Disc Golf Store
Fort Worth, TX 
Arcadia Park #2 Share
Uploaded By: Donovan Hole #7
3 / 318ft.   3 / 296ft.   3 / 309ft.   3 / 296ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee: The light tree line is directly between you and the goal at the end.



Reviews: 57
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 The course suits my style

1    6/7/2009   6/8/2009
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 188  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 7.1 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Nice concrete tees (though might be a tad short for some players) and double chain Discatcher Pro baskets. The course is situated in a beautiful neighborhood park. There are a lot of long holes on this course and the majority of fairways are pretty open, though most have some trees with which to contend. This is pretty close to my ideal course design: long holes, not too open, not too narrow. The parks department does close cut mowing from the tees down the fairways and then from one basket to the next tee; that was awesome for navigation as I never once worried about getting lost my first time on the course.
Cons:
Soccer fields and playgrounds are located close, sometimes too close, to the fairways and non-ideal throws could endanger non-disc golfers. The course starts out pretty bland with holes #1 and #3-5 all pretty boring holes with virtually no challenge but distance. Some tee signs have been vandalized and locals have Sharpied on suitable replacement info, although some of the distances are wrong. Hole #9 plays close to the playground and has some low lying water, I imagine it's a swamp after it rains. Lots of poison ivy if you stray from the fairways. The transition from #5 to #6 is a long walk: follow the sidewalk. I didn't see any restroom facilities
Other Thoughts:
As I found out discs are very easily lost if you don't land 'em in the fairway. I lost three discs (on #3, #15, and #17) which soured and otherwise entertaining round. I would definitely play this course as it suits my game well. Plus I want another crack at it since in my first round I played awful! No water fountains that I saw, but Wal-Mart is just up the street.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 great park course

2-4    1/24/2009   5/24/2009
Review By: drgnslyr221
Played: 25  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 10.8 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Well laid out with plenty of great holes.Tee pads are in great shape.You never feel like any of the holes where just placed between the last basket and the next tee.All the holes are well thought out.
Cons: Lot of park traffic.There can be soccer practice so you might have to skip a couple of holes.
Not a whole lot of elevation change.
Other Thoughts: Definitively a top notch course

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Close To Home

5+    5/10/2009   5/11/2009
Review By: turnerco
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/2/2009
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I live up the hill from this course. I am a beginner to disc gofl and this honestly is the only course I have played. To me the course is a lot of fun, a combo of long and shorter holes. #17 and the creek is disc magnetic, claiming several disks.

I really enjoy the course, many of the holes have broad "fairways" but some of course are more contrained and challenging. For me again we are beginners, this is a good course and our scores are improving.
Cons: You do have to watch out for kids playing sports, there does not seem to be much awareness of the disc golf course with some of those folks. They also need trash cans spaced on the course, which there are really none. Recently it seems vandals have pulled up some of the course markers and even two of the goals (which were replaced).
Other Thoughts: For cold beverages just drive up to the Wal Mart Neighborhood Market at Bassswood and Park Vista which is but a few blocks from the first tee.

Clear vistas of the sky so you can watch out for incoming storms if need be.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Arcadia #2

2-4    3/21/2009   3/22/2009
Review By: fly_hyzer
Played: 41  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 12.7 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Long holes, plenty of wide open space to find your line. Course is fairly easy to navigate and has a few benches along the way to take a break as needed. Found that the course is, for the most part, very accepting to a RHBH thrower with only a couple holes that limit your line to the basket but can be easily negotiated with a little accuracy. This course can really be a "bear" though, played two rounds on the 2nd day of spring (awsome weather) and my arm was jello by hole 9 of the 2nd round. I consider this to be a "pro" though and not a "con" mainly because I found this to be a positive difference with respect to other courses in the vicinity. So if you want wide open fairways, with few flight restrictions other than that of your own strength and/or stamina check out this course, just probably not on any sunny day over 95 degrees or so...Oh yeah, I did forget to include that there are plenty of short holes (290-350'), which are all very birdie-able. This course offers variety within the confines of its conformity...if that makes any sense. I guess that is to say that, although the terrain and general course "look" never changes, the course does well to offer a variety of shots from hole-to-hole.
Cons: Short tee pads are my biggest complaint! I could personally use and extra 5' on the end of the pads, but this was workable since on most boxes you can start well behind the pad, a few though are uneven with the ground behind so the run up is difficult (broken ankles or toes....) Oh yeah, a water fountain would be nice also....but now I'm just being picky.
Other Thoughts: Keep an eye out for walkers on the path, sitters in the grass, and Mormons who'll chat you up and cause you to lose focus on your game after 30 minutes of religious discussion/debate...nice guys, but damn they could talk.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Arcadia

