Greenwood, SC 
Lander University DGC Share
Uploaded By: garryj Hole #3 (Taken 7/2015)
3 / 178ft.   4 / 490ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee: Across creek, then sharp dogleg left

Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Second fiddle, but still good

1    8/29/2015   8/29/2015
Review By: sjberry2017
Played: 27  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2.5 Years
Pros: Discatchers in good repair, still catch well
Holes 13-18 are fun golf
There's plenty of space for some good Safari holes
Some fun throws and quality holes
Good use of limited elevation; some fun greens on hillsides and a nice elevated tee on hole 10.
They made good use of some areas of campus
Tee signs, and a course map that shows the rough walking areas between holes
Cons: Safety issues are number one: Hole 3 plays across a walking path from a dorm to the dining hall; please be aware of pedestrians! There are also a few other areas where you need to be mindful of others.
Some holes are still unplayable/not reinstalled.
A few natural tee areas are filled with roots and make teeing off difficult; a couple others are encroached on by trees.
Hugeeee walk from Hole 10 to Hole 13, and can be confusing the first time playing since 11 and 12 aren't playable
A few missing/demolished baskets
Other Thoughts: I was pleasantly surprised on my first trip to play Lander's disc golf course; while it wasn't what I envisioned, with one and two unplayable, it was still a fun round of disc golf.

The Round
When you pull up, you have to walk over by the basketball arena and then up towards the student center to get to the map and hole one. I found hole one and two to be unplayable, so I moved on to hole three. It took a little time to find the tee; it's down the hill from the bridge to the right. This was a big hyzer bomb out over a sidewalk; please be aware of pedestrians. I then played four across the retention pond, and then played back to three's basket from behind four's basket, and then back to four's basket from three's. I skipped hole five and walked to holes 6 and 7. You have to pass through the student center and around the back of the library.
Hole 6's tee is under the magnolia trees. It's difficult to tee off here because of the tree and some roots in the tee area, but the green is on a hillside, which makes it a fun hole. Hole 7 is a beautiful tee shot with a couple trees in the middle of the fairway which define your path to the basket. From here, you have to walk up the seats of the amphitheater behind the basket and to the left of the building behind it to get to holes 8-10. Hole 8's basket was removed for a gazebo; I skipped this hole, but the tee is still there. Really, if they flipped this hole and placed the tee by the gazebo, there would be better flow through the course and the hole would coexist well with the gazebo. Holes 9 and 10 were my two favorite on the course. Hole 9 plays around a magnolia tree and then to the left up a steep hill. I tried to thread the needle between the magnolia tree and some others rather than throwing a huge hyzer; I was only moderately successful but really enjoyed putting. Hole 10's teepad is right behind the basket, and has a large root in the middle of the tee area. However, this is a 290' shot off the tee and down to a pin underneath a huge tree; it's a really fun shot. From here, I struggled to find the thirteenth tee. What you need to do is walk down the left side of the main road, and you'll eventually see the thirteenth tee. Holes 13 to 18, to me, feel the most like an actually course. Most of these holes are short with really tight gaps, but play the most like an actual course. Several holes are bordered by a creek, and a few others have tight fairways through some Southern Pines; I played these like an actual course.

Overall, for what it is, this is a fun course. It's a campus course, so it plays second fiddle to most of the rest of campus, but has some fun shots. There is also plenty of room to play some safari golf for longer and different shots, both with new tees or playing from one tee to a different basket. Holes 3 and 4, 6 and 7, 9 and 10, and 13 and 14 specifically spring to mind as good safari areas. If this course was maintained a bit better, and the missing and broken baskets were replaced, I would rate it a bit higher. However, it is still definitely a worthwhile course to play, although it is not really a destination course. If you were playing the Upstate and then headed to the IDGC, it would be a good side trip to get out and stretch your legs.

Fun, but incomplete!

