Fort Worth, TX 
Arcadia Park #2 Share
Uploaded By: Donovan Hole #6
3 / 377ft.   3 / 358ft.   3 / 375ft.   3 / 356ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee: Woods & creek both run along the right curve to the basket. The creek sticks out a little in front of you. It's wide and deep enough to make many aim left to avoid it. There is open creek only 15' behinf the basket.



Reviews: 57
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Great long course!

2-4    7/28/2013   7/31/2013
Review By: cbrd
Played: 20  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 1.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - This course is extremely well maintained.
- The hole layout is good and has a decent amount of variance.
- The course is laid out intuitively.
Cons: - Not really a lot negative about this course.
- It wouldn't hurt my feelings if occasionally they changed the pin location, but beggars can't be choosers.
Other Thoughts: This is an absolute must play in DFW!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Arcadia

5+    3/5/2012   8/5/2012
Review By: BigGAC1
Played: 34  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 5.2 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Well groomed and good signage. Has some good opportunities to really grip it and rip it.
Cons: Flatter than Kansas. Also has about the same # of trees as Kansas. But the trees that are there are well used.
Other Thoughts: Overall a good course, beginner friendly while still offering a good amount of difficulty and challenge to more advanced players.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Enjoyable

2-4    2/23/2012   2/25/2012
Review By: Smickie
Played: 21  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.5 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Usually not too crowded, people here have pretty good etiquette as well.
2. Decent variety as far as distance and obstacles go.
3. Pretty course! The creek is usually running, and wind isn't really an issue except on 3-5.
4. Course is marked well, pretty easy to navigate.
5. Like Aggiegreg said, it's a great course to bring your dog. Pretty open, and lots of water for them to swim in.
6. Tee pads and baskets are in great shape.
Cons: 1. Too easy at times. They should move the pins every now and then.
2. Some holes are really close to the sidewalk, so you may have to wait before teeing off sometimes.
Other Thoughts: Well rounded course, definitely worth playing. I think they should put out some benches at some of the holes to rest on during the summer when it's 110 outside. Will definitely keep coming back!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great Home Course

5+    1/19/2012   1/19/2012
Review By: aggiegreg
Played: 33  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 3.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -18 holes
-very nice tee pads and baskets
-requires a variety of shots
-Nice layout with easy to navigate course
-Signed very well
-well traveled
-great place to bring your dog
Cons: -mostly flat
-can be busy... especially with large groups
-soccer players and observers can get in the way
-not that difficult
Other Thoughts: This is the closest course to my house. Great home course that you can play a lot. Not the greatest course in the wind due the open nature of the course. Met some good people at this course that were very friendly. This course is playable after the rain, dont have to worry that much about mud. I am always out at the course so look for me.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Pleasantly Surprised

1    11/21/2011   11/21/2011
Review By: SomeChump
Played: 33  Reviewed: 33
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Hard to lose a disc (barring the pond on 17)
Good variation in hole length
Excellent signage, quality concrete on pads, and baskets in excellent condition
Excellent use of available terrain
One of the best courses North of Fort Worth
Grass well-cared for
Easy to navigate (when in doubt, look for worn path in grass)
Cons: Tee pads too short
Hole lengths not well thought out. For example, a big arm might only have a 120 foot approach and a noodle arm will have a 150 foot approach, but both will have a relatively easy 3, and neither is ever going to get a 2.
Totally and completely flat, but welcome to Texas.
Other Thoughts: I was pleasantly surprised at this course. After reading the reviews, I wasn't expecting much. Instead, I found several really fun holes. The first few holes are awfully wide open (and long). When combined with no elevation change (and no wind like the day I played), there isn't much challenge other than huck and throw. Some of the later holes, however, require throwing challenging lines to score a birdie. I was disappointed to shoot a 55 after missing 3 or 4 putts I should have hit (922 rating).