1    3/17/2009   3/17/2009
Review By: sgb118
Played: 24  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 9.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: What a nice park! Great tee pads and almost no waiting to tee. The course provides a good variety of shots; you get your open shots and your wooded shots, as well as long bombs and short/accurate throws. The creek through the park was gorgeous, and it doesn't seem like much of a disc eater. I wouldn'tt throw them in on purpose though, especially on #17... We always enjoy the walk, so the length of the course was a plus (It is definately a large course). Very friendly locals, and we flew through our round. Very fun course, and we plan to play it again. Great course if you are just starting, or if you've been at it for a while.
Cons: The park is really crowded, and the sidewalk is near the fairway pretty often, so there is high potential for hitting someone. We didn't have to wait too long for other park-goers, but there was waiting involved. The signs could use some work. Not necessarily new signs, but some have just been written on with sharpies on a few holes. Open field shots are pretty simple. MORE TRASH CANS: the beauty of the park was often hurt if not ruined by all of the garbage on the ground and in the creek. Usually I don't even take restrooms into account, only this time my girlfriend needed one, but there are none to be found.
Other Thoughts: Normally I would give this a lower score because of the garbage issue, but it was too good a course to penalize for that, especially since it seemed like a lot washed down the creek in the last week of rain. Very fun round of DG, and I plan to play it again, and even share it with friends. Enjoy it if you can make it out there, it is worth the time if you are in the DFW area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/15/2009   3/15/2009
Review By: superh
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.4 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: this course is long and its open with a creek. after a few days rain its wet not muddy like other course's. and you never have to wait to tee off, everone moves quick.
Cons: the tee's are to high, need to add dirt or fibar around tee box. ive heard a few people say this also.
Other Thoughts: very good course in my eyes for first tymers,

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Hole Breakdown

5+    2/15/2009   2/24/2009
Review By: FWgrant
Played: 82  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.8 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Variety of shots, clean park, new baskets, not as busy as some other DFW parks
Cons: A first timer might have trouble finding some of the tee boxes on a few of the holes. 2-3, 5-6, 7-8, 10-11, and 14-15 all require a little walking in between but anyone who plays often can guess or assume where it will be. There used to be good signs posted at each hole, some of them have worn off though.
Other Thoughts: 1-Open shot, sometimes crowded from soccer practices. Posted par 4 is silly for a 400 foot open shot.

2-Easy pickup if you hyzer (RHBH) or can shoot straight through the tunnel

3-Shoot nice and straight 300 ft or use the open field to the right for some breathing room.

4-500+ft but has a posted par 5. Pick your shot, you're in an open field.

5-600+ft and another par 5. At 500 ft you have a patch of trees that can get in the way.

6-RHBH needs an anhyzer shot but I prefer to forearm it. You need to get around the patch of trees/drain/creek around the 225 ft mark if you want to par.

7. The fairway has a line of trees to the left, the shot is straight, you can use the soccer field to the right for some leeway on your drive, easy pick up for par.

8. You can hyzer through a narrow lane to the right of the tree in the middle of the fairway or you can anhyzer to the left, or my choice is to sidearm the 300 ft to the basket and hopefully pick up the bird.

9. I recommend shooting a RHBH straight toward the line of trees on the fairway. Your disc needs to start finishing left as it approaches that line and you will be set up for an relatively easy birdie on a posted par 4.

10-Forearm is your best bet here, disc needs to finish right into the clearing for an easy par pick up.

11-Need a good drive here to pick up the par. There is a large clump of trees to the right that can get you in trouble.

12. You can sidearm around (my choice) the large tree sitting in the fairway or you can shoot very accurately through a small tunnel to the right of the tree.

13-Recommended RHBH, drive hard on the right side of the fairway, your disc should be finishing low to the ground to get under the trees into putting range for a birdie try, or drop in par.

14-Short Tunnel shot, sad to say I rarely par this. You can always lay up for an easy par but who wants to do that? Just shoot in straight, you dont need the power or distance here, it's all about accuracy.

15-I like to RHBH a hyzer straight down the fairway and land to the left of the clump of bushes that guard the pin. You can easily sidearm around these shrubs for an easy par.

16-I like to have a hard forearm shot here that finishes back on the straight path. From here you can approach about 200 ft to the basket with a normal backhand shot.

