Disc Golf Center
Fort Worth, TX 
Arcadia Park #2 Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #6 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 377ft.   3 / 358ft.   3 / 375ft.   3 / 356ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee Sign



Reviews: 57
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Generous Course

2-4    4/16/2014   4/27/2014
Review By: Slimrn
Played: 18  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 0.7 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great variety of distance on this course. I feel like the pars listed on the signage is very generous. A few 4s and 5s that were 3s and 4s for me, and all I really have is a big arm. If you can throw far here, you will get an eagle. There are some ace runs as well (7 to name one) which is always fun. The course is pretty in Spring!
Cons: -A fair amount of water, which in this part of FW is home to a LOT of poisonous snakes- seriously be careful. On 17 (Rainbow pool) my wife saw a 5ft cottonmouth. Play it safe folks!

-If you don't have a big arm you may not like this course, but they do give you the benefit of the doubt with the pars.
Other Thoughts: I think that this is definitely worth playing if you live in DFW.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great beginner/intermediate course

5+    10/18/2013   10/18/2013
Review By: nbates
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very good mix of easy and difficult holes. Many are wide open for maximum distance, while a few require tight tunnel shots. Baskets and tees are in great shape.
Cons: During the summer evenings, many parents and their children confiscate holes #5 and #7 for soccer practice. On #5 it is easy to tee from a closer area and drop it to a part 3 or 4, but #7 it can be dangerous to throw due to the presence of children everywhere.

Holes #5 and #10 are missing signs. #10 tee box showing signs of wear.
Other Thoughts: Not much shade available for most holes, so prepare for the sun and heat.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A good time

1    6/14/2012   6/14/2012
Review By: Highball
Played: 13  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.3 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Well laid out course. Great tee pads and baskets. Trees make you work and the water keeps you on your toes. Of the few courses in Texas that I have played so far this is the best one. Each hole has a great sign with a little map that is correct with the correct footage to the basket. Huge marks for that!!!
Cons: The course map here on this web site is correct but the score card for it is ALL HORSED UP! bad numbers on both par and footage! It also says that this is Arcada Park #2 but the park sign says "Arcada Park 1"...You have to be careful of the walkers and bikers in the park. Not too good to peg someone!
Other Thoughts: I loved this course!
Please don't give me a bad review yet. I'm on vacation and will update it when I get home.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Arcadia Park #2

1    5/18/2012   5/18/2012
Review By: tkmcdougal
Played: 153  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 6.6 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - 18 holes
- concrete teepads and DISCatcher baskets
- really easy to navigate
- great course to work on your game without getting frustrated due to the lack of obsticales
-practice basket is back
- there is some good turn around points if you get to hot during the summer. You could play the first 6 then come back. or play to hole 10 and jump to 15.
Cons: -no bathrooms
-soccer fields are usually being used on holes 1 and 7. The parents like to sit in the fairways
- you may have to wait on a few holes due to the walkers.
Other Thoughts: This is a really fun course in a nice neighborhood that every skill level player can work on their game weather they need to work on drives, flicks, upshots, or if they need to practice in windy conditions.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Variety

1    12/9/2011   12/13/2011
Review By: Paulie
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 3.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 Baskets
Concrete tee pads
Good signs
Nice park in a nice area
Variety of shots
Garbage cans
Cons: None really. Can't fault it for lack of elevation changes. That's just how it is in that part of the Metroplex.
I recall one tee where you have to throw over a walking path, but even with a few walkers out, it wasn't an issue.
Other Thoughts: DGCR map works well.
Played after recent rains and it wasn't overly muddy or waterlogged.
Creeks were flowing and looked nice.
Most water is friendly to disc retrieval and not too much of a hazard anyway.
There are long air it out shots and tech shots through the trees with multiple routes.

