Crown Point, IN 
Lemon Lake County Park - Blue Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #10
4 / 444ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 2 Nines of Fun

1    9/14/2010   9/23/2010
Review By: ArcheType
Played: 33  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 6.6 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -This course is also maintained excellently. The fairways were nice and clean, and the teepads were in great shape.

-This course has several very lonnnng holes, with more obstacles than hole 2 on the white course. They really allow you to let em rip for distance.

-The entire complex is virtually garbage free.

-The tee signs were helpful, and in good shape.

-The holes, while very long, played well around the available obstacles to provide a few different potential routes.

-The back 9 is incredible. While it gets shorter when it becomes more forested, it also becomes alot more precise and enjoyable. There is much more punishment for bad shots there as well.
Cons: -The front 9 of this course isn't exactly enthralling. Several holes (4-8) in particular, are virtually wide open shots, with few or no obstacles there.

-Several holes play back and forth across the road, and have long walks in between them.

-Some tees are hard to find. They could use 2 or 3 more "Next Tee ->" signs.
Other Thoughts: This was a great course on my trip out that day. At first I didn't feel it, because I'm not too gifted with distance, but the back 9 really made up for it. Its definitely a must play for a day out at Lemon Lake.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

1    9/17/2010   9/23/2010
Review By: tistoude
Played: 179  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 8.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First off this course is locted in an excellent county park that has four disc golf courses on site as well as a huge playground, sand volleyball, basket ball, fantastic bathroom facilities, vending machines, numerous pavilions, walking trail and fishing lake.

The course has a great mixture of holes. A majority of the course plays through open field with strategic trees but from hole 11 on there are a good amount of wooded holes and mixed holes. There are holes that also play around a marsh and along a lake (watch out for the Geese). Although there is not a ton of available elevation the Blue course took advantage where it could. Almost every hole has some form of elevation change on it. A few notable holes are number 10 which is a right turning hole that plays along the lake forcing you to choose between safe and possible birdie, number 14 which plays over a creek through some groupings of trees and back up into the open to finish and number 18 which is a beautiful tunnel shot with a pin guarded by trees.

The course is very well groomed. Everything is well taken care of. The tees and baskets are in great shape, the fairways are distinct and mowed.

Each hole requires some shot shaping. Obviously some more than others (#14 lots vs #3 slight).

Good signage. The tee signs were very clear on where the pin is and distance. Also there were signs directing you to the next tee wherever there might be confusion.
Cons: The section of the course #4 - #8 is fairly boring. It is a bit repetative playing in a mostly open field with minimal obstructions to the hole.

The layout of the course plays back and forth across a few roads. I think you cross roads 5 times in the course of playing 1 round. There are also a couple of good walks between holes.
Other Thoughts: This course is very fun to play and can be handled by most skill levels. It is not overwhelming to beginners and not boringly easy for experienced golfers. The distances are all reasonable and the course is a pretty easy walk.

The blue course begins and ends at the same parking lot that the red course begins and ends at so it is easy to flow from one course right into the other.

The Lemon Lake course complex is truly a destination spot for Disc Golf. Getting to play four courses in one day is a great feeling (and that feeling is happily exhausted).

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Intermediate

1    9/18/2010   9/18/2010
Review By: notapro
Played: 462  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 13.4 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course has a decent amount of space to work with, which provides good length and variety.
- Majority of the holes are in large fields, with a wide mix of trees and bushes. There are holes that are more or less wide open, some with plenty of large trees to avoid, and some with tight and low lines. A lot of these holes have decent elevation change as well, so there is pretty good variety. Many long holes to let it rip.
- Other holes play in a hilly forest that has a small creek in play, with huge punishment throughout. Lots of twisting shots either over the creek or next to it, with plenty of trees to navigate around. Good slopes with valleys, uphill holes, and slanted fairways, with respectable length. Some shorter holes with more extreme curves mixed in as well.
- Water is in play on many holes, thanks to the creek as well as a large marsh. Hole #10 in the A position is a long right-curving fairway that follows the edge of the marsh; a great use of the water to provide some deadly OB.
- Some baskets are protected well by large trees, small trees, and some slopes.
- Good tee pads, signage, and baskets. Lots of signs for navigation, and great crossings over the creek.
Cons: - The only real con with this course is the number of holes that are more or less open. There are trees and stuff to avoid, but it is usually pretty straightforward. The section of the course from #4 to #7 or so is a little cut and dry.
- The course is set in a few different parts of the park, so there are some long walks at times. Lots of holes near the entrance road, as well as a long hole next to a main road.
Other Thoughts: - Overall, a very solid course with a good mix of long, tree-filled "open" holes, and curving forested holes. Some spots have very significant elevation changes that add big challenges. #14 is a great hole that combines all these elements, with a tee shot over a valley and creek, through a small patch of large trees, to a field with a semi-protected basket.
- Bring the drivers on this course; every last foot goes a long way to set up for the next shot.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 decent course in great shape

