Crown Point, IN 
Lemon Lake County Park - Blue Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #3
3 / 255ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Sometimes it's fun to air it out...

1    5/21/2015   6/2/2015
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 136  Reviewed: 99  Exp: 4.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice 18 hole course in a large park, with several other courses on site. Great land for courses.

One concrete tee pad for each hole. They were all in good repair and plenty long/wide enough. No issues here, even with the longer holes possibly requiring a longer run-up.

One pin position per hole, but I think a couple holes had alternate locations. Hole 10's basket was NOT in the position shown in the pictures here, and was much better. Baskets were all in good repair, and blue in color.

Tee signs at every hole, with all the pertinent information. Navigation was mostly simple, with the transfer to hole 3 a little tricky (go right from 2, not over to hole 10's tee). All in all, easy to get around.

This course definitely caters more to somebody with decent distance. The front 9 is relatively open, but with plenty of strategically placed trees that force lines. Once you get into the wooded (mostly) back 9, the lines are more defined. All in all, you'll use a lot of shots, especially power throws, which helps it to stand out on the complex.

A decent amount of elevation, and a couple holes with water, for good measure. A really balanced course.
Cons: It would be cool to have multiple tees/pin locations, but with several courses onsite, it's probably not a necessity.

There's really not a lot to complain about here, to be honest. It mixes in well with the other courses, but I suppose some people might find it a bit too open on the front side, and some people might not love the long bomber holes.

It's supposedly P2P, but there was nobody manning the guard shack when we got there, so we just parked and played.
Other Thoughts: As an Int player with 370-380' power, I loved this course. Plenty of opportunity to really let some shots go, without fear of losing discs. I was afforded the opportunity to let so big anny's fly, and several spots to just grip it and rip it. Mixed in with the quite nice wooded holes, there was a bit of something for everybody.

This isn't the toughest course around, but I left feeling quite satisfied. I'd love to give this a 4.0, but I think a 3.75 would be more in line, so I'll bump down because of single pin/single tee.

For me, this is a must hit if in the area, and for others, you won't be sorry you played it.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/21/2011   11/21/2011
Review By: AdamE
Played: 244  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 11.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The blue course is the second longest course at Lemon Lake with only the Gold course being longer. It takes advantage of some nice elevation changes, the lake is in play of a few holes and a creek's in play on a few others. The front nine is mostly open with a light sprinkling of trees around to keep it interesting. The back nine is a lot more interesting with water in play quite a bit, the shot variety is much more balanced, and the hole length is more varied.

The tee signs list the distance and have a good hole diagram which is very helpful, especially your first time here. The tees are a mix of concrete and grippy brick so I didn't have a problem with them.

Hole 10 is definitely my favorite hole on this course. It's a big, long turnover shot that runs the edge of the lake which is on your right.
Cons: The front nine is rather long and bland with only 2 holes under 300ft. Holes 2 and 9 help to keep it interesting but otherwise it was rather unmemorable. There are some trees on these holes as I mentioned above, but they do little to make it more interesting. This means the front nine lacks risk/reward and is just a small step away from being wide open.

There are a number of healthy walks between some of the holes. I wouldn't say it was difficult to find the next tee, but signage could be a bit better in some places to help with this.

The ground was extremely wet with standing water when I played here. I know it rained recently so I'm not holding it against the course but this was an issue throughout almost the entire round.
Other Thoughts: The Lemon Lake complex is most definitely worth going out of your way to spend a day or two playing here. While all courses here have nice variety on their own, as a whole the courses also compliment each other well. It's very cool that the baskets, posts for the tee signs and benches are color coded to match the course you're playing.

The blue course is geared more towards big arm players, but the wooded holes and water hazards make it good for accurate players with less D. The back nine is tons of fun with a good variety and challenges, but unfortunately the front nine is the major factor stopping the blue course back from being rated higher IMHO. I'm a little surprised how highly rated the blue course is. I know being part of a complex like this can help the rating of all courses, but the front nine is so bad there's no way I can justify rating this over a 3.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Lemon Lake Blue

1    7/3/2011   9/24/2011
Review By: ElementZ
Played: 122  Reviewed: 116  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/6/2011
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lemon Lake - Blue is the most open of the courses in the Lemon Lake complex. It's my personal favorite because I'm a sucker for the "public park" feel. Well, it definitely has that feel, but the awesome thing about it is that there are only disc golfers here, so you have that awesome combination of park without having to worry about hitting non-DGers.

