Fort Worth, TX 
Arcadia Park #2 Share
Uploaded By: Donovan Hole #5
4 / 669ft.   3 / 245ft.   4 / 660ft.   5 / 626ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee: This is a great long hole with a sidewalk crossing in front of you at the end of 2 long shots. There are some woods and a creek to the right near the basket that is again straight ahead.



Reviews: 59
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Wide Open with a few Technical Holes

5+    1/15/2011   1/19/2011
Review By: j0atz
Played: 36  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great beginner course, not a lot of obstacles on the front 9. A lot of "air it out" shots as well as a lot of hyzer routes. There are also a few anhyzer routes as well (mostly throughout the back 9). Its a huge park right in the middle of a huge subdivision of homes. I have played here a lot and don't usually have to sit around waiting for other golfers.

Parking: Parking lot right in front of the first hole. Usually easy to park, sometimes in the summer it is a bit harder because of all the soccer games/practice.

Navigation: Very easy to navigate, most holes are within view after the previous basket. All tee signs are intact and accurate(for the most part)

General Layout: Fairly long course, front 9 is mostly wide open. Most shots on the front 9 can just be aired out or hyzered (for right handers).

Teepads: All concrete, all intact and in good condition.

Shot Variation (right handers): Mostly "air it out" and hyzer routes. A few anni routes. Well balanced for beginners.

Course Maintenance: The fairways are VERY well kept. During the summer the fairways are really obvious on some of the longer holes because of the tall grass around which adds to the challenge. There are a few garbage cans around.
Cons: More garbage cans would be nice. I have noticed that they have started hanging trash bags from the tee signs, this helps a bit.

Teepads could be a bit longer for some of the AIR IT OUT holes.

During the summer, you have definately have to dodge soccer players on hole 1 and 7. Although, this isn't that big of a deal really.
Other Thoughts: Only reason I marked it a 3.0 is because I don't think more experienced players would enjoy this course AS MUCH as other courses that this area has to offer.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Damp, but good

1    11/6/2010   11/8/2010
Review By: sheamous
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 13.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well maintained, mowed fairways/greens, nice signage, tucked away in a nice neighborhood, technical as well as long holes to open up on, and set in a nice park. The creek that runs through the course is used well.
Cons: It's a low lying area, so it is frequently wet and has voluntary ponds that pop up in some areas on the back nine. Though the Tee-pads are are well made and nicely placed they are really short, but most are in this area. The rough is really high, be prepared to have wet socks and pants. The creek that runs through the course get wide and deep in a few spots that are in places which are perfect for gobbling up discs. Lots of park goers on the weekend, so go early to beat the soccer teams, joggers, and dog walkers. The walking paths and soccer fields are all throughout the course and almost part of the fairways.
Other Thoughts: I really liked this course and I would say the quality of the course was top notch. I would definitely put it on your wish list. Just go early!!! I would suggest getting there at 8:00 - 9:00 am

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Boring

1    10/14/2010   10/14/2010
Review By: DiscGolfDallas
Played: 55  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Nicely mowed
Nice signs
Good course for some big arms
Accurate hole lengths
Cons: Mostly open holes
Crowded park
Not much shade
Other Thoughts: Nice stop if you happen to be in the area. It's pretty long so it'll take a little while though.

1 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 NICE AND LOCAL

5+    8/10/2010   8/25/2010
Review By: stedily420
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is very well maintained. Always mowed and clean. At least all the times ive been and thats been alot. Nice wide open long shots with not alot of interference from trees. Long drive players will LOVE this course. Its so open that it plays well at night just stay out of the creek.
Cons: It is very long and there are no trees so there is no shade. You may have to watch out for other park users it can be very active on the weekends. It takes a while to play so if you are looking for a quick round this aint it.
Other Thoughts: Bring water!! Watch out for 17 it is a disc eater, I have lost 3 or 4 there!! Watch out for snakes!! Watch out for soccer players!!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A good Walk on a Long Course

5+    7/10/2010   7/16/2010
Review By: goodolrebel
Played: 30  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/23/2010
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I like this course, it's the first course I played(plus I only live 4 blocks away) I like it because it's open and forgiving on bad throws (except 17 but you can pay the kids 5 bucks and they'll get your disk back). The lay out of the course follows the creek most of the time. I've never had a problem with mud but it will get real boggy after a good rain. It's a long course and you get a good work out with the lengths of the course.
Cons: The Soccer fields on #1 & #7. I throw anyway and just yell WATCHELA! if miss throw. I wish it had more elevation changes but it is in a Flood Plane so your already at the bottom.
Other Thoughts: I found a Bike in the creek looking for a Disk the last time I played. Most of the times on the weekend a couple of boys will sell you disks they've got out of #17. It was fun playing it during the Blizzard of 2010 This is only my second review let me know on what I can improve on with my reviews

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    7/3/2010   7/3/2010
Review By: txsarge
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good T-pad's
Course is nice and open
Park Friendly
Clean / unless it rains a lot
Signs are nice and informative
Cons: Watch for the snakes after a nice rain
a lot of mud around the T-pads / but can't always be perfect.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Long with character

