Disc Golf Center
Phoenix, AZ 
Los Olivos Share
Uploaded By: MattN Hole #8 (Taken 6/2013)
3 / 205ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  Los Olivos

5+    7/6/2010   8/22/2010
Review By: dmjones2
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Accurate signs and new baskets on all tees
Short with tight technical shots
Lots of trees for a Phoenix Area course
Bathrooms and Drinking fountains
Lots of interesting shots
I got my first Ace on hole # 3
Cons: Lots of park traffic and oblivious bystanders
The olive trees grab discs and don't let go
Will surely frustrate those big arm players that lack precise accuracy.
Other Thoughts: One of my favorites in Phoenix as its always a nice change from desert courses.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Los Olivos

5+    6/12/2010   8/20/2010
Review By: hangwind
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.8 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Quick 9 hole course in a shared city park. Holes outline a soccer field with lots of olive tree lined fairways. Basket pads have arrow to the next tee. If you are not driving where you want, bring a baseball to get your disc out of the tree. Water fountain is available half way through the course near the playground.
Cons: Busy multiple use park but segregated well. Dog walkers, table sleepers and such.
Other Thoughts: Fun for a quick nine if you are local. Worth playing once if you are not due to tree tunnel and ability to drive baskets with a precision throw.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Decent Course, Busy Park

1    4/6/2010   4/11/2010
Review By: coast2coast
Played: 93  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 11.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pleasant setting in a former olive orchard now a public park. Tees, signs and baskets all in good condition. Plays fast, and navigation is easy due to next tee indicators on signs and at the base of each basket. Hole lengths may not intimidate novices, but the thick olive trees make good obstacles on all of the holes. Well mowed and maintained. Course is easy to find as is the first tee.
Cons: Fairly short 9 hole course. Dog walkers, ladies doing yoga, city dump trucks, and picnickers all in the fairway on a weekday morning. Somehow I was able to play all the holes by throwing over and around the park-goers, but probably would not have been able to at a busier time. Flat terrain.
Other Thoughts: Best time to play is early morning to avoid crowds in the park. Played Buffalo Ridge after and 9 holes here was a good way to warm up.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Olive this one

5+    11/15/2009   11/15/2009
Review By: clipnfly
Played: 60  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/13/2011
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice, clean park. Well signed. Great use of trees for technical choices/options. Not a big arm course... there are others for that. This is a great upshot and putting course. A great place to break in a noob too. Course can be played will with 3 discs... Bring a Stable and an overstable mid and a fave putter and you are good to go. back to play again. still love the technical aspect of a flat park course like this. played here with just one disc and running shoes. Toss and run. Great exercise. Not a way to play at Buffalo Ridge but a good use or an alt way to play on a course like this. Play entire course w one disc and REALLY learn how that disc behaves, too. Great way to learn a disc.
Cons: Tee pads are a bit small, but not too bad considering the length of the course, overall. See my standardized review format in other thoughts below. Big picnic in the park today blocking hole #8. all others are playable. Considering the signs that warn park users about staying off the dg course... odd that they would park a picnic on the course.
Other Thoughts: Very much like a fave of mine in my hood. I prefer short to mid length as I do not have a big arm. Like the more technical challenge. If I lived here I could play here 2X per week and just keep having fun. A number of the holes have approach choices/options. The more you play and the better ability you have to control annie and place your hyzer... You will have even more fun here.
Back for more 2,2011. Every time I play here I like it more. Great shot choices around the trees. Always play 9 with someone I meet. All have been good ppl. park is clean, trash free.

