Troy, MI 
Raintree Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #4
3 / 222ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Great for warmup or quick round

5+    8/3/2014   9/3/2014
Review By: futant462
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great for a quick round, especially if other courses in the area are busy. I've never had to wait at any holes at Raintree. Because it's only 9 holes and they tend to be very short distances, you can play the course a couple times in an hour.
Cons: Lots of people roaming throughout the park. Can be hazardous. The final two holes can get a little soggy if there has been rain recently. I will skip them and just play the first 6 holes again.
Other Thoughts: Raintree is usually the first course I play in the Spring because it's great as a warmup and it's almost impossible to lose a disc. I also end up here when Firefighters has a tourney and I just want to play a round or two.

It's a nice little suburban park and it certainly is not the most challenging course you will play. Don't go into it with a lot of expectations. Play it a couple times in an hour and try to hit those aces since the first 4-5 holes are very ace-friendly.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Too easy

5+    6/23/2014   6/23/2014
Review By: Sean525
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
This review was updated on 6/25/2014
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Easy course for beginners

The front 9 holes are pretty short. I usually use my mid-range and fairway drivers.

Free

Never gets crowded here, even on the weekends.
Cons: Not too exciting, but it's better than Wagner Park in Royal Oak.

This park is too easy and could us some adjustments. The tee pads are ridiculously wide.

Couple holes are a little too close to the jogging path.
Other Thoughts: Typically I go here when there are tournaments at Firefighter's. The layout isn't bad, the city needs to tweak the holes because quite a few of them are just simply to easy.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Firefighters Jr.

1    4/21/2014   4/21/2014
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 245  Reviewed: 238  Exp: 4.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Aesthetic-- plays through a smallish multi-use park. Course intermingles with walking paths and playgrounds. Potentially dangerous

Teepads-- Comically huge. these are the most unnecessarily huge teepads ever. they are literally 12x12. they are all in good repair but you seriously only need like a quarter of this size for these little tiny throws.

Teesigns-- it's blatently obvious which basket you are throwing to so the lack of a diagram is not a big deal. having the distance is nice but I really think some of the distances are grossly exaggerated, especially on the first 5 holes.

Baskets-- all there, a bit wonky and shallow at times but not awful.
Cons: Challenge-- this course is straightforward... literally and figuratively. there is no variety or challenge here. the lanes are defined by old growth trees and don't provide for "dog-legging"

Other Thoughts:
I suppose this would be good for beginners and for teaching finesse shots.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Pragmatic, simple, quick

1    9/27/2013   9/30/2013
Review By: apparition
Played: 43  Reviewed: 37
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + Nice, big concrete tees
+ Intact tee markers with # and distance
+ Good use of space
+ Easy to follow
+/- Minimal tree coverage
+ Park is well cared for
+ Parking and restrooms right next to the first tee
Cons: - Baskets are pretty rusty
- Somewhat hazardous, multi-use park
- Tee marker direction (see below)
+/- Minimal tree coverage
Other Thoughts: I've learned that 9-hole courses live up to your expectations only if you don't expect much. Short on time? Not interested in a challenge? Teaching someone to play? Just need to get outside for a little bit? This is your course.

Raintree is a quick, fairly easy to follow loop in a nice multi-use park. I was in town for a conference and played the course in 20-25 minutes after a long day of lectures. I wasn't looking for a challenge. I knew it was flat and I knew it wouldn't take long, so it suited my needs perfectly. The park is well-groomed and seemed very safe. On a late Friday afternoon in September there was a group of 25-30 people playing volleyball, a bunch of walkers, a few picnics, and kids on the playground. The disc golf seemed to be a main attraction, though, with rounds moving quickly with people on almost every pad. I dug the vibe of the park and you probably will, too.

Overall, disc golfers may be able to appreciate it for being a pragmatic, simple course, but in all likelihood will be underwhelmed. No reason to expect anything spectacular, so just enjoy it for being what it is. Things to be prepared for are: somewhat rusty baskets, 75% open lines to each basket (which is kinda fun because you can choose any approach and change your difficulty), and distractions from other park goers. The one and only thing that annoyed me was that the tee markers only had the info on one side and it didn't face the tee pad, so invariably, I would walk up to throw and have to circle back to check the distance. Not really a big deal, but I'm picky like that.

Overall, enjoy this little course for being simple and available.

