Crown Point, IN 
Lemon Lake County Park - Blue Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #14
3 / --   3 / 330ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 decent course in great shape

1    9/9/2010   9/10/2010
Review By: gdub58
Played: 103  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course was in immaculate condition, with nice tee pads and baskets, easy naviagation, and good signage. This was not surprising given Worlds was recently here, but it's always nice to see a course so well taken care of.
Design was solid, with some fairly plain holes on the front nine (1, 5, 6 in particular) balanced by some really nice holes on the back nine (10, 11, 17). A few of the holes have two pin placements.
Good balance of RH and LH friendly holes, and just enough distance to give the strong arm a little advantage, while about half of them are reachable for most players.
Holes 11-14 and 16-18 are tight and the rest are fairly open. Hole 10 was the standout - a 450' dogleg right around the marsh with a well protected basket.
Scorecards available at the entrance where you pay the park fee.
The park itself multi-use and very well maintained, with clean facilities and vending machines.
Cons: $7 to get in the park - I don't mind it, but since some do I'll list it here.
Other activities take place here and there are a lot of picnic areas, so you may have non-golfers in your way at times.
Other Thoughts: The park is in the middle of nowhere, but with four courses on the site it makes the trip worthwhile. All four courses start fairly close to each other, which is nice.
Overall a solid but unspectacular course in a beautiful facility.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A Course of 2 Nines

1    6/24/2010   8/10/2010
Review By: ZMan44
Played: 134  Reviewed: 110  Exp: 10.4 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lemon Lake Blue sported excellent baskets, tees, and navigational prompts. The flow was very natural. The strength of the course is in the balance of the design. The first 9 holes were mostly open with sparse trees. While this lended options off the tee, there was an apparent idea behind the construction of the hole. For example, I believe it is hole 8 where there is a large tree directly in between the tee and the pin. The pin is about 30 feet behind the tree. The hyzer (RHBH) route is there, but there are some other sporadic trees along the right side. It opens up down the left side, indicating that this was what the designer had in mind. You can try and execute the difficult anhyzer, or you can attempt the hazardous hyzer line. I felt like there were a number of holes like this on the Blue Course. Hole 10 is a challenging RHBH anhyzer around the lake. After this hole, the course becomes more wooded. Once in the woods, shot execution and shape becomes crucial. In short, the Blue Course at Lemon Lake offers open, yet risky, open holes along with wooded holes requiring solid execution. Hole #18 was an excellent finishing hole requiring navigation of a tight fairway. The groundskeeping was fantastic for the Blue Course as well.
Cons: Hole #1 was boring. The only challenge was a slight uphill grade. In my opinion, it was the weakest hole on the course. If you have read my prior reviews, the two holes I remember most are the first and the last. Therefore I am critical of these holes. The 600' hole was rather boring as well. For someone like me, I know what I am going to get on that hole before I tee off...a 4. The only challenge present for this hole would be wind which could pose a challenge under those conditions.
Other Thoughts: The Blue Course was my second favorite course at Lemon Lake. This is by no means meant to discard the Blue Course as I gave this course and the Red the same rating. I think they compliment each other very well. The entire complex is a phenomenal facility for the sport.

If you are traveling, like we were, simply turn into the park and look for the first parking lot on your left. The Red and Blue courses begin and end in this parking lot. The course does not loop back to the parking area after hole 9, but you do come close after a slightly downhill hole, which I believe is around 14 or 15. If you like to take a mid-round pit-stop after 9, you might have to wait a few holes.

Bathrooms are located in the building near the playgrounds. The back 9 passes this area at some point. I didn't notice any bathrooms close to the front 9 and it is a long way to the restrooms from holes 4 - 8.

If you are in the area, Lemon Lake is a must-stop. If you can play all 4 courses, you should definitely go for it. They all offer different challenges. If I could only play 2 of the 4, I would choose Blue and Red because they offer a challenge for the average player (like me) without being frustrating. If you are an elite level player, then the Silver/Gold is definitely a good option for you. If you are a beginner, the White Course is probably suited for you. No matter what combination you play, you shouldn't be disappointed.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Great Compliment to LL Red

2-4    9/6/2009   12/23/2009
Review By: gkeberhart
Played: 36  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 4/5/2010
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Another course that has a great balance of scenerey as well as difficulty and birdie holes. This is definitely one of those courses where you need to get a birdie on the birdie holes if you want to shoot a solid round. provides great challenge while maintaining an open feel. in the last few holes there is a more sudden feel of woodedness that brings a new technique in to finish the round. holes are manageable and multiple pin placetments on some holes makes it interesting to play time to time.
Cons: Hole 6 is about 600ft and feels out of place compared to the rest of the holes, while some others are lengthy they do have more technique involved. a few of the holes near the lake are prone to flooding which depending on when you play can cause problems. you do have to walk across the main road a few times to get back and forth between holes. nothing terrible but can cause some problems with careless drivers.
Other Thoughts: This paired with Red really make an awesome set up, the courses compliment each other very well and bring a lot of fun to the game. while the quality of this course is right there with Red i still believe that Red has more of that intangible factor that brings you back. that being said DO NOT let this course go unplayed. I tried to play it in some very windy conditions last, and unfortunately it doesn't lent itself well to that. the open holes are just plain impossible with high winds.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course with variety

