Course Extinct
Carefree, AZ 
Quail Run Share



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Miniature Disc Golf Course

1    10/24/2010   10/24/2010
Review By: Korrupted
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A nice course with a lot of desert plant life that provides some challenging shots. A lot of aceable holes with most being birdies. Most holes are easy pars. The baskets are in excellent shape.
Cons: This course is very short ranging from 100-250 feet. There are no tee boxes, just green tassels showing the tee area. Most of the tassels are almost not existent and hard to see the first time playing. If you are not careful you could have a disc land on a roof, in the reeds on hole 3 or in the pond on 6. We retrieved an ink-less disc off the roof on hole 7. The course is near impossible to navigate without the map, which does a bad job of mapping the course out. The tee areas are gravel and can cause you to lose your footing.
Other Thoughts: This course reminds of a miniature/goofy golf course. At most all you would need are 2 discs, nothing more than a midrange. You could play the course with just a putter. I would not travel out of your way to play this course or else you will leave disappointed. You could make it a day by stopping in Cave Creek for shopping and food/drinks. Cave Creek has a lot of niche shops and good restaurants. The resort also has a sports bar that you could stop in before/after a round. You can easily play the course in 30-45 minutes. I stopped in the main lobby and asked for the course map. They were happy to give me a map and did not question if I was staying there or ask me to pay a usage fee. From the parking lot to the right of the main entrance there is an pathway that leads you to the course. You can see the big wagon from the parking lot and the first tee is up against the building just past the wagon to the right.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  See it for yourself

1    9/5/2010   9/6/2010
Review By: yagerpdx
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very nice surroundings
Wildlife everywhere
Cons: Imagine throwing a horrible up-shot
most holes start like this.
Course map almost useless
Other Thoughts: Watch out for the wild Hogs
they're baby's around
and they will charge you!

Wouldnt be bad if you lived close
and didnt have to go out of your way
to play.

So dont get your hopes up
Its the worst course I have played
since I moved here.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Short but Sweet

2-4    3/18/2009   4/2/2009
Review By: Sunday Mike
Played: 42  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 12.4 Years
This review was updated on 1/6/2011
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A very attractive course. Tight and technical with ace opportunites on every hole (except maybe 7--that hole gave me fits!!). Awesome for someone wanting to work on short, obstructed approach shots.
Cons: Super short, fairly difficult to navigate, despite the short length. Carefree is out in West BFE--don't plan on going to this course unless you have business in Carefree/Cave Creek, AZ.
Other Thoughts: I enjoy this course--yes it's short, but its fun and the course is beautiful, and cleverly designed among the buildings of the resort. It is one of the most unique courses you will ever play--you must shoot over trees, bushes, buildings and even a bridge (thought the daring will go under the bridge). There is even a fair amount of OB--a bad shot will land you on top of one the many buildings!!
I've yet to get an ace there, but last time I was there both my friend and I had "drives" clank out.
Also, I have played this course on 3 separate occasions and have yet to pay the $15 or even be asked if I was staying at the resort. When you find the lobby of the resort, don't go in, take the sidewalk to the right until you find a pathway into the resort. The path will take you by an old wagon and the first tee is just around the corner to the right of the wagon. There are a few signs, but ALL the tees are marked by green tassles.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Very unique course

2/11/2008   5/17/2008
Review By: Doktor John
Played: 415  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 25.7 Years
This review was updated on 5/18/2008
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very unique, set in the space between guest rooms at the resort
Requires accuracy
Cons: Way off the "beaten path" unless you are staying out in that area
Very short holes--could be dangerous if the resort were crowded
Other Thoughts: If you are out in this area, it's worth stopping by and checking it out...you will probably never play a course quite like this again...

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.