Disc Golf Store
Castle Rock, CO 
Matney Park Share
Uploaded By: jugglerbri Hole #6 (Taken 2/2013)
3 / 374ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Basket



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Decent high-desert course

1    7/27/2013   6/8/2014
Review By: djros
Played: 29  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 4.3 Years
Pros: Decent variety in distance. There are mowed fairways in the prairie grass. The cap rock here makes for some interesting shots, with some baskets tucked right behind some of the rocks. Next to a nice park.
Cons: There are almost no trees on this course. Hole 2 is the only one with trees, but they are used effectively. The tee signs are not very informative - basically just hole number and length, but it is so wide open that you probably don't really need much more. Some of the tees are uneven, and caused some footing issues for drives. Just one tee/basket position per hole.
Other Thoughts: The course is basically flat, and very wide open. I suppose the wind could be a problem here, but the only significant challenge on most of the holes is the cap rock, which is used pretty effectively to keep this course from being boring. One hole has trees, and a few other have power poles as obstructions. There is almost no penalty to missing the fairway other than not getting to walk in the shorter grass. The cap rock, besides being interesting to look at, also presents a challenge in that it provides difficult footing. Footwork on the caprock is very difficult if you even want to try (I wouldn't, it looked like a faceplant waiting to happen on a runup). Other holes, the caprock is just high enough to block direct approaches to the basket if you are offline. Overall, this is not an outstanding course, but it certainly isn't bad, and entertaining enough for an occasional round here.

Desert With Baskets

1    4/8/2014   4/12/2014
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 345  Reviewed: 341  Exp: 6.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: +Nice enough baskets
+Marked tees
+Somewhat interesting rock formations on parts of the course
+Probably never busy
+Doesn't interfere with other parts of the park
+Nearly impossible to lose a disc here
+Mountain views
Cons: -This place is a dry, dusty desert. There is nothing growing here.
-Very flat.
-There are like 3 obstacles between all 18 holes and all were easily avoided
-This might be the most repetitive course that I have ever played. The holes are all open and are all of a similar distance.
-Pretty far off the interstate. Not worth finding for the traveling player.
-Tees are gravel and are not the best to throw out of. They might hold water on the rare occasions that rain falls in this desert.
-Lots of wind, no shade, you're at the full mercy of the elements.
Other Thoughts: -This place is just a huge waste of baskets. They should move them to anywhere else. Somewhere that has a few trees and some grass.
-Don't waste your time here. It just really isn't fun at all. If you are a traveling player and want to bag the course, bring your favorite mid out and run through the course. Head down to Jellystone for a much more fun round.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

The Same Shot...18 times

1    4/7/2013   4/7/2013
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 119  Reviewed: 111  Exp: 5.5 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Baskets in decent shape
-Pretty easy to navigate
-Slight elevation changes
-Offers a decent range of distance (distance is about from 230 feet to 550 feet).
-There are some rocks on the course that are the most interesting feature on the course
-If you like throwing in the wind, this is the course for you.
-Very uncrowded
Cons: -The course is basically the same shot, 18 times. Each hole is pretty much a wide open straight shot, with a variation in hole length from the last hole.
-This course has absolutely no risk or reward and you can throw basically the same shot on every hole, it doesn't force you to vary up your shots.
-The course has almost no obstacles (There are a couple of rocks, a few bushes and a power pole) but none of the obstacles are really big or tall enough to add any challenge to the hole.
-During a wet summer, I imagine this course would get really overgrown and could lead to a lost disc or two.
-This course is really boring and repetitive
-The tee-pads are terrible (they are very uneven). Since they are dirt, after a big rain or snow, they would be very wet and muddy and hard to use.
-Since this course is wide open, the wind can be a monster.
Other Thoughts: This course is a perfect example of land that shouldn't be used for a disc golf course. I don't think a single tree comes into play on this course, which I didn't even know was possible for disc golf course before I played this course. If this course was nine holes it might be a little better, 18 holes of the same shot over and over again just gets to be too much to bear. This course is a ways off of I-25 too. Unless, you live in Castle Rock, don't bother stopping at this course, it is a waste of time.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Matney Park

2-4    11/30/2012   12/3/2012
Review By: Hoosier Al
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.4 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is a free course and allows you to really practice your drives and mid range throws without worrying about losing your discs.
Cons: Very Mundane, no variance in landscape. Discs get eaten up fast by the rocks. Windy.
Other Thoughts: if you are Jonesing to get out and throw and are in the neighborhood, stop by here. Otherwise, go to jellystone in Larkspur, which is just a little bit further south.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Castle ROCK

5+    9/19/2012   9/19/2012
Review By: BrotherGrimm
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: No crowds so you can play a very quick round (1 hour). Cool park for the kids to play on too. Good course for new throwers.
Cons: No shade.
Tee boxes need some help.
Other Thoughts: This high praire course plays very well, if you go in the morning when its cool. The rock out- cropings are really kinda cool, but will destroy a disc. This course is close for me so I play it often, get out enjoy the sun, birds, and open range.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Play it before it's gone

