Disc Golf Store
Phoenix, AZ
Los Olivos Share
Uploaded By: MattN Hole #1 (Taken 6/2013)
3 / 320ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Los Olivos

1    3/3/2014   3/5/2014
Review By: jdogghuge
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Restrooms and a lot of shade. Great place to go for working on Ace Runs.
Cons: Too short and not enough change in elevation or course design except for a couple of holes.
Other Thoughts: Need to have a reverse/back 9 layout.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Actually Has Signs Reminding Soccer Players That Designated Areas Are Disc Golf Only!

1    5/26/2013   6/4/2013
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 591  Reviewed: 544  Exp: 35.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: My favorite thing about this course are the two signs stating:

"FIELD PLAYERS-THIS AREA BETWEEN THE SIGN AND THE STREET IS FOR DISC GOLF ONLY"

And there is another alike sign on the side of the soccer field. These are both semi-shaded fairways of the disc golf course where soccer families would most likely set up picnic areas to rest between soccer games or during tournament. Yeah! Keep em off our disc golf course!

Los Olivos was an olive grove and thus the course plays primarily up and down rows of olive trees. The holes are fairly short but control is the key here. Being able to throw your drive 100-150 feet straight down the fairway and low will net you the birdie every time. If not, your disc will sail into the grabby olive branches.

The park is a typical small city park. The park is clean and litter free. It's flat. The signs are the basic fiberglass ones with a little graffiti just to add a local flavor. The concrete pads are a little on the smallish side although very little run-up is needed here. There is the possibility to hyser around the olive trees on a couple of holes. The disc golf course only utilizes about one half of the park's area.

The designers did a nice job creating a mostly enjoyable little course here considering the lack of elevation, water, etc. they had to work with.

It's a great little course to bring the beginner or girlfriend to.
Cons: Everything here is starting to show it's age. The pads, signs and baskets are all starting to look a little weary.

There's not a whole lot of challenge here for anyone playing above the intermediate level. It's a true recreational level course.

I think it would probably get a little boring after a few rounds. There isn't much in the way of variety.

Despite the signs, there's gotta be days when you'd be throwing around others park users or skipping holes. But that's just a fact of life for disc golfers, isn't it?
Other Thoughts: Like others, I liked # 9 as the signature hole on the course. I'd be disappointed if I got to that point and didn't get to try for that open ACE shot.

But having a green, grassy, partially shaded course here in Phoenix is a bonus. I'm sure it gets plenty of play.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 a walk in the park

5+    8/14/2010   5/30/2011
Review By: pascal
Played: 19  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 16.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Green, well-watered park
-Accessible Restrooms with drinking fountains
-Innnova Baskets
-Concrete Tee pads
-Easy to Navigate
Cons: -Completely flat, no hills.
-Lacks some variety
-Olive trees have a way of eating discs and making them surprisingly hard to retrieve
-Well-used park can make pedestrian hard to avoid
Other Thoughts: I stayed at a hotel down the road and played this course once every other day in the morning.

The course tests your ability to throw a controlled drive and short putt on each hole. Intermediate players will have a chance for a deuce on every hole. The course is fairly forgiving and a bad/off target tee shot will often not exclude a par.

The park is watered at night by sprinklers set in the ground. It is a former olive grove. The fairways end up being mostly straight throws between two rows of olive trees. However, the well-watered nature of the course means thick grass, uncharacteristic of phoenix disc golf (in my experience).

Watch out for pedestrians and soccer players. Signs tell people to give disc golfers right of way (never seen that before). However, there are several places where you might have to wait, or throw carefully, and every once in a while you might encounter someone who decided to have a picnic in the way of your next tee shot.

7 brings a road into play, kind of nice. It is a back road with no car issues, and gives the challenge of water without the risk of losing a disc. 8 has a mando to prevent throwing a hammer or thumber. Nine is probably the signature hole as a straight, long, shot with an early tree-created fairway followed by relative long open approach to the basket.

This is the type of course one might play early in the morning on the way to work. Short, easy to navigate, doesn't require a big arm or much physical exertion. It's well watered nature means you won't get dirty or dusty, and before the noon-day heat of phoenix sets in, it is remarkably pleasant experience.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice 9 hole (updated 3/18)

5+    3/18/2011   9/11/2010
Review By: chillis
Played: 90  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 13.9 Years
This review was updated on 3/20/2011
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Grippy tboxes. The signage is good, but almost unnecessary as you can clearly see every pin from its corresponding tbox.
Lots of tight, technical throws to make, with a small window to hit the first 0-50ft of your drive.
The layout lends itself to a multitude of different throws, e.g., the throw you'll make on #1 is different than #2 which is different than #3 which is different than #4. Great layout for a small space!
Every hole is Ace-able, no question.

I like that I can take my dog off the leash here. I'm training her to stay with me, and people here (DGolfers, futbol players, peds) seem to be fine with a spry dog trotting around and saying Hello.
Cons: Some pedestrian traffic, some bums chillin' in the shade. Sometimes there will be a pickup futbol game in the park in the middle of the course, which renders hole #9 (and my fav) unplayable.

There are rodent holes in the ground that can catch your toe if you're dragging your feet and not paying attention.
Other Thoughts: Because this is a 9hole fit into a relatively small space, I cannot dock the lack of distance against this course. The design is great, and you can play fast enough to throw 27 or more holes, since you aren't traversing a ton of territory.