1    7/1/2015   7/10/2015
Review By: garryj
Played: 28  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -layout wraps around a beautiful campus
-most holes are short but challenging
-great variety, some open, some woods, some water, some elevation
-beautiful new tee signs
-grounds are well kept, no trash
Cons: -two holes missing due to construction, #11 and #12
-#5 tee sign missing and the basket is badly damaged
-#8 basket missing
-long walk between "groups" of holes
Other Thoughts: In spite of the "cons", we had a lot of fun and will be back. You may need to do a little improvising if you play this course in it's present condition. Here's what we did:

We were able to estimate the tee location for #5 and played the damaged basket as a target object. The other option would be to play the #1 basket.

Looks like they removed the basket when they built the gazebo. Therefore, we played the gazebo as the basket (if no one was sitting there). Disc comes to rest in the gazebo, it's good. Hopefully a new basket will be added soon.

#11 and #12
Nothing you can do but skip.

Another thing you might want to consider is to break the round up. We played 1 -10, went to lunch, then played 13-18. Otherwise it's a major hike from 10 to 13.

One final thought-it always bothers me to see damaged or missing equipment on college disc golf courses. I know the #5 basket has been in it's present condition for well over a year. If the University is short on funds they could ask for donations. I know most of us avid dg'ers would be happy to contribute a few dollars.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Too Many Issues Mar What Could Be a Solid Course

1    4/19/2014   4/19/2014
Review By: S.Cann
Played: 127  Reviewed: 79  Exp: 6.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -The course plays through a gorgeous campus with well-manicured grass and beautiful brick buildings.

-Elevation is well used on many holes. Hole 10 is an amazingly well-done top-of-the-world shot.

-The course is semi-wooded and forces you to hit your line.

-The rough at Lander is not overly punishing.

-There's a creek that runs through the course giving you the added challenge of OB.
Cons: -The biggest issue is that navigation is nearly impossible without a guide. A map is a MUST as it is not clear where the next tee is in most cases. Lander plays in 4 distinct hole groupings (Holes 1-5, 6-7, 8-10, 11-13, and 14-18).

-Hole 5 was hit by a tree. The bent cage and pole are still present, but you are forced to play to hole 1's basket instead. Hole 8's basket was taken out 4-5 months ago to put in a gazebo, but never replaced either in front or behind the gazebo. Hole 13 tee and basket were both removed due to construction on campus.

-There is more unnecessary walking on this course than any course I have played. Lots of tees are several hundred feet from the previous hole. The course seems to meander around campus randomly.

-Most tees are natural and covered with roots.

-Holes are not well-maintained (other than short grass). Many lines are obscured by branches and several tees are impossible to play due branches hanging over them forcing you to play off to the side.
Other Thoughts: Lander is a fun course with great elevation that unfortunately left me disappointed due to the navigation issues, the long walks between holes, and the fact that 3 baskets and one hole were missing.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty and Short

1    7/11/2009   7/13/2009
Review By: laxrulz777
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is well maintained and provides a beautiful view of the campus. There's a good mix of hole types and they made a good use of the terrain.
There are several holes that you'll remember and the elevation changes are well used. Finally, there's very little underbrush and (with one exception) it seems almost impossible to lose a disc.
Cons: The course plays right through campus (in fact the first hole you throw between two buildings). We played on a Saturday morning and it was fine but I'm not sure you can play mid day during the week.
Additionally, the course is very short and there are a higher than normal number of open holes. If you're looking for "challenging" this wouldn't be my choice.
Other Thoughts: The course designers were somewhat constrained by the university (no throwing toward the roads) so there's some unnecessary walking as a result of that. Additionally, if you're playing the course without a guide you MUST get a map before playing. There are several walks in which the next hole is not visible from the previous and you'd never be able to find it without help.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 get map

1    11/22/2008   11/22/2008
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 226  Reviewed: 179  Exp: 17.5 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: On campus, so watch for coeds. Several great/memorable holes. Of a decent difficulty to appease a pro, but good for learning and rec play.
Clean, well maintained. Map available. Baskets blue instead of yellow.
- Many long walks and detached clumps of holes means it takes a long time to play (due to land constraints).
- On campus so watch for people, cars, buildings.
Other Thoughts: Get the map online and take it with you, more than a couple 500+ foot random walks across campus and around buildings with no signs.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.