This is my disc golf course rating system. Each element of the course is worth ½ disc for a total of 10, ½ disc units or 5 full discs of rating.
My 10 categories are:
1. Quality of tee pads.
2. Quality of signage, both individual hole signs as well as a sign board and course layout at the hole one beginning location.
3. Course amenities. Benches at tees, garbage cans on course, disc bag posts/hooks, next tee arrows, etc.
4. Overall park amenities. Things like bathrooms, drinking fountains, playground areas, anything that improves the overall location.
5. Overall use of available terrain features. How well did the designers use what they had to work with?
6. Changes in elevation. Some courses have this occurring naturally. Others have created it. Either way it is vital that a good course is beyond flat… even in Iowa or Nebraska.
7. Variety of hole length. Is it mixed up? Some long, some short. Keep things interesting.
8. Tee and basket options. Are there tee options and/or alternate basket locations? Can the course be played different on different visits?
9. Signature hole? Is there one hole in specific that leaves an impression? Creates a unique memory?
10. Fun Factor - Purely subjective on my part. Did I have fun?

Los Olivios, Phoenix, AZ

1. Yes. Good tee pads, but just a bit small for some folks on some holes, but all are present, good condition, numbered and nicely textured.
2. Yes. Excellent signage. No course beginning bulletin board near hole #1, but signs are all present and in good shape. Alt pin locations are marked, too.
3. No. Not really. No trash cans on course, but park is quite clean. Not tee benches or disc bag hooks or holders. There are a few picnic tables throughout the park and at times they are nearer the t pads.
4. Yes. Overall nice clean park. Benches, BBQ grills, playground equipment, bathrooms, water fountain.
5. Yes. Quite well done here. The trees and their alignment in rows as an orchard have created a unique course with great features and possibilities. ZERO elevation here naturally or created.
6. No elevation changes here either natural or man made.
7. No. Not much variety in hole length… all are mid by my experience. The trees and the technical nature of this course are such that this was not intended to be a long or big arm course. There might be room for a few more holes if there were a few shorter ones, but care has been taken to reduce overlap and make the best of avail space.
8. Yes. There are basket options and indications on the tee signs.
9. Yes. Sig hole is easily #8 as it is a tree gallery with a simple straight shot that is never quite that simple. #3 could serve the same purpose. Also if you like there is much value is #7. While it lacks the tree threading nature of the others the peninsula shot is classic skill instead of big arm. All are good holes here, but #8 is clearly the sig choice.
10. Yes. Always fun here. Lots of challenge. I would play here 3X per week if I lived here and NEVER get bored.

Rating = 7 yes, 3 no = 3.5 disc rating

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner friendly

5+    6/16/2009   6/18/2009
Review By: wolito
Played: 85  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/7/2010
7 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Small 9 hole course located in a city park. Teepads, signs and baskets are all in excellent condition. Well kept park that is super clean. Makes good use of the space that is available and incorporates the trees into the challenge. Obviously the pin placement was well thought out, using the trees to make this so it is not jsut a striaght on shot. Accuracy is a must. Shape your tee shot just right and you are throwing for biridie, miss that and just par. Bring your putter and mid here and work on your short game. Mainly short holes with lots of birdie/ace potenial here. Straight, right and left placed baskets. A few tunnel shots to work on your straight throws.
Cons: The whole park probably has an elevation change of 2 feet, in other words, flat. Watch out for the olive trees, they will grab your disc and not let go! Other park users can make for a frustrating rounds as they seem to not understand that there are people playing disc golf there. Heavily used by them, at all times of the day so that even at 700am you will still have to contend with walkers and the like.
Other Thoughts: This would be a great course to bring new players into the game. Simple and easy to play and actually has trees on it unlike other courses in the area. Even if you have been playing for any length of time this still has a lot to offer. You really have to think what is the best shot off the tee on each hole. No two holes are the same on this one. The more that I play this course, the more that I improve on my short game. The first few times I played this course, I didn't think it was anything special, but it really grew on me. Combined with the fact that all the holes have multiple positions and they are moved around quite often, I always look forward to playing this course.

