La Mirada, CA 
La Mirada Regional Park - Front 18 Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #7
3 / 309ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Regular Tee



Reviews: 59
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 So Cal Classic

5+    2/12/2010   2/12/2010
Review By: bazillion
Played: 55  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 13.8 Years
This review was updated on 2/18/2011
13 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Of all the So Cal courses, this is the best. Here's why.

Site: Central to the LA/OC metro area, nice suburban neighborhood. Major brick-and-mortar DG retail outlet about two miles away.

Park: Clean, green, and groomed. Multiple activities (water park, ball golf course, tennis, handball, baseball, etc) a short walk away.

Course: Fair and open, plays around a lake and (holes 7-12) some serious slopes. Trees provide challenge without the well-known "pinball" effect. Multiple pin placements with baskets changed regularly.

When you're done here, you know you've played a good round but you never feel like the course ate you up and spit you out.
Cons: A few dings to keep it from getting 5 discs:

"Pro shop" mainly serves the tennis players (DTW just down the road though).

Can get crowded on the weekends.
Other Thoughts: There's another 18-hole DG course within walking distance - 2x the fun :-)

If you're coming to So Cal, this is a must play. Lots of friendly locals to show you around - plan on 1 hours for a round.

13 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 One of the Best!

1    2/12/2010   2/11/2010
Review By: DocHaole
Played: 72  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 7 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has it all:
- Variety of distances
- Elevation changes
- Good mix of obstacles and Mando's
- Multiple pin locations
- Well maintained
- Free
- Not overcrowded

This is an awesome course that offers a balance of technical holes as well as a good number of opportunities to air it out. Keep the distance driver handy, there are plenty of 350+ ft holes.

Cons: The course can be a bit confusing if you are visiting for the first time. A BUNCH OF THE BASKETS HAD THE WRONG NUMBER ON THEM!!. If you are playing this course for the first time definitely join in with some locals (who will most likely be happy to help). There are no signs pointing you to the next tee. You also have plenty of opportunities to yell FORE as some fairways tend to overlap, but everyone is pretty chill. And lastly there are some people in the park that are totally oblivious that this is a disc golf course.
Other Thoughts: This course is absolutely worth the drive. The course offers a good challenge and a great atmosphere. But as a first timer you will definitely need either a course map, local guide or both.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful La Mirada Regional

5+    2/7/2010   2/8/2010
Review By: howardb
Played: 12  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 10.2 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -First and for most what a beautiful park for a disc golf course, if you have a big arm some of these holes are for you, environment is peaceful and friendly, grass throughout the park some old discatchers, some new, elevation changes? Yes, that is what makes this course a challenge along with trees, mandatory's, and a few park goer's, hole 9 seemed to be a hang out for some locals selling sodas, candy, snacks, we had to yell FORE! A few times. Teepads are all concrete and hole signage is at every hole indicating pin placement and yardage for each placement. Holes are easy to follow and navigate to the next tee. Very clean as I saw some trashcans throughout the park, would like to see a few more and some benches to take in all the beauty of this 36 hole course..well 5 of them previously removed on the back 18. Pro shop located near hole 1, didn't visit but im sure you will find it useful to purchase DG items, Oh and one other Pro is that this course is FREE as stated in other reviews. No problems with any other DGer's so if you show up solo im sure it wont be a problem joining a group.
Cons: Too many Mandies..im the type of DGer who likes to use different routes and mandies limits me on doing so. Too wet!! Ive heard of alot of picnicers there but it wasnt bad when we were there. im sure this course could get very busy during good weather days, like summer.
Other Thoughts: if your in the area come play this course, well worth the drive as i drove an hour to get there to play with some really cool heads.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/3/2009   1/21/2010
Review By: Kwick
Played: 48  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 7.5 Years
12 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Set in a very nice park
Plays around a pond, although it doesn't really come into play
Mostly cement Tee pads
Pro Shop was open
Signs indicated multiple pin placements (not sure how often they are rotated if at all)
Challenging course, with many long, low ceiling shots
Cons: Some tee pads in rough shape/short.
A little tough to follow the course with no "next tee" signs
No indication of what basket placement was currently in place
Baskets not numbered
Could use more trash cans, as people seem to litter often
Many no DG'ers on the course, walking aimlessly, we even had to play around a picnic on a fairway
Some long walks. The flow of the course wasn't the greatest.
Not many elevation changes, although the course did make pretty good use of what it has to work with.
The pond doesn't come into play (i imagine because the course is not exlusive to DG)
Other Thoughts: This is a nice course with some very challenging golf. It does play for advanced Am's and better, with no other tees for players less than that. The course would do better to have better signs and perhaps a rotating dial to indicate current pin placement. The course wasn't busy, so most of the time spent waiting will be to wait for non DG'ers crossing the fairway. We did notice some groups didn't have the best ettiquette and were throwing prior to a hole being completed. It seemed to lack a signature hole. This course would be rated much higher with better signage, a better flow, and to appeal to a bigger audience of skill levels, some extra tee pads. This course is well worth a play, especially for better players.