Thanks for reading!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great For Beginers

5+    9/26/2013   9/26/2013
Review By: Moff
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 18.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The first 5 holes are fairly short. This helps build confidence for the later longer holes. Trees not to oppressive. I like this park for a quick after work 9 holes.
Cons: Its not 18 so making it a stop on the weekend seems like a waste of time. Tee pads and chains not always in the best condition.
Other Thoughts: Quick and Fun, will play again.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nuthin' special, but it's disc golf

2-4    9/7/2013   9/9/2013
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 167  Reviewed: 136  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/23/2013
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Friendly course in a well maintained multi-use city park: soccer, softball, walking/jogging paths.
Well suited to beginners, young children and intermediate players looking for a quick, "friendly" round.
Most of the baskets are pretty much directly in front of the tee, and while the trees never truly get tight or dense, the tees and baskets are laid out with respect to them to provide several different lines off the tee. Creates some interesting routes good for teaching beginners about finding a line and executing shots to carry that line.
Mostly short, lightly wooded holes, with a few fairly long, open holes (two over 300+ and one 400+) to encourage the use of drivers and keep things from feeling repetitive.
Nice sized concrete tees (oversized on some holes).
Fairly new tee markers with hole # and distances accurately reflect the course redesign a few years ago (replaced the inaccurate signs referred to in previous reviews).
Navigation's foolproof except for the walk from 6 to 7 (walk toward the back of the park, past pavilion and volley ball pit).
Good course for Aces.
No brush or schule - essentially zero chance of disc loss.
Restrooms with running water near 1st tee/parking.
Cons:
Challenge: Low - skilled players should card more 2's than 3's.
Several baskets bent or in fairly bad shape. They still catch OK, but playing with damaged baskets can't help and they look pretty bad up close. (Not an issue during Ace Races because they only throw to the good ones and supplement with quality portables).
Completely flat. I used to accept terrain "as is," but there are creative, aesthetic, inexpensive ways to elevate a couple of baskets to make players at least think about laying-up and increase risk/reward.
Layout isn't conducive to playing multiple rounds. Navigation's a snap, but holes 7-9 take you out to a different section of the park, and while 9 heads back towards hole 1, the walk back is lame. They could have arranged the holes to make the return better. I've heard they plan to add to the course, which might address this issue, but until then, it just leaves you hanging.
Other park visitors not really aware they're walking in the fairway. Others see you playing but have no clue that bad shots could endanger them. Caution and courtesy are warranted.
Other Thoughts: Earns every bit of "reasonable" that 2.0 represents; better than merely "passable," falls short of short of "typical."

Wind can come into play to make things a bit more interesting. Outside the possibility an Ace, there's nothing here to bump up fun or excitement. Certainly not worth making a trip or going out of your way for, but, if the immediate neighborhood and need a quick fix, stop in for a round with no time spent looking for discs. Unless you're truly a beginner, you'll enjoy pretty much any other course in the area more.

Course pix are old - not that many trees anymore (yeah I should take some new ones, but I never get out here).

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great practice for beginners

1    2/20/2012   2/20/2012
Review By: ToneRay
Played: 22  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - New basket layout - some holes much longer than advertised.
- Sparse enough trees to really let you work on your flight paths (Holly Woods is my home course, and I love it, but all those trees take away a lot of good-looking drives!).
- All holes have great cement tees
Cons: - Poor drainage means lots of wet disc retrieves and mud around baskets - can this be fixed?
Other Thoughts: I wish this couse was within walking distance of my home. It's a good place to work on your fairway and short game, and all aspects if you're a beginner.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Family fun

2-4    10/9/2011   11/27/2011
Review By: RayGeFilled
Played: 25  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.2 Years
Pros: Simple, clean layout, with a variety of hole lengths. Plays quickly. Very hard to lose a disc, good for beginners (like myself) and practicing. Well kept and maintained.
Cons: Signs at the tees don't match the holes, and the yardages are often WAY off.
Other Thoughts: One of my favorite things about this course, is the fact that it is easy enough for my kids to play. And I've seen other parents out there with their kids. My kids are both young and they instantly showed interest when I came home with discs one day. The course is easy enough that they don't get overly frustrated or bored with the sport. They actually ask to go on a near weekly basis! Just a reminder that it is good to have courses of various levels of difficulty for players of all skill levels.

 bloop bloop bloop

2-4    7/19/2011   7/20/2011
Review By: bygwyllay
Played: 85  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 7.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Other Thoughts: Raintree park is an adequate 9 holer that is good recreational fun. Course has been recently redesigned with three holes added towards the back of the park. Because of the redesign, all signage by the concrete tees are jacked up, however each basket has the proper number on top, in view of the tee. Course is really short - you can really play with a mid and a putter. 8+9 let you open it up and it's quick to play through. It Plays mostly under the shade of aged trees, similar to Riverview Grasslands. I'd give it 3 stars once they fix the signage to reflect what's actually happening. I'd play this all the time if I lived out this way. It is what it is - an easy practice course you can fit in in around 30 minutes.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Raintree Park

5+    5/9/2011   5/11/2011
Review By: beadleda
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Good pace of play, especially when leagues at Firefighter's across town make pace flow like a clot (every Monday). If it's Monday in Troy and you don't have 5 hours to play 18, I suggest coming here.
Cons: This course is so disorganized... signage around the course needs an update as the sign on the baskets don't match the sign at the teebox.

Most of the course is comically short, but a couple holes would be difficult for even a pro to reach. Wish some of the <200 ft. holes could be lengthened...

Youth soccer leagues get in the way (could actually be a pro... just yell 'fore,' and if it still hits one of them you get a good laugh)

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.