Fort Worth, TX 
Arcadia Park #2 Share
Uploaded By: Donovan Hole #9
3 / 422ft.   3 / 371ft.   3 / 425ft.   4 / 425ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee: Teeing off this small bluff, the basket is down into a narrowing wood the ends up curving right eventually. This hole can get standing water after heavy rains.

Reviews: 60
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Big arm course

2-4    3/13/2010   3/21/2010
Review By: Marty McFly
Played: 59  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 13.7 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: *Disclaimer* and a NON biased review. Well first off let me say as a guy who has played much nicer courses this course does just NOT add up to others in Texas. I'm sure the locals love it along with newer players but the course is lacking in several areas. For the current rating it does not equal what you get or courses rated the same.

Now for the good stuff - It does have some great tee pads(Could be short compared to other courses) and signs with helpful info. Each hole is easy to bounce around to the next if it is your first time.

Hole 6 is just around the corner. Follow the tree line.

The back 9 is the best part by far and was really designed well with the layout. The baskets are great and in nice shape and in great placement in sharing the park. Great trees on the back side and it is a open course for the BIG arms. It is a step back from the technical courses I have grown to love however it is just enough difficulty on the back side to keep you in check.

If the front 9 was as good as the back the course would greatness!

This course would be a fine course to play if passing by, and if you live in the area I think you should check it out rather than the multitude of 9 holers in the area. If you live close by this course is also worth the time to play over and over. It's not that the course sucks, it's just that it does not blow me away.

Hole 17 is fun as others mentioned and I was excited to play it. It will keep you in check and it's great that they have several holes with water in play. 18 is a fantastic finishing hole and would set up nice for some tourneys here.

The locals are very friendly and give the course guides a shout. They were great to me and tried to play along but could not find the time.

For a Saturday and decent weather the course was not busy at all.
Cons: Holes 1,4, and 5 are wide open and really boring. Rated high pars for newer players but these are easy with a sweet roller or a decent drive. A 3 can be done, so the par rating is moot. Those holes just seem so out of place and take away from the course in a bad way. I understand they wanted it to be 18 holes but back to back bomb drives is not a tournament course.

It is very dirty and field with trash all over the park. Even though trash cans are plentiful.

The wind could kill you here and make your round miserable.

No restrooms. (Wallmart is close by)

A soccer game was going on by hole 1 and was impossible to play. Also hole 7 is right on a soccer field. So pray that soccer games are over when you play or be forced to skip.

Also because of the soccer game I had to park far out by the houses but I guess this is not typical. Others mentioned ample parking so timing is everything.
Other Thoughts: Where is Arcadia #1? What did I miss?

When added up the cons and pros are a tie for me but in the end you should still play this course.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Soccer player target practice

5+    3/11/2010   3/15/2010
Review By: chingy414
Played: 44  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 13.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Arcadia is a huge park with a good variety of shots. This course is a perfect mix of both long and short holes. You will use most of the discs in your bag on this course. There are some wide open shots, and also some shots that require some finesse. If you are a roller thrower, Arcadia is perfect for you. There are a couple of good ace run holes, but you have to earn them. There are nice baskets, concrete teepads, and sinage. You wont need a guide on this course, it is very easy to follow. It also is not nearly as crowded as it seems like it should be. Arcadia is also a very good course to play after alot of rain. There are a few holes that get a little sloppy, but the majority of it stays pretty dry. So when Bear Creek Park is a sloppy mess, head on over to Arcadia.
Cons: Soccer, soccer, soccer!!!!!! This is a multi use park, but there is no mutual respect going on. It seems no matter where you are, they have to be right in front of you. This can get very frustrating. Arcadia park is also one of the worst courses to play on a windy day. Those long open holes can be a mother. There is also a creek that comes into play on a couple of holes, but if you aren't opposed to swimming, they are pretty easy to get back. Some people might consider the length of this course to be a con. It is a bit of a hike, so bring a granola bar, you're gonna need it.
Other Thoughts: Overall, Arcadia is a really fun course. Arcadia is the closest course to my house, so I play there regularly. Really worth checking out if you are in the area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    3/15/2010   3/13/2010
Review By: Chain_Bang
Played: 45  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 9.7 Years
This review was updated on 3/19/2010
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 2 par 5 shots can hand you easy birdies. A 3rd par 5 will test your rollers. Tee placements accomidate all throwing styles and will make you use every shot in your bag. Course is well maintained and clearly marked.A great course, one of my favorite to play.
Cons: Pedestrians! Showing up around 5 on weekdays as I have several times can be annoying. Soccer teams practice all over near several holes and often pay no attention to the fact they have set up in the middle of the fairway. People watching practice also meander onto the holes. There is also a sidewalk joggers, walkers, and bikers use that runs most of the length of the course. It is best to let them clear well away from your line, as they often don't notice errant discs headed right at them. The creek on the last few holes can be a disc eater, and 17 is the worst offender as I've pulled piles of plastic out of it personally.
Other Thoughts: A great course, one of my favorite to play. A good mix of shorter, precision shots along with deep bombs. Timing is everything here because the course can be heavy with pedestrian traffic. Watch out for the creek on the last 4 holes.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 pretty good