12 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty sweet course

1    1/2/2010   1/3/2010
Review By: Hans
Played: 25  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.3 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -18 Holes
-Its Free!!!
-Good variety of holes, with lots of elevation changes and nice scenery
-Beautiful pond in the middle (don't worry, you don't have to throw over it or anything)
Cons: It's too far from my house (but that really isn't the courses fault)
Couldn't find much signage as far as where the next hole was other than a couple signs at the pro shop showing which direction hole 1 of both courses were. Luckily I had a few guides with me.
Its not DG exclusive, so you did have a lot of people walking around. Most of them, however, seemed to be aware that there was a lot of people playing this day (and there was a lot!) and tried to move along quickly.
Some of the players we came across seemed to be a bit douschey
Other Thoughts: This was a really, really, REALLY nice course. It was pretty busy, as we were there on a Saturday, but we didn't really have to wait for anyone at any tees. There were a group of guys playing behind us though that were in a big hurry, as they were trying to throw as soon as we reached our drives, nearly hitting us on several occasions, and never once did we hear a "Fore", or even a "Hey, watch out." After about 8 holes of that and several stink eyes they finally asked to play through. We figured that would be safer than catching a disc to the head. It's a shame that we almost let that bone headed group almost ruin what was a lovely day at the park. Outside of that group, this was a lovely course, and I would highly recommend it, even if you don't live close. I came from the Antelope Valley, about an hour and a half from the course, and it was well worth the drive, especially considering that not only is there 2 18 hole courses there, but a few miles away is a pretty nice little shop called Discovering the World that sells every kind of disc you ever want (at least it seemed that way). So if you live in the So Cal area, or are just passing through, definitely take a stop by here. If not for the jerky group of people, (which I'm told isn't the norm), this would have easily been a 4-4 1/2 disc review!

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Bring Boots and Your A-game

5+    12/25/2009   12/28/2009
Review By: Apothecary
Played: 66  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 17.2 Years
21 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Excellent course design. Weird mandos and tight tunnels paired with steep rolling hills make this course a dream for Blue and Gold level players
-Water hazard. Much of the Front 18 wraps around a little pond. If you're afraid of geese, stay at home. La Mirada is one of the only courses in the area with the added risk of water.
-Great baskets and tee pads (when it's dry...a lot of these tees get really slick or submerged when the course is wet)
-Practice basket near the tee for hole 1 and the pro shop
-FREEEEEEE! :)
-Empty course. Don't think I have ever had to wait for other golfers playing the Front 18
-Fish or play tennis while you're there
-Good signage
Cons: -Lots of pedestrian traffic. Fishermen, picnickers and bird-feeders abound.
-Course gets pretty wet in the winter.
-Blind shots combine with steep hills to make for some crazy rolls off the bounce. Use a spotter!
-Being largely situated around a busy pond and streets, there is always a lot of noise and the course feels incredibly exposed. Only one good spot to chill and relax and it is often in use.
-Man-eating geese
-Course is a little tricky to navigate...make sure and bring a guide! :)
Other Thoughts: This is a world class course sitting on an incredibly overused slice of park. You WILL be waiting for pedestrians, lost fishermen, toddlers and soccer players. If you want to try this course, play early and mid-week to minimize aggravation. Remove the pedestrians from this course and it instantly turns into a 4-disc course.
Sans pedestrians, this is an incredibly challenging course. If you ever have the opportunity, check out one of the major tourneys that are held regularly here. Watching the pros navigate low ceilings and mandos is disc golf as high-art.
Long, tight and technical, this is a really hard course with few places to relax. This course is very highly touted and is worth the trip if you are in the area (though the Back 18 is FAR superior.)

