Phoenix, AZ 
Los Olivos Share
Uploaded By: MattN Hole #2 (Taken 6/2013)
3 / 325ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee

Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 a walk in the park

5+    8/14/2010   5/30/2011
Review By: pascal
Played: 19  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 18.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Green, well-watered park
-Accessible Restrooms with drinking fountains
-Innnova Baskets
-Concrete Tee pads
-Easy to Navigate
Cons: -Completely flat, no hills.
-Lacks some variety
-Olive trees have a way of eating discs and making them surprisingly hard to retrieve
-Well-used park can make pedestrian hard to avoid
Other Thoughts: I stayed at a hotel down the road and played this course once every other day in the morning.

The course tests your ability to throw a controlled drive and short putt on each hole. Intermediate players will have a chance for a deuce on every hole. The course is fairly forgiving and a bad/off target tee shot will often not exclude a par.

The park is watered at night by sprinklers set in the ground. It is a former olive grove. The fairways end up being mostly straight throws between two rows of olive trees. However, the well-watered nature of the course means thick grass, uncharacteristic of phoenix disc golf (in my experience).

Watch out for pedestrians and soccer players. Signs tell people to give disc golfers right of way (never seen that before). However, there are several places where you might have to wait, or throw carefully, and every once in a while you might encounter someone who decided to have a picnic in the way of your next tee shot.

7 brings a road into play, kind of nice. It is a back road with no car issues, and gives the challenge of water without the risk of losing a disc. 8 has a mando to prevent throwing a hammer or thumber. Nine is probably the signature hole as a straight, long, shot with an early tree-created fairway followed by relative long open approach to the basket.

This is the type of course one might play early in the morning on the way to work. Short, easy to navigate, doesn't require a big arm or much physical exertion. It's well watered nature means you won't get dirty or dusty, and before the noon-day heat of phoenix sets in, it is remarkably pleasant experience.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Los Olivos...

1    1/1/2011   1/1/2011
Review By: eye-ball-sac
Played: 67  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 6.8 Years
This review was updated on 2/19/2011
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course is located in what used to be an olive grove. The trees are all olive trees which are very low and branch out a lot, which makes a challenging course. Fairways are all grass and the trees are utilized well. The layout is easy to follow and fun. Since it was a grove, there are rows of trees, and sometimes you throw from one row to another or in between rows for a tunnel shot. There's a good variety of shots for a nine-holer here. Very clean, I didn't see any trash at all. Baskets are DISCatchers and seem new. Tee pads are small, but you don't need much of a run-up for these distances. Tee signs are very detailed and indicate which pin position the basket is currently on.
Cons: There aren't any elevation changes here. Hole distances are very short. Olive trees can catch your disc and like to keep them. There are only 9 holes. There are a lot of non-discers in this park and some hoboish people sitting in the shade of the fairways, but they shouldn't get in your way. Not too challenging of a course
Other Thoughts: This is an excellent course to show a beginner. Everything seemed very new. Every other player I saw carried an extension poles to get discs out of trees. My favorite hole was number seven. The pin is surrounded by an O.B. peninsula. The main thing keeping this course from being a "4" is that there are only 9 holes.

If you mark this review unhelpful or you find a mistake, please send me a personal message here on DGCR explaining what is wrong with it.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice 9 hole (updated 3/18)

5+    3/18/2011   9/11/2010
Review By: chillis
Played: 94  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 15.5 Years
This review was updated on 3/20/2011
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Grippy tboxes. The signage is good, but almost unnecessary as you can clearly see every pin from its corresponding tbox.
Lots of tight, technical throws to make, with a small window to hit the first 0-50ft of your drive.
The layout lends itself to a multitude of different throws, e.g., the throw you'll make on #1 is different than #2 which is different than #3 which is different than #4. Great layout for a small space!
Every hole is Ace-able, no question.

I like that I can take my dog off the leash here. I'm training her to stay with me, and people here (DGolfers, futbol players, peds) seem to be fine with a spry dog trotting around and saying Hello.
Cons: Some pedestrian traffic, some bums chillin' in the shade. Sometimes there will be a pickup futbol game in the park in the middle of the course, which renders hole #9 (and my fav) unplayable.

There are rodent holes in the ground that can catch your toe if you're dragging your feet and not paying attention.
Other Thoughts: Because this is a 9hole fit into a relatively small space, I cannot dock the lack of distance against this course. The design is great, and you can play fast enough to throw 27 or more holes, since you aren't traversing a ton of territory.

