Crown Point, IN 
Lemon Lake County Park - Blue Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #10
3 / --   4 / 470ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Lemon Lake Blue

1    7/3/2011   9/24/2011
Review By: ElementZ
Played: 114  Reviewed: 111  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/6/2011
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lemon Lake - Blue is the most open of the courses in the Lemon Lake complex. It's my personal favorite because I'm a sucker for the "public park" feel. Well, it definitely has that feel, but the awesome thing about it is that there are only disc golfers here, so you have that awesome combination of park without having to worry about hitting non-DGers.

And yet, this course isn't entirely open. In fact, it weaves through woods as well and has an incredible amount of elevation for being in Indiana.

I can definitely see myself traveling out to this complex again. I had an awesome time even though I was just playing by myself. There's a great variety of shots and terrain and it's a relatively challenging course. I could definitely see how the Lemon Lake Complex was a great match up for the 2010 Worlds.

On a side note, the clubhouse stocks Latitude 64 discs! That always brings a smile to my face.
Cons: In the summer the bugs can get absolutely ridiculous, but that's essentially everywhere. Hands down, it was the worst part about playing here, especially since it's next to a swampy area.

To me, it lacked a picturesque signature hole. While all the holes were diverse and interesting, none of them really wow'd me when I stepped up to the tee.
Other Thoughts: I would absolutely recommend a trip to Lemon Lake. There are several great courses on site and the park is an excellent place to relax and just enjoy the game of disc golf. It's very apparent that there's a community here that cares about the courses and works hard to keep them in good condition. The clubhouse exceeded my expectations as well.

Definitely worth it to come and spend the day at Lemon Lake! You'll have a blast!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Front drastic from back.

5+    8/10/2010   7/10/2011
Review By: #19325
Played: 315  Reviewed: 168  Exp: 13.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Blue course is a drastic change from the front 9 to the back 9. The land is rather flat and open on the front and wooded with sloping hills on the back.

The baskets are in solid condition. They are Innova Discatchers that have been painted blue. The last time I played hole #10 had a 2nd pin (kingpin).

There is a wide variety of shots and lines on this course. #3 has a long tee pad and most holes have 2 pin positions.

Concrete tee pads.

Adequate tee signs.

There are 10 holes over 300ft. 9 of those are 340 or more. You can throw a driver a lot!

With the use of the maps on this site navigation is not a problem.

Hole #10 is my favorite hole. Long par 4 with a pond on the right. When the pin is next to the pond it's awesome!

There are a few risk and reward holes where you can try to net birdies by throwing over out of bounds.

There are some really fun short wooded holes on the back.
Cons: The front 9 can get a little repetitive with being long and open.

Standing water and mud can be an issued after rain.

Although the tee signs are adequate they are nothing special.

Although the tee pads are concrete they are a little short and some are not flat to the ground and don't allow run ups from behind.

Hole #17 is my least favorite hole. Very short hole hooking left.

There is quite a few long walks on this course as you have to cross the road several times to get to the next hole. If you don't have a map it will be difficult to navigate.
Other Thoughts: This is a pay to play facility.

If you are not familar with poison ivy there is some at this facility. Educate yourself and take precautions if you are allergic.

The 2010 Pro Worlds did wonders for this facility. 4 courses with a ton of options. There are plans for a 5th course.

The Homie event every October is a must play midwest event. Great atmosphere and always a ton of people.

Here are the results of Pro Worlds. You can get an idea of how the best players in the world scored on this course.
http://www.pdga.com/course_ratings/15193

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Not Blue At All

2-4    6/10/2011   6/10/2011
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 186  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 4.9 Years
This review was updated on 9/18/2011
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Scattered mature trees dot the lawn-like gently rolling terrain that comprises the majority of Lemon Lake Blue. The rest of the course provides wooded, tighter "fairway"-ed holes. Marshes comes into play on #'s 3, 9 and run the length of 10's long gradual left-to-right turn. A creek, dry at times of the year, comes into play nicely on 11, 12, and 14. Many holes are longer in length, making this a great course for the big guns while still providing technical lines and a few ace runs on the wooded holes.
- Elevation, while not major, is used very well. A few of the longer holes gradually incline or decline the entire length of the fairway.
- A few holes have significant water risk, helping to break up what would be a largely riskless round played over a huge lawn.
- Amenities: sufficient (although occasionally non-descript) signage, good concrete tees, next tee signage.
- Although at first glance the most plain of the Lemon Lake courses, Blue nevertheless has many beautiful views and interesting natural aspects in addition to its quality discin' throughout.
Cons: - Navigation and flow are the big culprits in bringing down Blue's overall rating. Many above average holes somewhat spoiled by long, initially confusing walks (even with the map), criss crossing the street, and trying to determine exactly which basket to shoot towards.
- #13's tee is deeply submerged (as of 6/10/11) under swamp water.
- Tee signs don't depict a map of the hole, just a very general dotted line. This adds to the confusion first time through.
Other Thoughts: - Located in the spacious Lemon Lake complex. Gold/Silver, Red, and White courses available, as well as an assortment of non-dg related pursuits (sand volleyball, baseball/softball, fishing, walking, playgrounds, etc). Concession stand open during the summer months, selling food and discs. Portajohns and restrooms on site.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Fun for everyone

