Phoenix, AZ 
Los Olivos Share
Uploaded By: MattN Hole #7 (Taken 6/2013)
3 / 280ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee

Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Nice Fun Course- Will Play Again!!!

2-4    9/2/2015   9/2/2015
Review By: schaalio
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a relatively simple course course but full of fun and challenging shots. The holes are all well marked and you can easily get through all 9 holes in under 25 minutes. This course is pretty short overall but the groves of olive trees come into play on almost every hole. From tunnel shots, to hyzers, and even a few anis here and there, this course will give you a chance to test your skill while also giving you a fair shot at par (or better) on every hole.
Cons: Being in a park, there is always the people factor. There are paths around the park as well as a lot of shade trees. I went on a weekday later afternoon and it wasn't horrible, but I still had to deal with some pedestrians and picnickers on a couple holes. Not too bad tho overall and definitely better than some other parks that I have played at.
Other Thoughts: I will say that the olive trees are really cool to walk through and look at while you are playing, but beware that it is almost impossible for your disc to sneak through if you hit one of these (which is almost hard to avoid doing at least once or twice). The branches and leaves are like a webbing that just stops your disc right in its tracks. I even had to shake one tree to recover a disc (I also shook about 100 olives from the tree...oops). Good course though overall and for me being a Buffalo, NY native, this will always be a course that I try to play when I am in town.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Selling it short

5+    9/7/2014   9/8/2014
Review By: MarkPettit
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Looks easier than it is. Players skip this course because it is short and flat. There are lots of challenges here and this course is really hard to master.
Cons: Getting players to join you here because they played it once, sucked, and didn't give it another chance.
Other Thoughts: Most reviewers give this a bad rap. You will be challenged here every time you play. Tunnel shots will leave you struggling. Bring an extending pole like a ball golf water retriever to knock your disc out of the trees. You'll see me here just about every morning carrying mine.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Los Olivos...

1    1/1/2011   1/1/2011
Review By: eye-ball-sac
Played: 67  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 6.8 Years
This review was updated on 2/19/2011
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course is located in what used to be an olive grove. The trees are all olive trees which are very low and branch out a lot, which makes a challenging course. Fairways are all grass and the trees are utilized well. The layout is easy to follow and fun. Since it was a grove, there are rows of trees, and sometimes you throw from one row to another or in between rows for a tunnel shot. There's a good variety of shots for a nine-holer here. Very clean, I didn't see any trash at all. Baskets are DISCatchers and seem new. Tee pads are small, but you don't need much of a run-up for these distances. Tee signs are very detailed and indicate which pin position the basket is currently on.
Cons: There aren't any elevation changes here. Hole distances are very short. Olive trees can catch your disc and like to keep them. There are only 9 holes. There are a lot of non-discers in this park and some hoboish people sitting in the shade of the fairways, but they shouldn't get in your way. Not too challenging of a course
Other Thoughts: This is an excellent course to show a beginner. Everything seemed very new. Every other player I saw carried an extension poles to get discs out of trees. My favorite hole was number seven. The pin is surrounded by an O.B. peninsula. The main thing keeping this course from being a "4" is that there are only 9 holes.

If you mark this review unhelpful or you find a mistake, please send me a personal message here on DGCR explaining what is wrong with it.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner friendly

5+    6/16/2009   6/18/2009
Review By: wolito
Played: 85  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 8.8 Years
This review was updated on 6/7/2010
7 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Small 9 hole course located in a city park. Teepads, signs and baskets are all in excellent condition. Well kept park that is super clean. Makes good use of the space that is available and incorporates the trees into the challenge. Obviously the pin placement was well thought out, using the trees to make this so it is not jsut a striaght on shot. Accuracy is a must. Shape your tee shot just right and you are throwing for biridie, miss that and just par. Bring your putter and mid here and work on your short game. Mainly short holes with lots of birdie/ace potenial here. Straight, right and left placed baskets. A few tunnel shots to work on your straight throws.
Cons: The whole park probably has an elevation change of 2 feet, in other words, flat. Watch out for the olive trees, they will grab your disc and not let go! Other park users can make for a frustrating rounds as they seem to not understand that there are people playing disc golf there. Heavily used by them, at all times of the day so that even at 700am you will still have to contend with walkers and the like.
Other Thoughts: This would be a great course to bring new players into the game. Simple and easy to play and actually has trees on it unlike other courses in the area. Even if you have been playing for any length of time this still has a lot to offer. You really have to think what is the best shot off the tee on each hole. No two holes are the same on this one. The more that I play this course, the more that I improve on my short game. The first few times I played this course, I didn't think it was anything special, but it really grew on me. Combined with the fact that all the holes have multiple positions and they are moved around quite often, I always look forward to playing this course.

7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Los Olivos

2-4    11/15/2008   11/16/2008
Review By: Disc_Pro
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: At the base of each basket, there is an arrow drawn in the cement that points directly to the next tee. Once you find the first tee, you can navigate this course on your own. Good signs and baskets. Hole 7 is almost an 'island' hole. If you over throw the pin, or throw left or right, you risk OB.
Other Thoughts: Good mix of left and right holes. Short course that can be played quickly.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Los Olivos

5/8/2008   5/8/2008
Review By: abrooks
Played: 32  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.4 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Quick to play. Layout easy to identify once you find the first tee pad. Baskets appear to be new. Concrete base of each basket points the way to the next tee pad.
Cons: Pedestrians can get in the way, or atleast change the way you might throw off the tee.
Other Thoughts: Like the pin placements, very well done for a flat park to work with. Plenty of birdie opportunities with good drives.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.