San Marcos, CA 
Montiel Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: Apothecary Hole #4 (Taken 3/2010)
3 / --   3 / 220ft.   3 / 257ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee Sign



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Some Fun Throws To Be Had At Montiel!

1    4/3/2014   4/6/2014
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 680  Reviewed: 614  Exp: 36.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Montiel DGC plays up six holes and then back down the hillside for the final three holes. The park itself is long and narrow with parking and a small park at the bottom. The hillside is a gradually, sloping area, all dirt with a few mature trees and lots of smaller trees planted.

The course features great tee pads. They are concrete and grooved for water run-off and traction. The signs are wonderful colored ones with all the needed information, map, distance, par, etc. The signs also have these little trays on top to hold your favorite beverages, kind of a cup holder device. The baskets are in fine shape.

This is basically is a well designed pitch & putt. Every hole is ACEABLE, birdies abound.

# 3 has a nice Memorial Bench to a disc golfer who passed away much too early. He apparently ACED this 129' uphill bomb.

The last three holes are all downhill throws. # 7 is the basket that is near the large boulders. Then # 8 and 9 are both 300' + downhills listed as par 4s. Both throws require more touch than strength and are easily reachable. They're extremely fun, moderately challenging. Even the average player should be thinking of getting a 2 on these holes and scoring an Eagle.
Cons: I could see this course getting very hot and dusty in the summer months.
There's not much challenge there for more competitive players.
I can't imagine that the dog park would come into play for anyone who's played more than a couple times.
So what that the Par 4's should be Par 3's? Play them however you like. Call em Eagles, birdies! It doesn't really matter, does it?
Other Thoughts: A lot of work has gone into this course. No, it's not a course for the advanced to pro player. It's just another of those great little 9 hole park courses that seem to get a lot of play. Only this one finishes with those last three fun downhill shots. I'd come here just for those throws and the ACE ops!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    2/26/2012   3/1/2012
Review By: Leeb
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: With the small space to work with, very well laid out!
Tee signs and direction...excellent.
Never crowded.
Alternate tees to make a round of 18
Great course to work on/develop new shots, or to work on/break in new discs.
Cons: No real 'bombs away' opportunities.
A few backyards to lose a disc in.
Dog park (enclosed) located near basket #1. Dogs love to chew discs.
When and if busy, be alert, 9 baskets, confined space, alternate tees in use, discs flying everywhere.
Other Thoughts: Knowing the limitations of this course and not expecting any more, this is a fun course to play! I recommend it. If time is a factor, play Montiel. Easy access off the freeway.
The course homepage is the best I've seen with the interactive map!!!!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Quick, fun mid-range course.

2-4    7/17/2011   7/18/2011
Review By: rpcvlawson
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.3 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Easy to find holes.
-Very clear, very accurate maps.
-Multiple tee pads on most holes (tees don't change; just use a different pad for a longer shot).
-Consistent mid-range shots to help you hone mid-range/putter shots
-A few obstacles to vary shots needed.
-Not crowded (I went on a weekend afternoon).
Cons: -Dusty. (Used my mud rag to wipe off the dust).
-Hole 7 can eat discs in the pile of large rocks there (not mine, but a guy I was playing with).
-Not a large variety of shots.
-Bordered by houses, so it you slip and make a bad shot, you might lose your disc for good (no jungle-ing to retrieve your disc).
-Wide open; not a lot of obstacles.
Other Thoughts: This comment might be me, but it was confirmed by other players on the course who have more experience than I do:

There's a East-West wind that messes with forehand shots--pushing them all into left arcing finishing shots (as if I had thrown RHBH). I'm new to the game (two months in), but I'm pretty good at forehand. Mine always fade to the right, like forehands should. However, every time I threw a forehand DOWNHILL, they ended up 40 or 60 feet to the left of where I intended it to go, arcing to the left as it went. Weird. I believe it was my form. It had to be. But other folks on the course, with years of experience, had the same thing happen. Go figure.

Check this course out. It is definitely worth a look.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 gotta appreciate this place

1    1/2/2010   1/8/2010
Review By: chonb
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: with morley field so freaking full all the time, any extra holes are great to get in

every hole provides an ace opportunity!

multiple pin locations makes for variety, and a full 18 if you cycle through twice

excellent signage
Cons: the ground is rough and full of rocks! do not use discs you don't want scuffed up

cramped, though the space is about as well used as possible
Other Thoughts: dog run means you can put the pooch away while you play!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Short but fun

5+    4/24/2009   4/26/2009
Review By: coast2coast
Played: 93  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 11.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/31/2009
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Excellent signs and tee pads. Alternate tees add distance and difficulty. Good use of elevation. Next to dog park and basketball court. Portable restroom nearby. Usually uncrowded. Well marked and easy to follow. Lots of birdie opportunities. Free to play.
Cons: Short course. Can be hot (not much shade), windy, and dusty.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun little course, and is a good addition to the few other courses in San Diego county.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Always a good time

5+    1/26/2009   1/26/2009
Review By: RYFLE
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.1 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: FREE! Montiel has a good mix of short and long holes with the A and B tees. The eleveation change makes some of the holes more complicated. Great basket and signs make it very easy to navigate. Great locals who always are willing to help out. Very good place to practice uphill/downhill putting. Benches at some of tee pads to rest your legs walking up the hill.
Cons: Kinda short but better when the B tees are mixed in. The hill is finally starting to show some green from the rain but before that the hard soil and dirt would jack up some of my softer discs. No actual tee pads for the B tees, just markers. Not enough trees or obstacles in the way.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course if you want to play disc golf and get in shape. Its something like a mile up and then a mile down the hill. Great layout for the space used. I play it almost everyday I drive up to work and always have fun.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 local course

5+    9/20/2008   10/6/2008
Review By: progprowl
Played: 18  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 12.2 Years
This review was updated on 12/31/2008
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Great Putting Practice
2. Only Non-Pay-to-Play in San Diego
3. Open layout, great for beginners
4. Concrete tee pads are clearly marked with signage (Great Condition), More challenging alternate tee's are identified.
5. Great course to play with your dog (Dog Park adjacent)
Not very busy, so you can get on and through 9 holes quickly.
Some Elevation changes make for fun holes.
Cons: 1. Very short distance.
2. Mostly Dirt fairways and grounds (Plan to get dirty/ dusty in the Summer),very few trees or Obstacles
3. Careful teeing off from Alternate Tees in the summer (easy to slip and fall)
4. HOT in the Summer! (Bring lots of water)
Other Thoughts: If you want to feel good about your game and work on long putts, this is the place. Lot's of ace and birdie chances. I like to play once through with std lengths and mix up the "back nine" with the locals' alternate holes. Great place to bring your dog, kids or beginners, not a destination if you are traveling to San Diego. Hit up Morley or Emerald Isle instead.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 My Home Course

3/6/2008   3/6/2008
Review By: Rizbee
Played: 226  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 36.2 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good mix of short and medium-length holes if you play both tees. Moderate elevation change comes into play. Great tee pads, baskets and tee signs.
Cons: Kind of short for advanced players.
Other Thoughts: This course was designed to be accessible for beginners and kids. The back tees attempt to add challenge for better players, but it'll never be DeLa.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.