2-4    9/16/2012   9/18/2012
Review By: gibster
Played: 42  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 22.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/28/2012
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Holes 12-18 involve rock outcrops, making them interesting
- No crowds
- Good signs
- Restroom, parking, playground, trails
Cons: - Tees are in rough condition, dirt/filler only, each seems to have a depression towards the end where people plant their feet
- Many similar holes
- Not a single tree
- Windy/hot
- Buzzing power lines near 3-11
- Hole 10 basket is missing
- Rock really eats up discs (even Champion!)
- Many hole lengths feel inaccurate (especially front 9)
Other Thoughts: The course was actually better than what I expected due to lack of photos - I was thinking grass/dirt, and seeing rock outcrops actually incorporated into the course was cool. That said, landing on the rocks can obviously be dangerous to your discs, as this particular rock type seems to have a taste for plastic, even Champion!

Seeing the outline of the new school consume the best part of this course (rock outcrops) is sad, as I did not care too much for the part that may remain (power line holes) - if this course even survives the construction of the new school.

The wind is a factor here, as this course is wide open. Some bush near 2, 9, 11, otherwise very barren. I particularly enjoyed holes 2, and 12-18.

Some hole distances did not feel accurate at all, seems like there may have been a difference of even 100ft or so - this is, of course, a subjective feel, but this is a first time for me that I felt the distances were not quite right, so I thought I would mention it.

When I played (2 rounds on Sunday morning), there was only 1 other person there playing the course.

Overall, this course is decent, but nothing spectacular. I would say play it to taste the rocks...

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Eh, a soccer field would work...

1    4/22/2012   8/10/2012
Review By: Shogun
Played: 14  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 7.4 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Open shots for good drives.... yep thats it.
Cons: Wind, tons of tall grass to have a disc vanish in. Nothing very techincal about the place, its like a desert wasteland. Tee pads are horrible. Shade? What shade? Not very well maintained.
Other Thoughts: If your in this area, might as well head over to Jellystone.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Feels like desert

1    8/27/2011   7/27/2012
Review By: PHARP
Played: 17  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 12.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is easily naviagated. Close to an outlet mall if you come with family that does not enjoy disc golf. Throwing over and around the large rocks was cool.
Cons: Not much variety. The fairway looked like it was mowed, but only about 10ft wide. If you go outside of the fairway in any way, which is very easy to do with the high winds, you will picking stickers out of you shoestrings and socks for 2 days. No shade. Pretty much looks like the desert. The tee pads are pretty rough as well.
Other Thoughts: This course was good to play while the wife and her mom went to the mall nearby. I love playing disc golf, so palying anywhere is never going to be a bad experience. I would prefer to play other nearby courses before coming here due to lack of variety.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 7-25-12

1    7/25/2012   7/26/2012
Review By: disc dunker
Played: 52  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/27/2012
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: the lay out was easy to understand which is great because i would not want to spend any more time out there than i had to.
Cons: No shade lots of wind, no challenging features tall grass with lots of sticker "socks full" spent a lot of time looking for discs in the roughage. I'd say 15 of the 18 shots felt the same "long and straight into the wind". P.S. try not to twist an ankle on the gravel tee pads.
Other Thoughts: bring lots of water and dont come on a real hot day.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Another Course In The High Desert Scrub!

1    7/18/2012   7/23/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 682  Reviewed: 634  Exp: 36.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/26/2012
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Matney Park starts on one side of the street behind the playground for the first three holes and then continues with the final 15 holes on the other side. The terrain is high desert, scrub with no trees in sight. There is is a very slight bit of elevation. The teepads are gravel and as with the case of gravel tee everywhere, they're uneven and pretty uncomfortable to throw off. The course has a course sign on both sides of the street and simple little tee signs There are Innova baskets and the fairways are mowed about 30 feet wide in places. The holes are pretty straight forward and start to feel fairly similar.
I liked # 18 as the signature hole. With it, the course designers were able to find a cool basket placement in an interesting rock formation 362' from the pad.
The views of the mountains in the distance were pretty.
Cons: With no trees and not much elevation, the designers were severely limited in how creative they could get. Hence, you have a fairly bland course with many hot, dusty holes all feeling remarkably alike.
It's get windy out here on the prairie. It gets lonely out here on the prairie.
I never found the # 10 basket which, I think, should have been up near the street somewhere? Was it there. Probably just me suffering from sunstroke or snakebite or dehydration or something.
Other Thoughts: This is the site of someone's future high school. So I have to assume that these long, dusty mundane disc golf holes which I'm today complaining about will one day in the future site of the principal's office or the girl's fastpitch field or maybe even the biology lab. So I guess, I should be glad that I had the chance to play the course before construction starts and progress rears it's ugly head.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.