Rocky Mount, NC 
Sunset Park Share
Uploaded By: bgreen Hole #5
3 / 180ft.   3 / 180ft.   3 / 180ft.   3 / 310ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
What time is it?

1    8/17/2014   8/24/2014
Review By: reposado
Played: 200  Reviewed: 198  Exp: 3.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's an open, parks style course that starts off with very open hole that may require a little shape at the finish to navigate around a tree or clump of shrubbery. Over the last nine, it becomes decidedly more difficult with masses of hedges to throw over or around. A favorite trick of the course is to stick the basket directly behind a broad tree so that a straight approach to the basket is almost never seen from the tee. Essentially a mix of very open holes to open holes with scattered trees, it is one of those course that can easily be described as fun.
The design is extremely clever in its use of small plots of land between park streets. Though you have to cross to new plots of grass often, rarely is the hole positioned for the street to come into play. Really impressed with the plan here and it gives the course something to unique to hang its hat on. It doesn't really have a signature hole but the hedges and the amount of time that you are throwing over or under a gap in the hedge provides an identity.
Next tee arrows are needed and in place. Players should expect a quick, fun round with no issues with navigating the course.
Cons: 9 is one of the most idiotic and insane ideas that I have ever seen. The basket is placed on a small triangle of grass between three roads. These aren't heavily trafficked streets but still, this is a terrible idea that is asking for trouble. All for a 150-foot open hole. I almost want to drop the course a half point for this absurd design element alone. (I won't though.)
Other than that, there aren't major flaws at Sunset. It's completely flat with no outstanding holes, nothing of note to draw the traveler. One of many perfectly playable local courses around the state. This one happens to be very near to I95 so I can recommend a stop here. But it's definitely a stop and not a destination.
Other Thoughts: From the parking lot indicated, the tee that is near the parking lot is actually 3. To find 1, you can drive around the block and park on the street. But there is no reason why you can't start on 3 and finish on 2.
This falls around 2.75 for me if I was allowed that distinction. It has just enough of a unique feel to warrant the up bump rather than down.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Almost top tier course

1    7/27/2014   7/28/2014
Review By: LeeLK
Played: 49  Reviewed: 47  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful old forest to play in. Nice mix of open and wooded holes. Big concrete pads and good baskets.
Cons: Could use a touch more variety, but that's really the only thing keeping it from being a really top tier course.
Other Thoughts: Parking was a bit weird, as we weren't sure if we could park on the road. Otherwise had a really nice day playing the course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

1st Run

1    1/19/2013   1/19/2013
Review By: clementsjd1
Played: 45  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 3.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Once you find Tee 1 this course is very easy to navigate.
- Very well kept after, the grass is mowed, leaves (where it matters) are raked up.
- Covers a lot of ground, Got some good long shots on this course.
- Not much opportunity to lose a disc on this course
Cons: - Bathrooms and Drinking fountain, I could not find it, I didn't adventure through the whole park looking but they should be easy to find if they are there.
Other Thoughts: - My favorite course out of Rocky Mounts 4 courses hands down.

HOLE # 1 is located On Dawson Street about 100 yds up on the right. HOLE # 18 basket is right across the street from that.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  A few changes

5+    5/4/2011   5/5/2011
Review By: netposer
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 16.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great parking. The #9 island hole and a mix of long-ish and short holes. It's never crowded so the odds of you waiting on another group is rare. And if it's crowded you can drive less than 2 miles to Englewood or Farmington.

Course is well kept and the city does a great job of cutting the grass and trimming weeds around the holes.
Cons: Tees are not marked correctly. So if you are not familiar it's impossible to know where the basket is---since it doesn't exist. And it's a bit worse now since they are moving things around for the PDGA tournament this May (2011).
Other Thoughts: They moved #2's basket back around that small tree again.

They removed the basket and poured a blue t-box on #4. So you shoot at #5's basket and by-pass #5 all together. They also moved #14 to the other block. So after #13 you walk across the street past that house and tee off in the street. You have to throw straight on the same side of the street then throw across the street to land inside the OB box they put up. If you have a strong arm you could throw in the box from the T...problem is there are 2 pine trees you have to shoot through at an angle.

