Phoenix, AZ 
Los Olivos Share
Uploaded By: MattN Hole #3 (Taken 6/2013)
3 / 200ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee

Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Fun and quick course!

2-4    2/25/2015   9/12/2015
Review By: ShortyToThrow
Played: 18  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 11.5 Years
Pros: -Nice layout amongst a groove of olive trees.
-The course is short and plays quickly-great for hot days when you do not want to be out too long.
Cons: -Flat course.
-Not much distance.
-Restroom and playground near course so it is important to watch for bystanders on some holes.

Nice Fun Course- Will Play Again!!!

2-4    9/2/2015   9/2/2015
Review By: schaalio
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a relatively simple course course but full of fun and challenging shots. The holes are all well marked and you can easily get through all 9 holes in under 25 minutes. This course is pretty short overall but the groves of olive trees come into play on almost every hole. From tunnel shots, to hyzers, and even a few anis here and there, this course will give you a chance to test your skill while also giving you a fair shot at par (or better) on every hole.
Cons: Being in a park, there is always the people factor. There are paths around the park as well as a lot of shade trees. I went on a weekday later afternoon and it wasn't horrible, but I still had to deal with some pedestrians and picnickers on a couple holes. Not too bad tho overall and definitely better than some other parks that I have played at.
Other Thoughts: I will say that the olive trees are really cool to walk through and look at while you are playing, but beware that it is almost impossible for your disc to sneak through if you hit one of these (which is almost hard to avoid doing at least once or twice). The branches and leaves are like a webbing that just stops your disc right in its tracks. I even had to shake one tree to recover a disc (I also shook about 100 olives from the tree...oops). Good course though overall and for me being a Buffalo, NY native, this will always be a course that I try to play when I am in town.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

A Gem in the Desert!

1    8/30/2015   8/30/2015
Review By: JNichols
Played: 50  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I wasn't expecting much from this course, but WOW. Restrooms/Ample parking onsite. Beautiful park like setting with SHADE, picnic benches spread throughout the course, and plenty of lush, Green Grass,

Short, but Nice concrete tee pads at each hole. Fairways are well defined, BUT, Multiple routes are offered on each hole. There are also multiple basket locations available on each hole. The mature olive trees that line almost every fairway are very nice to look at, but also disc stoppers. You have to be able to throw low, straight lines, high lines, hyzers, annys, etc. An arsenal of different shots is needed to be able to play this course and grab the bird on each hole.

The layout is done very well. Great use of land and space, especially for how small the course seems to be by specs. It definitely feels bigger than it is, and that makes for more enjoyable play, IMO.

Signage indicating to other park users that they are on a disc golf course was very cool. Not that they cared, but it was nice to see.
Cons: I honestly don't see many Cons to this course IF you look at it for what it is. It is not a Championship level, 18 hole course. It is a tight, technical, shorter length 9 hole course that plays through an Olive Orchard. It is different from any of the other "Valley" courses.

We did encounter other park users chilling at benches near baskets. Watch out for non-golfers. Signage was adequate, but not Stellar.

There were also a couple homeless people sleeping in the shade of the trees, so keep your eyes open and be sure to check your fairways before you launch.
Other Thoughts: I play with my 10 year old Son quite a bit. He prefers 9 hole courses as 18 just wears him out to much. This course, which I personally would not deem a Recreational/Beginner course, has nice lines, is technical, and makes you pick your shots. What this course lacks in length, it makes up in technicality. If you are looking to go out and bomb your 14 speed drivers 500ft, this is not the course. If you want to work your fairway drivers, mids, and putter shots??? This course has A LOT to offer. I am Really glad we gave this course a shot and we will be back!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Selling it short

5+    9/7/2014   9/8/2014
Review By: MarkPettit
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Looks easier than it is. Players skip this course because it is short and flat. There are lots of challenges here and this course is really hard to master.
Cons: Getting players to join you here because they played it once, sucked, and didn't give it another chance.
Other Thoughts: Most reviewers give this a bad rap. You will be challenged here every time you play. Tunnel shots will leave you struggling. Bring an extending pole like a ball golf water retriever to knock your disc out of the trees. You'll see me here just about every morning carrying mine.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Want to introduce someone to disc golf?

1    10/12/2013   5/15/2014
Review By: Outdoor Craziness
Played: 19  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 3.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The terrain: the grass and olive trees are beautiful!

