Castle Rock, CO 
Matney Park Share
Uploaded By: jugglerbri Hole #8 (Taken 2/2013)
3 / 552ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Matney

2-4    6/12/2012   6/26/2012
Review By: Moss
Played: 24  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.1 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Not crowded, 18 holes, some interesting scenery
Cons: Uneven dirt tees, very few obstacles or challenge other than distance.
Other Thoughts: Course is not terrible, but in general just pretty bland. I can't see making the trip there unless you want a course all to yourself or it is the closest course to you.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Meh

5+    6/10/2012   6/10/2012
Review By: shawnspraguer
Played: 19  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 11.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good baskets. Wide open for practicing long game. No water to lose the discs in.
Cons: Crappy dirt tee boxes that need to be poured concrete. Not challenging and no technical shots. Prone to lots of wind being high up and exposed.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Into the great wide open

1    7/24/2011   7/26/2011
Review By: little oz
Played: 51  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 3.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great for a noob if you want to air it out and you are trying to learn how to use your driver. Tee boxes were actually pretty good size and in decent condition. Not crowded on a Sunday at noon. Nice to have a round where nobody is waiting on you. they made good use of the available land and power lines for obstacles. Layout makes sense even to a first timer.
Cons: Could be hell in windy conditions. It's all about the wind here. All of the course is exposed to weather conditions.
Other Thoughts: Bring lots of water on warm days, long pants and sunscreen

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fair Course

2-4    6/19/2011   6/28/2011
Review By: autr3518
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.6 Years
Pros: Easy to navigate, some hazards are out there, rocky and weedy terrain. The tee boxes are large and easy to find along with the pins.
Cons: If it is windy do not play this course there are no trees so no shelter, if you have allergys do not play this course it is filled with weeds, possible snakes however none have been spotted yet, if you just want to get out and play it is a good local course but if there are other options take them!

 Ahhhh Wind

5+    6/16/2011   6/28/2011
Review By: ChingyChing
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.6 Years
Pros: Not over crowded. easy to navigate. Open area. Park if u have children.
Cons: Weeds. Windy. Possible snakes ( none spotted) marsh lands in some areas. Windy again. No tees for shade. Dirt tee boxes. Some posts (tee markers) are broken. Not maintained all that well.
Other Thoughts: Great if u just want to het out and play nut if you have other options go with those.

 Great Wide Open West

2-4    1/27/2011   3/27/2011
Review By: DGtourist
Played: 188  Reviewed: 106  Exp: 11.2 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I have not encountered any issues with crowds. There are restroom facilities in the parking lot. The fairways, tee pads, posts and baskets all flow logically and I was never turned around nor did I need to consult the map often. Large rocks and sage keep it interesting. The distance is honest and the down and then back up hill make for an interesting wind round.

This course shows signs of local care and I trust that there are reasons and good people behind the design decisions here. I am glad to have played here and overall I'd rate it as "fun" on the fun scale. I felt like I could have gotten by with only a handful of discs. The views here, and all of Castle Rock, are fantastic. The neighborhood feels nice and cozy.
Cons: My dog had issues with the cactus in his paws. If you are not in the mood for a wind game this will not be our cup of tea. The tee pad are not paved. The yellow plastic in my bag blended in with the prairie so I had a few issues finding things. This open space is little more than an empty undeveloped lot amongst different housing tracts. I've only played in the cold but with the wind in the open seem to me like a good place to burn and dehydrate in warmer months.
Other Thoughts: Wide open treeless and windy is my personal least favorite type of course. The first time I played here was in the dead of winter and the wind added many strokes to my game. The map on this site doesn't show it but to the west of #1's tee are a ball field and parking lot. That is where you want to be, 1-3; the rest of the course is in the great wide open across the street. I big arm on a calm day would love this course. I would recommend this course for all types of players; big arm should enjoy it, with a caution for golfers looking for obstacles.

Gordon1018's suggestion of using the cap rocks as hazards sounds like fun and I will try that next time I'm here. The designer and local club did well for what they have to work with.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/1/2010   11/3/2010
Review By: Leroy
Played: 128  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 4.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice course map at two locations. Mowed fairways. Power poles and bushes are used as obstacles when available. A view of the whole front range from Longs Peak to Pikes Peak, at least 120 miles. Rock formations add a subtle beauty.
Cons: Tee pads are lumpy. No trees. Somewhat windy.
Other Thoughts: I expected this course to be super boring like playing in the middle of a Kansas wheat field, but instead really enjoyed it. You are not going to use every shot in your bag of tricks here, but if you want to try out your straight game this is a lovely place to do it. Inbetween the brush and the rock formations this course is a beautiful example of life in the high desert landscape. Castle Rock has done a decent job with this course considering what they had to work with.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Hot Mess

1    7/10/2010   8/4/2010
Review By: Freakyjazer
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Some very long holes for long drives. Good baskets.
Cons: Lack of variation. Hard to find discs in the long grasses and bushes. Several baskets are surrounded by large rocks that beat up discs. No trees, very windy.
Other Thoughts: Long pants. Extra water.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Mw New Home course

5+    7/16/2010   7/19/2010
Review By: gordon1018
Played: 32  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 16.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great views of the surrounding area. Easy to find the next Tee and holes when the fairways are mowed. The terrain is great on the Back Nine, with the caprocks and a little more elevation change. Teepads in good if not great condition. Map and signage are in good condition. In nice neighborhood with great park and playground nearby
Cons: Windy days can make an enjoyable round into a nightmare. Best to play earlier in the day before the afternoon thundershowers hit. The front nine is a little boring with pretty much just straight long throws. If it's not too hot, wear long pants for the brush. Occasionally we have Mosquito troubles, but it hasn't been too bad lately. A can of OFF might be a good accesory though
Other Thoughts: I moved to Colorado, and literally live down the road from this course. I've played it a lot due to convenience. I'm not going to say it's my favorite, but it does the job. As I said earlier, play in the morning, when it's not as windy. If you only have time for 9 holes, play the back nine. Using the Cap Rocks as virtual "hazards" makes it a lot more fun and adds a lot more strategy to the course. We play that if your disc is sitting on top of any exposed rock formation you get a penalty stroke, but still play it from where it lies. Grip it, rip it and air out on the front nine. Fairly long course and good if your in the area.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Open and easy

1    4/1/2010   4/5/2010
Review By: wolito
Played: 85  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 7.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a nicely kept disc golf course on top of a mountain. Wonderful views all around. easy parking right next to the first tee with a large course map there as well. Clean. No graffiti. Not so much as far as elevation changes, but what they do have is used well. Navigation wasn't too much of an issue as there are well defined trails that lead from basket to teepad. Crushed gravel teepads are in decent shape and the baskets are nice. The back half of the course changes things up a bit with the large rocky surface on the fairways and tee areas. A few holes do have trees that add to the challenge.
Cons: Not a hole lot of variety of shots. Most are straight on. It felt as though most of the holes were the same length as well. The open terrian doesn't help much when trying to add difficulty in the course design that only trees can do.
Other Thoughts: This course is on the low end of the challenge spectrum. Long, straight shots are the order for the day. However there are enough changes from hole to hole that doesn't make you feel like you keep playing the same hole. I enjoyed the awesome views of the surrounding mountians and had a nice relaxing time here. There is a large sign at the edge of fairway 17 that states a new high school is going to be buillt on this site. Unsure when that will be. Don't feel you need to go right out and play this course before it is pulled, but if you are in the immediate area, you might want to try it out and stretch your legs.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.