Disc Golf Store
Albion, MI 
Victory Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #2
3 / 234ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
A Victory indeed...

1    9/12/2013   11/15/2013
Review By: B3NDER
Played: 94  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 9.3 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The scenery around here is great! Even with the huge storm that hit the day before this place looked amazing. I actually preferred having to play around huge downed trees and other rubbish that was everywhere. Can't dock a course for points when mother nature is a crazy b*tch.

- Course is free to play, huge plus!

- Located in downtown Albion, and comes equipped with a skate rink and playground.

- The cement teepads are in great shape aside from the distance markers having been worn down. Arrows carved in the pads point you in the direction of the basket.

- Good use of elevation, and an awesome variety of shots to cover.

- Hole's #10 and #11 are some of the craziest water holes I've ever seen. apdrvya and I were blown away by the awesome view and overall feel of hole #10's risk/reward layout. The Kalamzaoo river runs right through the fairway. You can lay up midway and then shoot over the next water gap, or go all-in and try to clear the two bodies of water to land under the basket. Then after that, #11 is a crazy tight tunnel shot with a wall of bushes to the right and a pond to the left, and you have about 6' or so of a lane to land on or risk your disc taking a bath.

Cons: This place needs better signage. Yes the teepad arrows and distances carved in is good, but true signs would be great to see.

Lack of sitting areas and trash bins. Not extremely crucial, but they would definitely help to bump up this course.

Bring bug spray in the right months as I can see bugs being an issue here.

Basket to #12 was missing altogether (apparently has since been replaced)

A few of the holes play over roads and paths, so paying attention to your surroundings here is very important so you don't injure anyone.

Other Thoughts: This is easily a new favorite for me as well! The only thing that could have been better here would have been if the downed trees and debris were gone, but I can hardly hold that against the park itself, as a huge storm had rolled through the day before. I will definitely be back to victory park to see how it plays without all the stuff in the way. Don't miss your chance to play this amazing course!

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Post-apocalyptic Disc Golf!!

1    9/12/2013   9/12/2013
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 245  Reviewed: 238  Exp: 4.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Aesthetic-- plays through TWO very large multi-use parks right in the middle of downtown albion. There are many amenities here including a world class park and playground.

Teepads/signs-- the teepads double as the teesigns, each feature an arrow for the general direction you are throwing, a tee number and a VERY faded distance (distances could easily be fixed).

routing and navigation-- easy with the map. there definitely is some potential for confusion but the map will steer you clear.

Challenge/Variety-- the challenge here lies in the variety. there is a little bit of everything. hugely long holes, short little pitch and putts, water and other obstacles.

Baskets-- all are in great condition. we were unable to find #12 (after 990', it would be nice to have a basket!).

Risk v Reward-- this could be the name of the course. the water holes are phenomenal!

Special mention-- the water holes are amazing! #10 is my new favorite disc golf hole of any I've played. #11 is a nerve wracking little pitch and putt that will test your last nerve. #12 is hugely long with a massive pond directly in your way. #13 plays along a small stream. #14 plays across the stream but under a very low tree branch.
Cons:
Danger- a couple of fairways are VERY close to the next teepad and/or fairway. plays across paths, roads and sidewalks many many times, we waited for people and cars several times.

Lack of teesigns- the pads were good but the distances were faded.

#12 basket missing- minor detail in the big picture of things I suppose.

Other Thoughts:
Let me just start out by saying, we played this course the day after a major storm came through and knocked down a ton of trees and powerlines in the park. we played very carefully and the whole park was playable. but, it was a massive challenge to get to the park from the Jackson area where we started our day.

This was the last course of four on the day and is a new favorite for sure. I will be back when the park has been cleaned :)

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Victory Park Rules!

