Burnet, TX 
Galloway Hammond Rec Center Share
Uploaded By: XEROXER Hole #6 (Taken 4/2009)
3 / --   3 / 212ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Good Course, Lousy Tees

5+    12/20/2013   12/20/2013
Review By: markmcc
Played: 74  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 2.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This 18 hole course is built behind the newly renamed "YMCA of the Highland Lakes at Galloway Hammond." There is a very large parking area that places you right on the first tee.

The course covers a nice area of treed land that is divided by a creek. There is usually some water in the lower areas of the creek, but not so much that you can't retrieve discs. During wet times of year the water becomes a more significant obstacle.

Holes 1 through 4 work around an area south of the access drive. Good use of the creek and large trees in the area create holes requiring a variety of straight, hyzer and anhyzer drives. Basket for Hole 4 is perched right on the edge of the creek bed, and offers good risk/reward on the approach shot.

Holes 5, 6 & 7 are on the north side of the access road and play along the west side the creek. There are some decent elevation changes and large trees to add challenge to the holes.

Hole 8 tees off from the highest ground, across the creek, and down to the basket probably 25' below. The basket is guarded by trees but the shortish downhill drive gives a good birdie opportunity here.

Holes 9 - 14 play down a stretch that is bordered by the creek to the north and private land (fenceline) to the south. There are several mandos to keep you from driving onto folks playing back toward you on the other side of the lane. With the creek and fenceline O.B. and considerable trees to work through these holes place a premium on line shaping and disc placement.

The new Hole 13 is very tight, and requires a straight drive through a gap just in front of the tee box. It is a great replacement of a previous poorly designed hole (see Other Thoughts).

Hole 14 is the only Par 4 and the longest at 623'. The fenceline is a tight O.B. on the left side of most of the hole, and a walking trail is O.B. on the right so the ability to drive straight is helpful here.

Holes 15 and 16 offer the best opportunities to air out your drive as they are wide open off of the tee, but the baskets themselves are well guarded by trees.

Holes 17 and 18 finish alongside the creek and bring you back to the parking area.

Even though most holes are in the 250' - 350' range, they are well designed using the available elevation and especially the trees and O.B.
Cons: Tee pads and navigation are the big problems here. Pads are marked only by a steel T-post. There are no signs at all so without a map determining which basket to throw to and where the next hole is can be tricky.

I have updated the course map and hole information for the new layout and placed it into the Files section.

The tee pads themselves are worn spots in the grass. Some have "bluetops" driven to define the front of the pad, but most do not.

There are no restrooms or water out on the course, but I assume that you can use those inside the YMCA building.
Other Thoughts: The old Hole 14 was pulled to eliminate the problem of crossing fairways with 15 and throwing into the baseball fields. The basket was relocated out past Hole 12, creating a new Hole 13. Be aware that the basket still has "14" on it. Which means that the new Hole 14 is the old 13, and that basket still has "13" on it. Once you get past this pair everything is back to correct.

This course offers 18 very decent holes. WIth concrete tee pads and (especially) decent signage this would be a very good course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    3/11/2013   3/17/2013
Review By: tkmcdougal
Played: 153  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 6.6 Years
Pros: The course is built at a community rec. center. There is some fun shots especially hole 8 where you shoot from the top of a hill across the creek. This is a challenging course due to the creek that runs throughout the course. The baskets are nice DISCatchers that are in great shape. The designers used as much elevation as they could. Hole 6 and 8 you throw from the top of the hill. 6 was a fun hole because you throw from the top of the hill to a basket that only has 10 ft until the creek behind it.
Cons: The navigation is the worst part about this course. The first four holes no longer have the blue ribbon markers for the tee pads. Hole 5 did then you need to walk up the hill to see number 6's tee pad( it has a blue ribbon). Everything after six was easy to navigate until we got to hole 13 and 14, where I did not see any tees. I made up my own locations to throw from where I thought the designer wanted.
Other Thoughts: If I was in the area again I would play it again. The course would be greatly improved if there were tee signs. Hole 8 actually had one but holes 1-4 and 13-14 didnt have any which affected the fun level of the course because I had to spend time looking around.