The length: usually would be a negative for me, but I think this is a phenomenal place to introduce someone to the game! Only 9 baskets, no long throws, beautiful trees and grass - perfect intro to disc golf.
Cons: The lacking: if you're not introducing someone to the game, there's no use in coming to this course. In general, the course is lacking - no long throws, no challenges, no back nine.
Other Thoughts: No one has ever called me and said "hey, let's play Los Olivos!"

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Los Olivos

1    3/3/2014   3/5/2014
Review By: jdogghuge
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Restrooms and a lot of shade. Great place to go for working on Ace Runs.
Cons: Too short and not enough change in elevation or course design except for a couple of holes.
Other Thoughts: Need to have a reverse/back 9 layout.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great beginner course

1    9/22/2013   10/31/2013
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 13.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a nice grassy park and takes advantage of the nice mature olive trees. Most of the shots have enough trees in play that you have to shape some kind of line, including a couple that bring narrow tunnels or low ceilings into play. The holes are short overall, but there's still nice variety in the types of shots you'll have to throw to score well here.

The signage is solid, the course is easy to follow and it's obvious where to throw. The tees and baskets are showing some age but are in fine shape. The park is nicely maintained, and the signs encouraging other park users to be aware of disc golf are a nice touch. With some longer courses around the Phoenix area it's nice to see one targeted at the beginner level players.
Cons: There are some conflicts with picnic areas and other park uses in some spots. The design minimizes these for the most part but there's still some potential for conflict. The holes are short and straightforward, there's not a whole lot of challenge and there isn't any real punishment for missing your line.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will have a great time here. There are enough trees to make things interesting but no length or underbrush to frustrate new players. More experienced players will have fun playing a putter only round or working on different shots here, but won't be really challenged.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Actually Has Signs Reminding Soccer Players That Designated Areas Are Disc Golf Only!

1    5/26/2013   6/4/2013
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 831  Reviewed: 782  Exp: 37.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: My favorite thing about this course are the two signs stating:


And there is another alike sign on the side of the soccer field. These are both semi-shaded fairways of the disc golf course where soccer families would most likely set up picnic areas to rest between soccer games or during tournament. Yeah! Keep em off our disc golf course!

Los Olivos was an olive grove and thus the course plays primarily up and down rows of olive trees. The holes are fairly short but control is the key here. Being able to throw your drive 100-150 feet straight down the fairway and low will net you the birdie every time. If not, your disc will sail into the grabby olive branches.

The park is a typical small city park. The park is clean and litter free. It's flat. The signs are the basic fiberglass ones with a little graffiti just to add a local flavor. The concrete pads are a little on the smallish side although very little run-up is needed here. There is the possibility to hyser around the olive trees on a couple of holes. The disc golf course only utilizes about one half of the park's area.

The designers did a nice job creating a mostly enjoyable little course here considering the lack of elevation, water, etc. they had to work with.

It's a great little course to bring the beginner or girlfriend to.
Cons: Everything here is starting to show it's age. The pads, signs and baskets are all starting to look a little weary.

There's not a whole lot of challenge here for anyone playing above the intermediate level. It's a true recreational level course.

I think it would probably get a little boring after a few rounds. There isn't much in the way of variety.

Despite the signs, there's gotta be days when you'd be throwing around others park users or skipping holes. But that's just a fact of life for disc golfers, isn't it?
Other Thoughts: Like others, I liked # 9 as the signature hole on the course. I'd be disappointed if I got to that point and didn't get to try for that open ACE shot.

But having a green, grassy, partially shaded course here in Phoenix is a bonus. I'm sure it gets plenty of play.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


1    10/9/2012   10/10/2012
Review By: Psicko
Played: 24  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 11.8 Years
Pros: concrete tee pads
alternate pin placements
bathrooms and waterfountains
Cons: short on holes, and lengthwise.
no practice basket to warm up on that I could find.
Other Thoughts: This is a good place to work on accuracy due to all of the olive trees. Good for beginners to play. I wouldnt drive far for this course, but if I was in the area, I'd play it. It would be cool if they made the course have the ability to play in reverse to make it a full 18.

 Good for beginners

1    1/4/2012   7/8/2012
Review By: zubeala
Played: 53  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I really can't say anything too positive about this course. Signage is decent. Bathrooms are available. Has some shade.
Good for beginners. Not likely to lose a disc.
Cons: Except for a couple of holes it is pretty repetitive. No elevation change. No real hazards. Lots of people use the park, so some holes may be unplayable. Trees are evenly space in rows.
Other Thoughts: One of the more boring courses I have played.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.