San Marcos, CA 
Montiel Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: Apothecary Hole #8 (Taken 3/2010)
4 / 336ft.   3 / 425ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee Sign



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 

5+    7/6/2011   7/6/2011
Review By: DocHaole
Played: 79  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 9.1 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Fun little 9 hole course with some elevation change on every hole.

- Good signage, with accurate distances. Maps available and navigation is easy to follow with the exception on going from hole 1 to 2. Follow the path by behind the 1st basket, up the hill 250' or so.

- The course sits on a long sloping hillslide with plenty of uphill shots and downhill bombs.

- DG exclusive, no non-disc golfers to get in your way.

- No crowds, very little waiting around even on the weekends.
Cons: - Really short, no good opportunities to air it out.

- No shade, it can get really hot.
Other Thoughts: All in all this is fun little course that exceeds expectations of your neighborhood 9 holer.

Easy trip off the highway to get a quick round in.

You can tell this course is well used and cared for by the locals.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun with just putters

2-4    8/7/2010   8/7/2010
Review By: DaKineSurfer32
Played: 429  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 15.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - REALLY nice signs (almost too nice for a course this small :-p)
- multiple tees (one cement/one rubber per hole)
- baskets in good shape
- fast drive off freeways
- not crowded, easy to play a fast round or couple rounds
- large port-a-potty and drinking fountains right next to parking lot
Cons: - long walk between 1 & 2 (walk up hill/path from basket 1 about 250')
- not too much in the way of obstacles
- holes are VERY short
- no trash cans on the course
- small parking lot, but this shouldn't ever be an issue unless everyone from San Marcos with a dog takes it to Montiel Park's dogpark at the same time
Other Thoughts: Honestly there isn't much to complain about with Montiel Park. It's exactly what a small 9-holer in a city park should be, and it's in much better shape than most 9 hole courses you'll come across.

I wish there were some more obstacles than the few scattered trees and scrub bushes to make the course a little bit more difficult, but I also can't fault the course designers for doing the best with the land available to them.

This is a perfect course for a beginner player to learn to control their discs out in the open because there aren't many obstacles, but also deal with some elevation changes and have the chance to "rip" (and i say that in relation to just this course, because a rip at Montiel is only 300') a couple discs on 8 & 9 on the way back to their car.

I played it with just a putter today and it's also a good place for the advanced player to practice taking runs at baskets from 100'-150' out.

If for some reason you're in the area, it's worth the 20 minute stop to play it, at least to try for a couple aces. Extra half-disc added for how nice the signs are!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Nice and quick

2-4    6/28/2010   6/28/2010
Review By: socalproshop
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: All the holes are one one rectangular parcel of land, so it plays really quick. 2 - Nice tee boxes and signs. 3 - Each hole has two goal distances with 2 long par 4's. 4 - There's a basketball court and dog park there as well.
Cons: Terrain is a bit rugged for flip-flops.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Montiel Park

5+    6/13/2010   6/13/2010
Review By: mattalika
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is alot of fun to play. It has easy-slightly difficult holes. I am a beginner and play mostly with my sons 12/15/15. we all have fun as the holes are not to far and they are confidence builders for other courses. (Kit Carson Park) It is very hard tio lose a disc (remember /name & ph#) I lost mey cell phone btween holes 8-9 and found it the next morning. If I can find my cell phone you should not lose a disc. Bordering homeowners are friendly and wiil let you get or get your disc for you. There are only nine holes but there are A-B tees from every hole excepyt #8.
Cons: None with the exception that there is no B tee from #8.
Other Thoughts: Great practice course. Quick and easy to play.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Very nice 9

2-4    3/29/2010   3/29/2010
Review By: Apothecary
Played: 66  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 19.3 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Excellent tees. Raked concrete for the short tees and clean rubber tees for most of the longer setup.
-Extremely accurate hole/course map(s), clearly delineating where both the long and short tees are and which way to the next tee pad. And the tee signs have cup holders.:)
-Bulletin board has a box with pencils, scorecards and maps for golfers to use.
-Very well maintained. Virtually no litter and immaculate tee pads.
-Terrain and course design. The course is situated along a long, sloped strip of land. Fun, shortish uphill holes and a couple of bombable holes to finish out the course. Trees force some really fun lines. Chalk tee markers for 8 and 9 tell me this course is well respected and maintained by people who want their course to be precise and revered. We saw several chalk markers for a safari course as well. That piece of land (long, open and sparsely used) SCREAMS for safari golf.
-DG exclusive and not crowded at all
-Dog park and basketball court close
-Plenty of parking
-Free!:D
Cons: -Minor flow problems. Hole 2 is about 250' east of hole 1 basket and could be a little tricky to find.
-It wasn't too windy when I played it, but I bet the trade winds make things tricky, especially 8 and 9, long bombs throwing into a strong headwind.
-Only 9 holes :(
Other Thoughts: Not many critiques of this course at all. Montiel is one of the cleanest, best maintained and well thought out 9 holers I have had the honor of playing. The tee signs are as good as they get. I have yet to witness more up-to-date, accurate hole maps (with cupholders!!!), though I hear Sylmar's are really nice since the Ricos had them remade.