2-4    10/31/2009   11/6/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 753  Exp: 12.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/10/2009
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays on a mix of open rolling grass with scattered trees, and hilly wooded areas. The open shots have some minor elevation changes, and lots of rolling hills to add interest, along with the wind that often blows. The wooded holes offer more technical challenges, with tight fairways and elevation. There are some water shots on this course that add a great risk/reward element, with a creek in the woods, and a lake along some of the more open holes.

There is a great variety of hole length on this course, with some holes that are aceable, and some great air it out holes, with most falling somewhere in between. The open holes have plenty of distance, while having enough trees to take away the easy grip it and rip it shot. The wooded holes call for some line shaping, with left and right turning fairways that call for a variety of different shots.

The tees are concrete or pavers, and are all good surfaces with enough room to throw from. There are good signs with the hole distance and layout, and signs pointing the way on a couple of the long walks between holes. The grounds are nicely maintained, with mowed grass, and not much trash anywhere on the course. The huge amount of work put in by the park and the locals really shows at Lemon Lake.
Cons: This course has water hazards, which is a great thing, but it also has poor drainage which is a not so great thing. There were a couple tee pads under water, and a few fairways that were almost completely submerged, though there had been rain in the past few weeks.

The open first half of the course gets a little stale, there just aren't enough different shots there to keep it from feeling like the same shot repeating. If there were a way to mix the wooded holes in with the open holes (I understand that it doesn't work here), the course would feel like there was more variety and interest.
Other Thoughts: This course offers a good challenge for more experienced players, while still being mostly accessible for newer players. There is a lot of distance though, and chances to lose discs in the water, so some new players might be pretty frustrated.

This course is a lot of fun, and would be worth a trip to play all by itself, and is definitely worth a trip with the other three courses on site. I think the Red course is my favorite here, but Blue is a close second and is definitely a must play while you're in the area.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Blue Ribbon Course

1    9/20/2009   9/21/2009
Review By: skinner21
Played: 22  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 13.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/26/2010
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is easily the most open of the courses on site at Lemon Lake. It makes up for that in the distance department. This is a consistently long course with only a few short birdie runs. This was my favorite course on site, despite it not getting my highest rating. It just felt nice to relax and throw instead of having the walls closing in on some of the other courses. It was a nice breather. Not to say that it was easy, just that is was easier than the others.

That is until you hit the back nine. That's when the murky pond/marsh comes into play and things get a little tense. A toss in there is a goner for sure (unless God sends you a local who is just coming out to look for his lost Roc and goes into that stinkyness for you and get your lost disc back because it magically landed on a lillypad. :thmbup: ) . From there the lines tighten up a bit and are challenging, but fair.
Cons: These are really the basic cons I had with the complex, as they were the same for all 4 courses.

The signs didn't seem very accurate with the distances.

Navigation was tough were they didn't place "Next Tee -->" type signs.

we sometimes found ourselves throwing at the wrong pin because the one we were supposed to be throwing at was blind and there was another in our line of sight that we supposed was the alternate pin position.

None of these issues were a huge deal and all could be solved with a course map and/or getting more familiar with the course.
Other Thoughts: I really can't enough good things about the time we spent at Lemon Lake this weekend. The locals we met were the best. Everyone we talked to were so friendly and welcoming that we left knowing we would come back just because this is a place that fosters great discing and great discing attitudes. As soon as we got there we asked an elderly gentleman at one of the lodges where to find the first tee, and we ended up sitting there shooting the "fecal matter" with him for about 15 minutes about the course, the area, and the gun he had in his back pocket (he was teaching a hunting class). They love to met out of towners and finding out where they come from. By the end of the weekend we were getting some, "hey, are you the group from Aurora?" type stuff.

This complex has many things to do other than discing on site, but they never interfere with your game and are only seen once in a while. The area is very secluded and private. I loved this place. I almost wish I could rate Lemon Lake as a whole so I could give it 5 stars.

They have the 2010 Worlds here next year and they will do a fantastic job with it.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 B+ = You Be Feelin' Positive After Playing This

1    8/2/2009   9/2/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 366  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.3 Years
11 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up in my list of 18 hole courses:

1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == B
(About half the holes are pretty wide open, so that cancels out the 5-6 holes that are very well designed in this regard: water, heavy rough and challenging shaped fairways.)

