Fort Worth, TX 
Arcadia Park #2 Share
Uploaded By: Donovan Hole #12
3 / 289ft.   3 / 300ft.   3 / 285ft.   3 / 300ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee: The basket is about 300 feet away on the other side of the big tree in the middle. There is a pond (when not dried up) behind the basket. Many different ways to get there from here.



Reviews: 57
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Boring

1    10/14/2010   10/14/2010
Review By: DiscGolfDallas
Played: 55  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Nicely mowed
Nice signs
Good course for some big arms
Accurate hole lengths
Cons: Mostly open holes
Crowded park
Not much shade
Other Thoughts: Nice stop if you happen to be in the area. It's pretty long so it'll take a little while though.

1 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 NICE AND LOCAL

5+    8/10/2010   8/25/2010
Review By: stedily420
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is very well maintained. Always mowed and clean. At least all the times ive been and thats been alot. Nice wide open long shots with not alot of interference from trees. Long drive players will LOVE this course. Its so open that it plays well at night just stay out of the creek.
Cons: It is very long and there are no trees so there is no shade. You may have to watch out for other park users it can be very active on the weekends. It takes a while to play so if you are looking for a quick round this aint it.
Other Thoughts: Bring water!! Watch out for 17 it is a disc eater, I have lost 3 or 4 there!! Watch out for snakes!! Watch out for soccer players!!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A good Walk on a Long Course

5+    7/10/2010   7/16/2010
Review By: goodolrebel
Played: 30  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/23/2010
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I like this course, it's the first course I played(plus I only live 4 blocks away) I like it because it's open and forgiving on bad throws (except 17 but you can pay the kids 5 bucks and they'll get your disk back). The lay out of the course follows the creek most of the time. I've never had a problem with mud but it will get real boggy after a good rain. It's a long course and you get a good work out with the lengths of the course.
Cons: The Soccer fields on #1 & #7. I throw anyway and just yell WATCHELA! if miss throw. I wish it had more elevation changes but it is in a Flood Plane so your already at the bottom.
Other Thoughts: I found a Bike in the creek looking for a Disk the last time I played. Most of the times on the weekend a couple of boys will sell you disks they've got out of #17. It was fun playing it during the Blizzard of 2010 This is only my second review let me know on what I can improve on with my reviews

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    7/3/2010   7/3/2010
Review By: txsarge
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good T-pad's
Course is nice and open
Park Friendly
Clean / unless it rains a lot
Signs are nice and informative
Cons: Watch for the snakes after a nice rain
a lot of mud around the T-pads / but can't always be perfect.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Long with character

2-4    5/28/2010   6/19/2010
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 213  Reviewed: 164  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/6/2013
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Nice baskets and concrete tee pads
-Great terrain: open but with lots of trees
-Distance is a big factor, lots of long holes
-Creeks and trees make great obstacles
-Easy navigation
-Some variety in left v. right but generally favors RH
-I like the course flow and the feel of the park in general
Cons: -Multi use park, pedestrians and soccer fields can get in the way
-Poison ivy in the rough
-The rough can be pretty rough, especially near the creek
-Hole 17 is a disc eater!
-A couple holes are just wide open and really long (4,5), kind of cheesy especially since they are back to back
-No amenities
-Those wide open holes can get pretty frustrating on a windy DFW day
Other Thoughts: I really like the look and feel of this park. It just feels like a great place to play DG. I like that the fairways are mostly open but there are heavy tree-lines on most fairways and spotted trees throughout as well. This means a variety of different lines to the basket and just enough technical challenge. That said, many holes start to feel repetitive.

Would be nice to see the park a little bit cleaner. More trash cans and restrooms would be awesome. There was a porto-john the last time I was there but it was tipped over. It would also be cool to see some trees or bushes planted on holes 3-5 since they are pretty much just wide open distance shots.

The navigation is pretty easy but make sure you follow the path around the corner after 5, follow the trees to the left after 7, cross the creek after 10 and cross back over after 14.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 great course

5+    6/2/2010   6/3/2010
Review By: tobyzelt
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.7 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: extremely diverse and beautiful in a great neighborhood. plays tough , but some holes are wide open. two little kids will sell you discs they found off of 17.
Cons: too much water and poison ivy. 17 is terrible with water all down the left and no really good shot from too far right
Other Thoughts: i like the way the course is setup. fun for beginners and pros alike.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 So far, so good

1    3/22/2010   3/22/2010
Review By: emook
Played: 46  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I loved this course. First time to play it was interesting. Very easy to navigate. The baskets, as well as the tees are very well marked and kept nice. Front 9 gives you the chances to really see how far you can drive. Not a whole lot of obstacles and quite long holes. Back 9 is great, shorter, more challenging. Pretty fast games, not crowded at all.
Cons: The tees aren't long enough (for me anyway) I found myself teeing off next to them for most holes. I find their pars on each hole are too much too. Seemed to be par per 100ft. More advanced players I recommend playing 1 under each hole.
Other Thoughts: All in all great course I feel. I would say with everything being marked so well, if you're looking for a good night game this is the course.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Big arm course

2-4    3/13/2010   3/21/2010
Review By: Marty McFly
Played: 59  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 12.7 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: *Disclaimer* and a NON biased review. Well first off let me say as a guy who has played much nicer courses this course does just NOT add up to others in Texas. I'm sure the locals love it along with newer players but the course is lacking in several areas. For the current rating it does not equal what you get or courses rated the same.