The park is lush with indigenous plant life. Tall trees and blooming wildflowers. The land feels quite rustic, which adds to the overall aesthetic to the course.

There are a few places that I could see being tricky to find your disc, but your plastic is safe for the most part when you play Montiel.

I can't say enough about the layout. The blue tees add a significant degree of flare to each hole. The long bombs are a little bit longer and the short holes have the easy lines cut off. The blue layout is tons of fun and I highly recommend playing it when you try this course out.

I really want to come back to Montiel and spend the day playing with the locals. This course is so clean and cared for...you know the guys behind it have to be cool. Plenty of good tees and basket placements beg to be played safari-style.

A gem of a course.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 gotta appreciate this place

1    1/2/2010   1/8/2010
Review By: chonb
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: with morley field so freaking full all the time, any extra holes are great to get in

every hole provides an ace opportunity!

multiple pin locations makes for variety, and a full 18 if you cycle through twice

excellent signage
Cons: the ground is rough and full of rocks! do not use discs you don't want scuffed up

cramped, though the space is about as well used as possible
Other Thoughts: dog run means you can put the pooch away while you play!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Addition to San Diego DG Scene

5+    7/22/2009   7/22/2009
Review By: fifteen
Played: 41  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 7.2 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A nice 9-hole course with alternating tees. The short tees makes for great practice for driving with your putter. Mix it up between short and long tees for a longer round. It is a well-designed course in a small area of land. The signage are really nice and they make finding the next tees simple if it's your first time. The teepads at the short tees are concrete while some of the longer tees are on rubber pads.

It adds a nice variety to the San Diego Disc Golf scene. Every course in this county has its own scenery and this course is no exception. If you want to avoid the crowd at Morley and got some new disc golfers with you, this is the place to go.

The location was easy to find, right off the 78 freeway. It is also the only free-to-play course in San Diego.
Cons: Could use more obstacles, the holes were fairly open except for hole 7 which is behind a group of trees. Some of the pads for the longer tees weren't to be found. The terrain can be pretty rough and can beat up some of those weaker plastics.

No shade around the holes so be prepared to bring lot of water during those hot summer months. I learned my lesson the first time around and will come prepared the next time.
Other Thoughts: Great course for those ace runs if you're looking to get some aces. Leave the bag at home, you'll only need a couple of discs here. I even played a round here using only mid-ranges and putters and was just fine.

I will definitely come out here again.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 nice course

1    6/13/2009   6/13/2009
Review By: mikethrice
Played: 19  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 8.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: read other reviews they say it best..exclusive to disc golfers, shorter and longer tees, signs, use of elevation, hole 4 and 7 and good obstacles in the way. free.right off freeway
Cons: needs more obstacles on the short holes. red ants everywhere
Other Thoughts: great place to warm up or start playing. i live in murrieta so when i go ice skating or to stone brewery this is a nice place to stop at for a quick round...or even before going to morely at balboa..make the most of the trips

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Short but sweet

5+    1/3/2009   4/27/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 14.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/8/2010
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is packed into a fairly small area, but it is well planned so that the holes don't feel like they are right on top of one another. The space is used only for disc golf, so there are never other park users on the course. Two tees for each hole add a little more challenge. Lots of ace run holes from the short tees, and a little more challenge from the longs.

The course plays up and down a fairly steep hill, so there is elevation on nearly all the holes which helps keep the shorter holes more interesting. The uphill holes are shorter, and the downhill are much longer, keeping the course accessible for beginners from the shorter set of tees.

There are nice signs on all the holes, and concrete pads on all the short tees. There is a practice basket near the first tee, and the park has a dog park and basketball court. Every time I've played the people playing have been very friendly and fun to play with.
Cons: There is very little shade on the course, so on sunny days it can get dusty and hot. Almost all the baskets are out in the open, and there are very few obstacles in general, so there are not very many risk/reward decisions forced by the course.

The dirt and occasional rocky areas can be hard on cheaper plastic, especially on the longer downhill holes, but this is a really minor thing.
Other Thoughts: Fun little course that is great for newer players and families. Great use of the available space and the terrain to turn a dusty hill into a neat little course. Great place to work on approaches and long putts, especially on the shorter holes up the hill. Good workout if you play it a few times, walking up and down the hills.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Short but fun

5+    4/24/2009   4/26/2009
Review By: coast2coast
Played: 95  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 13.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/31/2009
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Excellent signs and tee pads. Alternate tees add distance and difficulty. Good use of elevation. Next to dog park and basketball court. Portable restroom nearby. Usually uncrowded. Well marked and easy to follow. Lots of birdie opportunities. Free to play.
Cons: Short course. Can be hot (not much shade), windy, and dusty.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun little course, and is a good addition to the few other courses in San Diego county.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.