Bentonville, AR 
Lake Bella Vista Share
Uploaded By: lschrock Hole #16 (Taken 12/2009)
3 / 312ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Lots of people and not for beginners

1    4/12/2014   4/14/2014
Review By: mmsciron
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 16.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Bag hooks by tees, nice scenery and challenging.
Cons: I knew going into this, that this course is in a public park, but due to it being a nice day, me and my friend had to skip nearly 5 holes due to not wanting to hit people with our shots. If you aren't 100% confident in your shots, you will lose a disc in the water.
Other Thoughts: Maybe try and hit at a non busy time, or non-super cold winter days. Less people will allow you to be able to play every hole.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

The Lake

1    11/18/2013   11/19/2013
Review By: championlog22
Played: 19  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.8 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The park is huge and has great scenery.
The concrete tees were long enough and in good, clean condition.
Signs were accurate.
Variable flight paths.
The island hole, and teeing off from the island (peninsula) were amazing. 2 of my favorite holes I've played.
The walking path seemed to be out of the way for the most part.
Plenty of parking.
Cons: I don't understand hole 6. There needs to be some serious clearing out of that fairway.
Unless you are just completely set on playing this course, I would hold off in the fall or winter. Way too much of my time was spent looking for discs that had been buried by the massive leaves that fall there.
Other Thoughts: I only had time to play the front 9 and the last 2 holes because of the time spent searching for discs in the leaves. If you find an orange champion beast on hole 4, you can keep it.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good Course that needs some TLC

1    6/15/2013   6/16/2013
Review By: Chained Evil
Played: 253  Reviewed: 100  Exp: 4.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/24/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course offers a variety of shots, L to R, R to L, as well as both long and short. There are wide open holes and more technical holes as well. The tee pads are plenty big to throw from and the signage is good. Also there are benches on several holes and bag hangers as well.
This course will challenge both your mental game and your arm in spots. The water threat is there on several holes to add to the challenge as well.
Holes that I really liked were: 3 the island shot, 4 where you throw across the water, my favorite on this course, and 16 where you had a protected basket upon your approach.
Cons: Several tee pads, 3, 5, 6, 7, & 8 need to be washed off. There is a lot of dirt from the apparent flooding that has occurred here.
#5's tee marker has been up rooted, but is still there.
#9's basket is bent, as stated by a previous reviewer.
The water threat for some players might be too much. Just pack a junker disc or two and you will be fine. The water was down a bit on my visit, but it smelled so stank nasty that if you were to throw a disc in there, I'm not so sure you would want to go in there, but to each his own.
Some of the fairways on the holes that play next to the river and lake could become slick after a hard rain, so footing would be an issue.
7's basket has come out of the ground, sleeve, concrete, the whole thing is just propped up on top of the dirt. It still works but is just out of place.
8's tee signage is missing, the post is still there however. Also the two trees that are in front of the tee box, see pics, have a giant pile of logs that have collected there. I would say that flooding has done some damage on the more wooded holes next to the lake/river. This doesn't affect your throwing line, but is unsightly.
The walking path comes into play on several holes. You must be paying attention both in front of you and behind you before you throw. Safety first.
14 starts off with a well defined alley for a fairway then it turns into a bit of a headscratcher. I really couldn't tell there was any well defined line to hit, but could see a bit of a beaten path about 30 ft from the basket. It just felt like this hole was hope and pray after your drive to me.
Some of these cons, like the downed trees in fairways, the log fort on #8, the bent basket on #9, if they were to get fixed would bump this course up a half of a disc for me.
Other Thoughts: First off don't let the cons deter you from playing this course. This is one of the best courses in NW Arkansas and it will challenge you and is a fun play. Here are some helpful hints for this course:
Don't go short or long on #3, hit the island and you will be fine, there was a gaggle of geese behind #3's basket so pay attention.
To get to #5's tee pad, take the walking path from #4's basket and then cut into the tree row on your left. #9's basket is across the creek and down by the bridge. From 12's basket head NW past the cedar trees to find #13's tee box.
To get to #15's tee box go back out to the walking path and cross the bridge, the tee box is just North of the Porta Potty and the basket is protected by a small group of trees.
To get to #16 go right from #15's basket and walk through the trees. The tee pad is just to the south a bit from #15's basket in the trees.
Overall this is a good course that will provide you with a good challenge. It would easily be a 3.5 in my opinion if I would have played it before the flooding occurred. If they were to fix the things that the flood tore up, I would happily bump up my rating a half of a disc. If you are in the area you need to play this course.



