San Marcos, CA 
Montiel Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #2
3 / 171ft.   3 / 342ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 3 Next >
 Always a good time

5+    1/26/2009   1/26/2009
Review By: RYFLE
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.2 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: FREE! Montiel has a good mix of short and long holes with the A and B tees. The eleveation change makes some of the holes more complicated. Great basket and signs make it very easy to navigate. Great locals who always are willing to help out. Very good place to practice uphill/downhill putting. Benches at some of tee pads to rest your legs walking up the hill.
Cons: Kinda short but better when the B tees are mixed in. The hill is finally starting to show some green from the rain but before that the hard soil and dirt would jack up some of my softer discs. No actual tee pads for the B tees, just markers. Not enough trees or obstacles in the way.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course if you want to play disc golf and get in shape. Its something like a mile up and then a mile down the hill. Great layout for the space used. I play it almost everyday I drive up to work and always have fun.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Review from an out of towner

2-4    10/26/2008   10/26/2008
Review By: Discwog
Played: 34  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 35.3 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Fun terrain
Rocks, shrubs etc.
Elevation
Easy parking
Great signage, teepads & benches
Cons: Short distances
Dusty
Terrain is hard on soft discs
Other Thoughts: I met a couple of locals and was shown the layout, but I think I could have found my way as a first timer.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great start!

5+    8/10/2008   10/16/2008
Review By: markwilsonsd
Played: 26  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 37.3 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: A much needed course in San Diego. Well thought out considering lack of landscaping. Great for families, kids etc... Also has long tees which make this short course more challenging. Next to dog park for spouse / kids that don't want to play. Friendly locals. Good beginner course
Cons: Short but fun. Hopefully grass and trees will pop up someday! :)
Other Thoughts: Reminds me of a "bunny-slope" at a ski resort. About the same size and rise of a beginners hill. half the holes up the hill, the other half down the hill.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 local course

5+    9/20/2008   10/6/2008
Review By: progprowl
Played: 18  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 14.3 Years
This review was updated on 12/31/2008
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Great Putting Practice
2. Only Non-Pay-to-Play in San Diego
3. Open layout, great for beginners
4. Concrete tee pads are clearly marked with signage (Great Condition), More challenging alternate tee's are identified.
5. Great course to play with your dog (Dog Park adjacent)
Not very busy, so you can get on and through 9 holes quickly.
Some Elevation changes make for fun holes.
Cons: 1. Very short distance.
2. Mostly Dirt fairways and grounds (Plan to get dirty/ dusty in the Summer),very few trees or Obstacles
3. Careful teeing off from Alternate Tees in the summer (easy to slip and fall)
4. HOT in the Summer! (Bring lots of water)
Other Thoughts: If you want to feel good about your game and work on long putts, this is the place. Lot's of ace and birdie chances. I like to play once through with std lengths and mix up the "back nine" with the locals' alternate holes. Great place to bring your dog, kids or beginners, not a destination if you are traveling to San Diego. Hit up Morley or Emerald Isle instead.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 My Home Course

3/6/2008   3/6/2008
Review By: Rizbee
Played: 248  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 38.3 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good mix of short and medium-length holes if you play both tees. Moderate elevation change comes into play. Great tee pads, baskets and tee signs.
Cons: Kind of short for advanced players.
Other Thoughts: This course was designed to be accessible for beginners and kids. The back tees attempt to add challenge for better players, but it'll never be DeLa.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.