Fort Collins, CO 
Fort Collins High School Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #6 (Taken 11/2016)
3 / 492ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Great Course! One of the better "Campus" courses I have played

5+    11/3/2016   11/3/2016
Review By: kyleocean
Played: 87  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 19 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a lovely little 12 hole course on the campus of Fort Collins High School. The baskets are nice, clearly visible from concrete pads without any mystery as to their location. Distances on these holes are some of the longest I have ever seen on a course like this, so don't just assume this is a lame school campus 9 hole kind of course. The course is laid out pretty well given the space and obstacles at hand.
Cons: There are no tee signs on this course. However in this particular scenario, I don't feel they are needed as it is pretty clear based on the teepad where the basket is. It appears that at one time the teepads were painted nicely and it was clear where they were, However most of the paint is faded so first timers will DEFINITELY need a map. The flow of the course could be much better, lots of VERY long walks to the next hole. The course is only open after school is out, and occasionally there are pedestrians in the way, but saturday/ sunday this is not an issue. Only one pin position for all the holes, which is unfortunate because this course could be amazing with some alternate pins.
Other Thoughts: I think this course is GREAT for a campus course, and is the second nicest course in Fort Collins after Edora. I've played a lot of these less than 18 hole courses and aside from maybe two of them, I am typically not impressed. However I really like this course. The flow between a few holes is horribly long and confusing, however if you look at the "New Updated Map" in the files, you will find my take on some extra holes added in that play to already existing baskets that make the course a bit more fun and take it from 12 to 16 holes (including a longer par 4 hole 9). So instead of walking 500-900ft to the next tee, you are at least tossing plastic.

It seems as though this course was created as some type of high school project of sorts, which possibly was limited on funding or something because there is definitely space to make this course a full 18 if you use the park that is next to the school. I see a lot of potential for this course and maybe in a little bit this course could add some baskets in the park, repaint the tee pads, and maybe down the road get some tee signs as well?

This course is not far from a 3.5 or even 4 disc rating with some improvements, so don't overlook it!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 FCHS Hidden Gem

5+    9/3/2013   9/10/2013
Review By: Danny Burd
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 21.5 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: It is basically half of Edora. If you play all the side walks, fence, water, and street OB it is very challenging. One of the top CSU players was very impressed. We are currently upgrading baskets and it has been approved to make it a 12 hole course this year!
Cons: Not a lot of signage. Get the Current Course Map here on dgcoursereview.
Other Thoughts: Once we get all the bells and whistles done, it will be an even better course!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A Bit of a Hassle

1    6/23/2013   6/23/2013
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 125  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 7.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Very nice school campus that is pleasant and well-taken care of.
-Holes 2,3, 6, and 7 all feature some elevation change
-Hole 4 is the best hole on the course. It features a short carry over a small inlet of a pond, then through a corridor of trees to the basket.
-A lot of the holes use the trees to either line the fairways or on a few holes have the basket in a guarded pin position.
-For a course on a high school campus, this course has a lot of holes that are of a decent length (over 300 feet).
Cons: -The course is super hard to navigate. There are only holes 2, 4, 6, and 9 have actual tee-pads. They are all on the sidewalk but the area they have spray painted for the tee-pad is way to small for a tee-pad. The map on this site was very useful in navigating this course, make sure you take it with you if you are going to play this course.
-No tee-signs what so ever
-The baskets are bent, and single chained and don't catch very well.
-The course features lots of safety issues. Holes play over sidewalks, near doors from the school. The whole course plays through the school's athletic complex and could disc golf could interfere with the baseball fields, the shot-put areas and other sporting events.
-If this school is busy at all would be near impossible to play
-Lots of places to lose a disc. There are many locked fences around the baseball fields, the football area, etc, and it would be hard to retrieve a disc thrown over one of these fences.
-The water in the pond on 4 is very murky and it would not be fun to look for a disc in.
-Other than the guarded baskets and hole 4, this course is pretty wide open.
Other Thoughts: This course has a few fun holes, but the navigation and safety issues are so bad, that is it not worth the hassle of trying to play.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    1/26/2013   1/27/2013
Review By: mhctravis
Played: 32  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.8 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very clean and nice campus.
Bakets are in good shape.
No crowds on weekends what so ever.
Great lay out for the space!
Cons: Not to many real tech shots needed.
Only 2 tee pads are marked so you have to make up your own as you go.
Course follows athletic field with high fencecs that are locked so if you fire one over hope you can climb.( wich may be illegal?).
Other Thoughts: THERE IS ABSOLUTLY NO WATER ON HOLE ONE. Over all i had a great time!
We seen zero people actually playin the course besides us.(A few joggers/dog walkers) Its actually a lot bigger than you think a school course could be.
It may be rated low for the lack of natural obstacles but if the ballparks were ponds this course would be a killer.
Remember! Its all about fun,excercise,and fresh air!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 So Close To Being Really Nice!

