Fort Worth, TX 
Arcadia Park #2 Share
Uploaded By: Donovan Hole #7
3 / 318ft.   3 / 296ft.   3 / 309ft.   3 / 296ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee: The light tree line is directly between you and the goal at the end.



Reviews: 57
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Fun Course / Beginner Friendly

1    10/4/2014   10/12/2014
Review By: Joe6Pack
Played: 31  Reviewed: 18
Pros: - Well maintained course in community park
- Lots of trash cans
- Fairly good mix of shots, but mostly wide open
- Fairly easy to navigate
Cons: - Nothing overly spectacular, just an average park disc golf course
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed playing this course but could see it getting boring quickly if this was my local course. Worth playing if you're already nearby.

 About Par

1    11/2/2012   11/3/2012
Review By: Tiny
Played: 34  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 2.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's a solid course, a good mix of par 4's and 5's, though I question if some should actually be those. It was well groomed, flowed GREAT, and the wind changes based on where you are located in the course, it adds to the difficulty which is much needed.

Favorite things about the course:
1. Well maintained.
2. Easy to follow.
3. Easy to read teesigns.
4. All tee's are concrete.
5. Difficulty changes through out the course.
6. I love being able to stretch out my arm, and throw some bombs.
Cons: Not a lot of cons, but there are some noteworthy things that should be noted.
1. It's not too difficult.
2. Some of the water hazards are hard to get to if you shank a disc, holes 16-18 beware.
3. There's a park pretty close to one of the holes, an errant shot could really hurt someone.
4. Soccer fields scattered around, wasn't an issue when I played, but could pose an issue on the weekend or the afternoon.
5. Not many other disc golfers.
Other Thoughts: It's a sweet course, I will play it again. I don't think it deserves much over a 3. It's average based on what I've played. It's worth the drive from south ft. worth. I'll come back when my arm is ready for the bomb shots. And the big ol tomahawk on 12. :D

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Not bad

1    4/11/2012   6/5/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 816  Reviewed: 773  Exp: 12.7 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a large flat park, with a mix of open and lightly wooded areas. There are some chances to air out big drives, especially on the front 9. It's always fun to test your arm against longer holes, and there are some nice opportunities for that here. The back 9 offers a little more technical challenge, with bushes and scattered trees to avoid on most holes and dense rough in spots.

A few holes will really punish an errant shot, with enough thick brush to make you pitch out on an errant drive and some lurking water. Tee signs are adequate, with hole layout and distance. The concrete pads were on the small side, but had a decent texture.
Cons: The course plays pretty open overall, even the holes with more trees in play still offer plenty of different lines and only punish severely missed lines. I prefer a more technical challenge, the wide open shots get a bit repetitive after a while. Many of the longer shots were odd lengths where very few players will reach them off the tee, but it only takes a simple open upshot to card a boring 3.

The walking path is in play on a couple holes, it could be a safety issue on a nice day. There are some long walks in a couple spots, it took us a little extra time to find our way the first time through the course. When I played, the grass on the fairways was on the long side, and the grass next to the fairways was high enough to hide discs.
Other Thoughts: This course isn't really my style, if you like a lot of chances to rip a drive and more open shots you'll have a lot of fun here. Beginners might find the length frustrating, but at least the course isn't too punitive. More experienced players won't find a full variety of different challenges, it's an ok place to work on distance but it won't test a lot of other skills.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Long Average Course with Good Potential; Nice Park

1    5/16/2011   5/16/2011
Review By: jdawg24
Played: 92  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 16.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Located in a nice park with a natural setting that provides for a pleasant walk
*Long, multi-shot holes let you really air it out, and there are legitimate par 4 holes
*Concrete pads and Innova baskets
*Not crowded on a beautiful Sunday morning with perfect weather, but enough people playing that you could hook up with a group
*Mix of wooded and open terrain. As noted in the reviews, the more wooded Back 9 holes are much more interesting DG holes
*The course has good signage and is easy to navigate for a 1st timer
Cons: *Biggest con was inconsistency in design for specific skill level ... some lengths were designed for intermediate level players, some advanced, some gold. As an example, the first hole is a Par 4, 420' hole ... hole 11 is a tough Par 3, 389' foot hole. There were several easy "Sign Par" 4's and 5's and many tough Par 3's.
*As noted, the first 9 holes are fairly wide open, repetitive and often long holes with minimal fairway definition ... kind of boring.
*Not much variety in shots required. I was travelling and played with 4 discs (2 drivers, midrange, putter) and likely would have used the same 4 discs if I'd had a full bag
*Teepads are too short to allow for run up, especially on long holes
*Easy to lose a disc if you get off the fairway
*Lots of water, but it's not really in play unless you throw a terrible shot --- lack of risk/reward holes in general on this course
Other Thoughts: I played this course on a beautiful May day with light to moderate wind. I really enjoyed the natural setting in a very nice municipal park.

