San Marcos, CA 
Montiel Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #9
4 / 354ft.   3 / 458ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Basket



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
keep the rust off.

1    4/17/2013   4/17/2013
Review By: hyper_hippo18
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -visible pins
-small quick course
-great for experimenting with new discs
-great for a lunch time round
Cons: -more windy than would have liked
-small, dont really get to let loose on too many pins
Other Thoughts: fun little course for a beginner to intermediate to really learn their style and throws. some obstacles but not overly challenging. dont wear your nice shoes to play this course!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice and quick

2-4    6/28/2010   6/28/2010
Review By: socalproshop
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: All the holes are one one rectangular parcel of land, so it plays really quick. 2 - Nice tee boxes and signs. 3 - Each hole has two goal distances with 2 long par 4's. 4 - There's a basketball court and dog park there as well.
Cons: Terrain is a bit rugged for flip-flops.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Montiel Park

5+    6/13/2010   6/13/2010
Review By: mattalika
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is alot of fun to play. It has easy-slightly difficult holes. I am a beginner and play mostly with my sons 12/15/15. we all have fun as the holes are not to far and they are confidence builders for other courses. (Kit Carson Park) It is very hard tio lose a disc (remember /name & ph#) I lost mey cell phone btween holes 8-9 and found it the next morning. If I can find my cell phone you should not lose a disc. Bordering homeowners are friendly and wiil let you get or get your disc for you. There are only nine holes but there are A-B tees from every hole excepyt #8.
Cons: None with the exception that there is no B tee from #8.
Other Thoughts: Great practice course. Quick and easy to play.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Very nice 9

2-4    3/29/2010   3/29/2010
Review By: Apothecary
Played: 66  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 17.5 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Excellent tees. Raked concrete for the short tees and clean rubber tees for most of the longer setup.
-Extremely accurate hole/course map(s), clearly delineating where both the long and short tees are and which way to the next tee pad. And the tee signs have cup holders.:)
-Bulletin board has a box with pencils, scorecards and maps for golfers to use.
-Very well maintained. Virtually no litter and immaculate tee pads.
-Terrain and course design. The course is situated along a long, sloped strip of land. Fun, shortish uphill holes and a couple of bombable holes to finish out the course. Trees force some really fun lines. Chalk tee markers for 8 and 9 tell me this course is well respected and maintained by people who want their course to be precise and revered. We saw several chalk markers for a safari course as well. That piece of land (long, open and sparsely used) SCREAMS for safari golf.
-DG exclusive and not crowded at all
-Dog park and basketball court close
-Plenty of parking
-Free!:D
Cons: -Minor flow problems. Hole 2 is about 250' east of hole 1 basket and could be a little tricky to find.
-It wasn't too windy when I played it, but I bet the trade winds make things tricky, especially 8 and 9, long bombs throwing into a strong headwind.
-Only 9 holes :(
Other Thoughts: Not many critiques of this course at all. Montiel is one of the cleanest, best maintained and well thought out 9 holers I have had the honor of playing. The tee signs are as good as they get. I have yet to witness more up-to-date, accurate hole maps (with cupholders!!!), though I hear Sylmar's are really nice since the Ricos had them remade.

The park is lush with indigenous plant life. Tall trees and blooming wildflowers. The land feels quite rustic, which adds to the overall aesthetic to the course.

There are a few places that I could see being tricky to find your disc, but your plastic is safe for the most part when you play Montiel.

I can't say enough about the layout. The blue tees add a significant degree of flare to each hole. The long bombs are a little bit longer and the short holes have the easy lines cut off. The blue layout is tons of fun and I highly recommend playing it when you try this course out.

I really want to come back to Montiel and spend the day playing with the locals. This course is so clean and cared for...you know the guys behind it have to be cool. Plenty of good tees and basket placements beg to be played safari-style.

A gem of a course.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 nice course

1    6/13/2009   6/13/2009
Review By: mikethrice
Played: 19  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 6.4 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: read other reviews they say it best..exclusive to disc golfers, shorter and longer tees, signs, use of elevation, hole 4 and 7 and good obstacles in the way. free.right off freeway
Cons: needs more obstacles on the short holes. red ants everywhere
Other Thoughts: great place to warm up or start playing. i live in murrieta so when i go ice skating or to stone brewery this is a nice place to stop at for a quick round...or even before going to morely at balboa..make the most of the trips

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.