Now for the good stuff - It does have some great tee pads(Could be short compared to other courses) and signs with helpful info. Each hole is easy to bounce around to the next if it is your first time.

Hole 6 is just around the corner. Follow the tree line.

The back 9 is the best part by far and was really designed well with the layout. The baskets are great and in nice shape and in great placement in sharing the park. Great trees on the back side and it is a open course for the BIG arms. It is a step back from the technical courses I have grown to love however it is just enough difficulty on the back side to keep you in check.

If the front 9 was as good as the back the course would greatness!

This course would be a fine course to play if passing by, and if you live in the area I think you should check it out rather than the multitude of 9 holers in the area. If you live close by this course is also worth the time to play over and over. It's not that the course sucks, it's just that it does not blow me away.

Hole 17 is fun as others mentioned and I was excited to play it. It will keep you in check and it's great that they have several holes with water in play. 18 is a fantastic finishing hole and would set up nice for some tourneys here.

The locals are very friendly and give the course guides a shout. They were great to me and tried to play along but could not find the time.

For a Saturday and decent weather the course was not busy at all.
Cons: Holes 1,4, and 5 are wide open and really boring. Rated high pars for newer players but these are easy with a sweet roller or a decent drive. A 3 can be done, so the par rating is moot. Those holes just seem so out of place and take away from the course in a bad way. I understand they wanted it to be 18 holes but back to back bomb drives is not a tournament course.

It is very dirty and field with trash all over the park. Even though trash cans are plentiful.

The wind could kill you here and make your round miserable.

No restrooms. (Wallmart is close by)

A soccer game was going on by hole 1 and was impossible to play. Also hole 7 is right on a soccer field. So pray that soccer games are over when you play or be forced to skip.

Also because of the soccer game I had to park far out by the houses but I guess this is not typical. Others mentioned ample parking so timing is everything.
Other Thoughts: Where is Arcadia #1? What did I miss?

When added up the cons and pros are a tie for me but in the end you should still play this course.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Soccer player target practice

5+    3/11/2010   3/15/2010
Review By: chingy414
Played: 44  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 12.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Arcadia is a huge park with a good variety of shots. This course is a perfect mix of both long and short holes. You will use most of the discs in your bag on this course. There are some wide open shots, and also some shots that require some finesse. If you are a roller thrower, Arcadia is perfect for you. There are a couple of good ace run holes, but you have to earn them. There are nice baskets, concrete teepads, and sinage. You wont need a guide on this course, it is very easy to follow. It also is not nearly as crowded as it seems like it should be. Arcadia is also a very good course to play after alot of rain. There are a few holes that get a little sloppy, but the majority of it stays pretty dry. So when Bear Creek Park is a sloppy mess, head on over to Arcadia.
Cons: Soccer, soccer, soccer!!!!!! This is a multi use park, but there is no mutual respect going on. It seems no matter where you are, they have to be right in front of you. This can get very frustrating. Arcadia park is also one of the worst courses to play on a windy day. Those long open holes can be a mother. There is also a creek that comes into play on a couple of holes, but if you aren't opposed to swimming, they are pretty easy to get back. Some people might consider the length of this course to be a con. It is a bit of a hike, so bring a granola bar, you're gonna need it.
Other Thoughts: Overall, Arcadia is a really fun course. Arcadia is the closest course to my house, so I play there regularly. Really worth checking out if you are in the area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    3/15/2010   3/13/2010
Review By: Chain_Bang
Played: 39  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.8 Years
This review was updated on 3/19/2010
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 2 par 5 shots can hand you easy birdies. A 3rd par 5 will test your rollers. Tee placements accomidate all throwing styles and will make you use every shot in your bag. Course is well maintained and clearly marked.A great course, one of my favorite to play.
Cons: Pedestrians! Showing up around 5 on weekdays as I have several times can be annoying. Soccer teams practice all over near several holes and often pay no attention to the fact they have set up in the middle of the fairway. People watching practice also meander onto the holes. There is also a sidewalk joggers, walkers, and bikers use that runs most of the length of the course. It is best to let them clear well away from your line, as they often don't notice errant discs headed right at them. The creek on the last few holes can be a disc eater, and 17 is the worst offender as I've pulled piles of plastic out of it personally.
Other Thoughts: A great course, one of my favorite to play. A good mix of shorter, precision shots along with deep bombs. Timing is everything here because the course can be heavy with pedestrian traffic. Watch out for the creek on the last 4 holes.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.