La Mirada, CA
La Mirada Regional Park - Front 18 Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers Hole #8 (Taken 9/2012)
3 / 240ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee Sign



Reviews: 57
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Sweet Course

1    4/7/2009   4/8/2009
Review By: lamb
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.7 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Can't really list any new Pros here. I agree with almost all of the other reviews when it comes to the positives of this course. If you're anywhere in the LA area this is a 'must play'.
Cons: I know it's been said before but the two biggest negatives that stand out are the lack of indicators as to which pin position is in use and the mismarked baskets.

Considering that this course has such a great reputation it was disappointing that you almost have to guess where to throw off the tee on a good number of holes. A great course like this shouldn't have bush-league stuff like this going on.

A grease pencil mark or even a piece of tape on the tee signs would go a long way to let non-regular players know the course better.

And a $10 trip to Home Depot for some number stickers could solve the basket problem.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course that needs TLC!!!

5+    3/11/2009   3/20/2009
Review By: pokamitch
Played: 30  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 28.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/26/2010
17 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great use of space and elevations. Very challenging (I love a course that can fustrate you at times). Regular tourneys and great locals. The park is beautiful and fairly maintained. Signage is very good, accurate, and easy to follow (although, they need to indicate which placement the hole is on blind shots with a grease pencil). The pro shop is back


Cons: A few hole are just too long for anyone less than Am/Pro. I don't mind it, but I think it doesn't help average players get a rise out of the course.

The pro shop closed

Only 1 restroom on the front 18 and it is at #17 teepad. Handle your businees b4 you get there. Needs more trash cans so the park can be kept cleaner.

The park is WAY over watered. The front 18 is horrible and like playing in a swamp and the teepads suck!!! Worst teepads in OC, they are literally ramps on some holes

Also, the flow was very weak, as there were long walks (well over the PDGA recomended 50 ft., many were over 250') from hole to tee.

The mandys are overboard. With a hole that is very long or a challenge already without the mandys, it is not needed. Although, I know they will help less skilled players stay in bounds and make the park safer overall, I (personally) don't even acknowledge mandys, the course is fine without them.
Other Thoughts: The course is great to play if you have some decent skills and experience in the game. I just worry that the length and difficulty may deter growth in the sport in the area (my friends that play recreationally won't join me here). Some short tees for begineers may be a solution.

The course need some loving to get this place to the glory it truly deserves. Fix the teepads, find out why the city is over watering and breaking state water conservation laws. Make some short tees for Beginner/ Rec. players. This place should be the Meca for Disc Golf in OC, it just doesn't appeal to ever player and sadly, it could. Basically, the difficulty and shear volume of holes carries this course and the cons outweigh them

Favorite Hole: Nothing really stands out. They are all challenging, but nothing that I would tag as a "signature" hole. But, if I gotta choose one, it would be #13 for the technicallity and accuracy involved. Only hole where the water is really even a factor. (There is a lake, use it!!!!)

17 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 Destination Course

1    3/14/2009   3/16/2009
Review By: progprowl
Played: 18  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 11.9 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice Pro shop with discs, food, and course maps.
-Grass was lush and green.
-Holes were all clearly marked and we had little difficulty with the layout having the map and lots of locals made it easy.
-Multiple pin locations and lots of elevation changes offer various challenges.
-Several blind tee shots and long distance holes really challenge the average player. All Par 3's even on the 450+ pin locations.
-Mandy City! If this is your first time playing here be conscious of where they are. Hole #13 on the front 18 and all of the street holes (#10-13) on the back 18. OB can be a problem as well.
-I was not prepared for the challenge but I can't wait to play again.
-Several holes are well fitted for rollers
Cons: -Bathrooms on back 18 were locked, few benches available and trash cans were hard to come by. All kind of important when you are playing 36 Holes (3+ hours)
-Signage is great but which pin location is being used is not marked on the signs. (Grease pens like Morley uses would be very helpful)
-Would also be helpful if the baskets all had the correct Hole #'s.
-Lots of park goers presented obstacles, particularly on the front 18. We had a few close calls, and several waits for groups to clear out.
-Lost a disc in the water on hole #1 on my drive after a roll. Very frustrating way to start the day.
Other Thoughts: I have been looking forward to playing here for quite some time and it did not disappoint. I have the score to prove how challenging it was. I look forward to playing again. Definately a must stop in LA.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 One of SoCal's Best

