Lake Wales, FL 
Lake Aurora Christian Camp Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #4 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Basket



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

2-4    9/9/2013   9/13/2013
Review By: Alan26
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Maps, scorecards and even discs to borrow at the front desk. Discs for sale. Concrete tees. Friendly employees. Free of charge. Mados clearly marked on score card.
Cons: You should call ahead first because course is not always available to the public. Tees 1 and 10 are not marked. I play them both from the large concrete pad at the start near a post with course instructions. Slight navigation challenge first time through.
Other Thoughts: Very cool oak tree next to hole 2s tee, its worth going under for a minute. Mandos on 4 and 5. Holes 17 and 18 are tightly wooded.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Dusmann

1    9/3/2013   9/5/2013
Review By: dusmann
Played: 35  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Easy to get find from Hwy 60. Called ahead to verify play was available. Upon arriving staff was very helpful with maps and hole locations. Course has a good flow to it, fairways were manicured. Front 9 played short and accurate and leads to the back 9 monster holes.
Cons: Calling and verifying though easy still not a just get in your car and go to course. Small tee pads .
Other Thoughts: I agree with previous reviews about holes 17 & 18 needing a little more trimming but very challenging. All in all loved playing the course and will be back.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Recent improvements

2-4    1/15/2011   1/16/2011
Review By: HeyrobJ
Played: 99  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 19.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Lake Aurora course has been recently upgraded, and now has concrete tee boxes on all 18 holes! Beautiful hilly lakeside course. Nice mix of short and long, open and tight holes. Map is available at 1st tee at the back side of the cafeteria.
Cons: As with any course development the improvements keep coming. The new tee boxes make a world of difference. Some course grooming on Safari holes 17 and 18 will open up more lanes. Distance/ Map placards at the tees will be of help to, but most holes are in line of site.
Other Thoughts: Course notes:

1 and 10 play from the large bricked pad at the cafeteria, 1 is short straight down to the lake to the left of the giant Live Oak, 2 plays far out along the lake to the edge of the property boundary.

Mando on holes 4 and 5. Hole 4 must play to the left of the Oak. Hole five is a giant Anheiser and must play left of the light pole.

Safari holes 17 and 18 -it's a jungle out there and after playing all out in the open for most of the back 9 along the Orange groves it's all about placement for the next two holes! A dinky Heiser is needed to start off on both leading to a tight tunnel that rewards shot placement over power.

Lake Aurora Christian Camp is old Florida at it's best, clean, wooded, and beautiful. Please respect the camp by not bringing alcohol on the course and by being respectful, this will keep the course growing and open for the future.

Pro shop is coming along soon.

About an hour from Disney World this fun and challenging course is well worth the drive.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Said it was 9 now it's 18

1    9/14/2009   11/8/2009
Review By: gottafixit
Played: 453  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 11.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very scenic holes around the lake, most baskets are line of site, given how you play OBs can have some challenging holes.
Cons: Tee areas hard to locate, woods holes needed trimming, 18's basket missing?, couldn't find a couple of tee's, plays through common camp areas that could have people traffic.
Other Thoughts: This is a camp course with nice lake views, I called ahead and got no answer so I chanced it and went out and wasn't questioned while I played. I tried the office to see about maps and scorecards but it was locked up. If you manage to get a hold of someone ahead of time and they have maps pick one up as it will help you locate the tees easier.

I parked near the office and the first basket you see is the practice basket, to find the first tee walk to the left side of the dining hall and you will see the rules sign. The tees are 4x8 patches of dead grass were I think it's been covered with sand and has some 12"x12" pavers to mark them. They could use a simple spray painted number to eliminate confusion. I couldn't find 1, 10, and 3's tees. For 1 and 10 I used the concrete next to the rules sign for 3 I teed near the dock on the waters edge. 3's basket had some damage from a fallen tree, and 18's I couldn't find so I played the path all the way to the open and to 9's basket for a kinda safari hole. Almost all other baskets are visible from the tee, or it's pretty obvious which way your headed. When you get to the playing field holes you throw toward the parking lot first then back across the field toward the back stop. Try playing the roads that follow as OB for more Challenge.

I found it hard to find the tees at first but once I realized what I was looking for it wasn't hard to navigate. If they have a map that would do wonders otherwise they should at least number the tees. I would have liked a couple more woods but it doesn't seem that they would receive the up keep that is needed. Its a great course for the campers and had a couple holes I really liked, 3 had the lake on the left with a big tree to go around on the right, 4 you had to go either around a big tree and chance hitting water or through the low clearance of the tree for a tough putt, and 16 with the road snaking through the fairway to a low canopy tree guarded basket.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.