Albion, MI 
Victory Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #5
3 / 552ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
A Victory indeed...

1    9/12/2013   11/15/2013
Review By: B3NDER
Played: 94  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 9.4 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The scenery around here is great! Even with the huge storm that hit the day before this place looked amazing. I actually preferred having to play around huge downed trees and other rubbish that was everywhere. Can't dock a course for points when mother nature is a crazy b*tch.

- Course is free to play, huge plus!

- Located in downtown Albion, and comes equipped with a skate rink and playground.

- The cement teepads are in great shape aside from the distance markers having been worn down. Arrows carved in the pads point you in the direction of the basket.

- Good use of elevation, and an awesome variety of shots to cover.

- Hole's #10 and #11 are some of the craziest water holes I've ever seen. apdrvya and I were blown away by the awesome view and overall feel of hole #10's risk/reward layout. The Kalamzaoo river runs right through the fairway. You can lay up midway and then shoot over the next water gap, or go all-in and try to clear the two bodies of water to land under the basket. Then after that, #11 is a crazy tight tunnel shot with a wall of bushes to the right and a pond to the left, and you have about 6' or so of a lane to land on or risk your disc taking a bath.

Cons: This place needs better signage. Yes the teepad arrows and distances carved in is good, but true signs would be great to see.

Lack of sitting areas and trash bins. Not extremely crucial, but they would definitely help to bump up this course.

Bring bug spray in the right months as I can see bugs being an issue here.

Basket to #12 was missing altogether (apparently has since been replaced)

A few of the holes play over roads and paths, so paying attention to your surroundings here is very important so you don't injure anyone.

Other Thoughts: This is easily a new favorite for me as well! The only thing that could have been better here would have been if the downed trees and debris were gone, but I can hardly hold that against the park itself, as a huge storm had rolled through the day before. I will definitely be back to victory park to see how it plays without all the stuff in the way. Don't miss your chance to play this amazing course!

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Post-apocalyptic Disc Golf!!

1    9/12/2013   9/12/2013
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 245  Reviewed: 238  Exp: 4.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Aesthetic-- plays through TWO very large multi-use parks right in the middle of downtown albion. There are many amenities here including a world class park and playground.

Teepads/signs-- the teepads double as the teesigns, each feature an arrow for the general direction you are throwing, a tee number and a VERY faded distance (distances could easily be fixed).

routing and navigation-- easy with the map. there definitely is some potential for confusion but the map will steer you clear.

Challenge/Variety-- the challenge here lies in the variety. there is a little bit of everything. hugely long holes, short little pitch and putts, water and other obstacles.

Baskets-- all are in great condition. we were unable to find #12 (after 990', it would be nice to have a basket!).

Risk v Reward-- this could be the name of the course. the water holes are phenomenal!

Special mention-- the water holes are amazing! #10 is my new favorite disc golf hole of any I've played. #11 is a nerve wracking little pitch and putt that will test your last nerve. #12 is hugely long with a massive pond directly in your way. #13 plays along a small stream. #14 plays across the stream but under a very low tree branch.
Cons:
Danger- a couple of fairways are VERY close to the next teepad and/or fairway. plays across paths, roads and sidewalks many many times, we waited for people and cars several times.

Lack of teesigns- the pads were good but the distances were faded.

#12 basket missing- minor detail in the big picture of things I suppose.

Other Thoughts:
Let me just start out by saying, we played this course the day after a major storm came through and knocked down a ton of trees and powerlines in the park. we played very carefully and the whole park was playable. but, it was a massive challenge to get to the park from the Jackson area where we started our day.

This was the last course of four on the day and is a new favorite for sure. I will be back when the park has been cleaned :)

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Almost Perfect

5+    6/2/2012   6/22/2012
Review By: Ricky_Rick
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 3.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Cement tee pads, Chain baskets, Course Map at hole #1, Pads marked with hole # and Distance.

Located in a beautiful park, this course has some scenic holes, elevation changes, trees and water holes. A nice variety that will challenge most disc golfers.

Hole #10 is stunning, plays over multiple bodies of water, as challenging as it is beautiful. Course is almost evenly broken into two halves, tree filled holes and water holes. Nice blend sure to be a challenge.
Cons: Holes #11 and #12 mess up this almost perfect DG course.
Hole 11 feels like it was an after thought, oh shoot we forgot to add hole 11. Short hole with a stagnant pond on the left side and trees and raging river on the right side. Fairway is about 10-12 feet wide, feels like a beaten down bike path. This hole alone kept me from rating this course higher.

#12 isn't much better but opposite of #11. A 990 foot hole that goes over a road, around the swimming pond, over the small beach and back towards the town. People tend to gather near the swim pond so that can be tricky. 990 ft feels like a waste. Should eliminate current #11, cut #12 in half and add in #11 where #12 begins.

#11 and #12 simply muck up the good flow of this amazing course. A darn shame too.
Other Thoughts: This long course, over 6,000 ft will challenge you with length on some holes, trees on others and water on the rest. Park is pretty well maintained so losing discs really only can happen on water holes. Play this track at least once if just to see how beautiful hole #10 is in person. Good luck!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the drive

1    8/26/2011   8/26/2011
Review By: 24chains
Played: 67  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 17.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Other Thoughts: This course is awesome; the first couple holes are deceiving to what the back has in store for you. Start with some wooded shots and progressing to wide open bombs. Then the water holes and massive open arm hole after 8. Park staff is very friendly and actually stopped mowing to wait for us to drive and asked for advice on tree trimming and its impact on the play of the course. If there were tee signs this course would get an A+ from me, add those and I would play it weekly. A few of the holes play over roads, pathways and picnic areas so on a nice day it would be a tad difficult to play and not peg a bystander. Still top notch course for a small town.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Dr. Jekyll / Mr. Hyde

5+    8/18/2010   6/8/2011
Review By: esdubya
Played: 94  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 19.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful course on the edge of Albion, MI. There are two personalities to Victory.

