La Mirada, CA 
La Mirada Regional Park - Front 18 Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #4
3 / 254ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Regular Tee



Reviews: 60
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Great Facilities

2-4    3/28/2011   6/27/2009
Review By: roadtripstuff
Played: 110  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 11.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/20/2011
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Two 18-holes Courses On-Site
Concrete Tee Pads
Multiple Basket Placements
Challenging
Great Variety
Very Well Maintained
Decent Elevation Changes
Plays Around A Small Lake
Fairly Easy To Navigate
Good Tee Signs at Each Hole
Other Park Facilities/Amenities Available
Cons:
Can Get Crowded (Course and Park)
First Hole Plays Beside Busy Picnic Area/Play Area
Can Get Swampy In Some Areas
Other Thoughts:
A few friends and I played this course as part of a disc golf road trip from Ohio to California. I played this course about six months ago, but recently found my pictures and notes from the courses, so I thought I would go a head and give the review since this is such a great disc golf facility. Course is decently laid out with a lot of variety. There are multiple types of shot requirements and the distances vary greatly. This course is definitely a championship type course for more advanced players, but beginners could play here as well. Beginners might have a tough time with the distance on most holes, but there is very little rough to lose discs in and the lake only punishes in most cases when you over shoot the basket, so this shouldn't be an issue for beginners. The only place that discs can get hung up is in the trees. There are beautiful mature trees throughout the course and they are very capable of catching any disc that come their way.

Some people have said they had some issues navigating the course. We didn't have issues finding our way through the course. I don't know if this was because the gentleman at the pro shop gave us a crash course on the layout, or because we were following a few people up a head of use. This said I guess I'm not going to have a fair assessment of what it could be like for a first-timer to go out there and play. The pro shop is now closed, last I heard, so unless you come across some fellow DG-ers, there could be some issues getting from hole to hole.

Once you get to the park, you will want to head towards the tennis courts, the old pro shop is between the two sets of tennis courts in the park. First tee pad is on the concrete by the old pro shop and the basket is located down by the lake. As I stated before, they lake can really only come into play if you bomb it past the basket. The first hole also plays near a busy picnic area so watch for other park go-ers as you tee off. After we teed off on hole one we walked down over the hill a bit and some kids had picked up one of our discs and was playing catch with it, so keep an eye out, discs can "grow legs" and walk away.

After hole #1 you have to walk up the hill a bit, to get to the tee for #2. The next few holes are all pretty easy to navigate, tee pads for the next hole are all visible when you finish the previous hole. The first place where this isn't the case is after hole #6. After #6 you will want to head to the corner of the park, near the intersection and you will see the tee pad for #7. After #7 head back down towards the street for the tee pad for #8.

After finishing up at #8 you will need to back track again, the tee pad for hole #9 is next to the basket for #7.

The tee pad for #10 is pretty easy to find, but #11 can be the worst on the course. After you finish up #10, head down the hill towards the lake. The tee is right beside the lake, when we played there were some benches next to the tee pad. The fairway plays back up the hill, away from the lake.

Holes #12, 13, and 14 are all easy to find, and the tee pad for #15 is on the concrete beside the gym (brick building to the right of the basket for #14).

After #15, head back up towards the gym, just to the right of the gym, is the tee pad for #16. Hole #17 and #18 are easy to find and put you right back beside the old pro shop.

This is a beautiful course and anyone who gets a chance should get out and give this one a go. Anyone who loves the game will enjoy this course no matter skill level, but it was definitely designed with advanced players in mind and they are going to be the only one shooting great scores out here. Can't wait to give this one a shot and check out the other course in the park. The pro shop is no longer open and will be greatly missed the guys that worked and hung out there were very friendly and helpful, and were great advocates for the sport. We came out from Ohio and the guy there told us about all the courses in the area and what was worth checking out, really sorry to hear that they aren't there anymore.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Course!

2-4    12/23/2008   5/27/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 766  Exp: 12.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/8/2010
17 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is set in a hilly park with a mix of open space and trees, and a small lake. The course configuration is occasionally different, with this 18 sometimes playing as the front nine of a championship 18 course, but both layouts are challenging and fun. The course design makes the most out of the various densities of trees throughout the course, and uses the available elevation very well. The lake doesn't often come into play, but it is very pretty, and will punish really bad drives on a few holes.

There is very nice grass on all the holes, and it has been nicely mowed every time I've played. Many of the holes punish poor tee shots without having any nasty rough or brush anywhere on the course. Unless you throw into the lake, there isn't really a chance of losing a disc here.

