Castle Rock, CO 
Matney Park Share
Uploaded By: jugglerbri Hole #3 (Taken 2/2013)
3 / 299ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Basket

Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Feels like desert

1    8/27/2011   7/27/2012
Review By: PHARP
Played: 17  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 13.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is easily naviagated. Close to an outlet mall if you come with family that does not enjoy disc golf. Throwing over and around the large rocks was cool.
Cons: Not much variety. The fairway looked like it was mowed, but only about 10ft wide. If you go outside of the fairway in any way, which is very easy to do with the high winds, you will picking stickers out of you shoestrings and socks for 2 days. No shade. Pretty much looks like the desert. The tee pads are pretty rough as well.
Other Thoughts: This course was good to play while the wife and her mom went to the mall nearby. I love playing disc golf, so palying anywhere is never going to be a bad experience. I would prefer to play other nearby courses before coming here due to lack of variety.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    7/25/2012   7/26/2012
Review By: disc dunker
Played: 52  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/27/2012
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: the lay out was easy to understand which is great because i would not want to spend any more time out there than i had to.
Cons: No shade lots of wind, no challenging features tall grass with lots of sticker "socks full" spent a lot of time looking for discs in the roughage. I'd say 15 of the 18 shots felt the same "long and straight into the wind". P.S. try not to twist an ankle on the gravel tee pads.
Other Thoughts: bring lots of water and dont come on a real hot day.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Another Course In The High Desert Scrub!

1    7/18/2012   7/23/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 770  Reviewed: 720  Exp: 37.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/26/2012
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Matney Park starts on one side of the street behind the playground for the first three holes and then continues with the final 15 holes on the other side. The terrain is high desert, scrub with no trees in sight. There is is a very slight bit of elevation. The teepads are gravel and as with the case of gravel tee everywhere, they're uneven and pretty uncomfortable to throw off. The course has a course sign on both sides of the street and simple little tee signs There are Innova baskets and the fairways are mowed about 30 feet wide in places. The holes are pretty straight forward and start to feel fairly similar.
I liked # 18 as the signature hole. With it, the course designers were able to find a cool basket placement in an interesting rock formation 362' from the pad.
The views of the mountains in the distance were pretty.
Cons: With no trees and not much elevation, the designers were severely limited in how creative they could get. Hence, you have a fairly bland course with many hot, dusty holes all feeling remarkably alike.
It's get windy out here on the prairie. It gets lonely out here on the prairie.
I never found the # 10 basket which, I think, should have been up near the street somewhere? Was it there. Probably just me suffering from sunstroke or snakebite or dehydration or something.
Other Thoughts: This is the site of someone's future high school. So I have to assume that these long, dusty mundane disc golf holes which I'm today complaining about will one day in the future site of the principal's office or the girl's fastpitch field or maybe even the biology lab. So I guess, I should be glad that I had the chance to play the course before construction starts and progress rears it's ugly head.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


2-4    6/12/2012   6/26/2012
Review By: Moss
Played: 24  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.4 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Not crowded, 18 holes, some interesting scenery
Cons: Uneven dirt tees, very few obstacles or challenge other than distance.
Other Thoughts: Course is not terrible, but in general just pretty bland. I can't see making the trip there unless you want a course all to yourself or it is the closest course to you.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.


5+    6/10/2012   6/10/2012
Review By: shawnspraguer
Played: 19  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 12.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good baskets. Wide open for practicing long game. No water to lose the discs in.
Cons: Crappy dirt tee boxes that need to be poured concrete. Not challenging and no technical shots. Prone to lots of wind being high up and exposed.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Into the great wide open

1    7/24/2011   7/26/2011
Review By: little oz
Played: 70  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 4.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great for a noob if you want to air it out and you are trying to learn how to use your driver. Tee boxes were actually pretty good size and in decent condition. Not crowded on a Sunday at noon. Nice to have a round where nobody is waiting on you. they made good use of the available land and power lines for obstacles. Layout makes sense even to a first timer.
Cons: Could be hell in windy conditions. It's all about the wind here. All of the course is exposed to weather conditions.
Other Thoughts: Bring lots of water on warm days, long pants and sunscreen

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fair Course

2-4    6/19/2011   6/28/2011
Review By: autr3518
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.8 Years
Pros: Easy to navigate, some hazards are out there, rocky and weedy terrain. The tee boxes are large and easy to find along with the pins.
Cons: If it is windy do not play this course there are no trees so no shelter, if you have allergys do not play this course it is filled with weeds, possible snakes however none have been spotted yet, if you just want to get out and play it is a good local course but if there are other options take them!

 Ahhhh Wind

5+    6/16/2011   6/28/2011
Review By: ChingyChing
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 9.8 Years
Pros: Not over crowded. easy to navigate. Open area. Park if u have children.
Cons: Weeds. Windy. Possible snakes ( none spotted) marsh lands in some areas. Windy again. No tees for shade. Dirt tee boxes. Some posts (tee markers) are broken. Not maintained all that well.
Other Thoughts: Great if u just want to het out and play nut if you have other options go with those.

 Great Wide Open West

2-4    1/27/2011   3/27/2011
Review By: DGtourist
Played: 188  Reviewed: 106  Exp: 12.5 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I have not encountered any issues with crowds. There are restroom facilities in the parking lot. The fairways, tee pads, posts and baskets all flow logically and I was never turned around nor did I need to consult the map often. Large rocks and sage keep it interesting. The distance is honest and the down and then back up hill make for an interesting wind round.

This course shows signs of local care and I trust that there are reasons and good people behind the design decisions here. I am glad to have played here and overall I'd rate it as "fun" on the fun scale. I felt like I could have gotten by with only a handful of discs. The views here, and all of Castle Rock, are fantastic. The neighborhood feels nice and cozy.
Cons: My dog had issues with the cactus in his paws. If you are not in the mood for a wind game this will not be our cup of tea. The tee pad are not paved. The yellow plastic in my bag blended in with the prairie so I had a few issues finding things. This open space is little more than an empty undeveloped lot amongst different housing tracts. I've only played in the cold but with the wind in the open seem to me like a good place to burn and dehydrate in warmer months.
Other Thoughts: Wide open treeless and windy is my personal least favorite type of course. The first time I played here was in the dead of winter and the wind added many strokes to my game. The map on this site doesn't show it but to the west of #1's tee are a ball field and parking lot. That is where you want to be, 1-3; the rest of the course is in the great wide open across the street. I big arm on a calm day would love this course. I would recommend this course for all types of players; big arm should enjoy it, with a caution for golfers looking for obstacles.

Gordon1018's suggestion of using the cap rocks as hazards sounds like fun and I will try that next time I'm here. The designer and local club did well for what they have to work with.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


1    11/1/2010   11/3/2010
Review By: Leroy
Played: 152  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 5.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice course map at two locations. Mowed fairways. Power poles and bushes are used as obstacles when available. A view of the whole front range from Longs Peak to Pikes Peak, at least 120 miles. Rock formations add a subtle beauty.
Cons: Tee pads are lumpy. No trees. Somewhat windy.
Other Thoughts: I expected this course to be super boring like playing in the middle of a Kansas wheat field, but instead really enjoyed it. You are not going to use every shot in your bag of tricks here, but if you want to try out your straight game this is a lovely place to do it. Inbetween the brush and the rock formations this course is a beautiful example of life in the high desert landscape. Castle Rock has done a decent job with this course considering what they had to work with.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.