5+    3/10/2010   3/11/2010
Review By: Riverhouse82
Played: 50  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 11.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good mix of long and short. challenges both left and right handers. Fair mix of wooded and open shots. Easy to follow course layout. decent signs. Someone is actually mowing fairways! nice..
Cons: par 5's are a joke. Eagle almost every time. I am a pro level player on this course!!! My biggest peeve is that the water problem is a bother after a rain for quit some time, bad drainage in a creek is all to much sometimes. Also with the wind, this course csn be a nightmare.
Other Thoughts: Overall I like it alot. It is MAINTAINED, wich is what truly seperates good courses from bad ones. If you travel and play real pro courses you would probably already know this. BE READY IF IT IS WINDY! Don't forget to warm up if you want to throw under par with that wind.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Arcadia #2 Rundown!!!

5+    8/19/2009   1/9/2010
Review By: TxDiscGolfBoy
Played: 34  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 9.5 Years
This review was updated on 1/18/2010
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -All concrete t-pads
-Signs in the works on every hole
-Makes great use of ladscape (creek and spotty trees)
-Long course with holes you can really "open-up" on. Couple holes that can be played par4''s and/or par5's
-Makes for great doubles game
-Beautiful park area surrounding the course with nice trails and surrounding neighborhood.
-Shot variety
-Good windy practice course if you're up for playin' / practicing in strong TX winds
-Nice, quiet course with not much traffic leading to no wait on holes

(the best thing for a hole wait is a hack, among other recreational activities...always have one in the bag along with safety materials)
Cons: -Could possibly run in to soccer practice being held which might cause you to skip a few holes
-Might have to wait on a few hikers when the weather is nice.
Other Thoughts: The pros deffinately outweigh the cons here.

Great course with great length. Great to play on a beautiful day. Worth the drive, and a good double-course day in N. Fort Worth would be this course early followed by N. Park being they are so close together.

Makes good used of a creek,
which flows through the entire course, and the trees (narrow fairways on some holes, a few tunnel shots, and single-tree obsticles on the open holes)

Over all a great course to play. Definately worth a drive.

It's a good one.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Grip it and Rip it

1    9/25/2009   9/26/2009
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 129  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 14.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a good course to practice your distance shots, there are a bunch out here and there arent many obsticles that get in the way. You can throw almost any shot that you want out here due to it being open, which kind of makes it boring to me. There is no creative shots due to this but you can try new stuff out and not worry about getting discouraged by not hitting your lines. There are great concrete tee pads and the best baskets ever (discatchers)! There are a couple of tunnel shots that make you be accurate and makes things a little interesting but they are few and far between.
Cons: Not much shade due to it being pretty open. The 2 long holes(2&3) are just wide open "soccer field" shots with no challenge other then the distance. The grass is not mowed except for small 4 foot fairways. Most tee signs were damaged but navigation wasnt a big issue. There are many areas on this course that are small swamps an Im sure they get worse. This with the tall grass makes for many snakes around so watch out. There is NO elevation at all. Its a ways back to your car once you leave so bring lots of cold water for the hike.
Other Thoughts: I think that this course is overrated by my standards. There were no "wow" holes and nothng that really made me think "this is a great hole." Kind o remindse of Tom Bass in Houston. Not bad to mix this in with North Park around the corner and make for 2 fun rounds.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 How is this course so empty?

2-4    8/9/2009   8/20/2009
Review By: keenanrh
Played: 32  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Arcadia is NEVER crowded, that's one of my favorite parts about it. the first few holes get you nice and warmed up for the challenge that lies ahead and all the holes are well designed and maintained. the course is very new player friendly in it's navigation. there's a wide variety of everything from narrow fairways, to wide open par 5's, as well as overhang in some areas that require a bit of skill and creativity.
Cons: can't say much outside of the fact that a few water fountains would be a lovely addition. the course doesn't have a lot of shade and on these hot summer days, can be a real scorcher, i recommend heavily bringing your own beverage, in an insulated enclosure if you've got the luxury.
Other Thoughts: as far as courses i don't mind driving more than 20 minutes to, arcadia is at the top of my list. every time i'm out there it's more and more fun, and i while i'm starting to get my score in the right place out there, it's still proving to be a very challenging course, but also a very fun course

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Aracadia #2 Rules

5+    8/8/2009   8/8/2009
Review By: ftwxj
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.7 Years
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Aracadia #2 has diversity. Not every hole is a par 3! It has wide open long shots, tight shots, and plenty of trees and water to loose your discs if you don't throw just right. Oh, and all the locals rule. They are more than happy to help you dig in the brush for a lost disc or two.
Cons: Not many cons for me. It would be nice to have some elevation changes. Public restrooms would help.
Other Thoughts: They water this park often so if you go early the tees can be slick.