1    7/18/2012   7/22/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1006  Reviewed: 956  Exp: 38.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/27/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: For a school course with no signage, no marked teepads and staked down portable baskets, this course could be really decent. The course starts right by one of the school's parking lots and plays around the baseball field, across a wonderful long park like section of the school and then back through the center of the school's amazing athletic complex. By the way, this school's athletic facilities rivals most colleges. The holes which play nearest the school and it's athletic fields are most typical of those found on other HS courses except for # 4. It's an interesting little throw across a pond where you can use a chain link fence as a backstop for your disc.

It's the holes that play along the grassy park like area that are special. First of all, there seems to me to be room to place the whole 9 hole course down here and not deal with the day to day HS ebb and flow. Also there was a large green area behind me as I played these holes. Is that city park land? Does that land belong to the HS? Could it be incorporated into the course somehow?
Cons: Obviously, the fact that you can't play during school hours and during athletic events. The lack of signage and marked teepads. All the locked gates and chances for errant discs to land on the wrong side of fenced in areas.
Other Thoughts: I would love to see the local disc club try to work with the FCHS staff to set this course right. Move it out away from the main campus. Incorporate more of the beautiful park grounds. Maybe ultilize that open space (city parks?) that isn't being used. There is a lot of untapped potential here. The HS admin might be close-minded but then again, they might be happy to move the course away from their main campus. You never know unless you try!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Get me tees and signage!

1    7/19/2012   7/20/2012
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 364  Reviewed: 357  Exp: 8.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -The layout was actually pretty fun. I especially liked holes 6 and 7. Up and down a hill with a fair amount of trees in the way. 6's basket is pretty protected.
-The grass is nice and well maintained.
-Nice people around, not many sketchy characters.
-Good distance variety. This course is much longer and more challenging than one might expect at a school course. They used all the available land well instead of putting a crappy flat open field course.
-There is some elevation here.
Cons: -Can't play during the school day and have to be careful even on non school days. Bike path runs close to hole 2,3,4. Other sports fields close as well.
-Basket #4 is gone.
-There already was a pretty long walk before but now the layout is more confusing without basket 4.
-No signage of any kind. Some baskets are marked.
-Course doesn't loop at all. Lots of walking.
-No tees or tee markers or anything.
-Could easily lose a disc in the chocolate milk colored waters of hole 3.
-If you throw over a fence you probably have to climb the fence. Most gates are locked.
-That leads to another pet peeve of mine- fences used as obstacles. It isn't too prevalent on this course tho.
Other Thoughts: This course is a 1.5 without 4's basket, tees, and signs. Put the basket back in and you have a 2. Put signs in and you have a 2.5 and put some kind of tee in and you have a 3. The layout here is actually pretty fun. You can pick up a map and a sweet disc or two at Wright Life in Old Town. I actually had fun here once I figure it out. However, it isn't just the same when you pick where to tee from. I like someone to do that for me. And I like to know how far I have to throw. I would stop here but keep in mind the lack of tees and signs. Hole one is by the big parking lot and it wraps around the fences.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 One of the better school courses I have played

1    7/16/2012   7/17/2012
Review By: srm_520
Played: 153  Reviewed: 139  Exp: 12.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I was pleasantly surprised at the length of this course coupled with the terrain. This isn't type of school course I am used to - most are short and play in a very confined area because of small campus grounds. This is one of the biggest pieces of land I have seen dedicated to a high school, and it's used to a big advantage. The design circles in a clockwise direction around the football and baseball fields, and even uses the small pond near the park as a hazard for #4. Half of the baskets are in good shape and pins are numbered starting on #5.

