Rocky Mount, NC 
Sunset Park Share
Uploaded By: bgreen Hole #11
3 / 246ft.   3 / 327ft.   3 / 410ft.   4 / 630ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Hopeful the Tournament Layout is Permanent

2-4    11/14/2016   11/14/2016
Review By: alecfalzone
Played: 90  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 6.6 Years
Pros: As a player who lives in the Raleigh area, venturing outside the Triangle does not happen much for casual rounds. I did however end up playing the Spike Hyzer Finale this weekend at Farmington, Sports Complex, and Sunset. Man, I was pleasantly surprised with how amazing Sunset is. Word on the street is that the tournament layout is permanent now, and I sincerely hope that is the case. NC disc golf is very old, with many courses outdated due to new disc technology. This layout at Sunset is amazing and rivals Barnett in Kinston as the 2nd best course East of I-95 (Behind The Castle of course).

Pros -

1) Great starting hole, not too hard and not too easy
2) Fantastic Par 4 that is not an easy birdie with many obstacles and OB
3) Great straight shot with a few options
4) Another tough Par 4 (a welcomed theme on this course). The opening to the basket could get cleaned up a bit. If those power lines weren't hanging over the road it would be a lot better, but some things you cannot change.
5) Fantastic Par 5 with the requirement of two good placement shots for a birdie chance.
6) Traffic island hole
7) Great left to right shot downhill between trees.
8) Another great Par 4, this one is a borderline "tweener" Par 5, if the middle openings of the fairway were cleaned up a bit it would be much better. Great hole.
9) Great downhill midrange shot.
10) I don't see the need for the elevated basket on this hole, kinda meh.
11) Great Par 4 with two options: BH hyzer over the road or turnover shot down the middle. Interesting basket placement next to the road now.
12) Solid hole
13) Solid 350' downhill shot at a protected basket location. Again, an over the road option or straight up the gut.
14) This one is kind of a fluky Par 3, super low ceiling with random tree and bush placements. There are a couple of lanes but it could be improved with some cleanup. Not bad.
15) Pretty solid Par 4 with a straight shot off the tee.
16) Nothing special, straight with a right finish about 285'.
17) Super tight line to hit for the park job, a good changeup type hole.
18) Great finishing Par 4, you can throw straight down the fairway or cut it just outside the mando tree and play the left side of the fairway for an easier second shot. Again, it's great to have options.
Cons: Significant damage from Hurricane Matthew that still needs to be cleaned up. I am sure in time it will be looking fantastic.

Benches and tee signs with corrected distances at every hole would be fantastic. Currently there are not many of these.

A decent amount of Rocky Mount residents like to park on the streets next to 15/16 for illicit drug use, which is always interesting...

The lack of a parking lot is also kinda of a bummer, park on the street by Hole 1's teepad to play the course.
Other Thoughts: Again, this tournament layout is great and I really do hope it is made permanent as I heard over the weekend from a couple locals. Farmington is a great shorter course, and when paired with Sunset could make for a great 1/2 combo for a day trip. Keep up the progress RM because the course is something special!

Sunset

1    8/5/2015   8/6/2015
Review By: Weeluck
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.4 Years
Other Thoughts: Our second time out and a much better experience. The course is much better maintained than our very first round of disk golf at the Rocky Mount Sports Complex which left us feeling quite discouraged over the sport itself.

Sunset is very well maintained. The tees are well marked and the holes are fun to play. We are not comfortable with parking on the side of the road, but were fine with parking over by the tennis courts or by the ball field.

I can definitely see us playing this one again.

Open fairways and island green

1    8/17/2014   6/27/2015
Review By: pmay5
Played: 83  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 13.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good concrete tee pads on every hole, multiple tees on most (if not all) holes, adequate signage on each hole, mostly open holes. There are plenty of trees on this course, but the holes mostly work around the thickest woods and use the trees (and large bushes) to shape shots around. Nice change of pace for an NC course.

Course flows pretty well, just a couple of nav issues. Good variety of hole lengths, nothing real long, and good mix of right and left turning holes.

