Disc Golf Store
Rocky Mount, NC
Sunset Park Share
Uploaded By: wb247 Hole #13 (Taken 3/2010)
3 / 100ft.   3 / 256ft.   3 / 250ft.   3 / 430ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

2-4    12/25/2010   12/27/2010
Review By: NCStatePlaya
Played: 37  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A relatively open course that uses the existing trees to shape lines instead of carving a lane out of an existing forest. A good mix of lengths and the "three" tees (once finished) will offer a great round for all level players. Great looking signs that show hole layout and distance.
Cons: My main cons were with my playing...banging putts off the cage that should have been gimmes. Drives - can't go long off many of the existing tee pads...plenty of short to medium length holes. Freaking cold and windy!!!
Other Thoughts: My favorite hole of the course is no doubt the Island Hole (#9). The first time I played I actually landed safely and had to two putt for the par. Yesterday I over threw the basket by about 20-25 feet. Bogeyed with my drop, but it is still an awesome use of the existing infrastructure. This course will improve once all teepads have been installed. The course is coming along very nicely...I can remember when the land was full of houses, prior to Hurricane Floyd.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    9/18/2010   9/18/2010
Review By: crymerge
Played: 19  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The best thing I like about this course is it is not that busy around. It is located in a park, but the actual park is located away from the play area. You can shoot a pretty low round if you are ready, but it can bite you if you are not paying attention. The signage is clear and accurate. A decent mix of short and long holes as well as different shot selections. The city does a good job on mowing and the upkeep is good. The island hole, did I say the island hole. Basically the basket sits in the middle of the street on top of a small grassy triangle. Can be very difficult to stay on the island even if you land on it. Probably my favorite hole on the course. This course now has concrete tee boxes.
Cons: The first time I played it I actually skipped over two holes by mistake. Now that I have played it, I know where to go. Not enough long drive holes. Every hole there I usually throw with a mid-range disc. The longest is 367 ft but it doesn't seem even that long. The trash can be bothersome, probably more trash cans needed. You will need to cross a few streets but that is not really an issue because there isn't that much traffic back in the area of the course.
Other Thoughts: A practice basket would be nice, there is even a nice big field to throw on if you need to warm-up before a round.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Its getting there

5+    6/12/2010   6/13/2010
Review By: JustSayin'
Played: 33  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: New concrete tee pads installed 6/12/2010. Directional and mando signs now installed.The concrete teepads with the addition of the island hole and long tees show this courses continued improvement.What is a very beginner friendly course from the ams turns into a totally diff. course from the longs. The course is beautiful and well maintained.
Cons: Need to get the long pads in and install a couple bridges.Bridges should be done shortly.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Sunset Park

5/9/2008   5/9/2008
Review By: bgreen
Played: 34  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.9 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Is mostly open over old neighborhood. Many of the holes are around pine trees and around or over old 8'-15' bushes and shrubs that were left after houses were removed. This is the main challenge.
Cons: Can be a challenge to find the next Tee, you will have to cross the old roads that are there (little to no traffic). On some of the first holes you need to watch where you stand and place your bag due to fire ant hills.
Other Thoughts: This is a very nice course and well worth playing. Quite enjoyable.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.