2-4    12/2/2008   3/2/2009
Review By: tdluxon
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Lots of fun holes, including some that really test the player's ability to go deep. The course is in a park which is beautifully maintained, and fairly scenic (for L.A.). Also, the final 9 holes, are referred to as "championship holes," and are all very long (500 ft +, with one hole over 800 ft.), challenging and fun. Also, the course is free to play, and considering how good of a course it is, it is not crowded at all.
Cons: It is mostly an open grassy area, so some of the holes don't have much in the way of obstacles... its kinda like throwing on a empty football field. The only other thing that was a problem (slight) was that the park is not used exclusively for disc golf, so there are sometimes people wandering around the fairways obliviously or sunbathing while you are trying to play. Not a big deal though. Also, the course is pretty flat, so there aren't many shots with elevation changes.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course to play in the LA area. Also, it is close to the 5, so if you are driving through LA, it is a nice place to stop off. If you are playing for the 1st time, stop by the Park Headquarters, and they will give you a map to the course which will help you find your way around.

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    2/21/2012   2/2/2009
Review By: Mark R
Played: 83  Reviewed: 65  Exp: 11.8 Years
This review was updated on 2/23/2012
5 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: La Mirada is a terrific park in a very nice area, and not just for disc golf; there are also outdoor raquetball and tennis courts. Mostly good tee pads (though some are adapted from adjacent sidewalks) and mostly good baskets. Great maintenance and short, thick green grass. Has some good crush opportunities, as well as good overhand holes. Right sized holes (No 500+ foot holes, but none under 150 either). Signs have improved since I last played in 2010. Pond is nice with geese and ducks, and despite being near a large population center, lots of bird species were spotted (A guy from the parks dept. mentioned that there were bluebird boxes in hidden spots). Lots of beautiful palm and cypress trees remind you that you are in California, as well as creating challenging shots. A few elevation changes keep things from being boring. Cool locals who enjoy the game.
Cons: Hard to follow even with the newer signs. First timers may have to take a minute to figure out which basket to shoot at. Lots of mandatories, a few too many in my opinion.
Other Thoughts: Basically this is a four-star disc golf course within a five-star public park. Between the Front and Back 18 courses, one 24 Hole course could be made that would rival the world's best.

5 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 my favorite cali course

5+    8/15/1990   1/30/2009
Review By: craigg
Played: 181  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 32.7 Years
15 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Located in a city park, La Mirada is exquisitely cared for. How often do you hear complaints of the grass being overwatered? The palm trees and finely cut grass give a distinctly country club feel in a public park. The pro shop is in the heart of the two courses and is surrounded by tennis courts. There's a lake which comes into play in a couple configurations. And the rolling hills make for some sweet use of elevation. Not severe, but enough to create a good challenge.
Cons: Being in a public park, there is ample opportunity for conflicts with walkers, bikers, picnicers, sunbathers, you name it. It's about the only thing that keeps La Mirada from being rated a 5 - is that it's not exclusive to DG. But if it was, it probably wouldn't enjoy the servicing that it does now.
Other Thoughts: It's been a long time since I played this course, but it left quite an impression. Last time I was there, there were 27 holes available to play, Dan Mangone still ran the pro shop, and Scott Stokely was chunking an Aviar w/ a 71 mold stamp on it.
It's a plus to hear that new signs have been installed and also nine more holes. If you are passing through LA and fail to play La Ma - you have made a mistake.