1    9/9/2010   9/10/2010
Review By: gdub58
Played: 133  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course was in immaculate condition, with nice tee pads and baskets, easy naviagation, and good signage. This was not surprising given Worlds was recently here, but it's always nice to see a course so well taken care of.
Design was solid, with some fairly plain holes on the front nine (1, 5, 6 in particular) balanced by some really nice holes on the back nine (10, 11, 17). A few of the holes have two pin placements.
Good balance of RH and LH friendly holes, and just enough distance to give the strong arm a little advantage, while about half of them are reachable for most players.
Holes 11-14 and 16-18 are tight and the rest are fairly open. Hole 10 was the standout - a 450' dogleg right around the marsh with a well protected basket.
Scorecards available at the entrance where you pay the park fee.
The park itself multi-use and very well maintained, with clean facilities and vending machines.
Cons: $7 to get in the park - I don't mind it, but since some do I'll list it here.
Other activities take place here and there are a lot of picnic areas, so you may have non-golfers in your way at times.
Other Thoughts: The park is in the middle of nowhere, but with four courses on the site it makes the trip worthwhile. All four courses start fairly close to each other, which is nice.
Overall a solid but unspectacular course in a beautiful facility.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A Course of 2 Nines

1    6/24/2010   8/10/2010
Review By: ZMan44
Played: 144  Reviewed: 110  Exp: 12.7 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lemon Lake Blue sported excellent baskets, tees, and navigational prompts. The flow was very natural. The strength of the course is in the balance of the design. The first 9 holes were mostly open with sparse trees. While this lended options off the tee, there was an apparent idea behind the construction of the hole. For example, I believe it is hole 8 where there is a large tree directly in between the tee and the pin. The pin is about 30 feet behind the tree. The hyzer (RHBH) route is there, but there are some other sporadic trees along the right side. It opens up down the left side, indicating that this was what the designer had in mind. You can try and execute the difficult anhyzer, or you can attempt the hazardous hyzer line. I felt like there were a number of holes like this on the Blue Course. Hole 10 is a challenging RHBH anhyzer around the lake. After this hole, the course becomes more wooded. Once in the woods, shot execution and shape becomes crucial. In short, the Blue Course at Lemon Lake offers open, yet risky, open holes along with wooded holes requiring solid execution. Hole #18 was an excellent finishing hole requiring navigation of a tight fairway. The groundskeeping was fantastic for the Blue Course as well.
Cons: Hole #1 was boring. The only challenge was a slight uphill grade. In my opinion, it was the weakest hole on the course. If you have read my prior reviews, the two holes I remember most are the first and the last. Therefore I am critical of these holes. The 600' hole was rather boring as well. For someone like me, I know what I am going to get on that hole before I tee off...a 4. The only challenge present for this hole would be wind which could pose a challenge under those conditions.
Other Thoughts: The Blue Course was my second favorite course at Lemon Lake. This is by no means meant to discard the Blue Course as I gave this course and the Red the same rating. I think they compliment each other very well. The entire complex is a phenomenal facility for the sport.

If you are traveling, like we were, simply turn into the park and look for the first parking lot on your left. The Red and Blue courses begin and end in this parking lot. The course does not loop back to the parking area after hole 9, but you do come close after a slightly downhill hole, which I believe is around 14 or 15. If you like to take a mid-round pit-stop after 9, you might have to wait a few holes.

Bathrooms are located in the building near the playgrounds. The back 9 passes this area at some point. I didn't notice any bathrooms close to the front 9 and it is a long way to the restrooms from holes 4 - 8.

