Castle Rock, CO
Matney Park Share
Uploaded By: jugglerbri Hole #11 (Taken 2/2013)
3 / 379ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Approach



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Castle ROCK

5+    9/19/2012   9/19/2012
Review By: BrotherGrimm
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: No crowds so you can play a very quick round (1 hour). Cool park for the kids to play on too. Good course for new throwers.
Cons: No shade.
Tee boxes need some help.
Other Thoughts: This high praire course plays very well, if you go in the morning when its cool. The rock out- cropings are really kinda cool, but will destroy a disc. This course is close for me so I play it often, get out enjoy the sun, birds, and open range.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Play it before it's gone

2-4    9/16/2012   9/18/2012
Review By: gibster
Played: 36  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 21.9 Years
This review was updated on 9/28/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Holes 12-18 involve rock outcrops, making them interesting
- No crowds
- Good signs
- Restroom, parking, playground, trails
Cons: - Tees are in rough condition, dirt/filler only, each seems to have a depression towards the end where people plant their feet
- Many similar holes
- Not a single tree
- Windy/hot
- Buzzing power lines near 3-11
- Hole 10 basket is missing
- Rock really eats up discs (even Champion!)
- Many hole lengths feel inaccurate (especially front 9)
Other Thoughts: The course was actually better than what I expected due to lack of photos - I was thinking grass/dirt, and seeing rock outcrops actually incorporated into the course was cool. That said, landing on the rocks can obviously be dangerous to your discs, as this particular rock type seems to have a taste for plastic, even Champion!

Seeing the outline of the new school consume the best part of this course (rock outcrops) is sad, as I did not care too much for the part that may remain (power line holes) - if this course even survives the construction of the new school.

The wind is a factor here, as this course is wide open. Some bush near 2, 9, 11, otherwise very barren. I particularly enjoyed holes 2, and 12-18.

Some hole distances did not feel accurate at all, seems like there may have been a difference of even 100ft or so - this is, of course, a subjective feel, but this is a first time for me that I felt the distances were not quite right, so I thought I would mention it.

When I played (2 rounds on Sunday morning), there was only 1 other person there playing the course.

Overall, this course is decent, but nothing spectacular. I would say play it to taste the rocks...

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Another Course In The High Desert Scrub!

1    7/18/2012   7/23/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 591  Reviewed: 544  Exp: 35.9 Years
This review was updated on 7/26/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Matney Park starts on one side of the street behind the playground for the first three holes and then continues with the final 15 holes on the other side. The terrain is high desert, scrub with no trees in sight. There is is a very slight bit of elevation. The teepads are gravel and as with the case of gravel tee everywhere, they're uneven and pretty uncomfortable to throw off. The course has a course sign on both sides of the street and simple little tee signs There are Innova baskets and the fairways are mowed about 30 feet wide in places. The holes are pretty straight forward and start to feel fairly similar.
I liked # 18 as the signature hole. With it, the course designers were able to find a cool basket placement in an interesting rock formation 362' from the pad.
The views of the mountains in the distance were pretty.
Cons: With no trees and not much elevation, the designers were severely limited in how creative they could get. Hence, you have a fairly bland course with many hot, dusty holes all feeling remarkably alike.
It's get windy out here on the prairie. It gets lonely out here on the prairie.
I never found the # 10 basket which, I think, should have been up near the street somewhere? Was it there. Probably just me suffering from sunstroke or snakebite or dehydration or something.
Other Thoughts: This is the site of someone's future high school. So I have to assume that these long, dusty mundane disc golf holes which I'm today complaining about will one day in the future site of the principal's office or the girl's fastpitch field or maybe even the biology lab. So I guess, I should be glad that I had the chance to play the course before construction starts and progress rears it's ugly head.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Into the great wide open

1    7/24/2011   7/26/2011
Review By: little oz
Played: 46  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 2.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great for a noob if you want to air it out and you are trying to learn how to use your driver. Tee boxes were actually pretty good size and in decent condition. Not crowded on a Sunday at noon. Nice to have a round where nobody is waiting on you. they made good use of the available land and power lines for obstacles. Layout makes sense even to a first timer.
Cons: Could be hell in windy conditions. It's all about the wind here. All of the course is exposed to weather conditions.
Other Thoughts: Bring lots of water on warm days, long pants and sunscreen

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fair Course

2-4    6/19/2011   6/28/2011
Review By: autr3518
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.3 Years
Pros: Easy to navigate, some hazards are out there, rocky and weedy terrain. The tee boxes are large and easy to find along with the pins.
Cons: If it is windy do not play this course there are no trees so no shelter, if you have allergys do not play this course it is filled with weeds, possible snakes however none have been spotted yet, if you just want to get out and play it is a good local course but if there are other options take them!

