Disc Golf Store
Troy, MI
Raintree Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #6
3 / 197ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Pragmatic, simple, quick

1    9/27/2013   9/30/2013
Review By: apparition
Played: 43  Reviewed: 37
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + Nice, big concrete tees
+ Intact tee markers with # and distance
+ Good use of space
+ Easy to follow
+/- Minimal tree coverage
+ Park is well cared for
+ Parking and restrooms right next to the first tee
Cons: - Baskets are pretty rusty
- Somewhat hazardous, multi-use park
- Tee marker direction (see below)
+/- Minimal tree coverage
Other Thoughts: I've learned that 9-hole courses live up to your expectations only if you don't expect much. Short on time? Not interested in a challenge? Teaching someone to play? Just need to get outside for a little bit? This is your course.

Raintree is a quick, fairly easy to follow loop in a nice multi-use park. I was in town for a conference and played the course in 20-25 minutes after a long day of lectures. I wasn't looking for a challenge. I knew it was flat and I knew it wouldn't take long, so it suited my needs perfectly. The park is well-groomed and seemed very safe. On a late Friday afternoon in September there was a group of 25-30 people playing volleyball, a bunch of walkers, a few picnics, and kids on the playground. The disc golf seemed to be a main attraction, though, with rounds moving quickly with people on almost every pad. I dug the vibe of the park and you probably will, too.

Overall, disc golfers may be able to appreciate it for being a pragmatic, simple course, but in all likelihood will be underwhelmed. No reason to expect anything spectacular, so just enjoy it for being what it is. Things to be prepared for are: somewhat rusty baskets, 75% open lines to each basket (which is kinda fun because you can choose any approach and change your difficulty), and distractions from other park goers. The one and only thing that annoyed me was that the tee markers only had the info on one side and it didn't face the tee pad, so invariably, I would walk up to throw and have to circle back to check the distance. Not really a big deal, but I'm picky like that.

Overall, enjoy this little course for being simple and available.

Thanks for reading!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great For Beginers

5+    9/26/2013   9/26/2013
Review By: Moff
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 18.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The first 5 holes are fairly short. This helps build confidence for the later longer holes. Trees not to oppressive. I like this park for a quick after work 9 holes.
Cons: Its not 18 so making it a stop on the weekend seems like a waste of time. Tee pads and chains not always in the best condition.
Other Thoughts: Quick and Fun, will play again.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nuthin' special, but it's disc golf

2-4    9/7/2013   9/9/2013
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 149  Reviewed: 111  Exp: 9.9 Years
This review was updated on 9/23/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Friendly course in a well maintained multi-use city park: soccer, softball, walking/jogging paths.
Well suited to beginners, young children and intermediate players looking for a quick, "friendly" round.
Most of the baskets are pretty much directly in front of the tee, and while the trees never truly get tight or dense, the tees and baskets are laid out with respect to them to provide several different lines off the tee. Creates some interesting routes good for teaching beginners about finding a line and executing shots to carry that line.
Mostly short, lightly wooded holes, with a few fairly long, open holes (two over 300+ and one 400+) to encourage the use of drivers and keep things from feeling repetitive.
Nice sized concrete tees (oversized on some holes).
Fairly new tee markers with hole # and distances accurately reflect the course redesign a few years ago (replaced the inaccurate signs referred to in previous reviews).
Navigation's foolproof except for the walk from 6 to 7 (walk toward the back of the park, past pavilion and volley ball pit).
Good course for Aces.
No brush or schule - essentially zero chance of disc loss.
Restrooms with running water near 1st tee/parking.
Cons:
Challenge: Low - skilled players should card more 2's than 3's.
Several baskets bent or in fairly bad shape. They still catch OK, but playing with damaged baskets can't help and they look pretty bad up close. (Not an issue during Ace Races because they only throw to the good ones and supplement with quality portables).
Completely flat. I used to accept terrain "as is," but there are creative, aesthetic, inexpensive ways to elevate a couple of baskets to make players at least think about laying-up and increase risk/reward.
Layout isn't conducive to playing multiple rounds. Navigation's a snap, but holes 7-9 take you out to a different section of the park, and while 9 heads back towards hole 1, the walk back is lame. They could have arranged the holes to make the return better. I've heard they plan to add to the course, which might address this issue, but until then, it just leaves you hanging.
Other park visitors not really aware they're walking in the fairway. Others see you playing but have no clue that bad shots could endanger them. Caution and courtesy are warranted.
Other Thoughts: Earns every bit of "reasonable" that 2.0 represents; better than merely "passable," falls short of short of "typical."

Wind can come into play to make things a bit more interesting. Outside the possibility an Ace, there's nothing here to bump up fun or excitement. Certainly not worth making a trip or going out of your way for, but, if the immediate neighborhood and need a quick fix, stop in for a round with no time spent looking for discs. Unless you're truly a beginner, you'll enjoy pretty much any other course in the area more.

Course pix are old - not that many trees anymore (yeah I should take some new ones, but I never get out here).

