Rocky Mount, NC 
Sunset Park Share
Uploaded By: wb247 Hole #1 (Taken 3/2010)
3 / 166ft.   3 / 232ft.   3 / 232ft.   3 / 325ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Hopeful the Tournament Layout is Permanent

2-4    11/14/2016   11/14/2016
Review By: alecfalzone
Played: 90  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 6.6 Years
Pros: As a player who lives in the Raleigh area, venturing outside the Triangle does not happen much for casual rounds. I did however end up playing the Spike Hyzer Finale this weekend at Farmington, Sports Complex, and Sunset. Man, I was pleasantly surprised with how amazing Sunset is. Word on the street is that the tournament layout is permanent now, and I sincerely hope that is the case. NC disc golf is very old, with many courses outdated due to new disc technology. This layout at Sunset is amazing and rivals Barnett in Kinston as the 2nd best course East of I-95 (Behind The Castle of course).

Pros -

1) Great starting hole, not too hard and not too easy
2) Fantastic Par 4 that is not an easy birdie with many obstacles and OB
3) Great straight shot with a few options
4) Another tough Par 4 (a welcomed theme on this course). The opening to the basket could get cleaned up a bit. If those power lines weren't hanging over the road it would be a lot better, but some things you cannot change.
5) Fantastic Par 5 with the requirement of two good placement shots for a birdie chance.
6) Traffic island hole
7) Great left to right shot downhill between trees.
8) Another great Par 4, this one is a borderline "tweener" Par 5, if the middle openings of the fairway were cleaned up a bit it would be much better. Great hole.
9) Great downhill midrange shot.
10) I don't see the need for the elevated basket on this hole, kinda meh.
11) Great Par 4 with two options: BH hyzer over the road or turnover shot down the middle. Interesting basket placement next to the road now.
12) Solid hole
13) Solid 350' downhill shot at a protected basket location. Again, an over the road option or straight up the gut.
14) This one is kind of a fluky Par 3, super low ceiling with random tree and bush placements. There are a couple of lanes but it could be improved with some cleanup. Not bad.
15) Pretty solid Par 4 with a straight shot off the tee.
16) Nothing special, straight with a right finish about 285'.
17) Super tight line to hit for the park job, a good changeup type hole.
18) Great finishing Par 4, you can throw straight down the fairway or cut it just outside the mando tree and play the left side of the fairway for an easier second shot. Again, it's great to have options.
Cons: Significant damage from Hurricane Matthew that still needs to be cleaned up. I am sure in time it will be looking fantastic.

Benches and tee signs with corrected distances at every hole would be fantastic. Currently there are not many of these.

A decent amount of Rocky Mount residents like to park on the streets next to 15/16 for illicit drug use, which is always interesting...

The lack of a parking lot is also kinda of a bummer, park on the street by Hole 1's teepad to play the course.
Other Thoughts: Again, this tournament layout is great and I really do hope it is made permanent as I heard over the weekend from a couple locals. Farmington is a great shorter course, and when paired with Sunset could make for a great 1/2 combo for a day trip. Keep up the progress RM because the course is something special!

Sunset

1    8/5/2015   8/6/2015
Review By: Weeluck
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.3 Years
Other Thoughts: Our second time out and a much better experience. The course is much better maintained than our very first round of disk golf at the Rocky Mount Sports Complex which left us feeling quite discouraged over the sport itself.

Sunset is very well maintained. The tees are well marked and the holes are fun to play. We are not comfortable with parking on the side of the road, but were fine with parking over by the tennis courts or by the ball field.

I can definitely see us playing this one again.

 Almost top tier course

1    7/27/2014   7/28/2014
Review By: LeeLK
Played: 60  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 8.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful old forest to play in. Nice mix of open and wooded holes. Big concrete pads and good baskets.
Cons: Could use a touch more variety, but that's really the only thing keeping it from being a really top tier course.
Other Thoughts: Parking was a bit weird, as we weren't sure if we could park on the road. Otherwise had a really nice day playing the course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 1st Run

1    1/19/2013   1/19/2013
Review By: clementsjd1
Played: 48  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 5.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Once you find Tee 1 this course is very easy to navigate.
- Very well kept after, the grass is mowed, leaves (where it matters) are raked up.
- Covers a lot of ground, Got some good long shots on this course.
- Not much opportunity to lose a disc on this course
Cons: - Bathrooms and Drinking fountain, I could not find it, I didn't adventure through the whole park looking but they should be easy to find if they are there.
Other Thoughts: - My favorite course out of Rocky Mounts 4 courses hands down.