The tees are all concrete pads, and most were in good shape. There are tee signs, and for the most part they were accurate and helpful. Navigation was not an issue, even when the signage was lacking, as the course had very nice maps and scorecards. Every time I've played here, I've had a great experience with the people on the course, and always end up playing with very friendly locals.
Cons: The tee signs and the basket numbering really could use some work. The map made this less of an issue, but this takes away from ease of navigation somewhat. The tee pads can also be inconsistent with regard to length and quality, so for some players this might throw them off. There are several holes with interference from other park users and that bring roads, sidewalks, and other park uses into play making for some waiting and some possible safety issues.
Other Thoughts: This course is worth driving out of your way to play. It's a course that will challenge any level player with long/short holes, and some blind shots, but is accessible to fairly new and inexperienced players. I have really enjoyed every single round I've played here, and always look forward to another chance to play this course.

Edit: Apparently the pro shop is no more, review changed to reflect that.

17 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 challenging course

1    4/18/2009   4/18/2009
Review By: mikethrice
Played: 19  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: park is nice, grass, hills, tree, blind shots, short and long shots, elevation changes, water fountains here and there
Cons: some dog traffic, but its a park, misnumbered i dont know if i shot into the right basket on a few occasions. but oh well
Other Thoughts: dont rely on the back 18 maps that are downloadable from this page. the course is different now. it didnt help me but i managed to make it all the way. i guess the shop has the new map.

great course i would go if i were you

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Sweet Course

1    4/7/2009   4/8/2009
Review By: lamb
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.2 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Can't really list any new Pros here. I agree with almost all of the other reviews when it comes to the positives of this course. If you're anywhere in the LA area this is a 'must play'.
Cons: I know it's been said before but the two biggest negatives that stand out are the lack of indicators as to which pin position is in use and the mismarked baskets.

Considering that this course has such a great reputation it was disappointing that you almost have to guess where to throw off the tee on a good number of holes. A great course like this shouldn't have bush-league stuff like this going on.

A grease pencil mark or even a piece of tape on the tee signs would go a long way to let non-regular players know the course better.

And a $10 trip to Home Depot for some number stickers could solve the basket problem.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course that needs TLC!!!

5+    3/11/2009   3/20/2009
Review By: pokamitch
Played: 30  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 28.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/26/2010
17 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great use of space and elevations. Very challenging (I love a course that can fustrate you at times). Regular tourneys and great locals. The park is beautiful and fairly maintained. Signage is very good, accurate, and easy to follow (although, they need to indicate which placement the hole is on blind shots with a grease pencil). The pro shop is back


Cons: A few hole are just too long for anyone less than Am/Pro. I don't mind it, but I think it doesn't help average players get a rise out of the course.

The pro shop closed

Only 1 restroom on the front 18 and it is at #17 teepad. Handle your businees b4 you get there. Needs more trash cans so the park can be kept cleaner.

The park is WAY over watered. The front 18 is horrible and like playing in a swamp and the teepads suck!!! Worst teepads in OC, they are literally ramps on some holes

Also, the flow was very weak, as there were long walks (well over the PDGA recomended 50 ft., many were over 250') from hole to tee.

The mandys are overboard. With a hole that is very long or a challenge already without the mandys, it is not needed. Although, I know they will help less skilled players stay in bounds and make the park safer overall, I (personally) don't even acknowledge mandys, the course is fine without them.
Other Thoughts: The course is great to play if you have some decent skills and experience in the game. I just worry that the length and difficulty may deter growth in the sport in the area (my friends that play recreationally won't join me here). Some short tees for begineers may be a solution.

The course need some loving to get this place to the glory it truly deserves. Fix the teepads, find out why the city is over watering and breaking state water conservation laws. Make some short tees for Beginner/ Rec. players. This place should be the Meca for Disc Golf in OC, it just doesn't appeal to ever player and sadly, it could. Basically, the difficulty and shear volume of holes carries this course and the cons outweigh them

Favorite Hole: Nothing really stands out. They are all challenging, but nothing that I would tag as a "signature" hole. But, if I gotta choose one, it would be #13 for the technicallity and accuracy involved. Only hole where the water is really even a factor. (There is a lake, use it!!!!)

17 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 Destination Course

1    3/14/2009   3/16/2009
Review By: progprowl
Played: 18  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 12.3 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice Pro shop with discs, food, and course maps.
-Grass was lush and green.
-Holes were all clearly marked and we had little difficulty with the layout having the map and lots of locals made it easy.
-Multiple pin locations and lots of elevation changes offer various challenges.
-Several blind tee shots and long distance holes really challenge the average player. All Par 3's even on the 450+ pin locations.
-Mandy City! If this is your first time playing here be conscious of where they are. Hole #13 on the front 18 and all of the street holes (#10-13) on the back 18. OB can be a problem as well.
-I was not prepared for the challenge but I can't wait to play again.
-Several holes are well fitted for rollers
Cons: -Bathrooms on back 18 were locked, few benches available and trash cans were hard to come by. All kind of important when you are playing 36 Holes (3+ hours)
-Signage is great but which pin location is being used is not marked on the signs. (Grease pens like Morley uses would be very helpful)
-Would also be helpful if the baskets all had the correct Hole #'s.
-Lots of park goers presented obstacles, particularly on the front 18. We had a few close calls, and several waits for groups to clear out.
-Lost a disc in the water on hole #1 on my drive after a roll. Very frustrating way to start the day.
Other Thoughts: I have been looking forward to playing here for quite some time and it did not disappoint. I have the score to prove how challenging it was. I look forward to playing again. Definately a must stop in LA.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 One of SoCal's Best

