San Marcos, CA 
Montiel Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: Apothecary Hole #5 (Taken 3/2010)
3 / --   3 / 200ft.   3 / 238ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Bring your putters!!

5+    10/26/2012   11/8/2012
Review By: Spmurphy23
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.4 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: You dont need anything other than your putters and maybe your OS mid. Great place to take a kid or someone who is just learning. It only has nine pins but you can play them twice round for a full 18. Most of the pins are within 250 and I would even say within 200. I use my putter on 6 out of the nine and a Roc on the other 3. Easy access parking and free
Cons: No cons because when I go there it is to work on form or to take a newbie.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good for what it is

5+    8/1/2012   8/6/2012
Review By: rmcguire86
Played: 17  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Good use of the land that would otherwise just sit there.

-Good place to work on mid-range/putting.

-Birdies all over the place. If I don't sink at least 3 each round, I'm disappointed with myself.

- Ace opportunities everywhere.

- Signage is very nice.

-Easy to Navigate.

- Ask the locals about the Safari layout. Adds a layer of complexity to what is otherwise a pretty simple course.
Cons: - The land is pretty unremarkable. In the summer, its mostly dust.

-No challenging holes.

-No holes on which you can really air it out.

-Proximity of houses means lots of discs lost in back yards.
Other Thoughts: This course reminds me of an executive ball golf course. Short holes, easy layout. It is a great place to work on making accurate mid-range shots. Other than that, this course isn't really anything to write home about. If you're looking for a real round, go to Kit Carson or Brengle Terrace. If you're looking to hone your skills, or just a quick 30 minute lunch round, Montiel is the place.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Motiel short course

2-4    7/14/2010   7/14/2011
Review By: Magnum
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great use of of useless area ( power lines above)
-Great course to work on mid range game
- Very accessible
Cons: - Never use a driver
- 9 holes
- very dusty
- not much easier to go to Kit Carson up the road and really get a good game in
Other Thoughts: would be a good course if you need to play a round on a lunch break, or in a half hour

Fun course don't get me wrong... but don't drive out just to play it.. go instead to kit Carson

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/6/2011   7/6/2011
Review By: DocHaole
Played: 72  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 7.1 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Fun little 9 hole course with some elevation change on every hole.

- Good signage, with accurate distances. Maps available and navigation is easy to follow with the exception on going from hole 1 to 2. Follow the path by behind the 1st basket, up the hill 250' or so.

- The course sits on a long sloping hillslide with plenty of uphill shots and downhill bombs.

- DG exclusive, no non-disc golfers to get in your way.

- No crowds, very little waiting around even on the weekends.
Cons: - Really short, no good opportunities to air it out.

- No shade, it can get really hot.
Other Thoughts: All in all this is fun little course that exceeds expectations of your neighborhood 9 holer.

Easy trip off the highway to get a quick round in.

You can tell this course is well used and cared for by the locals.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun with just putters

2-4    8/7/2010   8/7/2010
Review By: DaKineSurfer32
Played: 429  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 13.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - REALLY nice signs (almost too nice for a course this small :-p)
- multiple tees (one cement/one rubber per hole)
- baskets in good shape
- fast drive off freeways
- not crowded, easy to play a fast round or couple rounds
- large port-a-potty and drinking fountains right next to parking lot
Cons: - long walk between 1 & 2 (walk up hill/path from basket 1 about 250')
- not too much in the way of obstacles
- holes are VERY short
- no trash cans on the course
- small parking lot, but this shouldn't ever be an issue unless everyone from San Marcos with a dog takes it to Montiel Park's dogpark at the same time
Other Thoughts: Honestly there isn't much to complain about with Montiel Park. It's exactly what a small 9-holer in a city park should be, and it's in much better shape than most 9 hole courses you'll come across.

I wish there were some more obstacles than the few scattered trees and scrub bushes to make the course a little bit more difficult, but I also can't fault the course designers for doing the best with the land available to them.

This is a perfect course for a beginner player to learn to control their discs out in the open because there aren't many obstacles, but also deal with some elevation changes and have the chance to "rip" (and i say that in relation to just this course, because a rip at Montiel is only 300') a couple discs on 8 & 9 on the way back to their car.

I played it with just a putter today and it's also a good place for the advanced player to practice taking runs at baskets from 100'-150' out.

If for some reason you're in the area, it's worth the 20 minute stop to play it, at least to try for a couple aces. Extra half-disc added for how nice the signs are!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Addition to San Diego DG Scene

5+    7/22/2009   7/22/2009
Review By: fifteen
Played: 41  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.3 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A nice 9-hole course with alternating tees. The short tees makes for great practice for driving with your putter. Mix it up between short and long tees for a longer round. It is a well-designed course in a small area of land. The signage are really nice and they make finding the next tees simple if it's your first time. The teepads at the short tees are concrete while some of the longer tees are on rubber pads.

It adds a nice variety to the San Diego Disc Golf scene. Every course in this county has its own scenery and this course is no exception. If you want to avoid the crowd at Morley and got some new disc golfers with you, this is the place to go.

The location was easy to find, right off the 78 freeway. It is also the only free-to-play course in San Diego.
Cons: Could use more obstacles, the holes were fairly open except for hole 7 which is behind a group of trees. Some of the pads for the longer tees weren't to be found. The terrain can be pretty rough and can beat up some of those weaker plastics.

No shade around the holes so be prepared to bring lot of water during those hot summer months. I learned my lesson the first time around and will come prepared the next time.
Other Thoughts: Great course for those ace runs if you're looking to get some aces. Leave the bag at home, you'll only need a couple of discs here. I even played a round here using only mid-ranges and putters and was just fine.

I will definitely come out here again.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Review from an out of towner

2-4    10/26/2008   10/26/2008
Review By: Discwog
Played: 31  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 33.3 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Fun terrain
Rocks, shrubs etc.
Elevation
Easy parking
Great signage, teepads & benches
Cons: Short distances
Dusty
Terrain is hard on soft discs
Other Thoughts: I met a couple of locals and was shown the layout, but I think I could have found my way as a first timer.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great start!

5+    8/10/2008   10/16/2008
Review By: markwilsonsd
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 35.3 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: A much needed course in San Diego. Well thought out considering lack of landscaping. Great for families, kids etc... Also has long tees which make this short course more challenging. Next to dog park for spouse / kids that don't want to play. Friendly locals. Good beginner course
Cons: Short but fun. Hopefully grass and trees will pop up someday! :)
Other Thoughts: Reminds me of a "bunny-slope" at a ski resort. About the same size and rise of a beginners hill. half the holes up the hill, the other half down the hill.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.