Disc Golf Store
Fort Worth, TX 
Arcadia Park #2 Share
Uploaded By: Donovan Hole #6
3 / 377ft.   3 / 358ft.   3 / 375ft.   3 / 356ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee: Woods & creek both run along the right curve to the basket. The creek sticks out a little in front of you. It's wide and deep enough to make many aim left to avoid it. There is open creek only 15' behinf the basket.



Reviews: 56
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Arcadia #2 Rundown!!!

5+    8/19/2009   1/9/2010
Review By: TxDiscGolfBoy
Played: 34  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 8.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/18/2010
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -All concrete t-pads
-Signs in the works on every hole
-Makes great use of ladscape (creek and spotty trees)
-Long course with holes you can really "open-up" on. Couple holes that can be played par4''s and/or par5's
-Makes for great doubles game
-Beautiful park area surrounding the course with nice trails and surrounding neighborhood.
-Shot variety
-Good windy practice course if you're up for playin' / practicing in strong TX winds
-Nice, quiet course with not much traffic leading to no wait on holes

(the best thing for a hole wait is a hack, among other recreational activities...always have one in the bag along with safety materials)
Cons: -Could possibly run in to soccer practice being held which might cause you to skip a few holes
-Might have to wait on a few hikers when the weather is nice.
Other Thoughts: The pros deffinately outweigh the cons here.

Great course with great length. Great to play on a beautiful day. Worth the drive, and a good double-course day in N. Fort Worth would be this course early followed by N. Park being they are so close together.

Makes good used of a creek,
which flows through the entire course, and the trees (narrow fairways on some holes, a few tunnel shots, and single-tree obsticles on the open holes)

Over all a great course to play. Definately worth a drive.

It's a good one.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Grip it and Rip it

1    9/25/2009   9/26/2009
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 13.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a good course to practice your distance shots, there are a bunch out here and there arent many obsticles that get in the way. You can throw almost any shot that you want out here due to it being open, which kind of makes it boring to me. There is no creative shots due to this but you can try new stuff out and not worry about getting discouraged by not hitting your lines. There are great concrete tee pads and the best baskets ever (discatchers)! There are a couple of tunnel shots that make you be accurate and makes things a little interesting but they are few and far between.
Cons: Not much shade due to it being pretty open. The 2 long holes(2&3) are just wide open "soccer field" shots with no challenge other then the distance. The grass is not mowed except for small 4 foot fairways. Most tee signs were damaged but navigation wasnt a big issue. There are many areas on this course that are small swamps an Im sure they get worse. This with the tall grass makes for many snakes around so watch out. There is NO elevation at all. Its a ways back to your car once you leave so bring lots of cold water for the hike.
Other Thoughts: I think that this course is overrated by my standards. There were no "wow" holes and nothng that really made me think "this is a great hole." Kind o remindse of Tom Bass in Houston. Not bad to mix this in with North Park around the corner and make for 2 fun rounds.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 How is this course so empty?

2-4    8/9/2009   8/20/2009
Review By: keenanrh
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Arcadia is NEVER crowded, that's one of my favorite parts about it. the first few holes get you nice and warmed up for the challenge that lies ahead and all the holes are well designed and maintained. the course is very new player friendly in it's navigation. there's a wide variety of everything from narrow fairways, to wide open par 5's, as well as overhang in some areas that require a bit of skill and creativity.
Cons: can't say much outside of the fact that a few water fountains would be a lovely addition. the course doesn't have a lot of shade and on these hot summer days, can be a real scorcher, i recommend heavily bringing your own beverage, in an insulated enclosure if you've got the luxury.
Other Thoughts: as far as courses i don't mind driving more than 20 minutes to, arcadia is at the top of my list. every time i'm out there it's more and more fun, and i while i'm starting to get my score in the right place out there, it's still proving to be a very challenging course, but also a very fun course

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Aracadia #2 Rules

5+    8/8/2009   8/8/2009
Review By: ftwxj
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.3 Years
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Aracadia #2 has diversity. Not every hole is a par 3! It has wide open long shots, tight shots, and plenty of trees and water to loose your discs if you don't throw just right. Oh, and all the locals rule. They are more than happy to help you dig in the brush for a lost disc or two.
Cons: Not many cons for me. It would be nice to have some elevation changes. Public restrooms would help.
Other Thoughts: They water this park often so if you go early the tees can be slick.