BEST HOLE/S: #4; #6
Cons: First timers - bring your map. I created a rough one for the site to help you out, but holes #1 - #4 aren't marked for at all. Note that #2 and #4 do have faded teebox lines painted onto the concrete. #2 is located directly behind the shot put area aiming up the slope and #4 is located in the circular concrete area before the park aiming over the pond. I'm sure there are more - but I simply couldn't locate them, which goes back to the lack of markings being the biggest negative. Once you've played through a few times - it's not a huge issue, but it would be a nice if it were fixed.

The other issue is the proximity of pins to the fenced areas. While not a huge issue for the decent player, an errant shot could fly the fence pretty easily. However, if played correctly - the fence can also be an advantage for example on holes like #4 or #6 when trying to deflect or stop your disc. Also, since this is a school course - basic playable hours are more limited as with any school course.

WORST HOLE/S: #1; #9
Other Thoughts: Bottom line is this is one of the better school courses I have ever played, and if they could fix the signage issues it would go a long way in making the course look a lot more professional. However, given the proximity of the most holes to the other athletic areas, it will never be the caliber of courses like Edora Park, Oxbow DGC, or The Outback DGC in Greeley. And even though I think Boltz Junior High School is a slightly stronger course, you could argue this course in the top three Fort Collins courses based on its length and difficulty.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Its a good 9 hole course

5+    8/15/2012   2/18/2012
Review By: tbsox
Played: 40  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 10.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/15/2012
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course offers great hole variety. one is open and largely straight to the hole as is 8. 2 plays through trees. Hole three has been put back in but requires attention since the shot will cross several high traffic areas. For a nine hole course this one offers a good set of holes. It plays in under an hour.
Cons: Play is only allowed during non school hours and there is a pretty good amount of traffic even then. Just be patient especially on hole 4 which throws directly down the sidewalk. Also the lake is one thing as my retriever can get my errant discs out of that but the baseball fields have no access (without extreme measures) if one ends up in them. Avoid them with care. 5 is not a fairly designed hole. If the big risk of going into the baseball was made less by being able to recover your disc out of it easily this would be different. The shot is either a long bomb of a throw with a meat hook to the left at 300ft to get out of the field or a long much tighter throw with a big meat hook to the right at the same length. The risk to the right is the street which is a busy one. If the hole cut 20 foot off the primary drive and moved ahead of the tree to left front of the tee box it gives the thrower a cleaner look over the field. Its still a long throw over the mass of trees or the field but it gives a manageable look at the hole from the primary drive. Either that or play it as a second par 4.
Other Thoughts: All 9 holes are in and playable. Be careful of others as this is a high school. The advantage to that is the baseball field has a better shot at being open for retrieval.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Not the most fun you'll ever have...

1    3/15/2011   3/27/2011
Review By: kcplease
Played: 128  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 7.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/27/2012
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Holes are a good variety in length
-I really enjoyed the setup on hole 4 and the way they used the water hazard, forcing the controlled shot.
-The course flows very well. This is the most important thing in a course for me. It needs to feel like it belongs on the land, and this one does. Thats the best I can explain how I feel about it, at least.
Cons: Tees are just spray painted onto sidewalks, and sometimes it can be tough to find them since there are no plight tee signs.
The fields are shared with soccer teams, among other things, so be aware that people may be in your way when throwing or even blocking the tee boxes
hole 3 is missing a basket. I just played to Hole 2's basket again. I don't know if they have fixed this yet or if I was just when I played.
Other Thoughts: Its not a terrible course, but if you are in the area I would highly recommend skipping over this one and playing either heritage DGC or Edora Park. Of the 9 hole courses I have played, this one provided the most challenge and had the best variety of shots. What prevents it from being a 3 is a few problems with basket quality and the tee pads.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Practice Course

1    9/19/2010   1/19/2011
Review By: Cigar34
Played: 23  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 24.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice easy course for the rookie player or just a nice way to practice up! Has a couple of fun holes, over a ball field or teeing off from a shot put pad! Some tight straight shots to test your accuracy but nothing too long.
Cons: On a school so odd playing hours. Only 9 holes and nothing too challenging!
Other Thoughts: Nothing to write home about, but might as well play it at least once

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.