If you are in the area, Lemon Lake is a must-stop. If you can play all 4 courses, you should definitely go for it. They all offer different challenges. If I could only play 2 of the 4, I would choose Blue and Red because they offer a challenge for the average player (like me) without being frustrating. If you are an elite level player, then the Silver/Gold is definitely a good option for you. If you are a beginner, the White Course is probably suited for you. No matter what combination you play, you shouldn't be disappointed.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Great Compliment to LL Red

2-4    9/6/2009   12/23/2009
Review By: gkeberhart
Played: 36  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/5/2010
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Another course that has a great balance of scenerey as well as difficulty and birdie holes. This is definitely one of those courses where you need to get a birdie on the birdie holes if you want to shoot a solid round. provides great challenge while maintaining an open feel. in the last few holes there is a more sudden feel of woodedness that brings a new technique in to finish the round. holes are manageable and multiple pin placetments on some holes makes it interesting to play time to time.
Cons: Hole 6 is about 600ft and feels out of place compared to the rest of the holes, while some others are lengthy they do have more technique involved. a few of the holes near the lake are prone to flooding which depending on when you play can cause problems. you do have to walk across the main road a few times to get back and forth between holes. nothing terrible but can cause some problems with careless drivers.
Other Thoughts: This paired with Red really make an awesome set up, the courses compliment each other very well and bring a lot of fun to the game. while the quality of this course is right there with Red i still believe that Red has more of that intangible factor that brings you back. that being said DO NOT let this course go unplayed. I tried to play it in some very windy conditions last, and unfortunately it doesn't lent itself well to that. the open holes are just plain impossible with high winds.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course with variety

2-4    10/31/2009   11/6/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 14.8 Years
This review was updated on 11/10/2009
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays on a mix of open rolling grass with scattered trees, and hilly wooded areas. The open shots have some minor elevation changes, and lots of rolling hills to add interest, along with the wind that often blows. The wooded holes offer more technical challenges, with tight fairways and elevation. There are some water shots on this course that add a great risk/reward element, with a creek in the woods, and a lake along some of the more open holes.

There is a great variety of hole length on this course, with some holes that are aceable, and some great air it out holes, with most falling somewhere in between. The open holes have plenty of distance, while having enough trees to take away the easy grip it and rip it shot. The wooded holes call for some line shaping, with left and right turning fairways that call for a variety of different shots.

The tees are concrete or pavers, and are all good surfaces with enough room to throw from. There are good signs with the hole distance and layout, and signs pointing the way on a couple of the long walks between holes. The grounds are nicely maintained, with mowed grass, and not much trash anywhere on the course. The huge amount of work put in by the park and the locals really shows at Lemon Lake.
Cons: This course has water hazards, which is a great thing, but it also has poor drainage which is a not so great thing. There were a couple tee pads under water, and a few fairways that were almost completely submerged, though there had been rain in the past few weeks.

The open first half of the course gets a little stale, there just aren't enough different shots there to keep it from feeling like the same shot repeating. If there were a way to mix the wooded holes in with the open holes (I understand that it doesn't work here), the course would feel like there was more variety and interest.
Other Thoughts: This course offers a good challenge for more experienced players, while still being mostly accessible for newer players. There is a lot of distance though, and chances to lose discs in the water, so some new players might be pretty frustrated.

This course is a lot of fun, and would be worth a trip to play all by itself, and is definitely worth a trip with the other three courses on site. I think the Red course is my favorite here, but Blue is a close second and is definitely a must play while you're in the area.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Blue Ribbon Course

1    9/20/2009   9/21/2009
Review By: skinner21
Played: 22  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 15.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/26/2010
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is easily the most open of the courses on site at Lemon Lake. It makes up for that in the distance department. This is a consistently long course with only a few short birdie runs. This was my favorite course on site, despite it not getting my highest rating. It just felt nice to relax and throw instead of having the walls closing in on some of the other courses. It was a nice breather. Not to say that it was easy, just that is was easier than the others.

That is until you hit the back nine. That's when the murky pond/marsh comes into play and things get a little tense. A toss in there is a goner for sure (unless God sends you a local who is just coming out to look for his lost Roc and goes into that stinkyness for you and get your lost disc back because it magically landed on a lillypad. :thmbup: ) . From there the lines tighten up a bit and are challenging, but fair.
Cons: These are really the basic cons I had with the complex, as they were the same for all 4 courses.