GH Course

1    6/20/2008   1/1/2013
Review By: steady1
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice trimmed fairways, creek, low traffic. easy parking.
Cons: Restrooms not available. was basicly a 9 hole couese with 2nd teepads for back nine.
Other Thoughts: Nice trees and creek thru the park. Short holes par threes mostly.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Sweetness

5+    9/14/2009   2/14/2010
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 13.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Sweet course that uses what elevation is there to the fullest. There are many different shots here ranging from the big boomers to the short technical shots but not to technical Many different skill levels will enjoy this course. You will have to have a mix in your bag to score well. The baskets are in good condition and the pads are ok as well. There is never anyone here or at least I have never see anyone. I never never seen it real overgrown at all which is nice. The creek brings in the challenge of OB without losing your plastic.There are many things for the fmily to do in the park if they arent into playing DG.
Cons: Navigation might be an issue but its not near as bad as I have seen at other places. The crossing of 14 and 15 doesnt seem to be as big as an issue as everyone seems to make it beause there is never anyone out here. Bring your beverages because it can get hot because there isnt alot of shade!
Other Thoughts: Its right off of 29 which makes it an easy stop if your traveling from Georetown to Llano. This course is underated compared to what it used to be. I think the redesign made it alot better and you should stop by and check it out.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 this course is better than those old reviews

2-4    10/18/2009   10/19/2009
Review By: teebob
Played: 28  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.8 Years
This review was updated on 8/9/2010
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has well defined fairways, from nice open holes that let you air it out to highly technical holes that reward you for having control and punish you for lack of it. The OB areas make for a more challenging round. Mandos also throw in an extra twist. The course is easy to follow and the course flows well getting the best use out of the natural terrain and foliage.
Cons: The only con I could see being a con for anyone, would be that the fairways for hole 14 and 15 cross. This was not a problem at the tournament that was held there so it should not be a problem in normal play.
Other Thoughts: A lot of work has gone into improving this course. Those of you who have shrugged it off need to get back out and play it again.

This courses rating needs to be reset since the course essentially had an overhaul in 2009

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Reborn

5+    9/5/2009   9/5/2009
Review By: 4thechains@gmail.com
Played: 45  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.5 Years
This review was updated on 10/18/2013
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is an intermediate level par 55 course. I have personally redesigned the course to increase overall difficulty by adding a few mando's and more o.b. Tee signs are represented by fence posts painted with a bit of yellow. Holes now range from 171' to 623'. Excellent use of available elevation and natural hazards.
Cons: This course is a work in progress...
No concrete tee pads makes the course difficult to play in wet conditions. After heavy rainfall, hole 4 becomes an insanely wicked shot.
Other Thoughts: **New** The YMCA recently took over the property and I will be making a newfound effort for concrete tee boxes and proper signage. This course is by far the best one in the area, providing players a variety of shots and excellent hazards (when water is up).
When all tee signs and alternate tee boxes are in place this will be a great course. Those of you who have written it off should give it one more chance.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  check it off your list

1    3/2/2009   3/2/2009
Review By: shopster28
Played: 87  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Terrain layout interesting with the use of hills and creek in the area
Keeping in mind park limits, layout made the best of the space
Cons: Just after hole 4 course becomes difficult to navigate with out assistance, due to the lack of basket numbering and a recognizable tee marker.
The two holes beyond the ball fields are sub par and lack creativity.
Other Thoughts: locals don't get cocky you need to travel.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Short course, needs map