15 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 The Place To Be

1    12/2/2008   12/2/2008
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 86  Reviewed: 86  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/17/2009
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The front 18 at La Mirada is a really fun course to play. It does play very technical in that there are gaps to hit on many holes. There is a good variety in length and shot type. The tee signs are very helpful and have recently been updated. The local club does a good job keeping the course changing on a regular basis and keeping signs in good condition. Most tee pads are still in good condition as well. The park is really well maintained. This 18 plays around a beautiful lake and makes really good use of the land features and trees.
Cons: The pedestrian traffic is very heavy on the first three holes and most of the time players will play the front 18 creating lots of Disc traffic as well. Tee pads are inconsistent as far as size is concerned. There are just a couple of places where finding the next tee might be a challenge, 7 to 8 and 16 to 17.
Other Thoughts: Having made La Mirada my home course for the past several months, it has been a treat getting to know the large and helpful local scene here. There is at least one 1000+ rated player that plays here regularly (SuperDave) and several that are right behind him as well. This is the original course that was put in here at La Mirada and is usually played as is. The pro shop recently changed ownership and the current owners are very much tennis people. They do sell discs but their prices are steep.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/27/2008   11/27/2008
Review By: Pitch
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 37.9 Years
1 Helpful / 24 Not
Pros: It's La Mirada,My home town and course.I was THERE when it all began.
Cons: LOL Too many too list
Other Thoughts: Give me a month and it would be the way it should be,T Pads,Signs,etc.
Get it together Willy.This course should be the Cadillac.The Crown Jewel.
tommypitchfordjr@yahoo.com for rates on how to make it right .(Or Complaints)

1 of 25 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/25/2008   11/1/2008
Review By: flash86
Played: 45  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.3 Years
8 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Absolutely the best place to play in Southern California. The grass playing surface, lake, scattered trees, rolling hills and scenery in general set a great backdrop for some truly challenging holes. Hole placements change occasionally to give variety. There are two 18-hole courses - the Lakeside course and the Backside course. The 36 total holes can be combined to make an awesome 18-hole Championship course. The pro shop is well stocked and the course pro, Mike Williams, is very knowledgeable.
Cons: The course is very long. If you don't have a big arm, then you could be playing catch up to others who do. Be careful about friends who get tired quick. They might be limited to just one round out there. Some holes can get blocked up by non-disc golfers who are oblivious to letting you play through or refuse to get out of the way.

8 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 First Course I Played Married

1    10/21/2008   10/30/2008
Review By: tomschillin
Played: 137  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 18.9 Years
18 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is what disc courses should strive to be! The pro shop had everything disc related (I picked up a nice avenger ESP as I was only traveling with a mid-range and putter, and it was only 15 bucks). Tee pads on every hole, although some were incorporated into sidewalks. I got to talking to the shop pro and he told me they just dropped 2500 bucks into new signs for all 36 holes, and I believe it, the signs are great. We only got to play the Lakeside course, but my new wife and I loved the length and the scenery, playing around the lake with all the ducks and stuff, I was expecting more duck poo, but didn't have any issues with the stuff. The baskets were super nice too, although they were often mis-labeled. Great elevation, not too severe, but still it was there, made for a nice walk through a nice park. I really liked how they used the trees to guard baskets, nothing was just a wide open straight shot, there was thought put into every single hole on the front side...oh yeah, maps at the pro shop are very helpful, very, very helpful...and there is a full array of ammenities at the pro shop/restrooms/club house.
Cons: 2 cons:
-Lots of the baskets were labeled with different numbers than they actually were...not a big deal if you got a map.
- the course is over-watered, not that big of a deal, the course pro guy said, "Even though we're in a drought the parks department insists on overwatering this place!"...this isn't a big deal to me, but the wife thought it was a little messy
Other Thoughts: We're from NC, got married in LA on Saturday and I was able to talk her into playing this course on Tuesday. My arguement, we're 3000 miles from home, when am I gonna get another chance?...now I wish I could have talked her into playing the full 36!!!...I only hope I can get back out there to play the back side! GREAT COURSE...I used to think DeLaVeaga was the best Cali course, but this one is right there giving it a run for it's money!

18 of 19 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.