Bentonville, AR 
Lake Bella Vista Share
Uploaded By: lschrock Hole #5 (Taken 12/2009)
4 / 617ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Worst course for beginners

1    7/25/2010   7/30/2010
Review By: c0ntagion
Played: 9  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.3 Years
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Hooks for your disc bag, descriptive course maps at each tee.
Cons: Lots of hazards, including stagnant water, trees, spiders, etc. There are LOTS of spiders and spider webs in the woods... in fact, this course has the most I've ever encountered in the Ozarks, and that's where I grew up. Indeed, this was the ickiest, smelliest course I've ever played on. I'm a little better than a total beginner, and I had all kinds of issues at this course. The people in front of me lost a disc. I almost lost a disc, and I'm fairly sure I ate a lot of bugs. Some of the shots make it impossible for a beginner to not lose a disc.
Other Thoughts: If you come here and you're anything but an expert, do not use your good discs because you're apt to lose one here. Bring bug spray as well, because this area is very buggy. This is honestly the only time I've ever had a bad time playing disc golf.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 a Solid 3 out of 5

1    5/23/2010   5/25/2010
Review By: vtsquid
Played: 21  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 8.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great lay out, fun holes, easy to fallow, easy to get to, amateur tee's where unsure players don't have to throw over water, and well maintained!
Cons: Can be wet and muddy. Local wild life will leave "Presents" near water holes.
Other Thoughts: This is a well thought out, well maintained fun course. There are a few water shots that will really make you think about using the amateur tee if you don't fully feel comfortable throwing longs ways over the water. But it gives you the option. In the summer months it will be more dry, but when its wet out, bring some boots! You will need them. Playing by your self could be more difficult do to some long grass in the fields.

I really enjoyed the course, and will go back many times when visiting the area, I think the more you play it the more you will end up liking it. The locals seem really nice as well. Hole 17 and 18 are long long long ones, so be prepared. hole 2,3,4,5 and 8 are water shots, you may want a floating disc or use the amateur tee if you are a little or really unsure of your throws, when i was there the person in front of me lost 4 discs that day... :(, Lucky my 2 that landed in the water I was able to reach. The water is not really inviting, so don't bring your swim trunks and expect to just jump right in after your disc, its murky! Also in the deeper water the banks slope at a hard angle, so if your disc does go in the water, go after it fast or it will slide deeper out of sight!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    8/31/2010   5/23/2010
Review By: jeffm516
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/2/2010
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great design. Easy to follow. Fun water holes. The holes are well Maintained. Over all the course is a great place to come practice and get better because you will come out a better player. One of the best course in northwest arkansas. It is a must play for any level player.
Cons: Stays flooded for a long time after rains. You will need to bring a floating disc if you let the water shot get to you. Parking can be an issue sometimes.
Other Thoughts: A Innova Dragon works good and it is chep.

BE A POSITIVE REVIEWER :)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Best in NW Arkansas

1    12/10/2009   12/10/2009
Review By: lschrock
Played: 38  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 13.4 Years
This review was updated on 12/22/2009
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Didn't want the game to end. Bring your bag, you'll need every shot you've got for this course. Everything from a sharp 200 ft. anhyzer to a 400 foot tight hyzer to a 1100 ft. open par 5. Great challenge, excellent scenery. Course plays along a lake, and a lot of holes bring the water into play. There is an island hole, and at least two or three other holes that you have to throw over water. There are at least three true par 4's, that are a lot of fun. Signs are some of the best I've seen, (check picture) including distance, route, and directions to the next hole. It is a huge course ending with the last two holes a par 4 and 5. Has a post on each hole to hang your bag.. nice touch.
Cons: Rubber tees are less than ideal, and it was really muddy. Today was below freezing, so a lot of the mud was crusty, but I still slid a lot. Hole 14 is a joke, throwing 250 feet or so, turning around and throwing back at the hole another 150. It was difficult to even find the basket. It seems like a couple of the last holes (16 or 17 and 18 are just thrown in there to get you back to the parking lot.) I know this is unavoidable because of the layout, but they are just wide open in a field, par 4 and 5.
Other Thoughts: This course is a must play. Extremely clean, well maintained, and well thought out.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful, challenging course

2-4    10/17/2008   11/17/2008
Review By: Kihmosabe
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 24.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent use of the lake and wooded area. Holes range from 200 to 1100 feet making for great variety. Hole 8 will test the gambler in you as it runs almost length-wise with a narrow part of the lake. The basket is nestled between the woods and water; you either play it as a 90 degree angle (safe) or shoot straight over the water 300+ feet.
Cons: The course maint. is very spotty, sometimes unplayable when they let the grass go or it rains. No matter what, lots of opportunity for lost discs in the woods and water. I lost 4 discs one day, mostly on blind shots, but still had a blast. If the course had some elevation shots and better maintenance it could become a 5.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Most challenging course in AR.

3/1/2008   5/16/2008
Review By: ZCRogers
Played: 21  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 8.5 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Extremely challenging while still being fun. Legitimate par 59, and a fantastic design by Randal Reisner. Hole 3 plays onto an island, and hole 4 (my favorite) has you teeing off of the same island over 150 ft of water to a well protected basket. Hole 5 is a true par four that will awe you.

Easily the most challenging course in Arkansas, you will have to pull every shot out of your bag for this course, and than some.
Cons: The only real con for this course is that after every hard rain this course floods, and it floods bad leaving a thick layer of silt mud on most of the course and leaving the other half soggy. Apparently it's some problem with how the lake is dammed up and hopefully is something that can be fixed in the future.
Other Thoughts: Not as physically demanding as Horseshoe Canyon but just as challenging, if not more.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.