Hot Sulphur Springs, CO 
Pioneer Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: DGWookie Hole #1
3 / 233ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
BUSHWHACKED

1    7/10/2016   8/29/2016
Review By: snunnone
Played: 54  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 4.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Free camping. Great scenery. Most of the course easy to follow with trails (more on that later). Rubber teepads (Better than none). Signs pretty well marked. On the Colorado river with great fishing. 23 Hot Sulphur Springs to soak in very close to the course. Your payment to the springs lasts all day and you can go in and out. Mostly a short course (Could be a con for some)
Cons: Very brushy and tall grass. Easy to lose a disc in plain sight. Needs better markings from 1 to 2 and 8 to 9. In the summer, bugs can be a problem (but makes the flyfishing great). No elevation at all (Strange for a Colorado course). Mostly a short course (Could be a pro for some). All discs you throw should be brightly colored.
Other Thoughts: I played this course because I used the free camping for three nights as I did some disc golfing,fishing and sightseeing in the area. The course looks to be overgrown most of the time which may deter some from playing but it was not as much of a problem as I expected it to be.
Hole 1 plays between the road and the Colorado river through a tunnel in trees. It is short like most of the holes on this course. All holes are under 300 feet except for one (Hole 16, I think). The first navigation problem comes finding hole two from hole one. The trail is easy to find, but you come to hole seven teepad and think you have arrived. If I didn't see the number on the basket I probably would have played it as number 2. Two is past that teepad and as far back towards the mountain as you can take the trail. You will pass some other holes as well. Between the taller grass and and tall bushes, you can throw a great drive and still have some issue finding your discs. I would suggest only throwing brightly colored discs on this course. I found myself throwing discs more for their color than what was needed so I could find them easier.
Most of the first 8 holes play through old growth trees and usually there is more than one line to play to the basket. Hole 8 is right at 300 feet and is open with the basket tucked in tightly among some cottonwood trees. After hole 8 is the other navigation challenge. You must walk along the road, past the four campsites to hole 9. Most of the rest of the course is throwing among about 8 foot bushes. Fairly easy to play, just throw a hyzer over these tall bushes and let the disc fade where you want it to go. Some of these holes tak some scouting because the basket is blind. Sometimes the basket is very visible. Hole 14? is a blind 210 foot shot where a RHBH can throw a hyzer over the Colorado river and try to nail an ace. It was one of my favorite holes on the course. Hole 16 is Over 450' with and is very open, except for the grass that tries to eat your discs.
Camping here is great if you like fairly primitive. there are portapotties on the course by the road and one close to the campground. There is a railroad track fairly close to course and it may interrupt your sleep some.
The Hot Sulphur Springs are close and you can soak after playing a round or two and your 18 dollars aloows you in and out all day at the springs.
Overall, I would have rated this course more average, but with the springs, camping and fishing, I had to go higher on the rating. Too much goodness all together to rate that low.

P.S.: I also played Snow Mountain (the YMCA course not too far away). It is rated higher and is maintained a little better (only a little) and is much harder to follow even with the map.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not bad at all

1    9/19/2014   6/10/2015
Review By: xskatx
Played: 18  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.6 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Well laid out. Nice baskets. Nice typical course. A few holes are even a bit challenging.
Cons: Very flat- not typical for a mountain course. Tall grass can make finding discs tough. No holes were very long-no par4s.
Other Thoughts: Nice course to play if you are driving by. I wouldn't make a point to drive out to it though.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Welcome to the jungle....

1    7/27/2013   8/3/2013
Review By: banknwank
Played: 14  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 3.4 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Camp right on the course, not too long, nice and cool in the river valley, shaded , some fun woodsy shots.
Cons: Willows will eat your disc, lots of blind landings in the overgrowth , time spent looking for discs.
Other Thoughts: I am just not a fan of over grown courses. It can still be difficult to find your disc, even when you hit your intende line. I found my self playing shots for visibility/position, just so i didn't have to search for my disc. ...... Great, free, camping on the course. Good fishing . Great place to hang with some friends and have a few cold ones. Tons of Dgc on the way if you want to make a weekend disc golf road trip. About two hrs from Denver area. Take a soak in the springs if you like.... It's an all day pass

