San Marcos, CA 
Montiel Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #8
4 / --   4 / 336ft.   3 / 425ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Basket



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Great little 9 hole course

5+    9/14/2014   10/5/2014
Review By: orchdork1986
Played: 15  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.4 Years
Pros: Montiel is 9 baskets with 9 permanent concrete "A" tees and 9 more "B" tees that are on a combo of parking lot and rubber mats.

It's short. Most of the holes are around 200ft. But to me this is a definite pro. It's perfect for beginners and if you're more advanced you can play it in less than an hour if you aren't feeling like an ambitious round of 18,

The layout is great. All of the tees are laid out one right after another and because the course is so small it doesn't take a GPS tracking device to find the next tee.

Most of the tees have maps on them (although a few are a bit faded or missing). You don't really need the maps, however, as the baskets are easy to spot from all of the tees.

There's almost always other disc golfers on this course but it's never overly crowded. No waiting for turn required.
Cons: Since this course is not designed for distance I would say the only real con is a lack of shot variety. There are a few holes that require some creativity and careful disc choice (the B tees more so than the A tees) but for the most part everything is just a straight shot away. Your biggest obstacle is going to be the wind (which is nothing to sneer at, it makes putting difficult).
Other Thoughts: Courses like this really deserve more credit. This is the first course I ever played on and even though it's short I've yet to outgrow it. Montiel is a great place to bring beginners and as I have become more advanced it has become my go-to training course. I'm a RHBH thrower and I'll go through all 9 holes with a sidearm or tomahawk simply because I know there's a low risk of losing my disc.

Some Fun Throws To Be Had At Montiel!

1    4/3/2014   4/6/2014
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Montiel DGC plays up six holes and then back down the hillside for the final three holes. The park itself is long and narrow with parking and a small park at the bottom. The hillside is a gradually, sloping area, all dirt with a few mature trees and lots of smaller trees planted.

The course features great tee pads. They are concrete and grooved for water run-off and traction. The signs are wonderful colored ones with all the needed information, map, distance, par, etc. The signs also have these little trays on top to hold your favorite beverages, kind of a cup holder device. The baskets are in fine shape.

This is basically is a well designed pitch & putt. Every hole is ACEABLE, birdies abound.

# 3 has a nice Memorial Bench to a disc golfer who passed away much too early. He apparently ACED this 129' uphill bomb.

The last three holes are all downhill throws. # 7 is the basket that is near the large boulders. Then # 8 and 9 are both 300' + downhills listed as par 4s. Both throws require more touch than strength and are easily reachable. They're extremely fun, moderately challenging. Even the average player should be thinking of getting a 2 on these holes and scoring an Eagle.
Cons: I could see this course getting very hot and dusty in the summer months.
There's not much challenge there for more competitive players.
I can't imagine that the dog park would come into play for anyone who's played more than a couple times.
So what that the Par 4's should be Par 3's? Play them however you like. Call em Eagles, birdies! It doesn't really matter, does it?
Other Thoughts: A lot of work has gone into this course. No, it's not a course for the advanced to pro player. It's just another of those great little 9 hole park courses that seem to get a lot of play. Only this one finishes with those last three fun downhill shots. I'd come here just for those throws and the ACE ops!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

keep the rust off.

1    4/17/2013   4/17/2013
Review By: hyper_hippo18
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -visible pins
-small quick course
-great for experimenting with new discs
-great for a lunch time round
Cons: -more windy than would have liked
-small, dont really get to let loose on too many pins
Other Thoughts: fun little course for a beginner to intermediate to really learn their style and throws. some obstacles but not overly challenging. dont wear your nice shoes to play this course!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Bring your putters!!

5+    10/26/2012   11/8/2012
Review By: Spmurphy23
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.5 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: You dont need anything other than your putters and maybe your OS mid. Great place to take a kid or someone who is just learning. It only has nine pins but you can play them twice round for a full 18. Most of the pins are within 250 and I would even say within 200. I use my putter on 6 out of the nine and a Roc on the other 3. Easy access parking and free
Cons: No cons because when I go there it is to work on form or to take a newbie.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good for what it is

5+    8/1/2012   8/6/2012
Review By: rmcguire86
Played: 17  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Good use of the land that would otherwise just sit there.

-Good place to work on mid-range/putting.

-Birdies all over the place. If I don't sink at least 3 each round, I'm disappointed with myself.

- Ace opportunities everywhere.

- Signage is very nice.

-Easy to Navigate.

- Ask the locals about the Safari layout. Adds a layer of complexity to what is otherwise a pretty simple course.
Cons: - The land is pretty unremarkable. In the summer, its mostly dust.

-No challenging holes.

-No holes on which you can really air it out.

