Chandler, AZ 
Mesquite Grove DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #1
3 / 240ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Not very scenic

1    10/20/2013   10/22/2013
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 752  Exp: 12.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a flat dusty park filled with mature mesquite trees. I was pleasantly surprised by the design on a few of the holes, they forced some interesting lines and tricky shots. You will need a mix of left and right turning shots to score well here, and the mesquite trees are really good at punishing errant shots. You will certainly lose strokes if you aren't careful with shot placement. There is an ok variety of hole lengths as well, with a couple longer shots mixed in.

The tees are natural, but the ground here is hard packed and level so I had no complaints about the surfaces. The "back nine" tees add some extra variety and some really different looks at the same baskets. The color coded signs and next tee markers make navigation pretty easy for the most part.
Cons: I understand the desire to fit as many shots as possible in a small space, but it leads to safety issues. Even within each of the loops of 9 holes there are crossing fairways and holes that play very close to one another. Throw in the overlapping layouts using the same baskets and lots of blind shots and you have some real potential for conflict. There were only 3 groups playing when I was there and there were still several times when discs came flying in unannounced or we had to wait on people to clear the fairway.

With a handful of signs missing and several others that were very inaccurate on hole distance and layout there were times it was unclear where to throw. The mesquite trees are great obstacles, but they also tend to be pretty brutal to get discs out of. There is a lot of broken glass on the ground throughout the course. Many of the holes have a high hyzer line so you can just avoid the obstacles, making it play a lot more open and repetitive than it looks.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will find the thorns pretty rough here, but the holes aren't too long or technical. More experienced players won't be all that challenged, there just isn't a whole lot you can do with this kind of property. I wouldn't go out of your way to play this one, it's not very exciting nor is it the most scenic course in the area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Mesquite Grove...

2-4    7/18/2010   7/30/2010
Review By: eye-ball-sac
Played: 67  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 5.5 Years
This review was updated on 2/19/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pros? Hmmmm...let me think...there were 9 baskets and 9 tee signs? There were "trees"? Thats about it...
Cons: The fun factor was a big, fat 0 here. The course is located in the flattest, dustiest part of Chandler, which makes some really boring shots. The ground seems to give your disc a brownish color when your done with 18. There are tons of ant hills and I saw some either small rats or large mice running around. Mesquite "trees" (which are more like bushes than trees) seem to be the absolute worst choice for vegetation in a disc golf course I've ever heard of. They're really thick and have the longest thorns I've ever seen! If you land in one, you're going to come out with a few cuts. Tee signs are terrible. The distance is way off and the map doesn't help at all. The tees, even though there weren't any, weren't too bad since the ground is so hard and flat. No trash cans anywhere near the park. Broken glass everywhere. There's a field that's the school's where an errant drive could easily land on a couple holes. Navigation is terrible. Almost every hole is a blind shot and the maps on the sign confuse more than help. Theres really long walks to the next tee. Hole 9 plays to a basket and a sign points you to number 10. Once you walk over there you realize you're throwing right back at the same basket. Baskets are in ok shape, but anything except a solid putt will bounce out.
Other Thoughts: The high school band practices right next to the park and theres a super loud metronome that seems to echo through the whole park. Once you finish you still have that sound stuck in your head. Restroom at the entry to the course and a nice sign which is the only good sign you'll see in the whole course. There's a weird gravel path going through the park that doesn't lead to anywhere. I still don't know what it is. Head over to Paseo Vista Recreational area instead, it has hills!

-------------------------
If you mark this review unhelpful or you find a mistake, please send me a personal message here on DGCR explaining what is wrong with it.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Frustrating Course Layout

1    3/22/2010   3/24/2010
Review By: Jax11
Played: 95  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 5.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course's only obstacles were Mesquite trees. It was interesting terrain and very isolated. There were some blind pin locations and some interesting lines. It was easy to find and has a port-a-potty right at the entrance. signs were well detailed but had issues (see Cons). Baskets were in decent condition.
Cons: Mesquite trees were the only obstacles, they have thorns which makes chasing down errant throws painful. Though they are actually trees, the Mesquite trees can easily be thrown over. Spike Hyzers seem to be the shot of choice as there is no reason not to go over the trees. The course was very repetitive, by the 6th hole I felt like I had played the same hole six times. There are serious navigation issues here. My group felt we took longer finding the where to throw then actually throwing. There are blind baskets which have other hole's baskets in view adding to the confusion. The signs were adequate, but the small aerial pictures were inaccurate and the distances listed on them seemed inaccurate. The tees were dirt and due to the random placement of the tee signs in relation with the "tees boxes" it was very hard to tell what was in fact the tee box and which way we were supposed to throw.
Other Thoughts: Very frustrating round of golf for my group. I highly recommend trying to find some locals who play here often to help you get around the course the first time. I also suggest finding a stick or something of the sort to help pull discs from under the thorny Mesquite trees. There is very little grass so baseline (DX or the like) plastic will get pretty beat up on this course. Very little shade in the afternoon, bring water and sunscreen

This course could be significantly better if the navigation issues were fixed and you spent less time wondering which basket to throw at.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Tough course to love

1    11/16/2008   1/4/2009
Review By: ragajones
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: For being a "play backward for 18" course where all the baskets are used twice, it was pretty cleverly laid out to maximize double-use baskets. Good course entry sign.
Cons: This course is hard to love...
It is perfectly flat on hard-packed dirt. It seems like every plant on the course has thorns.

Most holes are clones of a single idea, "The basket is right behind that giant clump of thorny trees - good luck" I kept trying to find something to like but I think of all of the courses in Phoenix that get low marks for bland terrain - this is the most bland - just a dusty flat field of mesquite trees.
I think just about every hole on the front nine had to be scouted. We probably walked the course 3x further than normal because of so many blind shots. If the measure of a good course is the necessity of a variety of shots and tricks, I think the blind shot idea was used to the point of overkill.

There were really no fairways on the "closed" holes that rewarded good aim. The result was just throw after throw through thick brush.
The holes that were "open" were just throwing across empty dirty fields.
Other Thoughts: The best part of this course was the creative implemetation of the back 9 - I found myself approaching a hole and getting ready to putt before recognizing the basket from the first round.
Bland, dusty, harsh, far, uninspired.

Only play this course if you are a local and want to check it off a list.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.