Castle Rock, CO 
Matney Park Share
Uploaded By: jugglerbri Hole #10 (Taken 2/2013)
3 / 333ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 ZZZ, ZZZ, ZZZ...

1    1/16/2010   1/17/2010
Review By: DGWookie
Played: 21  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/19/2010
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The tee boxes are fairly large and filled with crusher fines - I like this a little more than concrete. Totally open area and way easy to navigate. The course was almost trash free. Hole #15 is the best hole of the entire course. The most you can see from the tee box area is the top of the basket.
Cons: Crazy amounts of mud right now!!! The course really is not challenging enough. Without major obstacles this place can get boring fairly quickly. Take a driver and a putter - that's all you'll need.
Other Thoughts: Bring your Ipod to help break up the monotony.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A great view, could use some layout changes

2-4    3/14/2009   3/20/2009
Review By: mwgheaton
Played: 55  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 13.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I had stated in my Westminster DGC review that Westminster had the best view of the Front Range, but that was before I played Matney. You can see from beyond Pikes Peak to beyond Longs Peak. It is breathtaking. The low rock features greatly improve the aesthetics of the course on what would otherwise be an empty field. Hole number one at the parking lot has a large welcome sign with a large map and rules. There were also maps of the course located in the attached box. This was repeated at hole #4 after crossing the street. The tee pads are well marked and the baskets are good quality.
Cons: Overall, this course has very little technical difficultly beyond throwing it far. There are very few obstacles and almost every drive is wide open. The rocks never really come into play as baskets are set in front of the larger rocks instead of behind them. I played on a calm day, but I could see how the wind could wreak havoc on a round. A few of the pins have been moved and the map has not been updated with location and distances.
Other Thoughts: Matney Park is a very well funded park in a very nice area. There are outhouses, a huge new playground, basketball courts and even an artificial turf multipurpose field. It is located in a upper middle class family friendly neighborhood. I take into consideration context when reviewing courses and this is where I will dock some points off of Matney. The larger park is designed for families with children and the course does not layout well for children playing disc golf. In my opinion, the course should fit in with the purpose of the park. It needs to be a bit shorter. I even saw some families with kids simply playing the first three holes over and over again. Holes 4-18 require stronger arms and/or a lot walking on exposed terrain. I would recommend making the front nine as a whole a bit shorter and looping it back to the parking lot and then making the back nine longer for older kids and visitors and looping it around as well.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 All About Conditions

1    11/3/2008   11/3/2008
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 95  Reviewed: 95  Exp: 6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The weeds were mowed which made it easy to figure out where you were supposed to throw and where the next tee was. There were two nice large signs with a map of the course on them and one sign looked like there was a place for maps or score cards or something. It was very easy to find discs.
Cons: Setting makes windy days exceptionaly bad. There are no trees of any kind. Tees are literally just posts with numbers on them. While there was a varience in lengths it was hard to tell because of the wind conditions. Even the long hole did not feel as though it was as long as the map says. Without wind there is very little challenge on this course. The interesting "rock hazards" made for interesting terrain but will eat discs.
Other Thoughts: I picked a day to play this course that I thought was going to have a nice light wind and although I did not make it there at the optimum time I felt like I was in a wind tunnel the entire time. I considered stopping after a few holes but pressed on and then realized about halfway through that without the wind there was very little challenge to this course. I would say that this is a good course for beginners but the rock hazards will force them to buy new discs sooner.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Lots o fun

5+    9/13/2008   9/23/2008
Review By: Vino
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 20.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good mix of hole distances. Beautiful views of the rockies. Pin placements can make you work for it, behind scrub oak, behind or on top of rock formations. Love the terrain, rock formations, very easy to find arandt shots. Fairways are cut from tee box to pin, tall "rough" beyond that.
Cons: No tee boxes, soon to come, the city is working on it. All holes have a par 3 rating, I'm working on that as well as yardage markers on each tee. Also working on next hole signs to make finding the next tee easier. The wind can be strong, best time to play is early morning or late afternoon.
Other Thoughts: The course is built "around" where the school will be placed. If anything 1 or 2 holes might have to be moved but the course will remain unchanged. Park in the playground parking lot, the first tee is behind the restrooms. I do not work for the city, only trying to help them out.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Very Raw

1    8/30/2008   8/30/2008
Review By: waywu2001
Played: 28  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 9.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Only DG course within miles. Good elevation challenge. Good tee posts.
Cons: The wind was the only real obstacle. Doesn't demand a variety of shots. Not good footing for the drives. Watch out for cacti.
Other Thoughts: I was just visiting and it was very windy, but it probably usually is due to being on top of a mountain.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Castle Rock Course

6/11/2008   6/18/2008
Review By: coachgl
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A few holes are over more of a "rock" landscape and were very enjoyable. Very easy to find your disc. A good variety of long and "not as long" holes. If your in the Castle Rock area, or making a trip there, it is a pretty good course.
Cons: Most of the terrain was a heavy dose of weeds. Some might call it brush, but it wasn't fun stomping through. The overall course layout was a little confusing for this first timer. Holes 1-3 are across the street from the rest of the course which is where I obviously walked over to. I spent some time looking for the first tee.
Other Thoughts: Once I did find the first tee, there was a sign posted about the course being on a "future school site." Says the course will either be moved or closed when the school is built.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.