The Island green. I am going to have to disagree with reposado here, I enjoy reading his reviews, have tried to pattern mine after his, but have to disagree with him here. A little background - as I understand it, the park this course is in used to be a residential neighborhood. Then one of the F hurricanes (Fran, Floyd) came through and flooded out the neighborhood. Instead of rebuilding in a floodplain (are you listening New Orleans?) the city took over the land and made it this park. Plenty of nice streets, with driveway cuts, that you cross over playing the course, but very little traffic.
Part of that road structure is a triangle-shaped traffic island, this is the normal green for the 9th hole. The hole plays 240 feet, but it is downhill and partially guarded by pine trees. Hit the island and you are safe, miss the island and there is a drop zone. This is a real fun hole for those of us that want to play an island green, but not the risk of losing plastic. Real fun hole!
Cons: Course does get a little repetitive. Not much elevation to use (on only 2 holes) so they didn't have a lot to work with. Also they were somewhat restricted with the streets throughout the course.

A couple of navigation issues, 6 to 7 then 7 to 8 and 8 up to 9. It was also tricky finding the first tee, no signage pointing you there. The course map on here did help a lot.

No restrooms or drinks available on the course, but a park facility was nearby.

Other Thoughts: Overall, a fun course to play. Good grass throughout, and plenty of chances to let it fly without having to thread a needle. The island hole is so nuch fun, my last time playing in Rocky Mount, I went back to Sunset and emptied my bag a couple of times at the island green. Nice use of the land available.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good park course

2-4    5/16/2015   6/3/2015
Review By: KenanFlagler01
Played: 83  Reviewed: 77  Exp: 6.7 Years
This review was updated on 6/7/2015
Pros: - This is a good park course with some wide open fairways, some lightly wooded, and a few moderately wooded holes.

- Some reviews praise the "island green" hole #9, others pan it. I've played the course twice and haven't seen a single car on the roads that form the median where the #9 green is, so I don't see any problems with it. I like the unique opportunity to play an island green without the danger of losing a disc in water.

- Navigation was fine and the course was well-maintained when I played.
Cons: - The course is pretty repetitive. The only unique hole was #9.

- While signage was good overall, I didn't see a sign for hole #7 after I finished #6. I found it by pulling up the DGCR map. I had to jump across a ditch that was pretty muddy after recent rain and make my own path, through some poison ivy, to the next hole. Maybe I missed it, but navigation wasn't intuitive to me on this hole.
Other Thoughts: Of course, on one of the 2-3 holes bordered by real woods, I lost a disc in the underbrush. Poison ivy discouraged me from really digging around and finding it. Despite my frustration of losing a disc, I would recommend playing here if you're in the Rocky Mount area. I probably won't make a special trip to play here again though. It's a good course, but not a great one.

 What time is it?

1    8/17/2014   8/24/2014
Review By: reposado
Played: 278  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 5.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's an open, parks style course that starts off with very open hole that may require a little shape at the finish to navigate around a tree or clump of shrubbery. Over the last nine, it becomes decidedly more difficult with masses of hedges to throw over or around. A favorite trick of the course is to stick the basket directly behind a broad tree so that a straight approach to the basket is almost never seen from the tee. Essentially a mix of very open holes to open holes with scattered trees, it is one of those course that can easily be described as fun.
The design is extremely clever in its use of small plots of land between park streets. Though you have to cross to new plots of grass often, rarely is the hole positioned for the street to come into play. Really impressed with the plan here and it gives the course something to unique to hang its hat on. It doesn't really have a signature hole but the hedges and the amount of time that you are throwing over or under a gap in the hedge provides an identity.
Next tee arrows are needed and in place. Players should expect a quick, fun round with no issues with navigating the course.
Cons: 9 is one of the most idiotic and insane ideas that I have ever seen. The basket is placed on a small triangle of grass between three roads. These aren't heavily trafficked streets but still, this is a terrible idea that is asking for trouble. All for a 150-foot open hole. I almost want to drop the course a half point for this absurd design element alone. (I won't though.)
Other than that, there aren't major flaws at Sunset. It's completely flat with no outstanding holes, nothing of note to draw the traveler. One of many perfectly playable local courses around the state. This one happens to be very near to I95 so I can recommend a stop here. But it's definitely a stop and not a destination.
Other Thoughts: From the parking lot indicated, the tee that is near the parking lot is actually 3. To find 1, you can drive around the block and park on the street. But there is no reason why you can't start on 3 and finish on 2.
This falls around 2.75 for me if I was allowed that distinction. It has just enough of a unique feel to warrant the up bump rather than down.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Almost top tier course

