Fort Collins, CO 
Fort Collins High School Share



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
So Close To Being Really Nice!

1    7/18/2012   7/22/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/27/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: For a school course with no signage, no marked teepads and staked down portable baskets, this course could be really decent. The course starts right by one of the school's parking lots and plays around the baseball field, across a wonderful long park like section of the school and then back through the center of the school's amazing athletic complex. By the way, this school's athletic facilities rivals most colleges. The holes which play nearest the school and it's athletic fields are most typical of those found on other HS courses except for # 4. It's an interesting little throw across a pond where you can use a chain link fence as a backstop for your disc.

It's the holes that play along the grassy park like area that are special. First of all, there seems to me to be room to place the whole 9 hole course down here and not deal with the day to day HS ebb and flow. Also there was a large green area behind me as I played these holes. Is that city park land? Does that land belong to the HS? Could it be incorporated into the course somehow?
Cons: Obviously, the fact that you can't play during school hours and during athletic events. The lack of signage and marked teepads. All the locked gates and chances for errant discs to land on the wrong side of fenced in areas.
Other Thoughts: I would love to see the local disc club try to work with the FCHS staff to set this course right. Move it out away from the main campus. Incorporate more of the beautiful park grounds. Maybe ultilize that open space (city parks?) that isn't being used. There is a lot of untapped potential here. The HS admin might be close-minded but then again, they might be happy to move the course away from their main campus. You never know unless you try!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 One of the better school courses I have played

1    7/16/2012   7/17/2012
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I was pleasantly surprised at the length of this course coupled with the terrain. This isn't type of school course I am used to - most are short and play in a very confined area because of small campus grounds. This is one of the biggest pieces of land I have seen dedicated to a high school, and it's used to a big advantage. The design circles in a clockwise direction around the football and baseball fields, and even uses the small pond near the park as a hazard for #4. Half of the baskets are in good shape and pins are numbered starting on #5.

BEST HOLE/S: #4; #6
Cons: First timers - bring your map. I created a rough one for the site to help you out, but holes #1 - #4 aren't marked for at all. Note that #2 and #4 do have faded teebox lines painted onto the concrete. #2 is located directly behind the shot put area aiming up the slope and #4 is located in the circular concrete area before the park aiming over the pond. I'm sure there are more - but I simply couldn't locate them, which goes back to the lack of markings being the biggest negative. Once you've played through a few times - it's not a huge issue, but it would be a nice if it were fixed.

The other issue is the proximity of pins to the fenced areas. While not a huge issue for the decent player, an errant shot could fly the fence pretty easily. However, if played correctly - the fence can also be an advantage for example on holes like #4 or #6 when trying to deflect or stop your disc. Also, since this is a school course - basic playable hours are more limited as with any school course.

WORST HOLE/S: #1; #9
Other Thoughts: Bottom line is this is one of the better school courses I have ever played, and if they could fix the signage issues it would go a long way in making the course look a lot more professional. However, given the proximity of the most holes to the other athletic areas, it will never be the caliber of courses like Edora Park, Oxbow DGC, or The Outback DGC in Greeley. And even though I think Boltz Junior High School is a slightly stronger course, you could argue this course in the top three Fort Collins courses based on its length and difficulty.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Not the most fun you'll ever have...

1    3/15/2011   3/27/2011
Review By: kcplease
Played: 101  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/27/2012
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Holes are a good variety in length
-I really enjoyed the setup on hole 4 and the way they used the water hazard, forcing the controlled shot.
-The course flows very well. This is the most important thing in a course for me. It needs to feel like it belongs on the land, and this one does. Thats the best I can explain how I feel about it, at least.
Cons: Tees are just spray painted onto sidewalks, and sometimes it can be tough to find them since there are no plight tee signs.
The fields are shared with soccer teams, among other things, so be aware that people may be in your way when throwing or even blocking the tee boxes
hole 3 is missing a basket. I just played to Hole 2's basket again. I don't know if they have fixed this yet or if I was just when I played.
Other Thoughts: Its not a terrible course, but if you are in the area I would highly recommend skipping over this one and playing either heritage DGC or Edora Park. Of the 9 hole courses I have played, this one provided the most challenge and had the best variety of shots. What prevents it from being a 3 is a few problems with basket quality and the tee pads.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 All 9 are in

5+    12/31/2008   1/1/2009
Review By: originalcracker
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is BIG for a 9 hole course. Finding a local or getting a map at Wrightlife is HIGHLY recommended. Once you know the layout it makes a great safari course. Local club put in 3 new Mach III baskets to replace stolen ones. Hope to get all Machs at some point. Would definitely suggest playing the course backwards, but you MUST be cautious how you safari holes 9 & 8, when going backwards(there's a blind corner on a sidewalk).
Cons: Brutal to figure out direction of course. There are #'s on the painted tees, but there is no arrows or anything pointing you in the right direction. 6 of 9 baskets are crummy portables (don't even know exactly what brand, just cheap).
Other Thoughts: This really is a fun course. I would say to find a local if you want to play the actual setup; otherwise, just play some safari and make it into your own course (keeping in mind any pedestrians/students around the school). And make sure not to play during school hours.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center