2-4    5/28/2010   6/19/2010
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 220  Reviewed: 167  Exp: 8.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/6/2013
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Nice baskets and concrete tee pads
-Great terrain: open but with lots of trees
-Distance is a big factor, lots of long holes
-Creeks and trees make great obstacles
-Easy navigation
-Some variety in left v. right but generally favors RH
-I like the course flow and the feel of the park in general
Cons: -Multi use park, pedestrians and soccer fields can get in the way
-Poison ivy in the rough
-The rough can be pretty rough, especially near the creek
-Hole 17 is a disc eater!
-A couple holes are just wide open and really long (4,5), kind of cheesy especially since they are back to back
-No amenities
-Those wide open holes can get pretty frustrating on a windy DFW day
Other Thoughts: I really like the look and feel of this park. It just feels like a great place to play DG. I like that the fairways are mostly open but there are heavy tree-lines on most fairways and spotted trees throughout as well. This means a variety of different lines to the basket and just enough technical challenge. That said, many holes start to feel repetitive.

Would be nice to see the park a little bit cleaner. More trash cans and restrooms would be awesome. There was a porto-john the last time I was there but it was tipped over. It would also be cool to see some trees or bushes planted on holes 3-5 since they are pretty much just wide open distance shots.

The navigation is pretty easy but make sure you follow the path around the corner after 5, follow the trees to the left after 7, cross the creek after 10 and cross back over after 14.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 great course

5+    6/2/2010   6/3/2010
Review By: tobyzelt
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.3 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: extremely diverse and beautiful in a great neighborhood. plays tough , but some holes are wide open. two little kids will sell you discs they found off of 17.
Cons: too much water and poison ivy. 17 is terrible with water all down the left and no really good shot from too far right
Other Thoughts: i like the way the course is setup. fun for beginners and pros alike.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 So far, so good

1    3/22/2010   3/22/2010
Review By: emook
Played: 46  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I loved this course. First time to play it was interesting. Very easy to navigate. The baskets, as well as the tees are very well marked and kept nice. Front 9 gives you the chances to really see how far you can drive. Not a whole lot of obstacles and quite long holes. Back 9 is great, shorter, more challenging. Pretty fast games, not crowded at all.
Cons: The tees aren't long enough (for me anyway) I found myself teeing off next to them for most holes. I find their pars on each hole are too much too. Seemed to be par per 100ft. More advanced players I recommend playing 1 under each hole.
Other Thoughts: All in all great course I feel. I would say with everything being marked so well, if you're looking for a good night game this is the course.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Big arm course

2-4    3/13/2010   3/21/2010
Review By: Marty McFly
Played: 59  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 13.3 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: *Disclaimer* and a NON biased review. Well first off let me say as a guy who has played much nicer courses this course does just NOT add up to others in Texas. I'm sure the locals love it along with newer players but the course is lacking in several areas. For the current rating it does not equal what you get or courses rated the same.

Now for the good stuff - It does have some great tee pads(Could be short compared to other courses) and signs with helpful info. Each hole is easy to bounce around to the next if it is your first time.

Hole 6 is just around the corner. Follow the tree line.

The back 9 is the best part by far and was really designed well with the layout. The baskets are great and in nice shape and in great placement in sharing the park. Great trees on the back side and it is a open course for the BIG arms. It is a step back from the technical courses I have grown to love however it is just enough difficulty on the back side to keep you in check.

If the front 9 was as good as the back the course would greatness!

This course would be a fine course to play if passing by, and if you live in the area I think you should check it out rather than the multitude of 9 holers in the area. If you live close by this course is also worth the time to play over and over. It's not that the course sucks, it's just that it does not blow me away.

Hole 17 is fun as others mentioned and I was excited to play it. It will keep you in check and it's great that they have several holes with water in play. 18 is a fantastic finishing hole and would set up nice for some tourneys here.

The locals are very friendly and give the course guides a shout. They were great to me and tried to play along but could not find the time.

For a Saturday and decent weather the course was not busy at all.
Cons: Holes 1,4, and 5 are wide open and really boring. Rated high pars for newer players but these are easy with a sweet roller or a decent drive. A 3 can be done, so the par rating is moot. Those holes just seem so out of place and take away from the course in a bad way. I understand they wanted it to be 18 holes but back to back bomb drives is not a tournament course.

It is very dirty and field with trash all over the park. Even though trash cans are plentiful.

The wind could kill you here and make your round miserable.

No restrooms. (Wallmart is close by)

A soccer game was going on by hole 1 and was impossible to play. Also hole 7 is right on a soccer field. So pray that soccer games are over when you play or be forced to skip.

Also because of the soccer game I had to park far out by the houses but I guess this is not typical. Others mentioned ample parking so timing is everything.
Other Thoughts: Where is Arcadia #1? What did I miss?

When added up the cons and pros are a tie for me but in the end you should still play this course.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.