5+    7/16/2012   7/21/2012
Review By: BearClaw
Played: 33  Reviewed: 7
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * Course Map at first tee pad
* First 8 holes are heavily wooded but with NO underbrush, meaning the holes are challenging and filled with obstacles but almost impossible to lose your disc on.
* Free to play course in a lovely public park with playground, pond with beach, band shell, cobblestone, heart shaped arbor, playground, tennis courts, and basketball courts with bathrooms and outdoor roller rink gazebo thing (super fun to skip your discs in there while walking between hole 15 and 16)
* Not very crowed with disc golfers
* Great use of giant hill for hole #1-5
* Best collection of water hazard holes (6 all together) I have ever seen
* Has the two best water holes I've ever seen one with a split in the kalamazoo river you play over with the basket on a peninsula in between where the river splits(14) and another hole (10) shooting over a large pond with an narrow island with bridges in the middle of the pond you can shoot onto (I only did it once because there was a guy fishing with his young son standing in the line I normally take so I tried the island which I was luckily able to land on and make par form but I'm pretty sure it is difficult to do consistently)
* Long concrete tee pads with distance and hole number on front of pad
* Good variety of holes and distances
* Hole 2 is one of my favorite holes to shoot right hand forehand on, look at the pictures under media to see why
* No under brush means that even on this long walk of an 18 hole course you're round will be quick and clean (I wear jeans to go disc diving all summer long and this is one of the few courses I will play in shorts)
Cons: *Though course itself is not crowded but the park it is in can be so sometimes if a park goer is unfamiliar with disc golf you may have to wait before teeing off
* The Kalamazoo river is very deep and flows very quickly at hole #14 so you may lose a disc here
* compared to the rest of the course, holes 16-18 are nothing special
* No tee posts makes it difficult to find tee pads first time playing course
Other Thoughts: This course is so much fun, challenging to master, and easy to play a round on. Did I mention it has the most beautiful and challenging wear holes I've seen this far in disc golf? Tee posts and hole maps would absolutely make this course a 5. If you are ever in south central michigan you NEED to play this course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course, nice park

1    6/22/2012   6/27/2012
Review By: elrumpo
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 3.4 Years
Pros: - First 9 holes, and the last few are wide open and fun to throw hard if you want

- Good variety in the middle part of the course with some water hazards and tricky holes

- the park that this course is in has an awesome climber toy for the kids, a small swimming area and lots of other things (tennis, b-ball, hockey etc)

- When we were there, the park was empty on a weekday and we never had to wait for anyone(golfer or otherwise)

- The course is pretty easy to navigate, though take a picture of the course so you can save some time

- Awesome water holes, and a 1000 footer to boot!
Cons: - Holy water hazard Batman!! The 4 or 5 holes in the middle of the course play over some wicked water. Rivers, lakes, ponds and more!

- I could see that on the weekends some of the holes play over areas with people in them for the park...so this could be an issue when it's busy

- No signs...if not for this, I would give 4 stars

- Some of the open holes get a little tedious just because they are plentiful...but they are mostly fun in their own way so not a big negative.
Other Thoughts: They did a great job of cramming 18 holes into this course. And one of the holes is almost 1000 feet! Over a lake!!! :-)

The water holes are tough but soooo worth playing. Most of the water is not too deep. If you're willing to get your feet and legs a bit wet you can save your disc and even find an extra if you're lucky!

I highly recommend checking this course out if you are in the area. Great time, no real chance of losing a disc unless you're careless in the water.

 Almost Perfect

5+    6/2/2012   6/22/2012
Review By: Ricky_Rick
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 3.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Cement tee pads, Chain baskets, Course Map at hole #1, Pads marked with hole # and Distance.

Located in a beautiful park, this course has some scenic holes, elevation changes, trees and water holes. A nice variety that will challenge most disc golfers.

Hole #10 is stunning, plays over multiple bodies of water, as challenging as it is beautiful. Course is almost evenly broken into two halves, tree filled holes and water holes. Nice blend sure to be a challenge.
Cons: Holes #11 and #12 mess up this almost perfect DG course.
Hole 11 feels like it was an after thought, oh shoot we forgot to add hole 11. Short hole with a stagnant pond on the left side and trees and raging river on the right side. Fairway is about 10-12 feet wide, feels like a beaten down bike path. This hole alone kept me from rating this course higher.

#12 isn't much better but opposite of #11. A 990 foot hole that goes over a road, around the swimming pond, over the small beach and back towards the town. People tend to gather near the swim pond so that can be tricky. 990 ft feels like a waste. Should eliminate current #11, cut #12 in half and add in #11 where #12 begins.