5+    1/29/2010   1/29/2011
Review By: cefire
Played: 637  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 15.2 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Out of the courses at the Lemon Lake facility, this is probably the best one that players of all skill levels can enjoy (except perhaps ~1010 and above rated players). There is just enough to keep good players trying to get the next birdie and it gives newer players plenty of room to experiment with their drive without too much risk of shule or other painful debris on the front; but complete noobs will want to keep a tight leash or play safe around the water/bog holes in the back.
Cons: Like other reviewers, I found the front 9 of this course to be a little repetitive and boring. Most of these are relatively wide open shots usually with a large bomb hyzer line to the pin. If you can control your distance and clean up putts, starting the woods with 6-7 birds is not out of the realm of possibility. Another challenge with these holes is that bad drives go relatively unpunished usually leaving around 100' for an upshot which is wide open and easy to convert. Conversely, this makes it that much more important that a player convert all birdie opportunities or good drives are essentially wasted. It would also be nice to have a little bit more flip/flop between the open and more wooded holes - probably impossible from a design perspective but this course would probably play a notch or two higher if the variety were more interspersed throughout the course.
Other Thoughts: While it doesn't have a "phenomenal" course, the Lemon Lake complex is still a solid destination to play disc golf. All of the courses have a really high fun factor and make for a great weekend with friends without a lot of driving.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 2 Nines of Fun

1    9/14/2010   9/23/2010
Review By: ArcheType
Played: 33  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 4.3 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -This course is also maintained excellently. The fairways were nice and clean, and the teepads were in great shape.

-This course has several very lonnnng holes, with more obstacles than hole 2 on the white course. They really allow you to let em rip for distance.

-The entire complex is virtually garbage free.

-The tee signs were helpful, and in good shape.

-The holes, while very long, played well around the available obstacles to provide a few different potential routes.

-The back 9 is incredible. While it gets shorter when it becomes more forested, it also becomes alot more precise and enjoyable. There is much more punishment for bad shots there as well.
Cons: -The front 9 of this course isn't exactly enthralling. Several holes (4-8) in particular, are virtually wide open shots, with few or no obstacles there.

-Several holes play back and forth across the road, and have long walks in between them.

-Some tees are hard to find. They could use 2 or 3 more "Next Tee ->" signs.
Other Thoughts: This was a great course on my trip out that day. At first I didn't feel it, because I'm not too gifted with distance, but the back 9 really made up for it. Its definitely a must play for a day out at Lemon Lake.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

1    9/17/2010   9/23/2010
Review By: tistoude
Played: 166  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 6.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First off this course is locted in an excellent county park that has four disc golf courses on site as well as a huge playground, sand volleyball, basket ball, fantastic bathroom facilities, vending machines, numerous pavilions, walking trail and fishing lake.

The course has a great mixture of holes. A majority of the course plays through open field with strategic trees but from hole 11 on there are a good amount of wooded holes and mixed holes. There are holes that also play around a marsh and along a lake (watch out for the Geese). Although there is not a ton of available elevation the Blue course took advantage where it could. Almost every hole has some form of elevation change on it. A few notable holes are number 10 which is a right turning hole that plays along the lake forcing you to choose between safe and possible birdie, number 14 which plays over a creek through some groupings of trees and back up into the open to finish and number 18 which is a beautiful tunnel shot with a pin guarded by trees.

The course is very well groomed. Everything is well taken care of. The tees and baskets are in great shape, the fairways are distinct and mowed.

Each hole requires some shot shaping. Obviously some more than others (#14 lots vs #3 slight).

Good signage. The tee signs were very clear on where the pin is and distance. Also there were signs directing you to the next tee wherever there might be confusion.
Cons: The section of the course #4 - #8 is fairly boring. It is a bit repetative playing in a mostly open field with minimal obstructions to the hole.

The layout of the course plays back and forth across a few roads. I think you cross roads 5 times in the course of playing 1 round. There are also a couple of good walks between holes.
Other Thoughts: This course is very fun to play and can be handled by most skill levels. It is not overwhelming to beginners and not boringly easy for experienced golfers. The distances are all reasonable and the course is a pretty easy walk.