21 of 24 people found this review helpful.

 Busy beautiful course

5+    11/21/2009   12/2/2009
Review By: Danger
Played: 86  Reviewed: 70  Exp: 5 Years
This review was updated on 12/15/2009
14 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Variety. Uphill, downhill, blind, tunnel, open, everything.
-2 practice baskets near the pro shop.
-Descent baskets. Mostly concrete tee pads, a few are on existing paths.
-Lots of long holes, and some shorter ones too.
-Locals have been helpful in helping navigate the course.
-Really a beautiful course surrounding a stocked lake (which does not come into play really on any holes).
-Pro shop that sells a descent variety of mostly Innova discs. Some Discraft too. It's a tennis shop though so don't expect much advice.
-Great quality for a free course.
-Course flows really well.
Cons: -Some baskets are close to eachother making first time navigation a little confusing.
-It might be me but the baskets all seem a little low.
-HOARDS of school children fill the park when school gets out, and they dont seem to follow any paths. You really have to just chuck it and hope for the best. Yell fore.
Other Thoughts: I can see why people call this the best course in Southern California, but I don't know if I agree with that 100% There really is not much I can think of that could improve it except for the fact that it really is NOT DG Exclusive at all.
First tee is near the pro shop in the middle of all the tennis courts. They sell maps for 25 cents, and you should probably pick one up the first time out.
First shot is blind, and if you throw it too far its going in the lake. Pretty unlikely though.
It does not hurt to have a spotter on a few spots on this course. Discs can pick up speed and head right for the lake. You would think that the little rain gutters would stop your disc, but they don't.
I definitely love playing this course, but good advice is to get there earlier in the day instead of later.
Update: Went to play a rain round last Friday, and there was a track meet taking up the ENTIRE park. It was impossible to play, so we left. This was at about 3:30pm. Just FYI, you might want to call the pro shop before you go on a Friday afternoon.

14 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 best bet in Orange County

5+    8/7/2009   8/17/2009
Review By: AusTexDoc
Played: 39  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 37 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Pro shop back open, full park facilities, beautiful park, Nice lake (barely comes into play), nice elevation changes, if you get bored, you've got another 18 out back. Good cement tees on the front 18. Good mix of distance and accuracy shots.
Cons: foot traffic and kids playing by hole 1 and 18. Sometimes crowded parking lot (but plenty of parking available on the streets. Sometimes muddy in areas.
Other Thoughts: Pretty faithful to old layout with a few minor changes to the course I started playing "frisbee golf" on back in 1977.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/14/2009   7/14/2009
Review By: ibgollie
Played: 59  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 9.1 Years
This review was updated on 10/4/2009
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -Good elevation which is hard to come by in the LA area.
-Quality hole design, many good tests of each type of shot, up, down, left, right, you name it.
-Very nice park setting with big cool trees and a lake in the middle
-Concrete tee boxes
-Old course that has withstood the test of time
Cons: -Lots of people, disc golfers and non-disc golfers
-Awkward routing of the course, seemed like there was a lot of back tracking and walking the wrong direction to the next hole.
-I think the shots and holes were selected for the hole design, but it is sacrificing the overall flow and layout.
Other Thoughts: La Mirada is probably the best DG destination in SoCal. Not a lot of other courses can compete with the 36 holes available there. This course just needs some upkeep as far a signage and it would be a 4 to 4.5 star in my book.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great Facilities