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 beautiful course

5+    4/19/2012   4/29/2012
Review By: villup
Played: 101  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 18.3 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful course with the Colorado river on one side and the train tracks and big mountains on the other. On site camping. Some nice wooded holes on the front and some longer more open holes on the back. A lot of opportunities to get birdies.
Cons: Short course. Kind of easy.
Other Thoughts: This is a must play if you're in the area. The course is really beautiful with great views of the river and surrounding mountains. If you are passing through, it's a great place to camp for the night. Set up your tent, play a round of disc golf, and then go soak in the hot springs which are just a short walk up the road. Sometimes there are eagles nesting in the trees by the river. Pretty sweet. The course itself I rated a 3 but the experience of the area is makes it worth playing and maybe camping out if you have time. Bring your fishing rod.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    4/22/2012   4/28/2012
Review By: bobmcnelly
Played: 102  Reviewed: 79  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/9/2012
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good technical trees shots on the front 9. Some good big shots on the back 9. Good rubber tee pads and good baskets.
Cons: The course is pretty flat and gets real overgrown in the summer.
Other Thoughts: The course is worth checking out. And you can camp right next to the course.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Great quick/short course

2-4    9/6/2010   9/7/2010
Review By: Rex_Grant
Played: 19  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I hit this course on the way up to Steamboat and the way back. Scenic setting, no crowds. There's only about three holes where you'll need a driver (all par 3s, except one oar 4), but after having played Snow Mountain Ranch in the AM it was nice to throw a lot more mid range shots (most holes are from 200-300 feet with a couple aceable shots).
Well marked
Great tee boxes
Can make it around in about an hour, hour and a half. Considering the location of this course, it's a perfect spot to hit on your way somewhere else.
Cons: As mentioned, it's a short course. Most baskets are a straight shot from the tee box though there is some variable terrain including woods and brush. If you're looking to work on your short game, then this is a great place to practice.
Did get pretty windy
Other Thoughts: After playing one, you have to follow the path past #7 and around to #2. I made the mistake of playing #7 our of order the first time through. Hole #9 is a little tricky to find too. Once you play #8 follow the road past where you parked and you'll see the tee pad on the left.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Boo

1    8/14/2010   8/14/2010
Review By: Big Gun
Played: 10  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9.3 Years
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Free camping, not too bad, some good holes
Cons: coarse floods easily, too many short holes, like 100' and less you can loose your disc in the Colorado. It's good if you live there but don't drive hours to play unless you hit ymca down the road

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    4/7/2010   5/7/2010
Review By: wiccangod
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Play in the early season before winds get too strong and misquitoes get bad. Nicely layed out with a good mix of trees and flat land.
Cons: Hole #s 13 and 16 are disc losing holes. Number 13 has water on the right and 16 has railroad tracks. Take good walking shoes.
Other Thoughts: Maybe renumbering the holes would make it easier to navigate.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Near the River

1    7/30/2009   8/31/2009
Review By: DGtourist
Played: 188  Reviewed: 106  Exp: 13.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a fun course in the heart of great scenery. I think the course this summer is enjoying more maintenance then when Innovadude played. There is evidence of local disc golf activity all over the course with how well signed the course is. There is no need for a map at all; the locals have done a good job making the tricky spots idiot proof. There are even a handful of signs that direct golfers where to park on the way into the park. Even though this is a park it is all natural which always makes for a more interesting disc golf course. The tee boxes are the good rubber kind and there is usually a place to sit around them. While there are camps on site and a great wide open west near the course, the course itself is somewhat in a tight space. Which is a good thing because apart from the walk from one to two, (or two to three, I can't remember) the walks from basket to next tee are nice short and easy. The fist few holes in the woods are pretty fun. The course takes a trip out to a field of brush and big bushes that lengthen out some and feature a hole that runs along side the river before turning back around and into the trees. For me the most memorable hole was a one that runs right along the river and dares the RHBH thrower to hyzer right over the top of it.
Cons: Being near the river brings a sizable population of mosquitoes, so deet-up people. Apart from an open long bomber that runs along a railroad tracks, the course is on the short side with holes usually around the mid-200's. The wet summer has made for some crazy undergrowth and grass. I played with a spotter and got around the course very easily, I don't believe that would be the case without a spotter.
Other Thoughts: Much of the appeal to me has to do with where it is. If you don't already know where Hot Sulphur Springs is look it up on the map, it's a pretty long haul to get here from the population centers, an ideal trip from a DGtourist to take.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

7/17/2008   7/17/2008
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 227  Reviewed: 180  Exp: 18.3 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: FREE camping on-site with a porta-john, no shower no water but FREE. Features great piece of land of some woods and mostly open fields dotted with thick tall bushes, right below a gigantic wall of rock and another mountain. Has a river hazard on one hole. Good variety.
Cons: Easy to lose a disc, not well maintained, not very well marked.
Other Thoughts: Take advantage of the free camping if you are traveling and playing, it will be worth it and you can play until dark then 'shower' in the icy river.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.