Dr. Jekyll: Civilized, old growth city park setting with good elevation change. No rough or other trouble. Very nice and fun. This is "perfect" disc golf property in the eyes of many. Holes 1-8,16-18.

Mr. Hyde: Water craziness builds slowly on hole 9, then you are hit with it full frontal on hole 10. You think really? when you step up to the teepad. One of the signature holes in all of Michigan, and this course is very young. The next five holes have serious water OB and precarious pin placements.

Cons: Only downside to this park is the other non disc golf players sometimes getting in the way. It's happened to me on hole 17 with picnickers and some of the water holes with people fishing.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Beauty and the BEAST

5+    6/25/2010   6/25/2010
Review By: bygwyllay
Played: 85  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 7.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/23/2012
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Fell in love with this course the moment I stepped onto the first tee pad. The park it's in is as vast as it is gorgeous, and this course is layed out to maximize the terrain. Plenty of benches and bins are scattered throughout. Band shell and pavilion add to the mystique. Beautiful bridges over the water in the back nine. No underbrush whatsoever makes for a clean round. Concrete tees with hole number, distance, and an arrow pointing at the tee etched into the pad. Giant course map by hole 1 to gives you an overview of where to go. Long holes are mixed in well with ones of standard length.

You begin your round in a very relaxing atmosphere under a canopy of aged trees (think Riverview Grasslands). Main thing to remember here: keep your drives low. A sled hill offers a great downhill bomb on hole 5. Hole 9 takes you from the east side of the park to the west, over a low-lying soggy area, and into the gauntlet of the back nine.

Say goodbye to the laid-back, comfy shots under the canopy. Hole 10 is a wicked line over two sets of the same raging river. A waterfall to your left makes these waters extremely quick. They also appear very deep. You must also watch out for people fishing here. Holes 9-14 all involve this river and its tributaries, as well as two stagnant ponds. Hole 11 is suicide - The 200-foot long fairway is about twenty feet across, with water on either side. Hole 12 is a whopping 1000 feet, over a LARGE pond teeming with wildlife. 13 plays along one of the banks, and 14 is an aceable gamble on a delta - the ultimate risk/reward!

15 has you shooting back over the soggy ground (tricky) with the pavilion as a backdrop, and the last holes take you past the bandstand and back to where you started - and are a great relief after the raging river. All in all, a superb course that is both awe-inspiring and extremely challenging. Highly recommended.
Cons: This course had five stars written all over it. I read the reviews, looked at the pics and was so excited to get out and play it. It did not dissapoint.

It held five stars until hole 11 - the suicide machine. There is a fine line between a challenge and a fool's errand, and this crosses it. Just look at the pic and you'll see what I'm talking about (1/2 star deduction).

Hole 12 (1000-footer), while unique, completely ruins the flow of the course. I believe this can be corrected by simply placing the basket just on the other side of the big pond. But it is a good 350 feet past the pond (keep in mind it a good 250 just to GET to the pond), which makes it impossible to par, and also takes you to the outskirts of the park, and takes you away from the aura of the park. You have to backtrack 400 feet just to get to the following tee. Placing the basket by the pond would eliminate the unnecessary walk, while still keeping the hole very challenging. I was very out of sorts playing the next two holes (13 and 14) which are very tough, and sucked the fun out of the course for a stretch (1/2 star deduction).

I was also not a fan of the soggy areas, which come into play on 9 and 15. Shoes soaked with mud upon playing. But it is what it is (no deduction).
Other Thoughts: Many people at the park, but no one golfing! Dog walkers, fishermen, kids on the playground. Two old black guys drinking beer and listening to a soul album from their car's stereo - brilliant. What a great atmosphere. There were even some folks having some pictures taken by a professional photographer down by the river. If I lived any closer to Albion, I would play here at every opportunity.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A gem

1    5/4/2010   5/4/2010
Review By: Huckfreely
Played: 81  Reviewed: 4
This review was updated on 4/23/2012
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great lay out with good use of available elevation, and natural hazards. Mature trees, and a racing river add to the old stonework in this historic park.
Friendly locals.
Great competition course with good risk and reward.
Cons: Not for the faint of heart, or valuable plastic.
No directional signs.
Other Thoughts: Bring water discs. You will have more fun.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

2-4    10/30/2008   12/6/2008
Review By: david_hedstrom
Played: 62  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 9.6 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is great. The tee pads are wonderful; even and long. The hole layout is very good, and quite challenging. I love throwing over 300' across water, so sweet.There is also a 990' hole on this course, very cool since there are not many courses in the area with any distances close to this. Hole 12 (990') is awesome, you through out over a field then road, with trees on the left and a large pond in the middle of your 2nd drive. I really enjoy this course and there are plenty of shorter holes to get your birdies to even out the long holes.
Cons: No signs, but the course is still new. This problem can easily be avoided by looking up the course on google and printing out a map for yourself before the round. Once you have played it once correctly you will never be lossed in returning rounds.
Other Thoughts: I would not recommend this course for beginners as there is a lot of water that comes into play and the course is long.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.


5+    6/16/2008   6/16/2008
Review By: TimSyl
Played: 53  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 7.7 Years
This review was updated on 11/30/2012
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Challenging variety of holes. Couple of cool holes near the Kalamazoo River.
Cons: Hole 12 is a bad design, especially when road crossing the fairway is OB...unless you throw 400' +, don't expect much better than a six here. While I like many of the holes, seems like some of the teeing areas were strange choices. River will not only swallow, but take your disc.
Other Thoughts: Cement pads make this a can't miss course.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.