 Ahhhh Wind

5+    6/16/2011   6/28/2011
Review By: ChingyChing
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.3 Years
Pros: Not over crowded. easy to navigate. Open area. Park if u have children.
Cons: Weeds. Windy. Possible snakes ( none spotted) marsh lands in some areas. Windy again. No tees for shade. Dirt tee boxes. Some posts (tee markers) are broken. Not maintained all that well.
Other Thoughts: Great if u just want to het out and play nut if you have other options go with those.

 

1    11/1/2010   11/3/2010
Review By: Leroy
Played: 116  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice course map at two locations. Mowed fairways. Power poles and bushes are used as obstacles when available. A view of the whole front range from Longs Peak to Pikes Peak, at least 120 miles. Rock formations add a subtle beauty.
Cons: Tee pads are lumpy. No trees. Somewhat windy.
Other Thoughts: I expected this course to be super boring like playing in the middle of a Kansas wheat field, but instead really enjoyed it. You are not going to use every shot in your bag of tricks here, but if you want to try out your straight game this is a lovely place to do it. Inbetween the brush and the rock formations this course is a beautiful example of life in the high desert landscape. Castle Rock has done a decent job with this course considering what they had to work with.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Hot Mess

1    7/10/2010   8/4/2010
Review By: Freakyjazer
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Some very long holes for long drives. Good baskets.
Cons: Lack of variation. Hard to find discs in the long grasses and bushes. Several baskets are surrounded by large rocks that beat up discs. No trees, very windy.
Other Thoughts: Long pants. Extra water.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Open and easy

1    4/1/2010   4/5/2010
Review By: wolito
Played: 85  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 7.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a nicely kept disc golf course on top of a mountain. Wonderful views all around. easy parking right next to the first tee with a large course map there as well. Clean. No graffiti. Not so much as far as elevation changes, but what they do have is used well. Navigation wasn't too much of an issue as there are well defined trails that lead from basket to teepad. Crushed gravel teepads are in decent shape and the baskets are nice. The back half of the course changes things up a bit with the large rocky surface on the fairways and tee areas. A few holes do have trees that add to the challenge.
Cons: Not a hole lot of variety of shots. Most are straight on. It felt as though most of the holes were the same length as well. The open terrian doesn't help much when trying to add difficulty in the course design that only trees can do.
Other Thoughts: This course is on the low end of the challenge spectrum. Long, straight shots are the order for the day. However there are enough changes from hole to hole that doesn't make you feel like you keep playing the same hole. I enjoyed the awesome views of the surrounding mountians and had a nice relaxing time here. There is a large sign at the edge of fairway 17 that states a new high school is going to be buillt on this site. Unsure when that will be. Don't feel you need to go right out and play this course before it is pulled, but if you are in the immediate area, you might want to try it out and stretch your legs.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A great view, could use some layout changes

2-4    3/14/2009   3/20/2009
Review By: mwgheaton
Played: 55  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 13 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I had stated in my Westminster DGC review that Westminster had the best view of the Front Range, but that was before I played Matney. You can see from beyond Pikes Peak to beyond Longs Peak. It is breathtaking. The low rock features greatly improve the aesthetics of the course on what would otherwise be an empty field. Hole number one at the parking lot has a large welcome sign with a large map and rules. There were also maps of the course located in the attached box. This was repeated at hole #4 after crossing the street. The tee pads are well marked and the baskets are good quality.
Cons: Overall, this course has very little technical difficultly beyond throwing it far. There are very few obstacles and almost every drive is wide open. The rocks never really come into play as baskets are set in front of the larger rocks instead of behind them. I played on a calm day, but I could see how the wind could wreak havoc on a round. A few of the pins have been moved and the map has not been updated with location and distances.
Other Thoughts: Matney Park is a very well funded park in a very nice area. There are outhouses, a huge new playground, basketball courts and even an artificial turf multipurpose field. It is located in a upper middle class family friendly neighborhood. I take into consideration context when reviewing courses and this is where I will dock some points off of Matney. The larger park is designed for families with children and the course does not layout well for children playing disc golf. In my opinion, the course should fit in with the purpose of the park. It needs to be a bit shorter. I even saw some families with kids simply playing the first three holes over and over again. Holes 4-18 require stronger arms and/or a lot walking on exposed terrain. I would recommend making the front nine as a whole a bit shorter and looping it back to the parking lot and then making the back nine longer for older kids and visitors and looping it around as well.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.