2-4    3/28/2011   6/27/2009
Review By: roadtripstuff
Played: 108  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 11.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/20/2011
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Two 18-holes Courses On-Site
Concrete Tee Pads
Multiple Basket Placements
Challenging
Great Variety
Very Well Maintained
Decent Elevation Changes
Plays Around A Small Lake
Fairly Easy To Navigate
Good Tee Signs at Each Hole
Other Park Facilities/Amenities Available
Cons:
Can Get Crowded (Course and Park)
First Hole Plays Beside Busy Picnic Area/Play Area
Can Get Swampy In Some Areas
Other Thoughts:
A few friends and I played this course as part of a disc golf road trip from Ohio to California. I played this course about six months ago, but recently found my pictures and notes from the courses, so I thought I would go a head and give the review since this is such a great disc golf facility. Course is decently laid out with a lot of variety. There are multiple types of shot requirements and the distances vary greatly. This course is definitely a championship type course for more advanced players, but beginners could play here as well. Beginners might have a tough time with the distance on most holes, but there is very little rough to lose discs in and the lake only punishes in most cases when you over shoot the basket, so this shouldn't be an issue for beginners. The only place that discs can get hung up is in the trees. There are beautiful mature trees throughout the course and they are very capable of catching any disc that come their way.

Some people have said they had some issues navigating the course. We didn't have issues finding our way through the course. I don't know if this was because the gentleman at the pro shop gave us a crash course on the layout, or because we were following a few people up a head of use. This said I guess I'm not going to have a fair assessment of what it could be like for a first-timer to go out there and play. The pro shop is now closed, last I heard, so unless you come across some fellow DG-ers, there could be some issues getting from hole to hole.

Once you get to the park, you will want to head towards the tennis courts, the old pro shop is between the two sets of tennis courts in the park. First tee pad is on the concrete by the old pro shop and the basket is located down by the lake. As I stated before, they lake can really only come into play if you bomb it past the basket. The first hole also plays near a busy picnic area so watch for other park go-ers as you tee off. After we teed off on hole one we walked down over the hill a bit and some kids had picked up one of our discs and was playing catch with it, so keep an eye out, discs can "grow legs" and walk away.

After hole #1 you have to walk up the hill a bit, to get to the tee for #2. The next few holes are all pretty easy to navigate, tee pads for the next hole are all visible when you finish the previous hole. The first place where this isn't the case is after hole #6. After #6 you will want to head to the corner of the park, near the intersection and you will see the tee pad for #7. After #7 head back down towards the street for the tee pad for #8.

After finishing up at #8 you will need to back track again, the tee pad for hole #9 is next to the basket for #7.

The tee pad for #10 is pretty easy to find, but #11 can be the worst on the course. After you finish up #10, head down the hill towards the lake. The tee is right beside the lake, when we played there were some benches next to the tee pad. The fairway plays back up the hill, away from the lake.

Holes #12, 13, and 14 are all easy to find, and the tee pad for #15 is on the concrete beside the gym (brick building to the right of the basket for #14).

After #15, head back up towards the gym, just to the right of the gym, is the tee pad for #16. Hole #17 and #18 are easy to find and put you right back beside the old pro shop.

This is a beautiful course and anyone who gets a chance should get out and give this one a go. Anyone who loves the game will enjoy this course no matter skill level, but it was definitely designed with advanced players in mind and they are going to be the only one shooting great scores out here. Can't wait to give this one a shot and check out the other course in the park. The pro shop is no longer open and will be greatly missed the guys that worked and hung out there were very friendly and helpful, and were great advocates for the sport. We came out from Ohio and the guy there told us about all the courses in the area and what was worth checking out, really sorry to hear that they aren't there anymore.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.