#11 and #12 simply muck up the good flow of this amazing course. A darn shame too.
Other Thoughts: This long course, over 6,000 ft will challenge you with length on some holes, trees on others and water on the rest. Park is pretty well maintained so losing discs really only can happen on water holes. Play this track at least once if just to see how beautiful hole #10 is in person. Good luck!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Flying to Victory in Albion

2-4    11/7/2011   11/9/2011
Review By: danhyzer
Played: 1180  Reviewed: 87  Exp: 26.5 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: # 1 is a killer opening hole, up a steep hill through the oaks.
# 2 is an easy birdie, not!!. Looks simple enough, but with the basket at the edge of the retaining wall and the sidewalk and street just below a lot can happen on this easy looking hole that weren't planning for
# 3 again looks simple enough, except in has a few peaks and valleys within the fairway and the basket plays real close to the road, so OB is a possibility.
# 4 plays back up the hill that you were going up on # 1 but on another side of that hill. Not as steep of a hole as # 1 but steep enough to make it very challenging.
# 5 plays from the top of the sledding hill except one throws in another direction than the sledders use. I've never played this DGC when the trees are in full bloom, thus the airwaves are even tighter than when I have played and makes this hole even tougher than it already is. You shoot down hill and the basket leans to the left side of the fairway with large oaks to shoot through. Fun hole, but not easy by any means.
# 8 is a semi long hole in which you need to wind your disc in between some larger trees in order to set up your putt. I don't see too many players driving this hole, but anything is possible
# 9 is a rather bland hole until you get closer to the basket. There is a marshy area to your right that shouldn't come into play but probally does for some hackers, but the real test on this hole is the basket position. The basket sits just below a small bank in which the river is behind. and then you have a creek in front of the basket. I love it and now the fun is about to start as......
# 10 is one of the greatest holes in the WORLD, IMHO. As you have the the K-zoo river blasting through the fairway with the basket on the other side some 300' away from the teeing area. Well they'res a couple ways one can play this hole. Go for it-------- - + lay up onto the island (which IMO would be as tough as getting it to the other side of the fairway dry) or shoot your drive down the right side of the fairway to avoid the island and to set up your next shot to again cross the river or as many people do....... skip the water holes. But if you do that, your going to miss playing some of the most challeging water holes one plays in concession on any DGC in the WORLD that I know of. Let me put it another way.... heres the opportunity to go down the Colorado river on a raft going through the Grand Canyon, but to settling instead to drive around that section and telling everyone how beautiful the Grand Canyon is. The Grand Canyon is more beautiful going through it than just peering over at it from a rails edge and so is this DGC water holes starting at # 10.
# 11 is even as scary as # 10, especially if your a RHBH player, but i'm not and it's about time there's a DGC that puts the frieght into some of these so called better RHBH players shoes. # 11 has a very narrow fairway, there's a shallow pond to the left side of the fairway and then you have the river to your right and the rightside is also treelined all the way down with the basket on a slopes edge.
# 12 you might need to call the operator as this hole is sriously long distance, and then you have a good sized pond that can be reached on a good drive, so one has to set up their drive in order to navigate the rest of the hole as the left side of the fairway is narrow and has OB with the fence line seperating people's yards and the park. So now your half way through the hole and now you have to shoot another long distance shot to get to the basket that's almost downtown.
# 13 is a short less than 200' hole that you'll be shaking in your boots because of the river to the right of the whole side of the fairway and an OB walking path on the right side of the fairway, yes there is a grass fairway for one to throw down, but you better be accurate or you'll be sorry......
# 14 is another easy duece hole except there's water present, but this time you have 2 rivers meeting at a point and the basket almost right at the end of this point where the 2 rivers meet. AWESOME HOLE !! doesn't favor left or right handed player but favors one that can throw straight. Come and Visit Albion's Victory Park and test your skills and tell me if I'm right or wrong. This DGC rocks and is a must play.
# 15 is not as easy as you think as it doesn't seem that theres any more water around, but the right side of the fairway is all marshy and you don't want to go inthere in shoes. The basket is surrounded by pines and small hills. Very nice position.
# 16 you play over a park road, but it's no big deal as it is just a park road. This hole is easily dueceable and I love the way the mature trees are located on this hole and through of the whole park.
# 17 plays to the other side of the band shell. It's rather long, lots of mature trees to navigate around.
# 18 is a rather bland course ending hole considering what you've played so far. I'd like to see the basket on # 18 to be put on a raised mound with a few steps leading up onto the mound (maybe an area landscape comany could do this project and advertise thier work on a sign somewhere on the mound).
BIG TEE PADS
Cons: tee signs--- Let's see you give us directions to visit your course, but you don't give the tourists the benifit of a tee sign. I don't understand. (if the reason is because you can't have an upright sign, then put the tee sign into the BIG tee pads somehow, instead of an arrow and the distance that is already present)