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Beginner's Dream

1    9/22/2011   9/22/2011
Review By: Stiptomania
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: With the exception of the 11/15 controversy, excellent layout.
Holes are short enough for beginners.
Not usually overcrowded.
Across the street from my house. :P
Cons: Soccer players go home. This is America. :D
Can hardly ever play 7 because of soccer practice.
17 keeps eating my discs.
Watch out for the Headless Horseman after dark.
Other Thoughts: My kids and I really enjoy this course. With a handicap, even the worst of us can enjoy a sense of accomplishment.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Arcadia #2

5+    6/21/2011   6/21/2011
Review By: Doupie620
Played: 12  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very Open most of the time...
Little water to deal with
Par 4's and 6's add variety
Cons: Wind can be troublesome
Some holes have soccer games going on and when you smack a kid with a disc, people get angry for some reason.
Hole #17
Since it is a flood plain...rainy days can be...um...unique
Poison Ivy was invented here.
Other Thoughts: Like the course...come play it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Damp, but good

1    11/6/2010   11/8/2010
Review By: sheamous
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 7.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well maintained, mowed fairways/greens, nice signage, tucked away in a nice neighborhood, technical as well as long holes to open up on, and set in a nice park. The creek that runs through the course is used well.
Cons: It's a low lying area, so it is frequently wet and has voluntary ponds that pop up in some areas on the back nine. Though the Tee-pads are are well made and nicely placed they are really short, but most are in this area. The rough is really high, be prepared to have wet socks and pants. The creek that runs through the course get wide and deep in a few spots that are in places which are perfect for gobbling up discs. Lots of park goers on the weekend, so go early to beat the soccer teams, joggers, and dog walkers. The walking paths and soccer fields are all throughout the course and almost part of the fairways.
Other Thoughts: I really liked this course and I would say the quality of the course was top notch. I would definitely put it on your wish list. Just go early!!! I would suggest getting there at 8:00 - 9:00 am

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A good Walk on a Long Course

5+    7/10/2010   7/16/2010
Review By: goodolrebel
Played: 30  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/23/2010
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I like this course, it's the first course I played(plus I only live 4 blocks away) I like it because it's open and forgiving on bad throws (except 17 but you can pay the kids 5 bucks and they'll get your disk back). The lay out of the course follows the creek most of the time. I've never had a problem with mud but it will get real boggy after a good rain. It's a long course and you get a good work out with the lengths of the course.
Cons: The Soccer fields on #1 & #7. I throw anyway and just yell WATCHELA! if miss throw. I wish it had more elevation changes but it is in a Flood Plane so your already at the bottom.
Other Thoughts: I found a Bike in the creek looking for a Disk the last time I played. Most of the times on the weekend a couple of boys will sell you disks they've got out of #17. It was fun playing it during the Blizzard of 2010 This is only my second review let me know on what I can improve on with my reviews

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Soccer player target practice

5+    3/11/2010   3/15/2010
Review By: chingy414
Played: 44  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 12.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Arcadia is a huge park with a good variety of shots. This course is a perfect mix of both long and short holes. You will use most of the discs in your bag on this course. There are some wide open shots, and also some shots that require some finesse. If you are a roller thrower, Arcadia is perfect for you. There are a couple of good ace run holes, but you have to earn them. There are nice baskets, concrete teepads, and sinage. You wont need a guide on this course, it is very easy to follow. It also is not nearly as crowded as it seems like it should be. Arcadia is also a very good course to play after alot of rain. There are a few holes that get a little sloppy, but the majority of it stays pretty dry. So when Bear Creek Park is a sloppy mess, head on over to Arcadia.
Cons: Soccer, soccer, soccer!!!!!! This is a multi use park, but there is no mutual respect going on. It seems no matter where you are, they have to be right in front of you. This can get very frustrating. Arcadia park is also one of the worst courses to play on a windy day. Those long open holes can be a mother. There is also a creek that comes into play on a couple of holes, but if you aren't opposed to swimming, they are pretty easy to get back. Some people might consider the length of this course to be a con. It is a bit of a hike, so bring a granola bar, you're gonna need it.
Other Thoughts: Overall, Arcadia is a really fun course. Arcadia is the closest course to my house, so I play there regularly. Really worth checking out if you are in the area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.