This would be a good practice course given the length, but not a great tournament course as the hole lengths don't seem to be designed around any particular skill level and there is a single set of pads. It would be long for beginners and rather boring for advanced level.

Assuming it was designed as a blue/advanced level course because of the several 350'+ Par 3 holes, most of the par 4's and par 5's are classic "tweener" holes in the the sense of being too short and would see little scoring variety. Instead of having tough and challenging multi-shot holes, the 4's and 5's were a drive + a wide open, easy upshot to the basket (boring) that don't provide any feeling of achievement or challenge. Many of the par 3's were a really tough birdie unless you can throw 370' into a headwind. It's also lacking variety in having shorter, tricky holes that require midrange or putter off the tee (only one hole as i remember).

If there were a 3.25 I'd give it that, could easily be a 4 with some distance tweaking.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Wide Open with a few Technical Holes

5+    1/15/2011   1/19/2011
Review By: j0atz
Played: 35  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great beginner course, not a lot of obstacles on the front 9. A lot of "air it out" shots as well as a lot of hyzer routes. There are also a few anhyzer routes as well (mostly throughout the back 9). Its a huge park right in the middle of a huge subdivision of homes. I have played here a lot and don't usually have to sit around waiting for other golfers.

Parking: Parking lot right in front of the first hole. Usually easy to park, sometimes in the summer it is a bit harder because of all the soccer games/practice.

Navigation: Very easy to navigate, most holes are within view after the previous basket. All tee signs are intact and accurate(for the most part)

General Layout: Fairly long course, front 9 is mostly wide open. Most shots on the front 9 can just be aired out or hyzered (for right handers).

Teepads: All concrete, all intact and in good condition.

Shot Variation (right handers): Mostly "air it out" and hyzer routes. A few anni routes. Well balanced for beginners.

Course Maintenance: The fairways are VERY well kept. During the summer the fairways are really obvious on some of the longer holes because of the tall grass around which adds to the challenge. There are a few garbage cans around.
Cons: More garbage cans would be nice. I have noticed that they have started hanging trash bags from the tee signs, this helps a bit.

Teepads could be a bit longer for some of the AIR IT OUT holes.

During the summer, you have definately have to dodge soccer players on hole 1 and 7. Although, this isn't that big of a deal really.
Other Thoughts: Only reason I marked it a 3.0 is because I don't think more experienced players would enjoy this course AS MUCH as other courses that this area has to offer.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 NICE AND LOCAL

5+    8/10/2010   8/25/2010
Review By: stedily420
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is very well maintained. Always mowed and clean. At least all the times ive been and thats been alot. Nice wide open long shots with not alot of interference from trees. Long drive players will LOVE this course. Its so open that it plays well at night just stay out of the creek.
Cons: It is very long and there are no trees so there is no shade. You may have to watch out for other park users it can be very active on the weekends. It takes a while to play so if you are looking for a quick round this aint it.
Other Thoughts: Bring water!! Watch out for 17 it is a disc eater, I have lost 3 or 4 there!! Watch out for snakes!! Watch out for soccer players!!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Long with character

2-4    5/28/2010   6/19/2010
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 212  Reviewed: 164  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/6/2013
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Nice baskets and concrete tee pads
-Great terrain: open but with lots of trees
-Distance is a big factor, lots of long holes
-Creeks and trees make great obstacles
-Easy navigation
-Some variety in left v. right but generally favors RH
-I like the course flow and the feel of the park in general
Cons: -Multi use park, pedestrians and soccer fields can get in the way
-Poison ivy in the rough
-The rough can be pretty rough, especially near the creek
-Hole 17 is a disc eater!
-A couple holes are just wide open and really long (4,5), kind of cheesy especially since they are back to back
-No amenities
-Those wide open holes can get pretty frustrating on a windy DFW day
Other Thoughts: I really like the look and feel of this park. It just feels like a great place to play DG. I like that the fairways are mostly open but there are heavy tree-lines on most fairways and spotted trees throughout as well. This means a variety of different lines to the basket and just enough technical challenge. That said, many holes start to feel repetitive.

Would be nice to see the park a little bit cleaner. More trash cans and restrooms would be awesome. There was a porto-john the last time I was there but it was tipped over. It would also be cool to see some trees or bushes planted on holes 3-5 since they are pretty much just wide open distance shots.