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Wide And Open

5+    7/25/2009   7/25/2009
Review By: strain
Played: 39  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 7.5 Years
This review was updated on 10/31/2011
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Arcadia #2 is a really nice clean and well maintained park. The front nine is mostly wide open with basic long straight open shots. Trees and a creek does come into play on the back nine making it slight more challenging, especially hole #17 with the creek on the left. There are true par 4s and 5s on some holes on the course. The signs are in great shape and give you all the hole information and direct you to the next tee. There are nice concrete tee pads and great DISCatcher baskets that are visible from every tee. The park is very clean and well maintained with trash cans throughout the course. The course flows very well from one hole to the next which makes it easy to navigate. There is mowed paths from tee to the basket which helps out a great deal. The parking is decent but can be packed on a real nice day, otherwise the course is fun to play.
Cons: Hole #1 and # 7 play along a soccer field and can get crowded on days they have practice or games. The park can get very busy with joggers, dog walkers and kids everywhere roaming in the middle of some of the fairways mostly on the front nine. Bring plenty of water and Gatorade in the summer time here because you are going to need it. There is almost no shade throughout the whole course so it could get really hot in the summertime.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course to play when you feel like throwing big. It gives you a chance to work on your driving skills. There is not really a huge challenge here, just a long open course but it is still fun to play. Watch out for hole #17 because the creek runs along the side of this hole and there is a possible chance of losing your disc. I'm glad it is one of my local courses with another 18 hole course just a few miles away. Golfers should stop buy and check it out, you won't be disappointed.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Mixed bag

1    7/8/2009   7/8/2009
Review By: shawn_l
Played: 29  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 6.7 Years
This review was updated on 11/5/2010
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course gets high marks in every category. To me, a great DG course should not be all technical or all bombing runs, but mix them both by combining distance, terrain and vegetation use.

For those who say this course isn't technical, there are some tunnel shots, some narrow fairways and... hey, there is a technique to making a par of 3 on holes over 450 feet.

Arcadia #2 does this very, very well! Let's start at the top:

Parking is great and close. You can park in the park's lot immediately at #1 tee pad, or you can park along the long street on the other side by #8. #1 goes alongside a soccer field, so you have plenty of flat, open space to warm up.

The grass is VERY well cared for, and the thickest in the field was 3-4 inches, with a super short mow down the center of each fairway and hole to hole. I took the map from this site with me but did not need it once.

The teepads are concrete. The baskets are in excellent shape, and the trees, when in play, are pruned specifically for the hole. When you get to #2, you'll see what I mean.

There is shade, but few holes play in the trees. You can step off the holes to rest under trees almost anywhere on the course.

The flow of the course is easy to follow, with #1 starting at the parking lot, and #18 finishing just on the other side of the lot.

The course is LONG, make no mistake. There are a few holes that are pretty uninspiring bombing runs, but arm fatigue and shooting par 3 on 400+ ft holes are part of the game too, right?

Most of the holes play around, behind, or next to trees, rather than through them. Many holes are deceptively tough, with the well mown grass making the hole look wide open, but the trees are fairly close on each side.

This is a challenge to play. You'd best bring your arm, because at almost 7000 feet, your finesse shots will come after a drive, not off the tee.

The length of this course doesn't mean that it's all boom and no touch. You need control of your shots, and a wide selection of left, right, sharp angles, and straight finishes to complete Arcadia #2.

I highly recommend this course. I hope the Dallas locals appreciate tall, straight trees with room to shoot under them, green grass even in the 100 degree summer, and a disc golf course that's so well planned and so well maintained. It's a huge notch up, and made for a happy trip through Fort Worth!
Cons: I did not see any water fountains or bathrooms. However, there's a Wal Mart very close by.

There's poison ivy out, but you'd have to pooch your shots up pretty bad to get over into it. I'm highly reactive and didn't get so much as an itch.
Other Thoughts: The "disc eater" holes didn't seem like that big a deal to me, but being LHBH helped that a lot. #15 and 17 do run along a creek, but it's less than waist deep.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.