Course Extinct
Wilson, NC 
Toisnot Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: bgreen Hole #12
4 / 344ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12: Photo 1



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  First coarse played

1    4/29/2010   4/29/2010
Review By: dfh8506
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.7 Years
Pros: Good coarse with different dog legs and obstacles. Lots of tree overhang.
Cons: Some tee are not marked. Some areas are muddy.
Other Thoughts: This was my first coarse played. Just started playing disc golf and I love it. I think I am hooked.

 

1    2/27/2010   2/27/2010
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 106  Reviewed: 103  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/6/2010
Pros: -This is a challenging technical course
-The woods and makes you use a variety of shots
-Risk/Reward is awesome when you flirt with the water on 15 and 16
-Friendly Locals
-Tons of different ducks, geese and other wildlife
Cons: -First hole is used for extra parking for softball players
-Woods holes were very muddy and wet
-Bathrooms were locked and Porta-Potty had to TP (there was another restroom open on the otherside of the water)
-Fairways could be better
-Watch out for homeruns on 17 and 18 because you tee off right behind the fence
-Trash scattered throughout the park, not a lot but a quick clean up would be nice
Other Thoughts: There are two very short holes (about 100 ft). The 15th hole plays up to a large stream and 16 goes over the corner of the lake. I wish these water hazards were more frequent becausde they were very fun. I came away happy with the course beacause I was prepared for mud and the challenges were good too.

 Scruffy and Confused

1    3/4/2009   8/24/2009
Review By: Olorin
Played: 304  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 35.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/29/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
*My favorite hole is 15. It's a challenging 385 ft hole with well defined fairway with scenic large trees. Placing your drive is important because it ends with the basket on the other side of deep water overflow stream.
Cons:
-Swamps! There are drainage problems on 11 fairways (1, 2 is very bad, 3-7, 12, 14, 17-18. Basket 6 was in the middle of a swamp. Very frustrating! Only play here in dry summer.
-Totally flat! Only two holes have any elevation change at all and those are a mere +4 ft and - 3 ft.
-The terrain feels scruffy. Lots of thick gnarly undergrowth and thorns make it easy to lose a disc.
-A few holes need more trees to be cleared to be fair.
-The course can be a bit hard to navigate. Some tees were hard to find, and there are some old obsolete concrete tees from the original design scattered around in a few places. Also, 5 baskets were hard to see from the tee.
-I didn't like the S curve fairway on hole 9 very much; I thought it was a poor shape. Although there's pretty good fairway shape variety (9 St/ 2 Lt/ 3 Rt/ 3 S/ 1 L), there are a few too many straight, and the S curves got a little old by the 3rd one.
-The course level has a confused identity whether it's Red or White. (Lengths: 4 of 105-170/ 5<299/ 8<399/ 1 of 430) See the notes below.
Other Thoughts:
Course Level: White (most suited for Intermediate players rated 900.) The course seems confused as to what level it's designed for. On the front 9, with six short holes (4 of 105-170 ft. and 2 of 200-215 ft.) it plays very much like a Red level course, but the back 9 holes are longer and they play like a White level course. So it's either White level with some short holes or Red level with longer holes including five Red CR par 4s. I chose to designate it an easier White level course.

I didn't much care for holes 1, 5, 9-10, 17-18, so I started not liking the course much, felt the same in the middle, and ended feeling very blah. I just knocked the swamp mud off my shoes and moved on to the next course. I don't have much desire to play here again.

A note about my rating: My rating is a subjective measure of my enjoyment of the course, on the day I played it, and it is NOT intended to be a measure of the quality of the course. My ratings are given "on the curve" in relation to all other courses I've played.

~More detailed "Overall Rating" notes and "Hole-by-hole Ratings" are available in the Files section.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Great course but Sketchy at times

5+    4/25/2009   4/26/2009
Review By: DiscConnected
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: More than a couple of holes set up for birdie shots. Nice two waters holes at 15 and at 16 with a tee shot over water. Most holes in wooded area with some open shots around softball fields from 15-18. With Softball field lights on can play or practice on holes 16-18 until park closes at 10:00pm
Hole 8 is a hole you can easily ace
Signs at each hole with hole layout and throwing line, but only a few with "next tees" signage. Good layout of course.
Cons: Well I have seen snakes out there many times and feel like I need a walking stick to play. If shots go into the woody areas just watch where you step. Holes 5-8 are hard to navigate to. No elevation changes.
Other Thoughts: Not trying to scare anyone way, This is a great beginner course. Love the night time when I shoot 16-18 under the lights!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 wilson

1    11/1/2008   11/6/2008
Review By: ecupirate82
Played: 47  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 9 Years
This review was updated on 5/23/2009
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Some short holes that you can possibly hit some aces. Well laid out holes. I only got through 12 holes before it got dark though.
Cons: First time I went there was water everywhere. I couldn't even play. BUGS!!!!!! Bring bug spray!
Other Thoughts: Plan on going back and finishing soon to see how the last couple holes play out! Not a favorite of mine but its a good change from playing the local courses.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/16/2008   10/16/2008
Review By: Recdrumz
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Couple of interesting holes in the woods. Some very close shots for possible birdies and aces!
Cons: This place is creepy! lots of fire ants, not a comfy feeling pulling discs from the wooded areas so be accurate.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Toisnot

7/25/2008   7/27/2008
Review By: bgreen
Played: 34  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 7.6 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Toisnot is a technical course, with 2-14 in the woods and 15-16 flirting with water. I found most of the holes to be challenging; making me think before most throws. It is not a throw it and hope for the best; you need to look for different routes to get your best score (throw out of the box) so to speak. You will need to be able to throw overhead shots, and anhyzers. I found the layout to be very good, and there is signage. The park it is in is a very nice park with a nice skate area, (for you guys that do both), and the park is well used. In the open field holes the grounds are well kept.
Cons: For me there were just a few cons for this course; a few of the tees can be hard to find. Form 9 you will need to go out of the woods toward the ball fields to get to 10; and from 14 go to the left walking around the lake to the 16 tee and then look to the left down the hill for 15. The wooded area can stand to be picked up some. There is still some stuff around from the floor from Hurricane Floyd in 96, as this complete area was under about 7' of water. On some holes the signage could be better and or signs pointing to the next hole. Could be rated higher if these were worked on.
Other Thoughts: Even though there are some cons, (that could be fixed) I will be returning to this one many more times if for the challenge alone. It looks like there are some low areas that would hold water, some were still wet. If the area has had a lot of rain it would be muddy or wet/standing. Be sure to have bug spray (it is a good idea on any course in the south late spring to late fall). The hours are 7am-10pm.


6 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.