1    2/14/2009   2/17/2009
Review By: afroallen
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.4 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: No one was there so I finished the whole thing in about 45 minutes. The downside with no one being there is I had no idea where the tees were!
Cons: As other reviewers have mentioned, this course is hard to navigate because there are no tees (well, none beyond hole 3). The reason is that they originally had 9 baskets, which were all labeled. They added 9 more baskets, but did not change the labels (and did not add labels for baskets 10-18). So between the baskets labeled 4 and 5, there are another 6-7 holes. Very confusing. I actually only played 17 holes, which means there was one that I apparently didn't find.
Other Thoughts: I don't necessarily think this course can ever be great, even if they fixed the tees and the baskets. The holes are too short and not very difficult at all. But if they add tee markers and relabel the baskets, I may stop by and play once in a while if I'm passing through.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Course as been redesigned and tees marked

2-4    1/19/2009   1/19/2009
Review By: skurf
Played: 21  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 12.1 Years
This review was updated on 5/4/2010
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course is actually now 18 holes (although you would never know it unless you play with a local). It has diverse terrain with just about every type of tee shot. It's got your left benders, right benders, up-hillers, down-hillers, a creek that runs through it, shots through narrow openings in the woods, and shots in open fields. The only thing it doesn't have is a long hole. All of the holes are par-able and most birdie-able, but I wouldn't call it an easy course-- more of an intermediate course.

Very little traffic means never having to wait.
Cons: The tees are not marked! At all! Anywhere! Ahhhh! I was playing with my nephew and we were totally lost just making up our own tees after we'd find a basket. Luckily, before we got too far along a local disc golfer showed up and we started over playing from the correct tees, which seemed to me to just be random spots on the ground because the course is not played enough to wear-down the grass to make discernible tee boxes.
Other Thoughts: The local I was playing with told me they had plans to put in tee boxes in the near future, and really, that's the only thing this course lacks. Can't wait to play it again.

Edit (4-9-09): After playing this course a few more times I have come to the realization that this is more of a pitch and putt course. I drive with either my putter or mid-range on all but 3 holes. It is fairly easy but still offers some challenge because of the creek, trees and the OB areas. I've uploaded a course map with the new design, but the baskets are still marked with the old layout numbers so some of them won't match the course map.

Edit (4-1-10): The course has been slightly redesigned (again).

Changes include:

-Previous 150' filler Hole no. 2 is now a good bit over 300' slightly uphill with a couple of different lines you can hit, but both the straight and anny lines are challenging.

-Hole 3 is a new short anny shot of about 200' and plays from the previous Hole 4's teebox.

-Hole 4 is now a bit easier and shorter. It's also slightly downhill instead of being slightly uphill like it previously was.

-The short uphill Hole 7's teebox has been moved to a more challenging location behind a tree instead out in the open.

-Hole 10's teebox has been moved over about ten feet, creating more tree obstacles to get around.

-Hole 11 now has straight and narrow tunnel path or a long round-about hyzer.

-Hole 12 is completely new, although similar to 10 and 11-- all 3 being around 300' hyzer shots through woods.

-Previous holes 13 and 14 have been combined to form the only par 4 out here-- a long straight hole with OB that runs parallel to fairway about ten feet to the left.

-Hole 18's box has been moved closer to the water's edge so it's a bit more of a (risky) anhyzer shot or you can shoot a (very risky) hyzer over the creek.

-Teeboxes are now clearly marked with blue tassels in the ground and some teeboxes are now gravel instead of natural dirt.

-Mandos have been added for safety reasons, but it also ups the difficulty.

-Overall, the difficulty has been increased by a noticeable amount, and the course is better off for it. Combined with the improved teeboxes this bumps the course up to a solid 3...almost a 3.5.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Burnet

6/6/2008   7/21/2008
Review By: sidewinding
Played: 81  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 6.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is apparently a work in progress. They are slowly turning it into an 18 hole course. All 18 baskets are in but the new tee pads are not marked. It definitely has the potential to be a great course in a couple of years.
Cons: It is impossible to find the tee pads after hole #4. Some locals have put in ground level numbered markers but they are impossible to locate if you don't know where to look. The creek is very deep and I saw a few snakes. The grass needed mowing and there were trimmed tree limbs laying everywhere.
Other Thoughts: I will edit this review when they finish upgrading the course.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.