4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Lake Bella Vista

1    6/8/2013   6/10/2013
Review By: dsypult
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
Pros: It's a challenging course that will stretch skills. Best course in northwest Arkansas, with northshore being a close 2nd. Has a variety of different hazards that cause one to be on their game. The length and area is, in my opinion, ideal for good disc golf.
Cons: The creek and the lake it flows into can cause problems such as flooding, mud holes, and flood damage that gets in the way of being able to play. The basket on hole 9 is bent over at a 45 degree angle I'm assuming from fast current flooding. The grass on holes 11-14 was up to my waste.
Other Thoughts: If the course could be managed and cleaned up a bit, it would be considered an excellent course in my opinion.

You may lose a disc!

1    4/15/2013   5/1/2013
Review By: starjustin
Played: 15  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/8/2013
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very good variety of shots to be used.
Bag hooks are a plus. The super long par 5 on hole 18 is fun!
I started playing disc golf at this course and never tried another course for the first year. After going to another course for the first time I realized how easy the other courses are. Bella Vista will challenge you!
Cons: Don't play immediately after heavy rains/floods. The last large flood really did damage on this course.
Does get muddy on several holes after rains.
2 holes have powerlines that get in the way of opening drives, 13, 17. 17 actually had a disc somehow stuck up in the powerline and burnt to a crisp.
Hole 8's basket was ripped out of the ground during a flood, hasn't been fixed properly as of this review. (Just sits above ground with the concrete base keeping it upright)
No benches but that is something we can live without.
Other Thoughts: There are six holes with a water hazard. Four of them have easier amateur tee pads to almost eliminate the risk.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good, Could Be Better

5+    12/4/2012   12/27/2012
Review By: bball7273
Played: 57  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 4 Years
This review was updated on 6/20/2013
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has a variety of holes from wide open to tight wooded shots. It runs along a lake and can be pretty challenging. Hole 3 is an island shot containing a do or die tee shot. This hole and many others bring a exellent challenge to this course. The tee pads have been replaced from rubber to perfect concrete pads. The tee signs are very accurate and are in great condition. Probably one of the hardest courses in the state. You will have to take a variety of different shots on this one. Also, there is plenty of parking. Concrete tee pads recently added make this a huge plus.
Cons: There is literally no elevation change. I really wish there was a elevated basket or something like that to add a even better challenge. This course is really muddy after rain. If it rains enough, it can become entirely flooded. The last two holes are probably the worst designed holes ive ever played. Hole 17 is straight into the wind for 750 feet and Hole 18 is 1100 feet into the wind. Both of these are wide open and are worthless unless you can throw a 400 foot bomb. Sometimes, pedestrians walking the trail can be in the way. Also, this course is not begginer friendly espically in the summer time. Extreme undergrowth will make it extremley hard to find your disc if you arent in the fairway on the wooded holes and water hazards on at least 5 holes will leave even some of your best shots in the water.
Other Thoughts: This course is really fun in the winter time when all of the knee high grass on the wooded holes is gone and when there are no bugs whatsoever. It is really a fun play. This is a good course and its worth your time.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, wet and challenging!

1    6/10/2012   6/10/2012
Review By: Dan H.
Played: 80  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 6.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great design! This course has a really good variety of holes with left and right dog legs, and long and short holes. It has lots of trees and a fair amount of open holes too. There are several holes with water hazards that make it so much fun to play.

-Good maintenance. The greens were mowed, not any graffiti or trash on the course that I noticed

-Beautiful location. This course is very nice to look at with all the water holes and it
s located in a nice, clean park with friendly people around.

