Chandler, AZ 
Mesquite Grove DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #17
3 / 261ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee

Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Mesquite DGC

2-4    8/10/2015   8/10/2015
Review By: JNichols
Played: 50  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well laid out holes to start. The course seems thought out and holes are placed decently, for a Flat, Desert course. This is also a Challenging course. The abundance of mesquite trees, especially on the front 9 (Overgrown mesquite trees, I might add), make for some challenging lines to blind baskets. This course has a good blend of hole lengths from 150ft-475ft and everything in between. Being a flat desert landscape, the addition of a couple holes with the baskets placed on top of dirt mounds adds some fun/challenge. Fair baskets placements allow backhand and forehand lines on most holes. A very fair course to right handers and lefties. Very little traffic on this course. I have played it 4-5 times now and never seen anyone else. I have also seen many types of birds, rabbits, lizards, a coyote, and other various wildlife on this course. The course is actually a city park in the middle of farm land, so there is some good wildlife viewing. A couple picnic benches in the shade of trees and garbage cans help out. There is also a Porta-Potty in the parking lot.
Cons: The course seems a bit run down, or lacking up keep. The pictures of this course look NOTHING like it is now. The trees are really overgrown on some holes. Hole #4, for example, has a fairway no wider than 10-12ft at it's narrowest point. A good tree trimming would be in order to give some of the holes a "Fair" fairway. With this being the case on quite a few holes, you end up having to take riskier lines over the tops of trees on many holes instead of down the fairway. Playing this course with someone else would be Highly suggested, at least until you know basket positions. It really helps to have a spotter on this course.The baskets at this course are also just plain BEAT. A couple of them have the cage wired together to keep discs from falling out, cages on most are bent up (a couple are fairly bad), and the baskets just plain allow spit throughs more than any others I have seen. Some days, there is quite a lot of trash to pick up, too. This course gets BLOODY Hot during the day. It is desert landscape. Bring PLENTY of water/liquid. The Mesquite trees will poke you, stab you, and otherwise cause you to bleed. Be careful. Natural tee pads on some holes are littered with long metal nails sticking up in spots, where I am assuming they used to have rubber mat tee pads. Check your path before you tee up.
Other Thoughts: This course is deemed a City Park in Chandler. I think this course has a lot of potential. With a good tree trim, some general clean up, and a little TLC, it could be a gem in the rough. I am tempted to contact the city of Chandler and see what they would allow to be worked on out there.

Overall, this could be an Awesome course for the area. It is different than any of the others I have played. It could be Great with a little work.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good Course

2-4    4/10/2012   5/9/2012
Review By: mcbmaz
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Many blind shots make it a little difficult. Signage is good. Easy to navigate. Porta-John at entrance.
Cons: Baskets are a little beat up. Digging discs out of mesquite trees full of thorns.
Other Thoughts: Good course if you don't want to deal with many people. The most I have seen out there was 4 people and that was including me and my buddy. Overall I gave it a 3 because it serves its purpose, not a pretty course, but not horrible either. I am sue that if you head out you will have fun.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 worth a try if in the area

2-4    6/27/2009   7/10/2009
Review By: AusTexDoc
Played: 39  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 38.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Mostly good signs with very helpful next tee arrows. Plays fast and hard to lose a disc. Lots of opportunities to make your own variation. Signs are pretty accurate (one or two are missing and one hole was a lot longer than listed)- but you can pretty much look at the sign throw the distance it shows and look for your disc near the basket. Good birdie course. More character than a park with a few tress.
Cons: Flat, but not as ugly as the photos look. I never saw a soul. If you had multiple groups, the course would be a little hazardous. After a while, I could get bored here easily.
Other Thoughts: I almost skipped this course due to low level reviews. I actually enjoyed this course as much as the park 18 hole courses up north.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Desert Courses Are Cool

5+    3/8/2008   3/9/2009
Review By: pokamitch
Played: 30  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 29.8 Years
This review was updated on 4/29/2010
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Never crowded. Easy to keep an eye on your throws (only a few blinds).
All tees are level (the whole course is). Ingenius use of the holes for a back 9. It isn't like playing backwards.
Never muddy or flooded after rains (it is a desert course!!), so it is always ready for some use when the park courses (that are essentially water retention basins for the flash floods you get in the desert monsoons) are flooded/ muddy. Great use of the land.
The High School kids never interfere with your game (course is next to Basha High). Excellent signage that really give a good visualization of the hole.
The area is Disc Golf Exclusive!! The only porta potty there is always clean. Holes are in good condition
Decent mix of holes, only a few long ones, but still a decent variety
Cons: Most holes are too wide open. Not as challenging as I like. Used a lot of hyzers/ hooks, over and over. Way to far out of town. It is as far southeast as you can get in Maricopa County.

THIS IS A DESERT COURSE!!!! In most deserts you have a flat, hard pan (sand/ rocks, not dirt) WITHOUT grass and ground cover (although in the spring, the whole place gets a bunch of ground cover that you can lose your disc in easily if it ain't a bright color)...Thorny trees, bushes, and cacti. Play the course as it is, and APPRECIATE an alternate to the "Park Courses" we are used to.

Bring something to hydrate. No water available, It Gets Hot As Hell(100-120 F)!!! May thru Oct.

Favorite Holes: #14. Pretty open from the tee, then gets tight at the hole. There is a Lil window that I can get a wild S-turn thru LHBH. Trips the crew out everytime I get thru

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.