They also poured a new blue T-box on 18 so no more easy birdies.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    12/25/2010   12/27/2010
Review By: NCStatePlaya
Played: 37  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A relatively open course that uses the existing trees to shape lines instead of carving a lane out of an existing forest. A good mix of lengths and the "three" tees (once finished) will offer a great round for all level players. Great looking signs that show hole layout and distance.
Cons: My main cons were with my playing...banging putts off the cage that should have been gimmes. Drives - can't go long off many of the existing tee pads...plenty of short to medium length holes. Freaking cold and windy!!!
Other Thoughts: My favorite hole of the course is no doubt the Island Hole (#9). The first time I played I actually landed safely and had to two putt for the par. Yesterday I over threw the basket by about 20-25 feet. Bogeyed with my drop, but it is still an awesome use of the existing infrastructure. This course will improve once all teepads have been installed. The course is coming along very nicely...I can remember when the land was full of houses, prior to Hurricane Floyd.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/25/2010   9/29/2010
Review By: GRISWOLD87
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: very clean well maintained course. brand new concrete tee pads. hole 9 id what i always consider being rocky mounts signiture hole is a hyzer shot onto an triangle shaped island road all around, it will make you are break you! alot of nice long open holes and a good mix of wooded holes. also some good intense blind shots that will make you listen for that ching-a-ling we all love to hear! really nice tee signs too
Cons: needs trash cans, and some limb trimming.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    9/18/2010   9/18/2010
Review By: crymerge
Played: 19  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The best thing I like about this course is it is not that busy around. It is located in a park, but the actual park is located away from the play area. You can shoot a pretty low round if you are ready, but it can bite you if you are not paying attention. The signage is clear and accurate. A decent mix of short and long holes as well as different shot selections. The city does a good job on mowing and the upkeep is good. The island hole, did I say the island hole. Basically the basket sits in the middle of the street on top of a small grassy triangle. Can be very difficult to stay on the island even if you land on it. Probably my favorite hole on the course. This course now has concrete tee boxes.
Cons: The first time I played it I actually skipped over two holes by mistake. Now that I have played it, I know where to go. Not enough long drive holes. Every hole there I usually throw with a mid-range disc. The longest is 367 ft but it doesn't seem even that long. The trash can be bothersome, probably more trash cans needed. You will need to cross a few streets but that is not really an issue because there isn't that much traffic back in the area of the course.
Other Thoughts: A practice basket would be nice, there is even a nice big field to throw on if you need to warm-up before a round.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A perfect course, IMHO.

5+    7/13/2010   7/19/2010
Review By: FACTSHACK
Played: 25  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 14.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -beautiful, well-maintained course
-not too wooded, not too open
-great mix of long and short holes
-mix of shot types required
-though it's in a flooded-out neighborhood, rain doesn't seem to gather like you would think
-streets are pretty calm, don't have to worry much about cars passing through
Cons: -honestly, the only "con" i would have listed about this course was that they had gravel teeboxes, but they have been changed to concrete as of a few weeks ago
Other Thoughts: -i would say this is one of the best courses in the area, and possibly eastern North Carolina.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Its getting there

5+    6/12/2010   6/13/2010
Review By: JustSayin'
Played: 41  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: New concrete tee pads installed 6/12/2010. Directional and mando signs now installed.The concrete teepads with the addition of the island hole and long tees show this courses continued improvement.What is a very beginner friendly course from the ams turns into a totally diff. course from the longs. The course is beautiful and well maintained.
Cons: Need to get the long pads in and install a couple bridges.Bridges should be done shortly.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 impressive

1    4/18/2010   4/19/2010
Review By: dmbill
Played: 29  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is clean and beautiful, well maintained, and is in a great area with few people around you also has an amazing island green hole
Cons: Only a few holes is it not clear where to go after completing them
Other Thoughts: I had the opportunity to play this course with its founders this course is great it has obstacles, distance holes and accuracy throughout

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.