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Wide And Open

5+    7/25/2009   7/25/2009
Review By: strain
Played: 39  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 10/31/2011
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Arcadia #2 is a really nice clean and well maintained park. The front nine is mostly wide open with basic long straight open shots. Trees and a creek does come into play on the back nine making it slight more challenging, especially hole #17 with the creek on the left. There are true par 4s and 5s on some holes on the course. The signs are in great shape and give you all the hole information and direct you to the next tee. There are nice concrete tee pads and great DISCatcher baskets that are visible from every tee. The park is very clean and well maintained with trash cans throughout the course. The course flows very well from one hole to the next which makes it easy to navigate. There is mowed paths from tee to the basket which helps out a great deal. The parking is decent but can be packed on a real nice day, otherwise the course is fun to play.
Cons: Hole #1 and # 7 play along a soccer field and can get crowded on days they have practice or games. The park can get very busy with joggers, dog walkers and kids everywhere roaming in the middle of some of the fairways mostly on the front nine. Bring plenty of water and Gatorade in the summer time here because you are going to need it. There is almost no shade throughout the whole course so it could get really hot in the summertime.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course to play when you feel like throwing big. It gives you a chance to work on your driving skills. There is not really a huge challenge here, just a long open course but it is still fun to play. Watch out for hole #17 because the creek runs along the side of this hole and there is a possible chance of losing your disc. I'm glad it is one of my local courses with another 18 hole course just a few miles away. Golfers should stop buy and check it out, you won't be disappointed.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Mixed bag

1    7/8/2009   7/8/2009
Review By: shawn_l
Played: 29  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/5/2010
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course gets high marks in every category. To me, a great DG course should not be all technical or all bombing runs, but mix them both by combining distance, terrain and vegetation use.

For those who say this course isn't technical, there are some tunnel shots, some narrow fairways and... hey, there is a technique to making a par of 3 on holes over 450 feet.

Arcadia #2 does this very, very well! Let's start at the top:

Parking is great and close. You can park in the park's lot immediately at #1 tee pad, or you can park along the long street on the other side by #8. #1 goes alongside a soccer field, so you have plenty of flat, open space to warm up.

The grass is VERY well cared for, and the thickest in the field was 3-4 inches, with a super short mow down the center of each fairway and hole to hole. I took the map from this site with me but did not need it once.

The teepads are concrete. The baskets are in excellent shape, and the trees, when in play, are pruned specifically for the hole. When you get to #2, you'll see what I mean.

There is shade, but few holes play in the trees. You can step off the holes to rest under trees almost anywhere on the course.

The flow of the course is easy to follow, with #1 starting at the parking lot, and #18 finishing just on the other side of the lot.

The course is LONG, make no mistake. There are a few holes that are pretty uninspiring bombing runs, but arm fatigue and shooting par 3 on 400+ ft holes are part of the game too, right?

Most of the holes play around, behind, or next to trees, rather than through them. Many holes are deceptively tough, with the well mown grass making the hole look wide open, but the trees are fairly close on each side.

This is a challenge to play. You'd best bring your arm, because at almost 7000 feet, your finesse shots will come after a drive, not off the tee.

The length of this course doesn't mean that it's all boom and no touch. You need control of your shots, and a wide selection of left, right, sharp angles, and straight finishes to complete Arcadia #2.

I highly recommend this course. I hope the Dallas locals appreciate tall, straight trees with room to shoot under them, green grass even in the 100 degree summer, and a disc golf course that's so well planned and so well maintained. It's a huge notch up, and made for a happy trip through Fort Worth!
Cons: I did not see any water fountains or bathrooms. However, there's a Wal Mart very close by.

There's poison ivy out, but you'd have to pooch your shots up pretty bad to get over into it. I'm highly reactive and didn't get so much as an itch.
Other Thoughts: The "disc eater" holes didn't seem like that big a deal to me, but being LHBH helped that a lot. #15 and 17 do run along a creek, but it's less than waist deep.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Arcadia Park

5+    6/17/2009   6/29/2009
Review By: churchofbob
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: THis course is a drivers course, THere are very few "technical" holes.
Cons: Course conditions vary, Some fairways are cut, others arent. Most of the plaques are missing and for first time players without a map, course layout may be an issue
Other Thoughts: THis is the course that I re-learned this sport. My first outage I lost a few discs. A few of the holes are extremely long, others are not very forgiving.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Arcadia Park

5+    7/22/2009   6/24/2009
Review By: ikirumata
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
This review was updated on 8/7/2009
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Quiet Park. Good mix of long open throws and shorter, but challenging throws. Concrete tee off pads. Fairways are typically away from other park users. Good parking. Even though the park has other users, you don't feel like they get in the way. When they mow, the fairways are very defined and easy to navigate.
Cons: The tee off pads are a bit too short. The rough is very...well...rough and you can spend a lot of time looking for your discs. Be careful of snakes. Some next tees are hard to find, but after playing once or twice, its no problem.
Other Thoughts: Updating my review after playing more than a couple of times.

Here is a list of the hole notes. I am not a great player, but I feel like I am on my way to figuring out this course. I usually walk away from this course shooting in the high 60s.

In my bag, I have the following:

175g Champion Beast - for long distance drives. Predictable and holds up to wind. Good for getting it down the fairway, but if I put it too high, it has some pretty big fade.
169g Valkyrie - long range straight drives. Versitile, but prone to being touchy. If I throw it too hard, it turns over and goes a long distance in the wrong direction.
144g Shark - Super accurate midrange. If I want, I can throw it really hard and make it turn right (big help for a RHBH)
170g Birdie - Best putter I have used.
150g Orc - never use it. Too unpredictable for me. I usually loan it away, but strangely can't get anyone to throw this into the #17 creek yet.