And yet, this course isn't entirely open. In fact, it weaves through woods as well and has an incredible amount of elevation for being in Indiana.

I can definitely see myself traveling out to this complex again. I had an awesome time even though I was just playing by myself. There's a great variety of shots and terrain and it's a relatively challenging course. I could definitely see how the Lemon Lake Complex was a great match up for the 2010 Worlds.

On a side note, the clubhouse stocks Latitude 64 discs! That always brings a smile to my face.
Cons: In the summer the bugs can get absolutely ridiculous, but that's essentially everywhere. Hands down, it was the worst part about playing here, especially since it's next to a swampy area.

To me, it lacked a picturesque signature hole. While all the holes were diverse and interesting, none of them really wow'd me when I stepped up to the tee.
Other Thoughts: I would absolutely recommend a trip to Lemon Lake. There are several great courses on site and the park is an excellent place to relax and just enjoy the game of disc golf. It's very apparent that there's a community here that cares about the courses and works hard to keep them in good condition. The clubhouse exceeded my expectations as well.

Definitely worth it to come and spend the day at Lemon Lake! You'll have a blast!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Front drastic from back.

5+    8/10/2010   7/10/2011
Review By: #19325
Played: 322  Reviewed: 170  Exp: 14.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Blue course is a drastic change from the front 9 to the back 9. The land is rather flat and open on the front and wooded with sloping hills on the back.

The baskets are in solid condition. They are Innova Discatchers that have been painted blue. The last time I played hole #10 had a 2nd pin (kingpin).

There is a wide variety of shots and lines on this course. #3 has a long tee pad and most holes have 2 pin positions.

Concrete tee pads.

Adequate tee signs.

There are 10 holes over 300ft. 9 of those are 340 or more. You can throw a driver a lot!

With the use of the maps on this site navigation is not a problem.

Hole #10 is my favorite hole. Long par 4 with a pond on the right. When the pin is next to the pond it's awesome!

There are a few risk and reward holes where you can try to net birdies by throwing over out of bounds.

There are some really fun short wooded holes on the back.
Cons: The front 9 can get a little repetitive with being long and open.

Standing water and mud can be an issued after rain.

Although the tee signs are adequate they are nothing special.

Although the tee pads are concrete they are a little short and some are not flat to the ground and don't allow run ups from behind.

Hole #17 is my least favorite hole. Very short hole hooking left.

There is quite a few long walks on this course as you have to cross the road several times to get to the next hole. If you don't have a map it will be difficult to navigate.
Other Thoughts: This is a pay to play facility.

If you are not familar with poison ivy there is some at this facility. Educate yourself and take precautions if you are allergic.

The 2010 Pro Worlds did wonders for this facility. 4 courses with a ton of options. There are plans for a 5th course.

The Homie event every October is a must play midwest event. Great atmosphere and always a ton of people.

Here are the results of Pro Worlds. You can get an idea of how the best players in the world scored on this course.
http://www.pdga.com/course_ratings/15193

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Avoid the Right

1    6/10/2011   6/16/2011
Review By: swatso
Played: 401  Reviewed: 356  Exp: 7.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
At the same location as four other courses. Extremely well-stocked pro shop
Cons:
Disc-eating swamp wide-right on #9, along the right-side the entirety of #10, and had completely swallowed tee-13 the day we played. Flow a bit choppy as you hop back-n-forth across the road a few times.
Other Thoughts:
With an average length just under 370', and three holes 550'+, long-throwers should enjoy this course. Over half the holes, mostly on the front nine, would be considered open. For the most part, any danger, i.e. ob-roads, treelines, tall grass, swamps, slopes, etc., on these holes is found along the right-side. Lest the technicians be bored silly, 11-14 (sloping) and 16-18 (flat) offer plenty of tight challenges, keeping the course from merely being one long bomb-fest.

Favourite holes: #9, a subtle downslope, scattered mid-sized trees to miss/stay under, nicely-presented green; #14, a ridge-to-ridge left-turner, open early but squeezing as, at the midpoint, you cross the creek near a covered bridge. Thick canopy and large limbs keep you from going up-n-over, so need to stay low, but not so much that you drop below the basket on the equal-elevated ridge.

