Rocky Mount, NC 
Sunset Park Share
Uploaded By: wb247 Hole #8 (Taken 3/2010)
3 / 250ft.   3 / 330ft.   3 / 390ft.   3 / 250ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
What time is it?

1    8/17/2014   8/24/2014
Review By: reposado
Played: 206  Reviewed: 204  Exp: 3.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's an open, parks style course that starts off with very open hole that may require a little shape at the finish to navigate around a tree or clump of shrubbery. Over the last nine, it becomes decidedly more difficult with masses of hedges to throw over or around. A favorite trick of the course is to stick the basket directly behind a broad tree so that a straight approach to the basket is almost never seen from the tee. Essentially a mix of very open holes to open holes with scattered trees, it is one of those course that can easily be described as fun.
The design is extremely clever in its use of small plots of land between park streets. Though you have to cross to new plots of grass often, rarely is the hole positioned for the street to come into play. Really impressed with the plan here and it gives the course something to unique to hang its hat on. It doesn't really have a signature hole but the hedges and the amount of time that you are throwing over or under a gap in the hedge provides an identity.
Next tee arrows are needed and in place. Players should expect a quick, fun round with no issues with navigating the course.
Cons: 9 is one of the most idiotic and insane ideas that I have ever seen. The basket is placed on a small triangle of grass between three roads. These aren't heavily trafficked streets but still, this is a terrible idea that is asking for trouble. All for a 150-foot open hole. I almost want to drop the course a half point for this absurd design element alone. (I won't though.)
Other than that, there aren't major flaws at Sunset. It's completely flat with no outstanding holes, nothing of note to draw the traveler. One of many perfectly playable local courses around the state. This one happens to be very near to I95 so I can recommend a stop here. But it's definitely a stop and not a destination.
Other Thoughts: From the parking lot indicated, the tee that is near the parking lot is actually 3. To find 1, you can drive around the block and park on the street. But there is no reason why you can't start on 3 and finish on 2.
This falls around 2.75 for me if I was allowed that distinction. It has just enough of a unique feel to warrant the up bump rather than down.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    12/25/2010   12/27/2010
Review By: NCStatePlaya
Played: 37  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.8 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A relatively open course that uses the existing trees to shape lines instead of carving a lane out of an existing forest. A good mix of lengths and the "three" tees (once finished) will offer a great round for all level players. Great looking signs that show hole layout and distance.
Cons: My main cons were with my playing...banging putts off the cage that should have been gimmes. Drives - can't go long off many of the existing tee pads...plenty of short to medium length holes. Freaking cold and windy!!!
Other Thoughts: My favorite hole of the course is no doubt the Island Hole (#9). The first time I played I actually landed safely and had to two putt for the par. Yesterday I over threw the basket by about 20-25 feet. Bogeyed with my drop, but it is still an awesome use of the existing infrastructure. This course will improve once all teepads have been installed. The course is coming along very nicely...I can remember when the land was full of houses, prior to Hurricane Floyd.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    9/18/2010   9/18/2010
Review By: crymerge
Played: 19  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The best thing I like about this course is it is not that busy around. It is located in a park, but the actual park is located away from the play area. You can shoot a pretty low round if you are ready, but it can bite you if you are not paying attention. The signage is clear and accurate. A decent mix of short and long holes as well as different shot selections. The city does a good job on mowing and the upkeep is good. The island hole, did I say the island hole. Basically the basket sits in the middle of the street on top of a small grassy triangle. Can be very difficult to stay on the island even if you land on it. Probably my favorite hole on the course. This course now has concrete tee boxes.
Cons: The first time I played it I actually skipped over two holes by mistake. Now that I have played it, I know where to go. Not enough long drive holes. Every hole there I usually throw with a mid-range disc. The longest is 367 ft but it doesn't seem even that long. The trash can be bothersome, probably more trash cans needed. You will need to cross a few streets but that is not really an issue because there isn't that much traffic back in the area of the course.
Other Thoughts: A practice basket would be nice, there is even a nice big field to throw on if you need to warm-up before a round.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Its getting there

5+    6/12/2010   6/13/2010
Review By: JustSayin'
Played: 41  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: New concrete tee pads installed 6/12/2010. Directional and mando signs now installed.The concrete teepads with the addition of the island hole and long tees show this courses continued improvement.What is a very beginner friendly course from the ams turns into a totally diff. course from the longs. The course is beautiful and well maintained.
Cons: Need to get the long pads in and install a couple bridges.Bridges should be done shortly.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Sunset Park

5/9/2008   5/9/2008
Review By: bgreen
Played: 34  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 7.6 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Is mostly open over old neighborhood. Many of the holes are around pine trees and around or over old 8'-15' bushes and shrubs that were left after houses were removed. This is the main challenge.
Cons: Can be a challenge to find the next Tee, you will have to cross the old roads that are there (little to no traffic). On some of the first holes you need to watch where you stand and place your bag due to fire ant hills.
Other Thoughts: This is a very nice course and well worth playing. Quite enjoyable.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.