#1 - first of three wide open bombing runs. Tee off with the beast, approach with the shark, putt with the birdie.

#2 - Shot into a grove of trees. Tee off with beast hoping that the natural fade will put it into or near the grove surrounding the basket. From here, either go for a long putt or a short approach with the birdie.

#3 - Straight and to the left. Use the beast off the tee. Stay right and use the beast's fade to put you into position for either a long putt or short approach with the birdie.

#4 - Second of three bombing runs. Two throws with a beast and either a long putt or an approach with the birdie.

#5 - Third of three bombing runs. Again, crank it with the beast, 2 times. One medium shot with the shark. Finish off with a put with the birdie.

#6 - Basket is across a gorge and to the right. A couple of choices here. Stay to the left and play it safe to go around the gorge or play aggressive and try to go over/near the gorge. Originally, I would pull out the shark to get an unstable shot, but I found that I don't have enough distance on the shark to get it past the gorge. Now, I usually pull out the valkyrie for this one to get a straight, slightly understable shot over the gorge. Follow up with short shot with the shark and put with the birdie.

#7 - Nothing special here. Big throw with the beast and let its natural fade put you in front of the small trees. Long put with the birdie.

#8 - Too many trees on the right for the beast. 2 long throws with the shark and a birdie putt.

#9 - Haven't figured this one out yet. I usually try to drive into the area leading up to the basket, but either end up in the rough to the left, or way past the line of trees to the right. Remember you are throwing downhill. Either way, I usually need the accuracy of the shark a couple more times to get to the basket.

#10 - Too tight for a driver. 2 shots with the shark and a long putt to save par.

#11 - There are some holes that look straight forward, but causes me fits. This is one of them. Probably need to try the valkyrie for a nice straight shot...stay slightly left. Problem with this hole is getting a good angle of attack after the drive.

#12 - In the past, I have tried to shoot a low straight shot with the shark, but I always end up behind the second group of trees. Ill try shooting the shark to the left of the first group of trees and hopefully get a good angle from there.

#13 - 2 long straight shots will get you close to the basket, but the 2nd shot will take some skill to get around the tree limbs.

#14 - Tee off with the shark to get through the tree window. Long/midrange shot to get to the basket from there.

#15 - I like to use the valk here to get behind the big bush. Then tomahawk it over the big bush. If you do it right, it should land a couple feet from the basket for a short put.

#16 - Long hole. I like to thow the valk and put it in the clearing, then make a long throw with the beast to land it near the basket. You may need a short approach and putt to finish it off.

#17 - The fairway on this hole slopes down to the left. This is where most new throwers (RHBH) have problems if they try to shoot it straight down the middle. The disc will carry into the creek. I like to take the beast and shoot a high hyzer around/over the big group of trees on the right. This will drop the disc on to the fairway. From there, I throw the valk at the telephone pole. From there, I approach with the shark and put with the birdie. Respect the creek and you won't throw into it. I have lent many discs to first timers on this course and they end up in the creek.

#18 - Big throw out of the trees. I use the valk here because the natural fade of the beast may put it too close to the rough. Approach here with shark. Short putt.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Very nice course

2-4    5/18/2009   6/23/2009
Review By: fnewendaiku
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great course to bring the beginner (which I am at this time of writing). It is quite open for the most part, but there are some more challenging shots in the latter part of the course. Definitely get some work on throwing with the wind.
Cons: I lost a disc here on hole 17. The creek has played a big challenge for me. Holes 1, 7, and 18 are heavily used by park goers. Some of the tees were hard to find, but you just really should follow the walking path.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 The course suits my style

1    6/7/2009   6/8/2009
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 187  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 6.7 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Nice concrete tees (though might be a tad short for some players) and double chain Discatcher Pro baskets. The course is situated in a beautiful neighborhood park. There are a lot of long holes on this course and the majority of fairways are pretty open, though most have some trees with which to contend. This is pretty close to my ideal course design: long holes, not too open, not too narrow. The parks department does close cut mowing from the tees down the fairways and then from one basket to the next tee; that was awesome for navigation as I never once worried about getting lost my first time on the course.
Cons:
Soccer fields and playgrounds are located close, sometimes too close, to the fairways and non-ideal throws could endanger non-disc golfers. The course starts out pretty bland with holes #1 and #3-5 all pretty boring holes with virtually no challenge but distance. Some tee signs have been vandalized and locals have Sharpied on suitable replacement info, although some of the distances are wrong. Hole #9 plays close to the playground and has some low lying water, I imagine it's a swamp after it rains. Lots of poison ivy if you stray from the fairways. The transition from #5 to #6 is a long walk: follow the sidewalk. I didn't see any restroom facilities
Other Thoughts:
As I found out discs are very easily lost if you don't land 'em in the fairway. I lost three discs (on #3, #15, and #17) which soured and otherwise entertaining round. I would definitely play this course as it suits my game well. Plus I want another crack at it since in my first round I played awful! No water fountains that I saw, but Wal-Mart is just up the street.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.