Greenwood, SC 
Lander University DGC Share
Uploaded By: garryj Hole #10 (Taken 7/2015)
3 / 290ft.   4 / 444ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Fun, but incomplete!

1    7/1/2015   7/10/2015
Review By: garryj
Played: 28  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -layout wraps around a beautiful campus
-most holes are short but challenging
-great variety, some open, some woods, some water, some elevation
-beautiful new tee signs
-grounds are well kept, no trash
Cons: -two holes missing due to construction, #11 and #12
-#5 tee sign missing and the basket is badly damaged
-#8 basket missing
-long walk between "groups" of holes
Other Thoughts: In spite of the "cons", we had a lot of fun and will be back. You may need to do a little improvising if you play this course in it's present condition. Here's what we did:

#5
We were able to estimate the tee location for #5 and played the damaged basket as a target object. The other option would be to play the #1 basket.

#8
Looks like they removed the basket when they built the gazebo. Therefore, we played the gazebo as the basket (if no one was sitting there). Disc comes to rest in the gazebo, it's good. Hopefully a new basket will be added soon.

#11 and #12
Nothing you can do but skip.

Another thing you might want to consider is to break the round up. We played 1 -10, went to lunch, then played 13-18. Otherwise it's a major hike from 10 to 13.

One final thought-it always bothers me to see damaged or missing equipment on college disc golf courses. I know the #5 basket has been in it's present condition for well over a year. If the University is short on funds they could ask for donations. I know most of us avid dg'ers would be happy to contribute a few dollars.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Too Many Issues Mar What Could Be a Solid Course

1    4/19/2014   4/19/2014
Review By: S.Cann
Played: 120  Reviewed: 77  Exp: 6.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -The course plays through a gorgeous campus with well-manicured grass and beautiful brick buildings.

-Elevation is well used on many holes. Hole 10 is an amazingly well-done top-of-the-world shot.

-The course is semi-wooded and forces you to hit your line.

-The rough at Lander is not overly punishing.

-There's a creek that runs through the course giving you the added challenge of OB.
Cons: -The biggest issue is that navigation is nearly impossible without a guide. A map is a MUST as it is not clear where the next tee is in most cases. Lander plays in 4 distinct hole groupings (Holes 1-5, 6-7, 8-10, 11-13, and 14-18).

-Hole 5 was hit by a tree. The bent cage and pole are still present, but you are forced to play to hole 1's basket instead. Hole 8's basket was taken out 4-5 months ago to put in a gazebo, but never replaced either in front or behind the gazebo. Hole 13 tee and basket were both removed due to construction on campus.

-There is more unnecessary walking on this course than any course I have played. Lots of tees are several hundred feet from the previous hole. The course seems to meander around campus randomly.

-Most tees are natural and covered with roots.

-Holes are not well-maintained (other than short grass). Many lines are obscured by branches and several tees are impossible to play due branches hanging over them forcing you to play off to the side.
Other Thoughts: Lander is a fun course with great elevation that unfortunately left me disappointed due to the navigation issues, the long walks between holes, and the fact that 3 baskets and one hole were missing.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty and Short

1    7/11/2009   7/13/2009
Review By: laxrulz777
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is well maintained and provides a beautiful view of the campus. There's a good mix of hole types and they made a good use of the terrain.
There are several holes that you'll remember and the elevation changes are well used. Finally, there's very little underbrush and (with one exception) it seems almost impossible to lose a disc.
Cons: The course plays right through campus (in fact the first hole you throw between two buildings). We played on a Saturday morning and it was fine but I'm not sure you can play mid day during the week.
Additionally, the course is very short and there are a higher than normal number of open holes. If you're looking for "challenging" this wouldn't be my choice.
Other Thoughts: The course designers were somewhat constrained by the university (no throwing toward the roads) so there's some unnecessary walking as a result of that. Additionally, if you're playing the course without a guide you MUST get a map before playing. There are several walks in which the next hole is not visible from the previous and you'd never be able to find it without help.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 get map

1    11/22/2008   11/22/2008
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 226  Reviewed: 179  Exp: 17.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: On campus, so watch for coeds. Several great/memorable holes. Of a decent difficulty to appease a pro, but good for learning and rec play.
Clean, well maintained. Map available. Baskets blue instead of yellow.
Cons: -WITHOUT MAP NO WAY TO NAVIGATE REASONABLY.
- Many long walks and detached clumps of holes means it takes a long time to play (due to land constraints).
- On campus so watch for people, cars, buildings.
Other Thoughts: Get the map online and take it with you, more than a couple 500+ foot random walks across campus and around buildings with no signs.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.