-good baskets, tees, signs, and bag holders on almost EVERY hole.

-Easy to navigate, especially with the signs pointing out the location of the next tees.

-The course is challenging in a good way, but it's still fun enough for beginners to enjoy.
Cons: -It's flat. Although I think the design was fantastic, there was not much elevation change.

-No benches or trash cans at any of the tees.

-The last 2 holes are VERY long and will probably be considered boring or too challenging for a lot of players

-There are a lot of pedestrians around and the pathways are sometimes too close to the fairways which can be dangerous or awkward.
Other Thoughts: This course is just so much fun and enjoyable to play. I am really looking forward to playing it again. Benches and trash cans would make it really nice.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A Very Nice, Challenging Course

2-4    1/2/2012   1/2/2012
Review By: eye-ball-sac
Played: 67  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 5.6 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is located in Northwest Arkansas around Lake Bella Vista. Several holes bring the lake into play. Water hazards are used very effectively. Two holes play on a small peninsula in the lake. There's enough water to give you some risk/reward, but you never have to drive more than 200 ft. to get over it. Beginners can play it safe, or just play from the am tee pads. The course provides a very drastic variety of holes. There's the 1100 ft open shot, and the 250 ft wooded shot. And then, there's everything in between. Some holes will require a long, accurate drive, and then a good upshot to save par. Very challenging to the Int. and Adv. groups. Rec. players will have a really difficult time playing here. Tee signs are very informative, providing the hole distance, line, and next tee pad. Bag holders are next to every tee on the course.
Cons: It can get very muddy, and even flooded here after a big rain. Even in dry periods, some fairways have standing water. Walking paths are along several holes, not causing any safety issues if you can keep on the fairway, but a stray drive could get someone hurt. Many of the tee pads are just rocks put down. It can be difficult teeing off from some. Navigation can be difficult if you don't notice the next tee locations on the signs. Holes 17 and 18 are very long, and boring. Which adds a certain dimension to the course, but really is just making you throw as you walk back to the parking lot.
Other Thoughts: It's a 45 minute drive to here from where I live, and it's definitely worth every minute of it. It's a great course to come and be challenged. And when you shoot well here, you really feel as if you accomplished something great. If you're ever in the NW Arkansas area, this is a must play.

-------------------------
If you mark this review unhelpful or you find a mistake, please send me a personal message here on DGCR explaining what is wrong with it

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/13/2010   9/6/2010
Review By: Janbobbo
Played: 18  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 13.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful course with some really nice and challenging holes. Whether you like water or not, it really adds an extra challenge to the course. My favourite holes were #2, #3 and especially the beautiful and well designed par 4 hole #5 along the side of the lake. Nice and descriptive tee signs with a little map on each sign.
Cons: Too many of the wooded holes are just too narrow and curvy to give you a fair challenge. The rubber tees were in rather bad shape and sometimes your foot would get stuck when trying to rotate on it. Would need some more elevation changes.
Other Thoughts: This course has the potential to be a top quality course but would need better tees and some improvements on some of the wooded holes which in my opinion are more luck based than skill based.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A gem in the Ozarks

1    5/27/2010   8/14/2010
Review By: rolltidegopokes
Played: 16  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 8.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A very challenging course in gorgeous Bella Vista. Right off the highway, easy to find. Great hooks for the bags so things don't get muddy. Shots vary from short to long, straight to dogleg, hyzer, and everything in between. Bring your skills to this place, because it will push you!
Cons: Because it is next to a small lake, it has mud conditions, stagnant water, insects, and droppings from ducks and geese. Keep your children away from the water, as the drop offs are VERY deep.
Other Thoughts: I lost a Star Destroyer on 5 and fell in completely after trying to retrieve it. In short, look at the layout and use the am tees if you think your shot will hit water. Even with this in mind, I would still play again so I could get my hyzer shot correct on hole 5..this time I would use a beast or something that would correct my shot.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.