Walked down to los Olivos yesterday, played 36holes out in the midday sun. The grass is getting greener and the park is looking good.
I hope they update the layout of this park soon. Or maybe just the pin placement. Needs some spice!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Los Olivos

5+    7/6/2010   8/22/2010
Review By: dmjones2
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Accurate signs and new baskets on all tees
Short with tight technical shots
Lots of trees for a Phoenix Area course
Bathrooms and Drinking fountains
Lots of interesting shots
I got my first Ace on hole # 3
Cons: Lots of park traffic and oblivious bystanders
The olive trees grab discs and don't let go
Will surely frustrate those big arm players that lack precise accuracy.
Other Thoughts: One of my favorites in Phoenix as its always a nice change from desert courses.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Los Olivos

5+    6/12/2010   8/20/2010
Review By: hangwind
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Quick 9 hole course in a shared city park. Holes outline a soccer field with lots of olive tree lined fairways. Basket pads have arrow to the next tee. If you are not driving where you want, bring a baseball to get your disc out of the tree. Water fountain is available half way through the course near the playground.
Cons: Busy multiple use park but segregated well. Dog walkers, table sleepers and such.
Other Thoughts: Fun for a quick nine if you are local. Worth playing once if you are not due to tree tunnel and ability to drive baskets with a precision throw.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Decent Course, Busy Park

1    4/6/2010   4/11/2010
Review By: coast2coast
Played: 95  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 12.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pleasant setting in a former olive orchard now a public park. Tees, signs and baskets all in good condition. Plays fast, and navigation is easy due to next tee indicators on signs and at the base of each basket. Hole lengths may not intimidate novices, but the thick olive trees make good obstacles on all of the holes. Well mowed and maintained. Course is easy to find as is the first tee.
Cons: Fairly short 9 hole course. Dog walkers, ladies doing yoga, city dump trucks, and picnickers all in the fairway on a weekday morning. Somehow I was able to play all the holes by throwing over and around the park-goers, but probably would not have been able to at a busier time. Flat terrain.
Other Thoughts: Best time to play is early morning to avoid crowds in the park. Played Buffalo Ridge after and 9 holes here was a good way to warm up.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Olive this one

5+    11/15/2009   11/15/2009
Review By: clipnfly
Played: 60  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/13/2011
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice, clean park. Well signed. Great use of trees for technical choices/options. Not a big arm course... there are others for that. This is a great upshot and putting course. A great place to break in a noob too. Course can be played will with 3 discs... Bring a Stable and an overstable mid and a fave putter and you are good to go. back to play again. still love the technical aspect of a flat park course like this. played here with just one disc and running shoes. Toss and run. Great exercise. Not a way to play at Buffalo Ridge but a good use or an alt way to play on a course like this. Play entire course w one disc and REALLY learn how that disc behaves, too. Great way to learn a disc.
Cons: Tee pads are a bit small, but not too bad considering the length of the course, overall. See my standardized review format in other thoughts below. Big picnic in the park today blocking hole #8. all others are playable. Considering the signs that warn park users about staying off the dg course... odd that they would park a picnic on the course.
Other Thoughts: Very much like a fave of mine in my hood. I prefer short to mid length as I do not have a big arm. Like the more technical challenge. If I lived here I could play here 2X per week and just keep having fun. A number of the holes have approach choices/options. The more you play and the better ability you have to control annie and place your hyzer... You will have even more fun here.
Back for more 2,2011. Every time I play here I like it more. Great shot choices around the trees. Always play 9 with someone I meet. All have been good ppl. park is clean, trash free.

This is my disc golf course rating system. Each element of the course is worth disc for a total of 10, disc units or 5 full discs of rating.
My 10 categories are:
1. Quality of tee pads.
2. Quality of signage, both individual hole signs as well as a sign board and course layout at the hole one beginning location.
3. Course amenities. Benches at tees, garbage cans on course, disc bag posts/hooks, next tee arrows, etc.
4. Overall park amenities. Things like bathrooms, drinking fountains, playground areas, anything that improves the overall location.
5. Overall use of available terrain features. How well did the designers use what they had to work with?
6. Changes in elevation. Some courses have this occurring naturally. Others have created it. Either way it is vital that a good course is beyond flat... even in Iowa or Nebraska.
7. Variety of hole length. Is it mixed up? Some long, some short. Keep things interesting.
8. Tee and basket options. Are there tee options and/or alternate basket locations? Can the course be played different on different visits?
9. Signature hole? Is there one hole in specific that leaves an impression? Creates a unique memory?
10. Fun Factor - Purely subjective on my part. Did I have fun?

Los Olivios, Phoenix, AZ

1. Yes. Good tee pads, but just a bit small for some folks on some holes, but all are present, good condition, numbered and nicely textured.
2. Yes. Excellent signage. No course beginning bulletin board near hole #1, but signs are all present and in good shape. Alt pin locations are marked, too.
3. No. Not really. No trash cans on course, but park is quite clean. Not tee benches or disc bag hooks or holders. There are a few picnic tables throughout the park and at times they are nearer the t pads.
4. Yes. Overall nice clean park. Benches, BBQ grills, playground equipment, bathrooms, water fountain.
5. Yes. Quite well done here. The trees and their alignment in rows as an orchard have created a unique course with great features and possibilities. ZERO elevation here naturally or created.
6. No elevation changes here either natural or man made.
7. No. Not much variety in hole length... all are mid by my experience. The trees and the technical nature of this course are such that this was not intended to be a long or big arm course. There might be room for a few more holes if there were a few shorter ones, but care has been taken to reduce overlap and make the best of avail space.
8. Yes. There are basket options and indications on the tee signs.
9. Yes. Sig hole is easily #8 as it is a tree gallery with a simple straight shot that is never quite that simple. #3 could serve the same purpose. Also if you like there is much value is #7. While it lacks the tree threading nature of the others the peninsula shot is classic skill instead of big arm. All are good holes here, but #8 is clearly the sig choice.
10. Yes. Always fun here. Lots of challenge. I would play here 3X per week if I lived here and NEVER get bored.

