Fort Worth, TX 
Arcadia Park #2 Share
Uploaded By: Donovan Hole #9
3 / 443ft.   3 / 371ft.   3 / 425ft.   4 / 425ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee: Teeing off this small bluff, the basket is down into a narrowing wood the ends up curving right eventually. This hole can get standing water after heavy rains.



Reviews: 57
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Enjoyable

2-4    2/23/2012   2/25/2012
Review By: Smickie
Played: 21  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Usually not too crowded, people here have pretty good etiquette as well.
2. Decent variety as far as distance and obstacles go.
3. Pretty course! The creek is usually running, and wind isn't really an issue except on 3-5.
4. Course is marked well, pretty easy to navigate.
5. Like Aggiegreg said, it's a great course to bring your dog. Pretty open, and lots of water for them to swim in.
6. Tee pads and baskets are in great shape.
Cons: 1. Too easy at times. They should move the pins every now and then.
2. Some holes are really close to the sidewalk, so you may have to wait before teeing off sometimes.
Other Thoughts: Well rounded course, definitely worth playing. I think they should put out some benches at some of the holes to rest on during the summer when it's 110 outside. Will definitely keep coming back!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great Home Course

5+    1/19/2012   1/19/2012
Review By: aggiegreg
Played: 33  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 3.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -18 holes
-very nice tee pads and baskets
-requires a variety of shots
-Nice layout with easy to navigate course
-Signed very well
-well traveled
-great place to bring your dog
Cons: -mostly flat
-can be busy... especially with large groups
-soccer players and observers can get in the way
-not that difficult
Other Thoughts: This is the closest course to my house. Great home course that you can play a lot. Not the greatest course in the wind due the open nature of the course. Met some good people at this course that were very friendly. This course is playable after the rain, dont have to worry that much about mud. I am always out at the course so look for me.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Variety

1    12/9/2011   12/13/2011
Review By: Paulie
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 3.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 Baskets
Concrete tee pads
Good signs
Nice park in a nice area
Variety of shots
Garbage cans
Cons: None really. Can't fault it for lack of elevation changes. That's just how it is in that part of the Metroplex.
I recall one tee where you have to throw over a walking path, but even with a few walkers out, it wasn't an issue.
Other Thoughts: DGCR map works well.
Played after recent rains and it wasn't overly muddy or waterlogged.
Creeks were flowing and looked nice.
Most water is friendly to disc retrieval and not too much of a hazard anyway.
There are long air it out shots and tech shots through the trees with multiple routes.

There was a nice lady picking up trash in the wooded areas. She gave my neighbor an unmarked Wraith she found while cleaning up.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good All Around Course

5+    11/29/2011   12/3/2011
Review By: Kuel
Played: 19  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good course for a beginning player. Most errantly thrown disc are easily found except for hole 17. Several holes are set up to encourage a well shaped and/or placed drive while not penalizing a player too much for not hitting it exactly right. Tees well marked.
Cons: Tee pads are too short. This is especially a problem on 18 where the area around the tee pad is surrounded by exposed roots and mud if it's rained recently. Poison Ivy is present but not overwhelming so.
Other Thoughts: Try and avoid peak park times and soccer practice.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Pleasantly Surprised

1    11/21/2011   11/21/2011
Review By: SomeChump
Played: 33  Reviewed: 33
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Hard to lose a disc (barring the pond on 17)
Good variation in hole length
Excellent signage, quality concrete on pads, and baskets in excellent condition
Excellent use of available terrain
One of the best courses North of Fort Worth
Grass well-cared for
Easy to navigate (when in doubt, look for worn path in grass)
Cons: Tee pads too short
Hole lengths not well thought out. For example, a big arm might only have a 120 foot approach and a noodle arm will have a 150 foot approach, but both will have a relatively easy 3, and neither is ever going to get a 2.
Totally and completely flat, but welcome to Texas.
Other Thoughts: I was pleasantly surprised at this course. After reading the reviews, I wasn't expecting much. Instead, I found several really fun holes. The first few holes are awfully wide open (and long). When combined with no elevation change (and no wind like the day I played), there isn't much challenge other than huck and throw. Some of the later holes, however, require throwing challenging lines to score a birdie. I was disappointed to shoot a 55 after missing 3 or 4 putts I should have hit (922 rating).

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Beginner's Dream

1    9/22/2011   9/22/2011
Review By: Stiptomania
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: With the exception of the 11/15 controversy, excellent layout.
Holes are short enough for beginners.
Not usually overcrowded.
Across the street from my house. :P
Cons: Soccer players go home. This is America. :D
Can hardly ever play 7 because of soccer practice.
17 keeps eating my discs.
Watch out for the Headless Horseman after dark.
Other Thoughts: My kids and I really enjoy this course. With a handicap, even the worst of us can enjoy a sense of accomplishment.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Arcadia #2

