Pensacola, FL 
University of West Florida Share
Uploaded By: Martin Dewgarita Hole #8 (Taken 3/2011)
3 / --   3 / 185ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee (The Bike Tree)



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Fun layout with potential...

1    4/30/2012   4/30/2012
Review By: Ninja_Disc_Master
Played: 39  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 6.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Signage- THE BEST I'VE EVER SEEN. Only on the front though. Some cages even have arrows pointing the way to the next tee.
2. Scenery- Environmental scenery is pleasent, but nothing special, however the course is spread through the sporting activities area of the campus with the female scenery being above average!
3. Course play/layout- Good to the course with holes 1 and 18 starting and ending close. Beginner freindly. Mostly open with some challenging holes but, I took a buddy that was only playing for the 2nd time and he finished +7 and he had fun even though the trees were his nemesis on a couple holes.
4. Cages- All cages were is good to excellent condition, well maked and easily identifiable. Most were put in an as challenging as possible location based on the course layout.
5. Amenities- Plenty of food and drink vending available on the front. There are a few benches, trash cans and bag holders throughout.
Cons: 1. Tee pads- Unsafe footing with dirt and roots on the majority of the holes. You can still use the same general area for the tee off and avoid the "well used" tee spots.
2. Signage- The back 9 holes lack good(if any) signage and flow so navigation isn't as smooth as the front but, manageable.
3. Amenities- Restrooms? If there were some I didn't know where to find them. No "pro-shop" or disc purchase/rental in the area.
4. Course play/layout- The front is smooth and fun and the back is a work in progress. If/when the back is cleaned up of the major clearing debri left behind, the proper signage put in, and some form of actual tee pad and this course will be good or higher easily.
Other Thoughts: The front of this course is very good and like Sunset DGC this course has 2 different sides to it in the semi-technical/challenging and the open/boring 9's respectively. Definitely not a destination course but, I'd suggest this course if in the area, but only after you played the Blue Angel palmetto/oaks courses and even Sunset. When this course if complete, I think it could actually be rated a 3.5 so look for updates!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  

1    1/2/2012   1/2/2012
Review By: jdjrocks101
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course has a good layout using available spaces around the playing field, college buildings, parking lots and other recreational areas. The first 8 holes are pretty well manicured and easy to play.
Cons: They have removed the plethora of sticker vines that overrun the last 9 holes. Thank you! However, I hope it is still a work in progress as it is now difficult to walk through with all of the small wood debris.
Other Thoughts: This course becomes more difficult after hole 8 as the fairways are not well defined and are often rather narrow.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  My home course

5+    5/10/2010   5/17/2010
Review By: musicmanryan
Played: 39  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is my home course and one of the first courses I played. I cleared out 17 and 18. So while I will try an stay objective I figure I might as well get that out.

The front "9" is a great beginners course. It is fairly open but does force you to pick some lines but won't penalize you too sharply if you miss them.

The back 9 will be good for intermediate to advanced players because it adds length and tighter lines.

Easy access to facilities and vending machines on the front nine.

There are a nice variety of backhand and flick lines.
Cons: Some holes are close to parking lots so there is a danger of nailing someone's car.

The transition from 6-7 will be hard for people playing the course for the first time.

Dirt Tees.

UWF has recently removed hole 3 and 5. My understanding is that 3 will put back in, right now there is a trash can place holder :(

The back nine still has several places where an errant throw can cause you some time finding or losing a disc.
Other Thoughts: If you live in the area you should definitely check the course out. I can't really suggest anyone that doesn't live in it's immediate vicinity take a long drive to play it. I love it but I also helped with it.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 progress

1    10/25/2008   10/25/2008
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 226  Reviewed: 179  Exp: 16.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice landscape. Good use of empty space on a college campus. Free to play. Parking is available. There's a map. Mostly marked.
Half clean, fun but putter shots and half tight in a jungle.
Cons: The tight holes get sorta crazy, not much of a chance of anyone getting a good drive off. The last 3 holes do not exist yet, and there's no sign saying so so don't bother looking for them!
Dirt tees.
Other Thoughts: Maybe by the end of the year it will be complete, it's all volunteer work.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.