-Proximity of houses means lots of discs lost in back yards.
Other Thoughts: This course reminds me of an executive ball golf course. Short holes, easy layout. It is a great place to work on making accurate mid-range shots. Other than that, this course isn't really anything to write home about. If you're looking for a real round, go to Kit Carson or Brengle Terrace. If you're looking to hone your skills, or just a quick 30 minute lunch round, Montiel is the place.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    2/26/2012   3/1/2012
Review By: Leeb
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: With the small space to work with, very well laid out!
Tee signs and direction...excellent.
Never crowded.
Alternate tees to make a round of 18
Great course to work on/develop new shots, or to work on/break in new discs.
Cons: No real 'bombs away' opportunities.
A few backyards to lose a disc in.
Dog park (enclosed) located near basket #1. Dogs love to chew discs.
When and if busy, be alert, 9 baskets, confined space, alternate tees in use, discs flying everywhere.
Other Thoughts: Knowing the limitations of this course and not expecting any more, this is a fun course to play! I recommend it. If time is a factor, play Montiel. Easy access off the freeway.
The course homepage is the best I've seen with the interactive map!!!!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Quick, fun mid-range course.

2-4    7/17/2011   7/18/2011
Review By: rpcvlawson
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.5 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Easy to find holes.
-Very clear, very accurate maps.
-Multiple tee pads on most holes (tees don't change; just use a different pad for a longer shot).
-Consistent mid-range shots to help you hone mid-range/putter shots
-A few obstacles to vary shots needed.
-Not crowded (I went on a weekend afternoon).
Cons: -Dusty. (Used my mud rag to wipe off the dust).
-Hole 7 can eat discs in the pile of large rocks there (not mine, but a guy I was playing with).
-Not a large variety of shots.
-Bordered by houses, so it you slip and make a bad shot, you might lose your disc for good (no jungle-ing to retrieve your disc).
-Wide open; not a lot of obstacles.
Other Thoughts: This comment might be me, but it was confirmed by other players on the course who have more experience than I do:

There's a East-West wind that messes with forehand shots--pushing them all into left arcing finishing shots (as if I had thrown RHBH). I'm new to the game (two months in), but I'm pretty good at forehand. Mine always fade to the right, like forehands should. However, every time I threw a forehand DOWNHILL, they ended up 40 or 60 feet to the left of where I intended it to go, arcing to the left as it went. Weird. I believe it was my form. It had to be. But other folks on the course, with years of experience, had the same thing happen. Go figure.

Check this course out. It is definitely worth a look.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Motiel short course

2-4    7/14/2010   7/14/2011
Review By: Magnum
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great use of of useless area ( power lines above)
-Great course to work on mid range game
- Very accessible
Cons: - Never use a driver
- 9 holes
- very dusty
- not much easier to go to Kit Carson up the road and really get a good game in
Other Thoughts: would be a good course if you need to play a round on a lunch break, or in a half hour

Fun course don't get me wrong... but don't drive out just to play it.. go instead to kit Carson

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/6/2011   7/6/2011
Review By: DocHaole
Played: 72  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 7.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Fun little 9 hole course with some elevation change on every hole.

- Good signage, with accurate distances. Maps available and navigation is easy to follow with the exception on going from hole 1 to 2. Follow the path by behind the 1st basket, up the hill 250' or so.

- The course sits on a long sloping hillslide with plenty of uphill shots and downhill bombs.

- DG exclusive, no non-disc golfers to get in your way.

- No crowds, very little waiting around even on the weekends.
Cons: - Really short, no good opportunities to air it out.

- No shade, it can get really hot.
Other Thoughts: All in all this is fun little course that exceeds expectations of your neighborhood 9 holer.

Easy trip off the highway to get a quick round in.

You can tell this course is well used and cared for by the locals.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun with just putters

2-4    8/7/2010   8/7/2010
Review By: DaKineSurfer32
Played: 429  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 13.5 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - REALLY nice signs (almost too nice for a course this small :-p)
- multiple tees (one cement/one rubber per hole)
- baskets in good shape
- fast drive off freeways
- not crowded, easy to play a fast round or couple rounds
- large port-a-potty and drinking fountains right next to parking lot
Cons: - long walk between 1 & 2 (walk up hill/path from basket 1 about 250')
- not too much in the way of obstacles
- holes are VERY short
- no trash cans on the course
- small parking lot, but this shouldn't ever be an issue unless everyone from San Marcos with a dog takes it to Montiel Park's dogpark at the same time
Other Thoughts: Honestly there isn't much to complain about with Montiel Park. It's exactly what a small 9-holer in a city park should be, and it's in much better shape than most 9 hole courses you'll come across.

I wish there were some more obstacles than the few scattered trees and scrub bushes to make the course a little bit more difficult, but I also can't fault the course designers for doing the best with the land available to them.

This is a perfect course for a beginner player to learn to control their discs out in the open because there aren't many obstacles, but also deal with some elevation changes and have the chance to "rip" (and i say that in relation to just this course, because a rip at Montiel is only 300') a couple discs on 8 & 9 on the way back to their car.

I played it with just a putter today and it's also a good place for the advanced player to practice taking runs at baskets from 100'-150' out.

If for some reason you're in the area, it's worth the 20 minute stop to play it, at least to try for a couple aces. Extra half-disc added for how nice the signs are!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.