Walked down to los Olivos yesterday, played 36holes out in the midday sun. The grass is getting greener and the park is looking good.
I hope they update the layout of this park soon. Or maybe just the pin placement. Needs some spice!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Olive this one

5+    11/15/2009   11/15/2009
Review By: clipnfly
Played: 60  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 4.8 Years
This review was updated on 11/13/2011
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice, clean park. Well signed. Great use of trees for technical choices/options. Not a big arm course... there are others for that. This is a great upshot and putting course. A great place to break in a noob too. Course can be played will with 3 discs... Bring a Stable and an overstable mid and a fave putter and you are good to go. back to play again. still love the technical aspect of a flat park course like this. played here with just one disc and running shoes. Toss and run. Great exercise. Not a way to play at Buffalo Ridge but a good use or an alt way to play on a course like this. Play entire course w one disc and REALLY learn how that disc behaves, too. Great way to learn a disc.
Cons: Tee pads are a bit small, but not too bad considering the length of the course, overall. See my standardized review format in other thoughts below. Big picnic in the park today blocking hole #8. all others are playable. Considering the signs that warn park users about staying off the dg course... odd that they would park a picnic on the course.
Other Thoughts: Very much like a fave of mine in my hood. I prefer short to mid length as I do not have a big arm. Like the more technical challenge. If I lived here I could play here 2X per week and just keep having fun. A number of the holes have approach choices/options. The more you play and the better ability you have to control annie and place your hyzer... You will have even more fun here.
Back for more 2,2011. Every time I play here I like it more. Great shot choices around the trees. Always play 9 with someone I meet. All have been good ppl. park is clean, trash free.

This is my disc golf course rating system. Each element of the course is worth ½ disc for a total of 10, ½ disc units or 5 full discs of rating.
My 10 categories are:
1. Quality of tee pads.
2. Quality of signage, both individual hole signs as well as a sign board and course layout at the hole one beginning location.
3. Course amenities. Benches at tees, garbage cans on course, disc bag posts/hooks, next tee arrows, etc.
4. Overall park amenities. Things like bathrooms, drinking fountains, playground areas, anything that improves the overall location.
5. Overall use of available terrain features. How well did the designers use what they had to work with?
6. Changes in elevation. Some courses have this occurring naturally. Others have created it. Either way it is vital that a good course is beyond flat… even in Iowa or Nebraska.
7. Variety of hole length. Is it mixed up? Some long, some short. Keep things interesting.
8. Tee and basket options. Are there tee options and/or alternate basket locations? Can the course be played different on different visits?
9. Signature hole? Is there one hole in specific that leaves an impression? Creates a unique memory?
10. Fun Factor - Purely subjective on my part. Did I have fun?

Los Olivios, Phoenix, AZ

1. Yes. Good tee pads, but just a bit small for some folks on some holes, but all are present, good condition, numbered and nicely textured.
2. Yes. Excellent signage. No course beginning bulletin board near hole #1, but signs are all present and in good shape. Alt pin locations are marked, too.
3. No. Not really. No trash cans on course, but park is quite clean. Not tee benches or disc bag hooks or holders. There are a few picnic tables throughout the park and at times they are nearer the t pads.
4. Yes. Overall nice clean park. Benches, BBQ grills, playground equipment, bathrooms, water fountain.
5. Yes. Quite well done here. The trees and their alignment in rows as an orchard have created a unique course with great features and possibilities. ZERO elevation here naturally or created.
6. No elevation changes here either natural or man made.
7. No. Not much variety in hole length… all are mid by my experience. The trees and the technical nature of this course are such that this was not intended to be a long or big arm course. There might be room for a few more holes if there were a few shorter ones, but care has been taken to reduce overlap and make the best of avail space.
8. Yes. There are basket options and indications on the tee signs.
9. Yes. Sig hole is easily #8 as it is a tree gallery with a simple straight shot that is never quite that simple. #3 could serve the same purpose. Also if you like there is much value is #7. While it lacks the tree threading nature of the others the peninsula shot is classic skill instead of big arm. All are good holes here, but #8 is clearly the sig choice.
10. Yes. Always fun here. Lots of challenge. I would play here 3X per week if I lived here and NEVER get bored.

Rating = 7 yes, 3 no = 3.5 disc rating

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 The disc snatcher

5+    1/10/2009   4/3/2009
Review By: Sunday Mike
Played: 41  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 12 Years
This review was updated on 4/4/2011
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a terrific layout in a very limited space. Hole #7, "The Peninsula" is surrounded on 3 sides by OB. It's not very long, but trees near the tee make it very challenging and a blast to play.
The park is well maintained, and thanks to the limited space you can play the nine hole several times in a short amount of time.
Lots of birdies to be had (though I understand that's not always a pro--it sure is for a short driver like myself!)
Cons: The olive trees surrounding each hole are like velcro. If you go in one there is little chance of your disc falling out. I keep a rock in my bag specifically for this course.
There is a soccer field adjacent to hole # 9, which is often used and can make for a near impossible drive on the hole, unless of course you are looking to hit someone with your disc!!
The park is fairly crowded--more so than most Phoenix courses.
On a windy day almost everyone will struggle--I've seen pros curse this course while the wind is blowing!! (To my eternal amusement!)
Other Thoughts: The tee pads at this course are really short, but a friend of mine said it's probably to remind you that you don't need a big run up to drive the holes--play small, just like the tee pads!
I really enjoy this course, it's short, it's challenging, and a whole lot of fun.
I look forward to playing this course a lot over the years.
One more thing--Hole #5 has perhaps the smallest window for a drive that I have ever seen--I love that hole!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.