17-Woe is your disc if you aren't careful. I prefer to power drive an understable disc down the fairway, if you turn it over you have nothing to worry about. Hint-don't throw your Excalibur high and with a hyzer, you will have to hope it clears the creek.

18-Elevation will cut your drive a little short but this shot is open and makes for an easy par pick up to finish the game

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 1st time on a Mature Course...

8/6/2008   8/6/2008
Review By: Joshua1972
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 6.5 Years
4 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Wide open on a good portion of the holes making it friendly to a beginner like me. Also some hole that were quite challenging even for the couple of veterns I played with. Overall a good course that has a good mix of easy and difficult holes.
Cons: A few of the holes had long distances between the basket and the next tee box...

4 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Long and Open

5+    5/25/2008   7/18/2008
Review By: cc0049
Played: 106  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 11.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/21/2009
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a good course for getting to throw some long drives. Distances on the holes vary from 250 to 670 feet. The fairways are well defined and very fair. The course is well maintained and the grass is usually cut low. The city cuts certain portions of the fairway lower than others to give the course more of a golf feel. There is a practice basket for putting before your round (edit: the basket for hole 2 was stolen and the practice basket was used to replace it...so no more practice basket for now). The creek by 15, 16, 17, and 18 makes a formidable obstacle...17 especially claims many discs. Hole 16 is the most challenging hole out there in my opinion. Great place to work on playing in the wind as it is often very windy here. This course is really good for working on many different aspects of your game. Many holes here offer a variety of ways to get to the pin leaving you with lots of options. You can work on forehands, backhands, thumbers, rollers, you name it. There are not a lot of obstacles to have to maneuver around, but the distances on most holes will test your driving, upshots, and putting. Many of the nearby courses are wooded and more technical than Arcadia, so this is a nice change of pace and really makes you work on your long range game. This course is usually not too crowded with other players making for a nice flow of play. The city finally put out some trash cans. The baskets here are top notch...still very new and have the 24 chains with the big yellow bands at the top making them easy to spot. Concrete tee pads. Great signs on the teebox that give you pretty accurate distances, par, and pin position...although several signs are missing due to vandals. There is lots of room to warm up before your round as long as no one is using the soccer field by hole one. There is also a nice gazebo by hole one for meeting up with others before your round and grabbing some shade.
Cons: The course is a part of a park that has a lot going on and has a walking trail that winds throughout it, so you have to be wary of pedestrians and kids playing. Most holes are very open, so don't expect much of a challenge in the way of obstacles. Holes 1, 7, and 18 play right beside a soccer course that is almost always in use from around 4:30 till dark. There are only a few holes with trees in the fairway and one shorter hole that is down a corridor with a line of trees on both sides. There is not much shade on hot summer days and not much to block the wind. No elevation changes. No running water or restrooms. The parking lot is also too small for all that goes on in the park. You can also park along the road if you want to start somewhere other than hole 1 and know your way around the neighborhood. The water hazards are not fun to have to mess with if you go in. You definitely want to stay on the fairway here because there are a lot of thorns, briars, and poisonous plant in the trees and brush that line the fairways. There are some tough navigation issues for first timers without a map. To go from hole 5 to hole 6 you have to follow the sidewalk for a ways around the corner. To go from 7-8 you have to follow the sidewalk and then watch for the tee box to your right. Going from 10-11 you skip the first tee box you see and cross the bridge to 11's box. A map would definitely be helpful for your first time out. There are concrete tee pads, which is a major plus, but they are really too short for a decent run up on a course that has a lot of long holes. Unfortunately, a lot of the tee signs are missing. While this is a challenging course and a good practice course, there are not a lot of truly fun, enjoyable holes here.
Other Thoughts: Playing sidewalk and beyond as OB adds a little bit more challenge to this already tough course. I'd enjoy this course even more if there were alternate pin positions and alternate tee boxes. I play this course a lot because it is close to work. I didn't like it too much the first couple of times that I played it, but it has grown on me a lot. It is a challenging course. If it is your first time out and you are having trouble finding the next hole; a good rule of thumb is to follow the sidewalk. North Park in Haltom City is about 10 minutes away.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 

6/29/2008   6/29/2008
Review By: slacker
Played: 37  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 21.7 Years
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Great course for rainy day concrete tees and not alot of mud around baskets. Also has mowed path between baskets and tees that make it easy to find your way.
Cons: most of the park needs to be mowed more often and several signs missing.
Other Thoughts: Markers on baskets showing direction of next tee could be helpfull.

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.