1    7/27/2014   7/28/2014
Review By: LeeLK
Played: 60  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 8.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful old forest to play in. Nice mix of open and wooded holes. Big concrete pads and good baskets.
Cons: Could use a touch more variety, but that's really the only thing keeping it from being a really top tier course.
Other Thoughts: Parking was a bit weird, as we weren't sure if we could park on the road. Otherwise had a really nice day playing the course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 1st Run

1    1/19/2013   1/19/2013
Review By: clementsjd1
Played: 48  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 5.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Once you find Tee 1 this course is very easy to navigate.
- Very well kept after, the grass is mowed, leaves (where it matters) are raked up.
- Covers a lot of ground, Got some good long shots on this course.
- Not much opportunity to lose a disc on this course
Cons: - Bathrooms and Drinking fountain, I could not find it, I didn't adventure through the whole park looking but they should be easy to find if they are there.
Other Thoughts: - My favorite course out of Rocky Mounts 4 courses hands down.

HOLE # 1 is located On Dawson Street about 100 yds up on the right. HOLE # 18 basket is right across the street from that.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  A few changes

5+    5/4/2011   5/5/2011
Review By: netposer
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 18.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great parking. The #9 island hole and a mix of long-ish and short holes. It's never crowded so the odds of you waiting on another group is rare. And if it's crowded you can drive less than 2 miles to Englewood or Farmington.

Course is well kept and the city does a great job of cutting the grass and trimming weeds around the holes.
Cons: Tees are not marked correctly. So if you are not familiar it's impossible to know where the basket is---since it doesn't exist. And it's a bit worse now since they are moving things around for the PDGA tournament this May (2011).
Other Thoughts: They moved #2's basket back around that small tree again.

They removed the basket and poured a blue t-box on #4. So you shoot at #5's basket and by-pass #5 all together. They also moved #14 to the other block. So after #13 you walk across the street past that house and tee off in the street. You have to throw straight on the same side of the street then throw across the street to land inside the OB box they put up. If you have a strong arm you could throw in the box from the T...problem is there are 2 pine trees you have to shoot through at an angle.

They also poured a new blue T-box on 18 so no more easy birdies.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    12/25/2010   12/27/2010
Review By: NCStatePlaya
Played: 39  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.8 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A relatively open course that uses the existing trees to shape lines instead of carving a lane out of an existing forest. A good mix of lengths and the "three" tees (once finished) will offer a great round for all level players. Great looking signs that show hole layout and distance.
Cons: My main cons were with my playing...banging putts off the cage that should have been gimmes. Drives - can't go long off many of the existing tee pads...plenty of short to medium length holes. Freaking cold and windy!!!
Other Thoughts: My favorite hole of the course is no doubt the Island Hole (#9). The first time I played I actually landed safely and had to two putt for the par. Yesterday I over threw the basket by about 20-25 feet. Bogeyed with my drop, but it is still an awesome use of the existing infrastructure. This course will improve once all teepads have been installed. The course is coming along very nicely...I can remember when the land was full of houses, prior to Hurricane Floyd.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/25/2010   9/29/2010
Review By: GRISWOLD87
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.8 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: very clean well maintained course. brand new concrete tee pads. hole 9 id what i always consider being rocky mounts signiture hole is a hyzer shot onto an triangle shaped island road all around, it will make you are break you! alot of nice long open holes and a good mix of wooded holes. also some good intense blind shots that will make you listen for that ching-a-ling we all love to hear! really nice tee signs too
Cons: needs trash cans, and some limb trimming.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.