Rating = 7 yes, 3 no = 3.5 disc rating

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner friendly

5+    6/16/2009   6/18/2009
Review By: wolito
Played: 85  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 8.8 Years
This review was updated on 6/7/2010
7 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Small 9 hole course located in a city park. Teepads, signs and baskets are all in excellent condition. Well kept park that is super clean. Makes good use of the space that is available and incorporates the trees into the challenge. Obviously the pin placement was well thought out, using the trees to make this so it is not jsut a striaght on shot. Accuracy is a must. Shape your tee shot just right and you are throwing for biridie, miss that and just par. Bring your putter and mid here and work on your short game. Mainly short holes with lots of birdie/ace potenial here. Straight, right and left placed baskets. A few tunnel shots to work on your straight throws.
Cons: The whole park probably has an elevation change of 2 feet, in other words, flat. Watch out for the olive trees, they will grab your disc and not let go! Other park users can make for a frustrating rounds as they seem to not understand that there are people playing disc golf there. Heavily used by them, at all times of the day so that even at 700am you will still have to contend with walkers and the like.
Other Thoughts: This would be a great course to bring new players into the game. Simple and easy to play and actually has trees on it unlike other courses in the area. Even if you have been playing for any length of time this still has a lot to offer. You really have to think what is the best shot off the tee on each hole. No two holes are the same on this one. The more that I play this course, the more that I improve on my short game. The first few times I played this course, I didn't think it was anything special, but it really grew on me. Combined with the fact that all the holes have multiple positions and they are moved around quite often, I always look forward to playing this course.

7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 The disc snatcher

5+    1/10/2009   4/3/2009
Review By: Sunday Mike
Played: 44  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 13.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/4/2011
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a terrific layout in a very limited space. Hole #7, "The Peninsula" is surrounded on 3 sides by OB. It's not very long, but trees near the tee make it very challenging and a blast to play.
The park is well maintained, and thanks to the limited space you can play the nine hole several times in a short amount of time.
Lots of birdies to be had (though I understand that's not always a pro--it sure is for a short driver like myself!)
Cons: The olive trees surrounding each hole are like velcro. If you go in one there is little chance of your disc falling out. I keep a rock in my bag specifically for this course.
There is a soccer field adjacent to hole # 9, which is often used and can make for a near impossible drive on the hole, unless of course you are looking to hit someone with your disc!!
The park is fairly crowded--more so than most Phoenix courses.
On a windy day almost everyone will struggle--I've seen pros curse this course while the wind is blowing!! (To my eternal amusement!)
Other Thoughts: The tee pads at this course are really short, but a friend of mine said it's probably to remind you that you don't need a big run up to drive the holes--play small, just like the tee pads!
I really enjoy this course, it's short, it's challenging, and a whole lot of fun.
I look forward to playing this course a lot over the years.
One more thing--Hole #5 has perhaps the smallest window for a drive that I have ever seen--I love that hole!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Home course

5+    12/19/2008   1/4/2009
Review By: ragajones
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is one of Phoenix's newest courses (I think it came in around March or so of 2008) and has become very popular. This is a friendly and simple 9 hole course that stresses technique over power.
I have played it dozens of times and have a tough time making par.
Lots of parking.
There is a good "after work" crowd.
Fun to play in the morning or at dusk.
Good signage.
Great opportunities for rollers.
Many Phoenix area parks are empty and unused, Los Olivos always has lots of people around,
Cons: If you "shank" it alot, the olive trees will hold onto your discs very well. My buddy Tim carries baseballs in his bag to knock down discs. I have an 18 foot telescoping pole in my trunk specifically for Los Olivos. Even the Los Olivos icon is a picture of a guy reaching up to fish a disc out of an olive tree. Hole 9 fairway can get overrun with soccer players in the evening but they are usually very considerate. New signs were recently added declaring the area for disc golf. Have had several rounds that I couldn't finish because of non-golfers on 9.
Be careful there are rodent holes that can roll an ankle if you aren't paying attention.
Other Thoughts: This a really fun course and has great replay value.
Deceptively tricky, especially hole #2.
Best hole "The Peninsula" - #7 a long shot out onto a peninsula of grass, bordered on 3 sides by O.B. this hole is really fun.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.