With five courses located at a single site, supported by a fine pro shop, Lemon Lakes is a destination which should satisfy a wide spectrum of players for an entire day.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Not Blue At All

2-4    6/10/2011   6/10/2011
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 200  Reviewed: 160  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 9/18/2011
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Scattered mature trees dot the lawn-like gently rolling terrain that comprises the majority of Lemon Lake Blue. The rest of the course provides wooded, tighter "fairway"-ed holes. Marshes comes into play on #'s 3, 9 and run the length of 10's long gradual left-to-right turn. A creek, dry at times of the year, comes into play nicely on 11, 12, and 14. Many holes are longer in length, making this a great course for the big guns while still providing technical lines and a few ace runs on the wooded holes.
- Elevation, while not major, is used very well. A few of the longer holes gradually incline or decline the entire length of the fairway.
- A few holes have significant water risk, helping to break up what would be a largely riskless round played over a huge lawn.
- Amenities: sufficient (although occasionally non-descript) signage, good concrete tees, next tee signage.
- Although at first glance the most plain of the Lemon Lake courses, Blue nevertheless has many beautiful views and interesting natural aspects in addition to its quality discin' throughout.
Cons: - Navigation and flow are the big culprits in bringing down Blue's overall rating. Many above average holes somewhat spoiled by long, initially confusing walks (even with the map), criss crossing the street, and trying to determine exactly which basket to shoot towards.
- #13's tee is deeply submerged (as of 6/10/11) under swamp water.
- Tee signs don't depict a map of the hole, just a very general dotted line. This adds to the confusion first time through.
Other Thoughts: - Located in the spacious Lemon Lake complex. Gold/Silver, Red, and White courses available, as well as an assortment of non-dg related pursuits (sand volleyball, baseball/softball, fishing, walking, playgrounds, etc). Concession stand open during the summer months, selling food and discs. Portajohns and restrooms on site.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Fun for everyone

5+    1/29/2010   1/29/2011
Review By: cefire
Played: 642  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 16.3 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Out of the courses at the Lemon Lake facility, this is probably the best one that players of all skill levels can enjoy (except perhaps ~1010 and above rated players). There is just enough to keep good players trying to get the next birdie and it gives newer players plenty of room to experiment with their drive without too much risk of shule or other painful debris on the front; but complete noobs will want to keep a tight leash or play safe around the water/bog holes in the back.
Cons: Like other reviewers, I found the front 9 of this course to be a little repetitive and boring. Most of these are relatively wide open shots usually with a large bomb hyzer line to the pin. If you can control your distance and clean up putts, starting the woods with 6-7 birds is not out of the realm of possibility. Another challenge with these holes is that bad drives go relatively unpunished usually leaving around 100' for an upshot which is wide open and easy to convert. Conversely, this makes it that much more important that a player convert all birdie opportunities or good drives are essentially wasted. It would also be nice to have a little bit more flip/flop between the open and more wooded holes - probably impossible from a design perspective but this course would probably play a notch or two higher if the variety were more interspersed throughout the course.
Other Thoughts: While it doesn't have a "phenomenal" course, the Lemon Lake complex is still a solid destination to play disc golf. All of the courses have a really high fun factor and make for a great weekend with friends without a lot of driving.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/22/2010   11/17/2010
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 245  Reviewed: 237  Exp: 19 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Blue course has a mix of longer more open holes on the front and then becomes more technical on the back. There are some fairly long holes, but there are usually a couple of "well-placed" trees that you must avoid. (Long arms will really like the chance to air it out here!) I found the Blue Course to offer the most as far as risk/reward is concerned. Many of the holes allow for various ways to play the hole giving you choices of what type of shot to use (rather than forcing everyone to throw the same shot.) There is just enough elevation on some holes to be a factor. The Blue Course also has the added challenge of a few water holes including a pond, a march, and a creek (lost discs are possible.) Navigation was not a problem, but I do highly recommend printing a course map before you come. And of course the concrete tees and nice signs were in excellent shape.

The baskets are one of the coolest features in this complex as they match the color of the name of the course. This also helps you to locate the different courses better when you enter the park, and it helps to spot the correct basket as the courses border each other in many places. (Imagine if the park just had 100+ yellow baskets...!)

The courses were just used for 2010 Worlds so everything should still be in great shape.
Cons: I like the balance of the number of open holes to technical holes, but I wish it could have been mixed up more (front 9 was open, back 9 was more technical). Playing all those open holes back to back can start to become a little repetitive, especially to distance-challenged arms. (Although if you look at the big picture of the whole complex and consider all 72 holes at Lemon Lake, then a few open holes in a row is not that bad.) To allow for the longer style, the Blue Course is very spread out, so there are some longer than average walks between holes sometimes.