The blue course begins and ends at the same parking lot that the red course begins and ends at so it is easy to flow from one course right into the other.

The Lemon Lake course complex is truly a destination spot for Disc Golf. Getting to play four courses in one day is a great feeling (and that feeling is happily exhausted).

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 decent course in great shape

1    9/9/2010   9/10/2010
Review By: gdub58
Played: 102  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course was in immaculate condition, with nice tee pads and baskets, easy naviagation, and good signage. This was not surprising given Worlds was recently here, but it's always nice to see a course so well taken care of.
Design was solid, with some fairly plain holes on the front nine (1, 5, 6 in particular) balanced by some really nice holes on the back nine (10, 11, 17). A few of the holes have two pin placements.
Good balance of RH and LH friendly holes, and just enough distance to give the strong arm a little advantage, while about half of them are reachable for most players.
Holes 11-14 and 16-18 are tight and the rest are fairly open. Hole 10 was the standout - a 450' dogleg right around the marsh with a well protected basket.
Scorecards available at the entrance where you pay the park fee.
The park itself multi-use and very well maintained, with clean facilities and vending machines.
Cons: $7 to get in the park - I don't mind it, but since some do I'll list it here.
Other activities take place here and there are a lot of picnic areas, so you may have non-golfers in your way at times.
Other Thoughts: The park is in the middle of nowhere, but with four courses on the site it makes the trip worthwhile. All four courses start fairly close to each other, which is nice.
Overall a solid but unspectacular course in a beautiful facility.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great Compliment to LL Red

2-4    9/6/2009   12/23/2009
Review By: gkeberhart
Played: 36  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 4/5/2010
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Another course that has a great balance of scenerey as well as difficulty and birdie holes. This is definitely one of those courses where you need to get a birdie on the birdie holes if you want to shoot a solid round. provides great challenge while maintaining an open feel. in the last few holes there is a more sudden feel of woodedness that brings a new technique in to finish the round. holes are manageable and multiple pin placetments on some holes makes it interesting to play time to time.
Cons: Hole 6 is about 600ft and feels out of place compared to the rest of the holes, while some others are lengthy they do have more technique involved. a few of the holes near the lake are prone to flooding which depending on when you play can cause problems. you do have to walk across the main road a few times to get back and forth between holes. nothing terrible but can cause some problems with careless drivers.
Other Thoughts: This paired with Red really make an awesome set up, the courses compliment each other very well and bring a lot of fun to the game. while the quality of this course is right there with Red i still believe that Red has more of that intangible factor that brings you back. that being said DO NOT let this course go unplayed. I tried to play it in some very windy conditions last, and unfortunately it doesn't lent itself well to that. the open holes are just plain impossible with high winds.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 B+ = You Be Feelin' Positive After Playing This

1    8/2/2009   9/2/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 366  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.2 Years
11 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up in my list of 18 hole courses:

1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == B
(About half the holes are pretty wide open, so that cancels out the 5-6 holes that are very well designed in this regard: water, heavy rough and challenging shaped fairways.)

2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I throw 300' accurately, 360' max. == B
(A full 1/3 of the holes are too long for me to have a realistic chance at birdie. This turns them into ho-hum par holes for me.)

3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == B+
(About half the holes are pretty open and do not force you too hard in this area. The wooded holes are pretty much all excellent in this regard. Terrain is used superbly!)

4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == B+
(Idyllic setting for great beauty. Although it is in a park, too much of this course runs close to the main park roads. This knocked the score down from what would otherwise be a solid A.)

5) Bonus points for multi-throw holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == C-
(The multi throw holes only add length....no added strategery really.)
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (149 18-hole, 91 9-hole as of late 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me….that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

11 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/23/2009   5/24/2009
Review By: Niven42
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4
This review was updated on 6/14/2009
4 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Awesome course with plenty of wide, open, long fairways on the 1st nine. Well-maintained with guide signs and concrete pads.
Cons: Wind (fall/spring). Mosquitoes (summer). Heavy woods and forest could foster ticks.
Other Thoughts: Although many people have complained about the wind here, I think it is attributable to the distances involved in the holes, which will suggest it affects your disc more. There is a really good video on Youtube.com that shows the last 6 holes of the Indiana State Championships Masters Division, which even though shot on the red course, will give you an idea of the course design.

A bit of folklore: the Lemon Lake swamp/lake complex is fed by an underground stream that connects all the lakes in the area. It is a naturally beautiful area that I have enjoyed visiting since my childhood.

4 of 15 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.