7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 The disc snatcher

5+    1/10/2009   4/3/2009
Review By: Sunday Mike
Played: 42  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 12.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/4/2011
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a terrific layout in a very limited space. Hole #7, "The Peninsula" is surrounded on 3 sides by OB. It's not very long, but trees near the tee make it very challenging and a blast to play.
The park is well maintained, and thanks to the limited space you can play the nine hole several times in a short amount of time.
Lots of birdies to be had (though I understand that's not always a pro--it sure is for a short driver like myself!)
Cons: The olive trees surrounding each hole are like velcro. If you go in one there is little chance of your disc falling out. I keep a rock in my bag specifically for this course.
There is a soccer field adjacent to hole # 9, which is often used and can make for a near impossible drive on the hole, unless of course you are looking to hit someone with your disc!!
The park is fairly crowded--more so than most Phoenix courses.
On a windy day almost everyone will struggle--I've seen pros curse this course while the wind is blowing!! (To my eternal amusement!)
Other Thoughts: The tee pads at this course are really short, but a friend of mine said it's probably to remind you that you don't need a big run up to drive the holes--play small, just like the tee pads!
I really enjoy this course, it's short, it's challenging, and a whole lot of fun.
I look forward to playing this course a lot over the years.
One more thing--Hole #5 has perhaps the smallest window for a drive that I have ever seen--I love that hole!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Home course

5+    12/19/2008   1/4/2009
Review By: ragajones
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is one of Phoenix's newest courses (I think it came in around March or so of 2008) and has become very popular. This is a friendly and simple 9 hole course that stresses technique over power.
I have played it dozens of times and have a tough time making par.
Lots of parking.
There is a good "after work" crowd.
Fun to play in the morning or at dusk.
Good signage.
Great opportunities for rollers.
Many Phoenix area parks are empty and unused, Los Olivos always has lots of people around,
Cons: If you "shank" it alot, the olive trees will hold onto your discs very well. My buddy Tim carries baseballs in his bag to knock down discs. I have an 18 foot telescoping pole in my trunk specifically for Los Olivos. Even the Los Olivos icon is a picture of a guy reaching up to fish a disc out of an olive tree. Hole 9 fairway can get overrun with soccer players in the evening but they are usually very considerate. New signs were recently added declaring the area for disc golf. Have had several rounds that I couldn't finish because of non-golfers on 9.
Be careful there are rodent holes that can roll an ankle if you aren't paying attention.
Other Thoughts: This a really fun course and has great replay value.
Deceptively tricky, especially hole #2.
Best hole "The Peninsula" - #7 a long shot out onto a peninsula of grass, bordered on 3 sides by O.B. this hole is really fun.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Los Olivos

2-4    11/15/2008   11/16/2008
Review By: Disc_Pro
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: At the base of each basket, there is an arrow drawn in the cement that points directly to the next tee. Once you find the first tee, you can navigate this course on your own. Good signs and baskets. Hole 7 is almost an 'island' hole. If you over throw the pin, or throw left or right, you risk OB.
Other Thoughts: Good mix of left and right holes. Short course that can be played quickly.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Decent course

2/15/2007   5/23/2008
Review By: Doktor John
Played: 415  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 25.7 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good use of limited terrain
Nice tees and baskets
Good approach shot practice (from tees)
Cons: A little limited in difficulty due to terrain limitations
Can be tricky with too many people at the park
Other Thoughts: The thing I like about this course is that it is a fast playing course that you can bust out a few rounds if you are limited with time and there is some challenge with the trees that keep it from being a boring course
I am impressed with how the DG community in the Phx area has not let the limited terrain stop them from putting courses all over for people to play

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Los Olivos

5/8/2008   5/8/2008
Review By: abrooks
Played: 32  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.3 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Quick to play. Layout easy to identify once you find the first tee pad. Baskets appear to be new. Concrete base of each basket points the way to the next tee pad.
Cons: Pedestrians can get in the way, or atleast change the way you might throw off the tee.
Other Thoughts: Like the pin placements, very well done for a flat park to work with. Plenty of birdie opportunities with good drives.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.