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great practice for beginners

1    2/20/2012   2/20/2012
Review By: ToneRay
Played: 22  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - New basket layout - some holes much longer than advertised.
- Sparse enough trees to really let you work on your flight paths (Holly Woods is my home course, and I love it, but all those trees take away a lot of good-looking drives!).
- All holes have great cement tees
Cons: - Poor drainage means lots of wet disc retrieves and mud around baskets - can this be fixed?
Other Thoughts: I wish this couse was within walking distance of my home. It's a good place to work on your fairway and short game, and all aspects if you're a beginner.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Family fun

2-4    10/9/2011   11/27/2011
Review By: RayGeFilled
Played: 22  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.8 Years
Pros: Simple, clean layout, with a variety of hole lengths. Plays quickly. Very hard to lose a disc, good for beginners (like myself) and practicing. Well kept and maintained.
Cons: Signs at the tees don't match the holes, and the yardages are often WAY off.
Other Thoughts: One of my favorite things about this course, is the fact that it is easy enough for my kids to play. And I've seen other parents out there with their kids. My kids are both young and they instantly showed interest when I came home with discs one day. The course is easy enough that they don't get overly frustrated or bored with the sport. They actually ask to go on a near weekly basis! Just a reminder that it is good to have courses of various levels of difficulty for players of all skill levels.

 bloop bloop bloop

2-4    7/19/2011   7/20/2011
Review By: bygwyllay
Played: 78  Reviewed: 75  Exp: 7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Other Thoughts: Raintree park is an adequate 9 holer that is good recreational fun. Course has been recently redesigned with three holes added towards the back of the park. Because of the redesign, all signage by the concrete tees are jacked up, however each basket has the proper number on top, in view of the tee. Course is really short - you can really play with a mid and a putter. 8+9 let you open it up and it's quick to play through. It Plays mostly under the shade of aged trees, similar to Riverview Grasslands. I'd give it 3 stars once they fix the signage to reflect what's actually happening. I'd play this all the time if I lived out this way. It is what it is - an easy practice course you can fit in in around 30 minutes.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Raintree Park

5+    5/9/2011   5/11/2011
Review By: beadleda
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Good pace of play, especially when leagues at Firefighter's across town make pace flow like a clot (every Monday). If it's Monday in Troy and you don't have 5 hours to play 18, I suggest coming here.
Cons: This course is so disorganized... signage around the course needs an update as the sign on the baskets don't match the sign at the teebox.

Most of the course is comically short, but a couple holes would be difficult for even a pro to reach. Wish some of the <200 ft. holes could be lengthened...

Youth soccer leagues get in the way (could actually be a pro... just yell 'fore,' and if it still hits one of them you get a good laugh)

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Plain course

1    7/23/2010   8/6/2010
Review By: Malachy
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.9 Years
Pros: Very open course no chance of losing a disc
Park has bathrooms and a drinking fountain
Cons: Really boring most holes are just straight shots with no obstacles
missing signs
Other Thoughts: There are much better course very close to this one
A good course to bring a brand new player

 The Old Stand-by

5+    8/5/2010   8/6/2010
Review By: Rupert M
Played: 66  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 16.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Cement tees throughout. Most baskets have a hole # which is easy to see from the tee. Easy to navigate. Short ace runs and a few long bombs. No chance of losing a disc. Very little traffic.
Signs at each tee. They have been changed to fit the new layout. Look for the hole # written in sharpie. Baskets are in decent shape.
Cons: First tee is west of the lavatory building. The first hole # is missing from the basket. Its a straight shot from the first tee. The fairways are rather cramped in the beginning of the course, look out for stray discs flying about. Signs are at each tee, recycled from a recent re-design and have new hole # written or stickered on. Distances are not correct in most spots. Look for the # on the basket, which is easy to see from each tee. Very short course, but it is what it is...a short multi-use city-park with a nine-holer disc golf course thrown around it..
Other Thoughts: This is a VERY wide open course. There are trees but most holes with them have definitive paths leading to a pretty short(under200ft) basket placement. There is some risk-reward, but not enough to send you over par. Its a fun, quick round to tune up your mid-range game and work on some long drives. The first four holes are very ace friendly. Five is a straight shot, 350+. After five, follow bike path to the right. Tee #6 is just past second tee. After #6, walk to the left of picnic area and past the volleyball court to find #7. Holes 8 and 9 are longish(350ft+) and are in rear of park.
Alcohol, dog and child-friendly due to the huge play-scape and pleasant surroundings, this course was one of 'Steady' Ed's first designs. Its a classic in the area and very beginner friendly. It also makes for a great warm-up round before hitting up some of the other courses in the area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Its Alrite

5+    5/31/2010   5/31/2010
Review By: jamal_jumpstart
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Possible to get Aces especially the first three holes
-Bathrooms be right next to hole 1
-Grass is cut makes it easy to find the black discs (you know what im sayin)
-If your quick about it you can play through three times in an hour or four if you alone
Cons: -A few puddles but still drier than the other courses nearby
-Big oaf janitor sitting in folding chair being creepy the whole time and doing nothing
-Was attacked by a raccoon but I got away
Other Thoughts: Holes 7 8 9 are way in the back behind the gazebho dont nobody know about them, they are the farthest throws on the course. There are squirrels everywhere.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.