HOLE # 1 is located On Dawson Street about 100 yds up on the right. HOLE # 18 basket is right across the street from that.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  A few changes

5+    5/4/2011   5/5/2011
Review By: netposer
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 18.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great parking. The #9 island hole and a mix of long-ish and short holes. It's never crowded so the odds of you waiting on another group is rare. And if it's crowded you can drive less than 2 miles to Englewood or Farmington.

Course is well kept and the city does a great job of cutting the grass and trimming weeds around the holes.
Cons: Tees are not marked correctly. So if you are not familiar it's impossible to know where the basket is---since it doesn't exist. And it's a bit worse now since they are moving things around for the PDGA tournament this May (2011).
Other Thoughts: They moved #2's basket back around that small tree again.

They removed the basket and poured a blue t-box on #4. So you shoot at #5's basket and by-pass #5 all together. They also moved #14 to the other block. So after #13 you walk across the street past that house and tee off in the street. You have to throw straight on the same side of the street then throw across the street to land inside the OB box they put up. If you have a strong arm you could throw in the box from the T...problem is there are 2 pine trees you have to shoot through at an angle.

They also poured a new blue T-box on 18 so no more easy birdies.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/25/2010   9/29/2010
Review By: GRISWOLD87
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.8 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: very clean well maintained course. brand new concrete tee pads. hole 9 id what i always consider being rocky mounts signiture hole is a hyzer shot onto an triangle shaped island road all around, it will make you are break you! alot of nice long open holes and a good mix of wooded holes. also some good intense blind shots that will make you listen for that ching-a-ling we all love to hear! really nice tee signs too
Cons: needs trash cans, and some limb trimming.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 impressive

1    4/18/2010   4/19/2010
Review By: dmbill
Played: 29  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 10.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is clean and beautiful, well maintained, and is in a great area with few people around you also has an amazing island green hole
Cons: Only a few holes is it not clear where to go after completing them
Other Thoughts: I had the opportunity to play this course with its founders this course is great it has obstacles, distance holes and accuracy throughout

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Sunset Park

1    11/17/2008   11/21/2008
Review By: bears_rule
Played: 45  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 17.7 Years
This review was updated on 11/23/2008
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Extremely fun course set in a beautiful location playing mostly in the open. Quite a few Ace/Birdie oppurtunities can be found in the first 5 holes.

The layout plays on flat open land so elevation would appear to not be a factor. However, some of the better lines to take you to the Baskets require height on your throws in order to make it over 8-12 foot bushes. You can literally invent different lines every time you play. I threw a majority of the holes differently, switching from forehand to backhand quite often.

There are a couple of tight fairways with options of taking huge Anhyzers or backdoor hyzers with height to avoid tress. Some holes play blind and provide a more natural feel to the course. Sunset Park ROCKS.
Cons: Only negative for this course would be the lack of concrete tees. I talked to a local that explained the fact that this course is on FEMA land so therefore concrete tees might never be cast, stupid government.

The layout can confuse you the first time out. I would refer to the course pictures to help navigate. It plays back forth over a few streets.
Other Thoughts: This course is clearly a work in progress and will eventually be one of the best in the area. I drove an hour to get to this course and I plan on driving it again quite often

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 sunset park

5+    3/6/2011   11/6/2008
Review By: ecupirate82
Played: 47  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 10.9 Years
This review was updated on 3/30/2011
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very well designed. Some challenging holes as well as a few birdie holes mixed in. Very beautiful course my wife says!
Cons: Long pads need to be concrete. Needs trash cans.
Other Thoughts: Fun course and very clean. You can shoot a very low score from white tees.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.