5+    6/21/2011   6/21/2011
Review By: Doupie620
Played: 12  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very Open most of the time...
Little water to deal with
Par 4's and 6's add variety
Cons: Wind can be troublesome
Some holes have soccer games going on and when you smack a kid with a disc, people get angry for some reason.
Hole #17
Since it is a flood plain...rainy days can be...um...unique
Poison Ivy was invented here.
Other Thoughts: Like the course...come play it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Long Average Course with Good Potential; Nice Park

1    5/16/2011   5/16/2011
Review By: jdawg24
Played: 92  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 16.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Located in a nice park with a natural setting that provides for a pleasant walk
*Long, multi-shot holes let you really air it out, and there are legitimate par 4 holes
*Concrete pads and Innova baskets
*Not crowded on a beautiful Sunday morning with perfect weather, but enough people playing that you could hook up with a group
*Mix of wooded and open terrain. As noted in the reviews, the more wooded Back 9 holes are much more interesting DG holes
*The course has good signage and is easy to navigate for a 1st timer
Cons: *Biggest con was inconsistency in design for specific skill level ... some lengths were designed for intermediate level players, some advanced, some gold. As an example, the first hole is a Par 4, 420' hole ... hole 11 is a tough Par 3, 389' foot hole. There were several easy "Sign Par" 4's and 5's and many tough Par 3's.
*As noted, the first 9 holes are fairly wide open, repetitive and often long holes with minimal fairway definition ... kind of boring.
*Not much variety in shots required. I was travelling and played with 4 discs (2 drivers, midrange, putter) and likely would have used the same 4 discs if I'd had a full bag
*Teepads are too short to allow for run up, especially on long holes
*Easy to lose a disc if you get off the fairway
*Lots of water, but it's not really in play unless you throw a terrible shot --- lack of risk/reward holes in general on this course
Other Thoughts: I played this course on a beautiful May day with light to moderate wind. I really enjoyed the natural setting in a very nice municipal park.

This would be a good practice course given the length, but not a great tournament course as the hole lengths don't seem to be designed around any particular skill level and there is a single set of pads. It would be long for beginners and rather boring for advanced level.

Assuming it was designed as a blue/advanced level course because of the several 350'+ Par 3 holes, most of the par 4's and par 5's are classic "tweener" holes in the the sense of being too short and would see little scoring variety. Instead of having tough and challenging multi-shot holes, the 4's and 5's were a drive + a wide open, easy upshot to the basket (boring) that don't provide any feeling of achievement or challenge. Many of the par 3's were a really tough birdie unless you can throw 370' into a headwind. It's also lacking variety in having shorter, tricky holes that require midrange or putter off the tee (only one hole as i remember).

If there were a 3.25 I'd give it that, could easily be a 4 with some distance tweaking.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Wide Open with a few Technical Holes

5+    1/15/2011   1/19/2011
Review By: j0atz
Played: 35  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great beginner course, not a lot of obstacles on the front 9. A lot of "air it out" shots as well as a lot of hyzer routes. There are also a few anhyzer routes as well (mostly throughout the back 9). Its a huge park right in the middle of a huge subdivision of homes. I have played here a lot and don't usually have to sit around waiting for other golfers.

Parking: Parking lot right in front of the first hole. Usually easy to park, sometimes in the summer it is a bit harder because of all the soccer games/practice.

Navigation: Very easy to navigate, most holes are within view after the previous basket. All tee signs are intact and accurate(for the most part)

General Layout: Fairly long course, front 9 is mostly wide open. Most shots on the front 9 can just be aired out or hyzered (for right handers).

Teepads: All concrete, all intact and in good condition.

Shot Variation (right handers): Mostly "air it out" and hyzer routes. A few anni routes. Well balanced for beginners.

Course Maintenance: The fairways are VERY well kept. During the summer the fairways are really obvious on some of the longer holes because of the tall grass around which adds to the challenge. There are a few garbage cans around.
Cons: More garbage cans would be nice. I have noticed that they have started hanging trash bags from the tee signs, this helps a bit.

Teepads could be a bit longer for some of the AIR IT OUT holes.

During the summer, you have definately have to dodge soccer players on hole 1 and 7. Although, this isn't that big of a deal really.
Other Thoughts: Only reason I marked it a 3.0 is because I don't think more experienced players would enjoy this course AS MUCH as other courses that this area has to offer.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Damp, but good

1    11/6/2010   11/8/2010
Review By: sheamous
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 7.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well maintained, mowed fairways/greens, nice signage, tucked away in a nice neighborhood, technical as well as long holes to open up on, and set in a nice park. The creek that runs through the course is used well.
Cons: It's a low lying area, so it is frequently wet and has voluntary ponds that pop up in some areas on the back nine. Though the Tee-pads are are well made and nicely placed they are really short, but most are in this area. The rough is really high, be prepared to have wet socks and pants. The creek that runs through the course get wide and deep in a few spots that are in places which are perfect for gobbling up discs. Lots of park goers on the weekend, so go early to beat the soccer teams, joggers, and dog walkers. The walking paths and soccer fields are all throughout the course and almost part of the fairways.
Other Thoughts: I really liked this course and I would say the quality of the course was top notch. I would definitely put it on your wish list. Just go early!!! I would suggest getting there at 8:00 - 9:00 am

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.