There was a nice lady picking up trash in the wooded areas. She gave my neighbor an unmarked Wraith she found while cleaning up.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good All Around Course

5+    11/29/2011   12/3/2011
Review By: Kuel
Played: 19  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good course for a beginning player. Most errantly thrown disc are easily found except for hole 17. Several holes are set up to encourage a well shaped and/or placed drive while not penalizing a player too much for not hitting it exactly right. Tees well marked.
Cons: Tee pads are too short. This is especially a problem on 18 where the area around the tee pad is surrounded by exposed roots and mud if it's rained recently. Poison Ivy is present but not overwhelming so.
Other Thoughts: Try and avoid peak park times and soccer practice.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    7/3/2010   7/3/2010
Review By: txsarge
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good T-pad's
Course is nice and open
Park Friendly
Clean / unless it rains a lot
Signs are nice and informative
Cons: Watch for the snakes after a nice rain
a lot of mud around the T-pads / but can't always be perfect.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 So far, so good

1    3/22/2010   3/22/2010
Review By: emook
Played: 46  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I loved this course. First time to play it was interesting. Very easy to navigate. The baskets, as well as the tees are very well marked and kept nice. Front 9 gives you the chances to really see how far you can drive. Not a whole lot of obstacles and quite long holes. Back 9 is great, shorter, more challenging. Pretty fast games, not crowded at all.
Cons: The tees aren't long enough (for me anyway) I found myself teeing off next to them for most holes. I find their pars on each hole are too much too. Seemed to be par per 100ft. More advanced players I recommend playing 1 under each hole.
Other Thoughts: All in all great course I feel. I would say with everything being marked so well, if you're looking for a good night game this is the course.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Mixed bag

1    7/8/2009   7/8/2009
Review By: shawn_l
Played: 29  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 11/5/2010
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course gets high marks in every category. To me, a great DG course should not be all technical or all bombing runs, but mix them both by combining distance, terrain and vegetation use.

For those who say this course isn't technical, there are some tunnel shots, some narrow fairways and... hey, there is a technique to making a par of 3 on holes over 450 feet.

Arcadia #2 does this very, very well! Let's start at the top:

Parking is great and close. You can park in the park's lot immediately at #1 tee pad, or you can park along the long street on the other side by #8. #1 goes alongside a soccer field, so you have plenty of flat, open space to warm up.

The grass is VERY well cared for, and the thickest in the field was 3-4 inches, with a super short mow down the center of each fairway and hole to hole. I took the map from this site with me but did not need it once.

The teepads are concrete. The baskets are in excellent shape, and the trees, when in play, are pruned specifically for the hole. When you get to #2, you'll see what I mean.

There is shade, but few holes play in the trees. You can step off the holes to rest under trees almost anywhere on the course.

The flow of the course is easy to follow, with #1 starting at the parking lot, and #18 finishing just on the other side of the lot.

The course is LONG, make no mistake. There are a few holes that are pretty uninspiring bombing runs, but arm fatigue and shooting par 3 on 400+ ft holes are part of the game too, right?

Most of the holes play around, behind, or next to trees, rather than through them. Many holes are deceptively tough, with the well mown grass making the hole look wide open, but the trees are fairly close on each side.

This is a challenge to play. You'd best bring your arm, because at almost 7000 feet, your finesse shots will come after a drive, not off the tee.

The length of this course doesn't mean that it's all boom and no touch. You need control of your shots, and a wide selection of left, right, sharp angles, and straight finishes to complete Arcadia #2.

I highly recommend this course. I hope the Dallas locals appreciate tall, straight trees with room to shoot under them, green grass even in the 100 degree summer, and a disc golf course that's so well planned and so well maintained. It's a huge notch up, and made for a happy trip through Fort Worth!
Cons: I did not see any water fountains or bathrooms. However, there's a Wal Mart very close by.

There's poison ivy out, but you'd have to pooch your shots up pretty bad to get over into it. I'm highly reactive and didn't get so much as an itch.
Other Thoughts: The "disc eater" holes didn't seem like that big a deal to me, but being LHBH helped that a lot. #15 and 17 do run along a creek, but it's less than waist deep.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  Very nice course

2-4    5/18/2009   6/23/2009
Review By: fnewendaiku
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great course to bring the beginner (which I am at this time of writing). It is quite open for the most part, but there are some more challenging shots in the latter part of the course. Definitely get some work on throwing with the wind.
Cons: I lost a disc here on hole 17. The creek has played a big challenge for me. Holes 1, 7, and 18 are heavily used by park goers. Some of the tees were hard to find, but you just really should follow the walking path.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.