complicated for the first timer staring at multiple pin positions and incorrect distances.

I'm assuming there's a tourney/safari layout that is played which causes the Pro players to adore this course so much.

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Not as good as advertised

1    4/25/2010   4/25/2010
Review By: JerryChesterson
Played: 150  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 20.2 Years
9 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Overall the park is nice and the course is fun. The park is well taken care of considering the number of people in the park. The grass was well mowed and there are tee signs on each hole. The layout is fun and you should expect to shoot well under par on this course.

Nice elevation changes
Cons: There are homeless people sleeping on the fairway, near the baskets, on near tee signs.

There are people everywhere. Setting up shop right in the fiarways.

The design is old and not designed for today's long range discs. I played this course with a flash, a leopard, and a putter and shot 6 down w/ a circle 5 and I'm not that good. I would consider this course a pitch and put. Typically for courses this short I like tigher lines, this course is wide open with easy gaps to hit.
Other Thoughts: Reading the reveiws I expected an eipc course. This wouldn't even crack the top 20 courses within 2 hours of my house in San Antonio. I bet the course is more fun during the week when there aren't hundreds of people in the park.

Don't get me wrong, this course is fun and if you are in the area you should definately play it, but it isn't as good as the others who've reviewed here make it out to be.

9 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course

2-4    3/29/2010   4/4/2010
Review By: DuXterra
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Concrete pads are nice to throw from.
Great long holes to make you really throw your best.
Well maintained
Friendly people
Plays around a nice pond
Cons: Not well marked anymore where pins will be
Baskets are not marked well confusing players
Lots of people walking around
Pro shop has gone downhill, used to have tons of discs and was run by a great guy but not anymore.
Other Thoughts: Although not as nice as the last time I played 4 years ago the front 18 is still one of my favorite places to play. Its in a great park and has some fantastic holes. Its well maintained but still could be better. I recommend this to anyone who has the chance to play.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.