The signs didn't seem very accurate with the distances.

Navigation was tough were they didn't place "Next Tee -->" type signs.

we sometimes found ourselves throwing at the wrong pin because the one we were supposed to be throwing at was blind and there was another in our line of sight that we supposed was the alternate pin position.

None of these issues were a huge deal and all could be solved with a course map and/or getting more familiar with the course.
Other Thoughts: I really can't enough good things about the time we spent at Lemon Lake this weekend. The locals we met were the best. Everyone we talked to were so friendly and welcoming that we left knowing we would come back just because this is a place that fosters great discing and great discing attitudes. As soon as we got there we asked an elderly gentleman at one of the lodges where to find the first tee, and we ended up sitting there shooting the "fecal matter" with him for about 15 minutes about the course, the area, and the gun he had in his back pocket (he was teaching a hunting class). They love to met out of towners and finding out where they come from. By the end of the weekend we were getting some, "hey, are you the group from Aurora?" type stuff.

This complex has many things to do other than discing on site, but they never interfere with your game and are only seen once in a while. The area is very secluded and private. I loved this place. I almost wish I could rate Lemon Lake as a whole so I could give it 5 stars.

They have the 2010 Worlds here next year and they will do a fantastic job with it.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 B+ = You Be Feelin' Positive After Playing This

1    8/2/2009   9/2/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 381  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 22.5 Years
11 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up in my list of 18 hole courses:

1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == B
(About half the holes are pretty wide open, so that cancels out the 5-6 holes that are very well designed in this regard: water, heavy rough and challenging shaped fairways.)

2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I throw 300' accurately, 360' max. == B
(A full 1/3 of the holes are too long for me to have a realistic chance at birdie. This turns them into ho-hum par holes for me.)

3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == B+
(About half the holes are pretty open and do not force you too hard in this area. The wooded holes are pretty much all excellent in this regard. Terrain is used superbly!)

4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == B+
(Idyllic setting for great beauty. Although it is in a park, too much of this course runs close to the main park roads. This knocked the score down from what would otherwise be a solid A.)

5) Bonus points for multi-throw holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == C-
(The multi throw holes only add length....no added strategery really.)
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (149 18-hole, 91 9-hole as of late 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me....that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

11 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Inside Info on the Blue Course at Lemon Lake

5+    8/3/2009   8/6/2009
Review By: Bart
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 38.7 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Referencing the review below...The water problem we've experienced this year is caused by a small colony of beavers that have dammed the south part of the lake, right where 9's pin is located. The water encroaches on the left side of the fairway right by the pin tightening up an already tight 250 (or so) ft shot. This is also the cause for the submerged teepad on Blue 13 (which has been fixed) and the encroachment of the water on hole 10. Oddly enough I just heard that the beavers were relocated here from a park in a town just north of Lemon Lake. Plans for their 2nd relocation are in the works.

The 'bog' between blue holes 11 and 12 is actually a creek that drains the higher lake into the lower lake. With the beaver dams it has turned sluggish but this is being remedied.
Other Thoughts: Comments on Lemon Lake Manifesto:

The red course is 16 of the original 18 holes installed in 1999. Blue 1 and 15 were the other 2 original holes (subtract current red 8 and 9). We got permission to make it 24 holes around 2001 and 27 holes shortly thereafter. When permission came for another 9 we divided up the existing holes in a manner that would flow as well as possible. The parks saw the tremendous results and ponied up the land and baskets for the Gold in 2007/2008 and the White in 2009. Lake County, IN Parks Dept has gone further with their support and is paying all the bills for concrete, benches, and other improvements. They've even hired 2 of our local disc golfers part time to work exclusively on the courses. We have about 16 more teepads to improve and they will all be done....we've poured 18 pads in the last month (summer '09).

The White course was designed to attract newer players. It has optional long placements but will still be beginner/Super Class friendly. We redesigned our original design to facilitate the parks desire to showcase holes 1 and 18 by the main building. We plan on designing, with existing holes, a 9 -hole handicap acessable course as well.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.