I also played after some heavy rains and the course was very muddy in places and so soggy that they were not able to mow the fairways. This is probably not the norm, but be advised if you play during the rainy season.
Other Thoughts: Obviously having 4+ courses in one spot is a huge bonus, especially when they are all good courses. (This course would be around a 3.5 if it was a stand alone, but gets a slight boost when you factor in the entire complex.) I like that each course has its own personality and degree of difficulty. (Ranking: easiest-White- Red-Blue-Silver/Gold-hardest) The Blue Course for me played harder than it looks (which frustrated me that day!) You have to play it smart and stay mentally tough throughout the round. Blue was my 2nd favorite or the 4 (Red was 1st), and as others have said, the two do complement each other very well. Parking for the Red and Blue courses is the same- the first lot on the left.

There is a vehicle entrance fee, but the gatehouse was not always manned. Also, the park workers are extremely friendly and obviously take pride in their disc golf courses.

We had the chance to play these courses as they were making final preparations for the 2010 Worlds. I am sure the courses are in even better shape now since that event has past.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 2 Nines of Fun

1    9/14/2010   9/23/2010
Review By: ArcheType
Played: 33  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 5.3 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -This course is also maintained excellently. The fairways were nice and clean, and the teepads were in great shape.

-This course has several very lonnnng holes, with more obstacles than hole 2 on the white course. They really allow you to let em rip for distance.

-The entire complex is virtually garbage free.

-The tee signs were helpful, and in good shape.

-The holes, while very long, played well around the available obstacles to provide a few different potential routes.

-The back 9 is incredible. While it gets shorter when it becomes more forested, it also becomes alot more precise and enjoyable. There is much more punishment for bad shots there as well.
Cons: -The front 9 of this course isn't exactly enthralling. Several holes (4-8) in particular, are virtually wide open shots, with few or no obstacles there.

-Several holes play back and forth across the road, and have long walks in between them.

-Some tees are hard to find. They could use 2 or 3 more "Next Tee ->" signs.
Other Thoughts: This was a great course on my trip out that day. At first I didn't feel it, because I'm not too gifted with distance, but the back 9 really made up for it. Its definitely a must play for a day out at Lemon Lake.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

1    9/17/2010   9/23/2010
Review By: tistoude
Played: 176  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 7.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First off this course is locted in an excellent county park that has four disc golf courses on site as well as a huge playground, sand volleyball, basket ball, fantastic bathroom facilities, vending machines, numerous pavilions, walking trail and fishing lake.

The course has a great mixture of holes. A majority of the course plays through open field with strategic trees but from hole 11 on there are a good amount of wooded holes and mixed holes. There are holes that also play around a marsh and along a lake (watch out for the Geese). Although there is not a ton of available elevation the Blue course took advantage where it could. Almost every hole has some form of elevation change on it. A few notable holes are number 10 which is a right turning hole that plays along the lake forcing you to choose between safe and possible birdie, number 14 which plays over a creek through some groupings of trees and back up into the open to finish and number 18 which is a beautiful tunnel shot with a pin guarded by trees.

The course is very well groomed. Everything is well taken care of. The tees and baskets are in great shape, the fairways are distinct and mowed.

Each hole requires some shot shaping. Obviously some more than others (#14 lots vs #3 slight).

Good signage. The tee signs were very clear on where the pin is and distance. Also there were signs directing you to the next tee wherever there might be confusion.
Cons: The section of the course #4 - #8 is fairly boring. It is a bit repetative playing in a mostly open field with minimal obstructions to the hole.

The layout of the course plays back and forth across a few roads. I think you cross roads 5 times in the course of playing 1 round. There are also a couple of good walks between holes.
Other Thoughts: This course is very fun to play and can be handled by most skill levels. It is not overwhelming to beginners and not boringly easy for experienced golfers. The distances are all reasonable and the course is a pretty easy walk.

The blue course begins and ends at the same parking lot that the red course begins and ends at so it is easy to flow from one course right into the other.

The Lemon Lake course complex is truly a destination spot for Disc Golf. Getting to play four courses in one day is a great feeling (and that feeling is happily exhausted).

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.