not enough benches or trash cans
Other Thoughts: IMHO, This DGC is my favorite DGC in Michigan. It has everything (except tee signs and benches).Come and Visit Albion's Victory Park and test your skills and tell me if I'm right or wrong. This DGC rocks and is a must play. Since I found this DGC on 8/18/10 when I'm within 100 I come a pay homage to this GREAT DGC. In fact when I first found this DGC I loved it so much I found a nearby hotel and played it again in the morning before heading home. Wish this was my home DGC or at least a little closer to home. for those people that get to play this DGC on a regular basis, your freaking lucky and I hope you continue to keep this DGC shine amongnst all the other TOP DGC around the WORLD.

The craftmanship that the WPA workers did with the K-zoo river is unmatched. And to allow us DGers to use a park with this kind of craftmanship is an honor and I hope that the city of Albion doesn't let this treasure to crumble due to finacial restraints.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the drive

1    8/26/2011   8/26/2011
Review By: 24chains
Played: 67  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 17.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Other Thoughts: This course is awesome; the first couple holes are deceiving to what the back has in store for you. Start with some wooded shots and progressing to wide open bombs. Then the water holes and massive open arm hole after 8. Park staff is very friendly and actually stopped mowing to wait for us to drive and asked for advice on tree trimming and its impact on the play of the course. If there were tee signs this course would get an A+ from me, add those and I would play it weekly. A few of the holes play over roads, pathways and picnic areas so on a nice day it would be a tad difficult to play and not peg a bystander. Still top notch course for a small town.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Interesting Course

1    8/8/2011   8/8/2011
Review By: DiscGolfFreak
Played: 25  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8.3 Years
Pros: This course is set in a beautiful public park setting. A river/stream along with two ponds make for a beautiful backdrop for several holes. The baskets are in good condition as are most of the tee pads. The grass was cut and well kept when we played. There is a map at hole 1, which we took a picture of as a guide to the course and we were glad we did. You will have to use a variety of shots to score well and not lose discs. Holes 10-14 added extra excitement with the water coming into play.
Cons: Signage is non-existent. If you are playing the first time and do not have a map, you will have a very difficult time navigating. Tee pad for hole 2 was being used as a collection area for limbs and debris. Tee pad for hole 3 was covered with sand, making traction terrible. Course was very wet in many areas. Mosquitoes were terrible. A few holes could have been laid out better. A couple of the water holes, though beautiful, were ridicules.
Other Thoughts: A fun course to play while in the area. This is in a public park and many park users are not familiar with disc golf and had to wait several times, once for several minutes, as not to put anyone in danger. Course could be rated higher by placing a few pins in different positions.

 Dr. Jekyll / Mr. Hyde

5+    8/18/2010   6/8/2011
Review By: esdubya
Played: 93  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 19.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful course on the edge of Albion, MI. There are two personalities to Victory.

Dr. Jekyll: Civilized, old growth city park setting with good elevation change. No rough or other trouble. Very nice and fun. This is "perfect" disc golf property in the eyes of many. Holes 1-8,16-18.

Mr. Hyde: Water craziness builds slowly on hole 9, then you are hit with it full frontal on hole 10. You think really? when you step up to the teepad. One of the signature holes in all of Michigan, and this course is very young. The next five holes have serious water OB and precarious pin placements.

Cons: Only downside to this park is the other non disc golf players sometimes getting in the way. It's happened to me on hole 17 with picnickers and some of the water holes with people fishing.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Park

1    8/3/2010   8/3/2010
Review By: m1morri1
Played: 39  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 8.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A lot of water holes which provides a good challenge. A good mix of long and short holes.
Cons: Only a couple holes with elevation change.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed hole 10. You can either lay up and shoot for par or try to go the distance and birdie. If you try for birdie, you have to launch it over two sections of the Kalamazoo River. Well, I tried that and it landed a couple feet shy of land. Fortunately I was able to get my disc out of the river.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.