Layout Extinct

Rocky Mount, VA 
Sontag DGC - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: 21730 Hole #1
3 / 220ft.   3 / 320ft.   3 / 400ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 White Tee



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 I agree with heelboy

1    10/19/2008   11/8/2008
Review By: gottafixit
Played: 453  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 11.7 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It has potential. Easy to follow paths and flow, and nice tees.
Cons: Did not feel the tees matched the distances. Fairways still needed on some holes. Killer par 4 and par 5 woods holes.
Other Thoughts: I'm a big fan of technical woods courses but i'm a bigger fan of all par 3. I know it might get old to some but I don't like throwing my arm out before i finish the round, I think i threw 7 times on one hole because i just couldn't seem not to hit a tree every 50 feet. My other grip is the color scheme. I have designed a course and i took some time and pride in trying to follow the red, white, blue, yellow and having it match the expected distances for that color. I felt this should have been colored white, blue, yellow. so when i thought i was playing white and felt like i was playing blue i wasn't that happy.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 a bit of work needed

1    10/10/2008   10/17/2008
Review By: Rowdie
Played: 38  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.6 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Beautiful course, with enormus potential.
Cons: Some holes lack fairways. There is a considerable amount of brush and derbry that could stand to be cleared.
Other Thoughts: This is just a nice course to play on a warm day.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/12/2008   10/16/2008
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 176  Reviewed: 172  Exp: 10.6 Years
This review was updated on 1/4/2009
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course has so much potential to be outstanding, but it falls so far short.
- Good use of the terrain, provides many holes with good elevation and obstacles.
- 2 longer tees are challenging. If you can't throw straight, you're in trouble. And as I mention in the cons, even if you do through straight, you may still be in trouble.
- Good variety of holes. This course definitely requires you to use all the discs in your bag.
- Low chance of losing discs. Water only in play on 1 hole. It seems the biggest risk is hitting a tree and having it bounce deep into the woods. On some holes, the woods are really thick and unforgiving.
- Beautiful scenery. It's a great looking park in a great part of the state, the tractor-pull track not included.
- I liked the red marks on the baskets being used as arrows to the next hole.
Cons: There's a lot of small things that need work. You can accept when there's only one major problem, but when it starts adding up, it gets real frustrating.
- As mentioned already, some holes were missing true fairways. It felt like going into the woods and throwing a disc, and luck would play the biggest factor in whether you hit a tree 50 feet away or 200 feet away. I played with a group of guys, and on several holes we hit trees on almost every single shot.
- One or two holes may need to be redesigned or have a bunch of trees cut down. There's a big difference between tough, but fair and over the top.
- The cut-down trees and branches were never fully cleared away. Piles of logs and debris were on just about every hole. For the holes that did have fairways, some of the piles were about 2 feet off the fairway. Again, not fun having to climb and dig through a pile of branches when a shot barely misses the fairway.
- Perhaps my biggest gripe was that the stumps were not cleared away. Every wooded hole had stumps in the fairway. It gets old really quick when you're tripping and stumbling over stumps almost constantly. All were maybe a quarter inch to 2 inches, so they're not always easy to spot. Our shins and ankles all took a beating from tripping over and hitting the stumps. Frustration might be an understatement by the time we finished.
- I couldn't always find the correct tee pads. They need to be better labeled.
Other Thoughts: Despite the issues with the course, it has some serious potential.
- I think I am being overly hard on this course because it has the makeup of a 4 - 4.5 level course, but due to the problems, it gets serious markdowns. If it improves, this course reminds me of Richmond Hills in Asheville, NC with a little bit of Renny in Charlotte thrown in. Its potential is that good.
- The course is from '08, so I hope these problems are just because it's new. It will be a shame, and serious waste of potential, if the problems don't get fixed.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 tough course

1    10/11/2008   10/14/2008
Review By: davidmparslow
Played: 82  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 17 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: one of the hardest courses I have ever played. the blue tees are insane.
Cons: some of the fairways seemed to lack um ... fairways.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 sontag disc golf course

7/19/2008   8/7/2008
Review By: pdiddy71
Played: 30  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.7 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: one of the more challenging courses in virginia. it has long holes in the woods as well as in the open. it has been consistently been worked on to make it better since it was opened.
Cons: wood piles just off the fairway, some debris still to be removed.
Other Thoughts: very challenging course, playing it will help improve your game.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.