2-4    12/2/2008   3/2/2009
Review By: tdluxon
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Lots of fun holes, including some that really test the player's ability to go deep. The course is in a park which is beautifully maintained, and fairly scenic (for L.A.). Also, the final 9 holes, are referred to as "championship holes," and are all very long (500 ft +, with one hole over 800 ft.), challenging and fun. Also, the course is free to play, and considering how good of a course it is, it is not crowded at all.
Cons: It is mostly an open grassy area, so some of the holes don't have much in the way of obstacles... its kinda like throwing on a empty football field. The only other thing that was a problem (slight) was that the park is not used exclusively for disc golf, so there are sometimes people wandering around the fairways obliviously or sunbathing while you are trying to play. Not a big deal though. Also, the course is pretty flat, so there aren't many shots with elevation changes.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course to play in the LA area. Also, it is close to the 5, so if you are driving through LA, it is a nice place to stop off. If you are playing for the 1st time, stop by the Park Headquarters, and they will give you a map to the course which will help you find your way around.

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    2/21/2012   2/2/2009
Review By: Mark R
Played: 84  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 12.3 Years
This review was updated on 2/23/2012
5 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: La Mirada is a terrific park in a very nice area, and not just for disc golf; there are also outdoor raquetball and tennis courts. Mostly good tee pads (though some are adapted from adjacent sidewalks) and mostly good baskets. Great maintenance and short, thick green grass. Has some good crush opportunities, as well as good overhand holes. Right sized holes (No 500+ foot holes, but none under 150 either). Signs have improved since I last played in 2010. Pond is nice with geese and ducks, and despite being near a large population center, lots of bird species were spotted (A guy from the parks dept. mentioned that there were bluebird boxes in hidden spots). Lots of beautiful palm and cypress trees remind you that you are in California, as well as creating challenging shots. A few elevation changes keep things from being boring. Cool locals who enjoy the game.
Cons: Hard to follow even with the newer signs. First timers may have to take a minute to figure out which basket to shoot at. Lots of mandatories, a few too many in my opinion.
Other Thoughts: Basically this is a four-star disc golf course within a five-star public park. Between the Front and Back 18 courses, one 24 Hole course could be made that would rival the world's best.

5 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 my favorite cali course

5+    8/15/1990   1/30/2009
Review By: craigg
Played: 183  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 33.1 Years
15 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Located in a city park, La Mirada is exquisitely cared for. How often do you hear complaints of the grass being overwatered? The palm trees and finely cut grass give a distinctly country club feel in a public park. The pro shop is in the heart of the two courses and is surrounded by tennis courts. There's a lake which comes into play in a couple configurations. And the rolling hills make for some sweet use of elevation. Not severe, but enough to create a good challenge.
Cons: Being in a public park, there is ample opportunity for conflicts with walkers, bikers, picnicers, sunbathers, you name it. It's about the only thing that keeps La Mirada from being rated a 5 - is that it's not exclusive to DG. But if it was, it probably wouldn't enjoy the servicing that it does now.
Other Thoughts: It's been a long time since I played this course, but it left quite an impression. Last time I was there, there were 27 holes available to play, Dan Mangone still ran the pro shop, and Scott Stokely was chunking an Aviar w/ a 71 mold stamp on it.
It's a plus to hear that new signs have been installed and also nine more holes. If you are passing through LA and fail to play La Ma - you have made a mistake.

15 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 The Place To Be

1    12/2/2008   12/2/2008
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 98  Reviewed: 98  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 6/17/2009
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The front 18 at La Mirada is a really fun course to play. It does play very technical in that there are gaps to hit on many holes. There is a good variety in length and shot type. The tee signs are very helpful and have recently been updated. The local club does a good job keeping the course changing on a regular basis and keeping signs in good condition. Most tee pads are still in good condition as well. The park is really well maintained. This 18 plays around a beautiful lake and makes really good use of the land features and trees.
Cons: The pedestrian traffic is very heavy on the first three holes and most of the time players will play the front 18 creating lots of Disc traffic as well. Tee pads are inconsistent as far as size is concerned. There are just a couple of places where finding the next tee might be a challenge, 7 to 8 and 16 to 17.
Other Thoughts: Having made La Mirada my home course for the past several months, it has been a treat getting to know the large and helpful local scene here. There is at least one 1000+ rated player that plays here regularly (SuperDave) and several that are right behind him as well. This is the original course that was put in here at La Mirada and is usually played as is. The pro shop recently changed ownership and the current owners are very much tennis people. They do sell discs but their prices are steep.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.