Course Extinct
PoliPoli, Maui, HI 
Haleakala DGC Share
Uploaded By: SteveM Hole #2
-- / --   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Uphill throw across a ravine.



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Paradise in Hawaii?

2-4    2/26/2013   2/27/2013
Review By: beauzen
Played: 24  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 36.2 Years
Pros: A decent place to be able to throw your discs while on vacation on Maui. Very challenging uphill, side-hill and downhill shots; no rollers. Great hole #15.
Cons: Why is it so hard to find out info about this course (and the others on Maui)? If you don't have a map - good luck with finding your way around. I've heard that this has 25 holes, but I still have only been able to find about 18.
Other Thoughts: Try to find a local to play with at least once. This course seems well cared for (there are brooms (or parts of) at nearly every tee pad), and a few chairs or benches. Can someone please publish a map or put some markers so a person can know where to go from hole to hole?

 WOW

1    6/13/2010   6/20/2010
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 198  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 26.7 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Wow, what can I say

GREAT elevation shots
GREAT fairways
GREAT trails up and down the slopes.
GREAT views
Good baskets
Good Tee Boxes
Cons: Not marked all that well
not cement tee pads
Other Thoughts: So what if the tee's and baskets are not marked, this is Hawaii gosh darn it, who cares.

It is also a BEAUTIFUL view from the course of the Island.

I could not only see my cruise ship looking in one direction, but could also see where I had just gone snorkeling on the other side of the island.

Quick story - I was on my snorkeling excursion at Molokini Crater and afterwords, our guide told us to come to him for more information on Maui if we wanted to.

When I talked to him I told him I was going to Poli Poli after we got back and he immediately said "to play disc golf?" HA, what were the chances of meeting up with a local disc golfer. He gave me much better directions with the exact location of hole 1.

When I got to the course there were several people playing it. I asked for basic directions of the holes and they even offered to let me join with them.

I elected to play the course on my own and played almost every hole. (including one that was missing a basket)

All I have to say it that is was one of the highlights of my trip this past week. (Surf lessons on Maui was the other best thing I did)

The local disc golfers really have done a GREAT job on there tee boxes and trail not only between the holes, but on the fairways. Several holes needed those switchbacks and stairs. The hanging basket was great and the Budda behind the hole was paid tribute to after getting my bird.

I have never played a tire basket, but found them just as able to catch the disc as a regular basket.

Like I said, I have no complaints, this was paradise.

Trust me, if I ever make it to Hawaii again, playing this course will be at the top of my list of things to do again.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Hell of a course!

1    2/8/2009   3/2/2009
Review By: bayareabad
Played: 22  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.6 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I won't really add much to the other excellent review above. Just to say that I happened upon a tournament when I went to play. I'm from Berkeley and was on my honeymoon. Most people were very nice and helpful.
Cons: In Hawaii, people are sick of tourists! Combine that feeling with the private nature of this course and that explains the slight difficulty in finding and playing this magnificent place. (note how this is just one of two reviews of Poli Poli on this site, and there are none on the PDGA site.) My overall experience playing here in a tournament was excellent and the folks were incredibly welcoming. But be patient and very respectful of the locals. They've worked very hard, without pay, at making this beautiful course and are understandibly protective.
Other Thoughts: Like the other reviewer, I've played De La Veaga quite a bit and this course is even better in many ways. I know that's hard to believe! The setting is spectacular, with views of the entire western side of Maui, on a clear day. There are narrow, tree-lined fairways; tremendous elevation changes, and a lot of creative dog-legs and blind shots.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Haleakala DGC, PoliPoli, Maui, Hawaii

1    7/17/2003   1/21/2008
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 192  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 14.7 Years
This review was updated on 3/24/2010
20 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Haleakala DGC has 27 amazingly scenic holes, and is located in a remote area high above the clouds toward the top of PoliPoli, in Maui, HI. With such lush and vibrant tropical flowers, bushes, and trees, and including an abundance of wildlife, this course is truly the perfect getaway from reality!

The course was not only challenging physically, but mentally as well. Haleakala seemed to have a lot of elements that played a major factor in ones score including extreme elevation, constant trade winds , heat, and high humidity. This course can tire out just about anyone!

The course layout was really well thought out, icnluding a mixture of tight wooded fairways as well as some long open ones which allowed you to really air it out. Pin positions were great too, with some placed on hills (making for tougher putts), and many others heavily guarded. As mentioned earlier, there was plenty of elevation throughout the entire course.

Even though some of the baskets were home made (tires cut in half with chains) and others were typical baskets, they were all fairly sturdy and well maintained. There were some that were even hanging from the trees which made putting that much more interesting (especially on windy days).

The flow of the course seemed to work well, as it had players beginning and ending in the same general location (by the parking area), and included switchbacks to help make traveling easier along the steep mountainsides as well as large ravines.

Even though the entire course stood out to me, there were a couple signature holes on this course. One was the 1,000 foot hole downward from the parking area, where you watch your disc sail over tons of massive trees and other foliage toward a well protected basket. The other signature hole was the gully shot, where you shoot down toward a hanging basket (photo of this hole can be found under course pics, although it doesn't do it justice). Both holes truely tested your accuracy, with elevation and wind playing a huge factor.

The locals were another major plus to my overall experience. They were ALL extremely friendly and generous, and showed off a lot of skills along the way. It was truly a round of a lifetime and recommended to all who have the opportunity to visit this amazing island!
Cons:
With Haleakalas remote location and the breathtaking views, I found it difficult to have many cons on this course. However, with that said, there were a few...

The biggest con in my eye was that it was private (and I don't mean pay to play), so many people miss out on a once in a life time opportunity due to restrictions. Two, the majority of baskets were home made, but were still quite solid. Three, navigation was next to impossible if not a local, with no tee signs or arrows directing players toward the next hole. Four, dirt tee pads, which made them sometimes difficult to spot and made footing rather difficult at times (especially during the rainy season). And last, there were no restrooms, so that could be a problem considering your on the highest part of the island (about 45 minutes from the nearest town).
Other Thoughts:
Located 6,000 feet above sea level on the highest mountain in Maui, it was truely breath taking. I was very fortunate to get to play with such an amazing pro like Al Schwartz, as he gave me great tips and strategies to improving my overall game. Besides De Laveaga and Milo McIver, this was easily the best course I ever played!!!

20 of 21 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.