2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I throw 300' accurately, 360' max. == B
(A full 1/3 of the holes are too long for me to have a realistic chance at birdie. This turns them into ho-hum par holes for me.)

3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == B+
(About half the holes are pretty open and do not force you too hard in this area. The wooded holes are pretty much all excellent in this regard. Terrain is used superbly!)

4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == B+
(Idyllic setting for great beauty. Although it is in a park, too much of this course runs close to the main park roads. This knocked the score down from what would otherwise be a solid A.)

5) Bonus points for multi-throw holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == C-
(The multi throw holes only add length....no added strategery really.)
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (149 18-hole, 91 9-hole as of late 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me….that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

11 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Inside Info on the Blue Course at Lemon Lake

5+    8/3/2009   8/6/2009
Review By: Bart
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 36.4 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Referencing the review below...The water problem we've experienced this year is caused by a small colony of beavers that have dammed the south part of the lake, right where 9's pin is located. The water encroaches on the left side of the fairway right by the pin tightening up an already tight 250 (or so) ft shot. This is also the cause for the submerged teepad on Blue 13 (which has been fixed) and the encroachment of the water on hole 10. Oddly enough I just heard that the beavers were relocated here from a park in a town just north of Lemon Lake. Plans for their 2nd relocation are in the works.

The 'bog' between blue holes 11 and 12 is actually a creek that drains the higher lake into the lower lake. With the beaver dams it has turned sluggish but this is being remedied.
Other Thoughts: Comments on Lemon Lake Manifesto:

The red course is 16 of the original 18 holes installed in 1999. Blue 1 and 15 were the other 2 original holes (subtract current red 8 and 9). We got permission to make it 24 holes around 2001 and 27 holes shortly thereafter. When permission came for another 9 we divided up the existing holes in a manner that would flow as well as possible. The parks saw the tremendous results and ponied up the land and baskets for the Gold in 2007/2008 and the White in 2009. Lake County, IN Parks Dept has gone further with their support and is paying all the bills for concrete, benches, and other improvements. They've even hired 2 of our local disc golfers part time to work exclusively on the courses. We have about 16 more teepads to improve and they will all be done....we've poured 18 pads in the last month (summer '09).

The White course was designed to attract newer players. It has optional long placements but will still be beginner/Super Class friendly. We redesigned our original design to facilitate the parks desire to showcase holes 1 and 18 by the main building. We plan on designing, with existing holes, a 9 -hole handicap acessable course as well.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Two-Part Course like beef Jerky: Starts Long, gets shorter as it Toughens

1    6/20/2009   7/1/2009
Review By: Texconsinite
Played: 127  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 6.6 Years
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is probably the most diverse of the 4, as well as being probably the most open.
Like most of the others (besides red) it has a mix of concrete and rubber pads, with the same good tee signs and maps as the others. Like Red, this course has a few alt pins though more than half of the holes only have one.

This course starts off with some long holes on rolling hills with enough trees to force careful drive placement and to weave through.
The hills make rollaways a threat, and trees keep baskets protected for added intrigue.
Also, a marshy area comes into play on hole 2 long tee, to make you sweat a bit.

From there, the course moves into flatter fields with scattered trees for a few long, ripper holes, but forcing you to go through trees to get there. Thus, the open holes stay fairly intriguing and keep big arms more honest.

The grass fairways are well-manicured and clear of brush or shule, which is nice. Wind also comes into play on the front side, due to the openness of the course, which makes the trees loom larger than they would otherwise.

I'd compare the front 8 holes to Crystal Lake Park in Beaver Dam (with better drainage), and more strategically placed trees.

On hole 9, this course pulls an O'Hauser and kicks it up a notch, by bringing water into play like no other course here at Lemon Lake. If you go right or long of the basket on 9, your disc is in a legitimate river aka lost.

The following hole, kicking off the back 9 is IMO the signature hole of Blue. A hillside sloping to the lake on the right, you curve your shot around lakeshore to the narrow opening of the basket on the lakeside. Risk-reward, scenic, very memorable. Great hole, scary and tough, everything you want.

After that, the course goes into the woods, with a series of what my partners-in-crime called "Rich Martin Special"s aka Throw and Pray. To put this in context, Rich Martin designed O'hauser Park in Appleton, so similar vein to the wonderfully technical, tough holes there.

The only difference is, where O'hauser is flat and wooded, the holes in question here are fairly steep wooded hills with a nasty bog running between them. Ya. Scary. After the bog, the course keeps weaving through wooded hillsides, like Silver with fewer ravines or long holes. At the end, the course brings the water back into play on the last few holes.

Overall, this course is a wild ride, from testing your distance, to pushing the envelope of shot accuracy and placement in the woods. Many memorable holes, lots of terrain and water on the back half.
Cons: Unfortunately, with water comes, well, water. This course has probably the worst drainage of the 4. White probably has more holes with soggy fairways, but Blue has several tees underwater, hole 13's was completely submerged when we played. Thats pretty bad.