The navigation is pretty easy but make sure you follow the path around the corner after 5, follow the trees to the left after 7, cross the creek after 10 and cross back over after 14.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Big arm course

2-4    3/13/2010   3/21/2010
Review By: Marty McFly
Played: 59  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 12.7 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: *Disclaimer* and a NON biased review. Well first off let me say as a guy who has played much nicer courses this course does just NOT add up to others in Texas. I'm sure the locals love it along with newer players but the course is lacking in several areas. For the current rating it does not equal what you get or courses rated the same.

Now for the good stuff - It does have some great tee pads(Could be short compared to other courses) and signs with helpful info. Each hole is easy to bounce around to the next if it is your first time.

Hole 6 is just around the corner. Follow the tree line.

The back 9 is the best part by far and was really designed well with the layout. The baskets are great and in nice shape and in great placement in sharing the park. Great trees on the back side and it is a open course for the BIG arms. It is a step back from the technical courses I have grown to love however it is just enough difficulty on the back side to keep you in check.

If the front 9 was as good as the back the course would greatness!

This course would be a fine course to play if passing by, and if you live in the area I think you should check it out rather than the multitude of 9 holers in the area. If you live close by this course is also worth the time to play over and over. It's not that the course sucks, it's just that it does not blow me away.

Hole 17 is fun as others mentioned and I was excited to play it. It will keep you in check and it's great that they have several holes with water in play. 18 is a fantastic finishing hole and would set up nice for some tourneys here.

The locals are very friendly and give the course guides a shout. They were great to me and tried to play along but could not find the time.

For a Saturday and decent weather the course was not busy at all.
Cons: Holes 1,4, and 5 are wide open and really boring. Rated high pars for newer players but these are easy with a sweet roller or a decent drive. A 3 can be done, so the par rating is moot. Those holes just seem so out of place and take away from the course in a bad way. I understand they wanted it to be 18 holes but back to back bomb drives is not a tournament course.

It is very dirty and field with trash all over the park. Even though trash cans are plentiful.

The wind could kill you here and make your round miserable.

No restrooms. (Wallmart is close by)

A soccer game was going on by hole 1 and was impossible to play. Also hole 7 is right on a soccer field. So pray that soccer games are over when you play or be forced to skip.

Also because of the soccer game I had to park far out by the houses but I guess this is not typical. Others mentioned ample parking so timing is everything.
Other Thoughts: Where is Arcadia #1? What did I miss?

When added up the cons and pros are a tie for me but in the end you should still play this course.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 pretty good

5+    3/10/2010   3/11/2010
Review By: Riverhouse82
Played: 50  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 10.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good mix of long and short. challenges both left and right handers. Fair mix of wooded and open shots. Easy to follow course layout. decent signs. Someone is actually mowing fairways! nice..
Cons: par 5's are a joke. Eagle almost every time. I am a pro level player on this course!!! My biggest peeve is that the water problem is a bother after a rain for quit some time, bad drainage in a creek is all to much sometimes. Also with the wind, this course csn be a nightmare.
Other Thoughts: Overall I like it alot. It is MAINTAINED, wich is what truly seperates good courses from bad ones. If you travel and play real pro courses you would probably already know this. BE READY IF IT IS WINDY! Don't forget to warm up if you want to throw under par with that wind.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Grip it and Rip it

1    9/25/2009   9/26/2009
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 13.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a good course to practice your distance shots, there are a bunch out here and there arent many obsticles that get in the way. You can throw almost any shot that you want out here due to it being open, which kind of makes it boring to me. There is no creative shots due to this but you can try new stuff out and not worry about getting discouraged by not hitting your lines. There are great concrete tee pads and the best baskets ever (discatchers)! There are a couple of tunnel shots that make you be accurate and makes things a little interesting but they are few and far between.
Cons: Not much shade due to it being pretty open. The 2 long holes(2&3) are just wide open "soccer field" shots with no challenge other then the distance. The grass is not mowed except for small 4 foot fairways. Most tee signs were damaged but navigation wasnt a big issue. There are many areas on this course that are small swamps an Im sure they get worse. This with the tall grass makes for many snakes around so watch out. There is NO elevation at all. Its a ways back to your car once you leave so bring lots of cold water for the hike.
Other Thoughts: I think that this course is overrated by my standards. There were no "wow" holes and nothng that really made me think "this is a great hole." Kind o remindse of Tom Bass in Houston. Not bad to mix this in with North Park around the corner and make for 2 fun rounds.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.