The river on 9 looked close to engulfing the basket, but it didn't.

Also, the first 8 holes are just ok, IMO. Yes they are pretty interesting and test your distance, but there long holes on Red that are waaay moreso. However, it is nice to have some more open holes on a course besides Silver, where the open holes are loooong.

Also, this course probably has the most confusing layout of the 4, mainly at the first few holes, where it crosses back and forth between the Red and Silver sides of the road.

Though its the second-oldest course here, Blue still needs some TLC before it reaches its potential. It also seemed to have more trash on it than the other three, which further detracted from the experience.

Be mindful of Holes 11 & 12, the wooded hillsides of doom. Place a spotter down to the right near the water's edge, because otherwise your disc can easily roll down the hill and disappear into that stagnant pond. You won't see it if someone's not watching.

This is the second hardest course in Lemon Lake, with plenty of blind hyzers, tight gaps, and risk reward to go around. Not perfect, but pretty darn good, and will be even moreso once all the concrete pads are in.
Other Thoughts: AS one of the course designers told me, the goal by Worlds (2011 i think?) is to have an alt pin or tee on every hole of White, Silver and Blue, since Red seems all set. I believe they truly will accomplish this, and am curious to see what the courses look like by the time the tournament is here.

Playing all 4 courses back-to-back in the same day, it was tough, and tough to pick which one was my favorite, since they were all so good. Silver and Blue were both great, however, I think the crazy water holes (9-12) here are what tip the scales slightly in Blue's favor, plus the fact that it isn't as ridiculously long as silver, nor does it beat you up as much. (we didn't even play from gold tees on silver, either, to compare)

LEMON LAKE MANIFESTO
(This is me extrapolating alot, not to be taken as pure fact, but you'll find that the shoe fits)

To accurately evaluate these four courses (this body of work, if you will), its important to note what order they were built in. Here's how I interpret it. First came the Red course, compact and concise, in a section of woods off in one corner of the park. It was wooded and technical, and it got used.

Then, once they got the green light to start building more courses, they built the Blue course next to and across the street from Red, bringing the Lake into the picture. This time they chose to do longer, more open holes, wicked water holes, and some more terrain, three things Red lacked. They shot for making a course a bit longer and a bit tougher than Red, and succeeded.

Then came the building craze. They decided to step it up another notch, with an extremely tough course, like Wisconsin staples Highbridge Gold and Justin Trails Big Brother. The championship course, the flagship, the one that the Pros will talk about. Thus Silver was born, with the eventual goal of adding Gold tees as well to truly elevate the difficulty to the next level.

Meanwhile, they saw the need to add a course for newer players, to get never people into the sport, and introduce them to disc golf, while still providing challenge for the more experienced. And then there was White.

So, Lemon Lake has a remarkably diverse range of courses, both in style and difficulty

White->Red->Blue->Silver->Gold

It shows remarkable vision and foresight, on top of superb course design, to manage such a project, and pull it off so well, and for that, I commend everyone who had a hand in this project and continues to improve upon it. The best part is they are NOT done building courses here, either. Not even close. This place is gonna explode onto the scene once they have Worlds here.

The way I see it, you have two choices:
1) Wait till Worlds and you'll be hearing about Lemon Lake from everyone, including Top Pros
2) Go to Lemon Lake now, and BE the one in the know, telling everyone else about this place.

You've got to check this place out for yourself, its worth a weekend just to play here.

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/23/2009   5/24/2009
Review By: Niven42
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4
This review was updated on 6/14/2009
4 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Awesome course with plenty of wide, open, long fairways on the 1st nine. Well-maintained with guide signs and concrete pads.
Cons: Wind (fall/spring). Mosquitoes (summer). Heavy woods and forest could foster ticks.
Other Thoughts: Although many people have complained about the wind here, I think it is attributable to the distances involved in the holes, which will suggest it affects your disc more. There is a really good video on Youtube.com that shows the last 6 holes of the Indiana State Championships Masters Division, which even though shot on the red course, will give you an idea of the course design.

A bit of folklore: the Lemon Lake swamp/lake complex is fed by an underground stream that connects all the lakes in the area. It is a naturally beautiful area that I have enjoyed visiting since my childhood.

4 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Blue

5+    8/8/2008   11/5/2008
Review By: Spurlocm
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 12.7 Years
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: One of the best reasons for this course is the possibility to play three rounds of 18 with different challanges on all three rounds. Blue offers a open start with woods coming in to play on the back 8, first 10 offer mostly open power shots but still offers enough trees and bushes to make you think about your approach.
Cons: Wind plays big on the fist ten. Beware the water on 10 and 11 because you will not want to go in after a disk in the swamp.
Other Thoughts: No real complaints here, fun course.

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.